Best remineralizing gum 2026: 14 brands ranked
Fourteen gums that promise to put minerals back into your enamel, ranked on what each brand actually publishes: the dose per piece, the particle size, the lab documents, whether its citations open to the study it names, and the price per piece. I make one of these gums, so this page shows its work. If you want to know whether the category works at all, that question lives on our label-by-label test of remineralizing gum. This page answers the other one: which to buy.
Published September 2026 · Last reviewed: 4 September 2026 · 26 min read
What is the best remineralizing gum in 2026?
On the published facts, Minvelle ranks first, and we make it, so weigh that as you read. It is the only gum in our 14-brand database that publishes a hydroxyapatite dose per piece (5.7 mg), a particle size, and a downloadable safety data sheet and batch certificate. Crait ranks second: it prints 70 mg per piece of a mineral composite, but the hydroxyapatite share of that 70 mg is not published. Every other brand states no per-piece amount for its active. Three brands, Underbrush, Kreain and Aurien, cite studies that do not open to the record claimed when we checked them. Two brands, ApaCare and Gud Gum+, have a gap between what the description promises and what the ingredient list shows. And Weldental sits last only because our review found it is not a gum at all.
Does any of them have proof it works?
No brand on this list, ours included, has a published clinical trial on its own finished gum. The gum-format record for hydroxyapatite is two small studies (a 2014 sensitivity trial and a 2023 in situ enamel-mineral study), neither of which measured cavities. So "best" here means best disclosed, best priced for what is shown, and least likely to be selling you a citation that does not exist. It does not mean clinically proven.
The quick verdict, in one screen
Here is the ranked order, with the single fact that placed each brand where it is. All of it comes from our brand database and the review pages linked below, checked on 4 September 2026. Where a brand publishes nothing, the row says nothing; we never estimate a dose a company has not stated.
- Minvelle (ours): 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, particle size, safety data sheet and batch certificate all published.
- Crait: 70 mg per piece of a non-nano mineral composite printed; hydroxyapatite fraction not published.
- Enamio: 20 nm particle size stated and 14 studies linked; no dose per piece.
- CaviChew: particle size of 100 nm or below stated, xylitol in the list; no dose, no citations.
- Halo: xylitol listed first; no dose; bacteria-reduction percentages without a source.
- Dentagum: real citations, but our review found they are about lab-made hydroxyapatite, not the eggshell calcium in the headline; no dose.
- Larineco: full sweetener list; no dose, size or concentration; "thousands of peer-reviewed studies" with zero cited.
- Kreain: 18 checkable citations of 39; ten resolved, eight did not; no dose.
- Underbrush: five of eight spot-checked citations misresolve; no dose; the priciest per piece in our chart after ours.
- Aurien: homepage cites a "Harvard Health Study" that does not exist under that name; no dose.
- VanMan: cattle-bone hydroxyapatite; no dose, no size, no piece count published.
- ApaCare: description names hydroxyapatite, printed ingredient list names calcium carbonate; no dose.
- Gud Gum+: no ingredient list on its own page; zero citations.
- Weldental: not a gum; a chewable toothpaste tablet you spit after 5 to 10 seconds.
RevitaBite is in our database but we have not reviewed it and have no verified price or claim for it, so it appears in the table below and nowhere else. Generic xylitol gum, PUR and Trident White are in our comparison chart as reference rows but make no hydroxyapatite claim, so they are not scored here.
Best hydroxyapatite gum: how to compare options
Best hydroxyapatite gum, judged on what each brand publishes: of the fourteen gums ranked here, only Minvelle states a nano-hydroxyapatite dose per piece, 5.7 mg, in a box of 18 at €24.99. Crait prints a 70 mg composite dose without the hydroxyapatite fraction. The other twelve state no per-piece amount at all. We make Minvelle, so read the source column and check us.
What each brand discloses, checked against its own page
Eight of the fourteen ranked brands, the ones where a figure could be checked. "Not published" means the brand's own page does not state that figure, not that the figure is zero. Evidence type records what the brand cites for its hydroxyapatite claim, not whether the gum works. All values checked 4 September 2026.
| Brand | nHAp per piece | Pieces per box | Price per piece | Evidence type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minvelle (ours) | 5.7 mg, 0.30 percent of a 1.9 g piece | 18 | About €1.39, from a box of 18 at €24.99 | Two gum-format hydroxyapatite studies cited. Neither used our gum. No trial on the finished product | Transparency page |
| Crait | Not published. 70 mg per piece of the OMYADENT composite is printed, the hydroxyapatite fraction is not | Not recorded | Not computable from the page | No studies cited | Crait review |
| Enamio | Not published. 20 nm rod particle size stated | Not recorded | About $0.49 to $0.69 | 14 studies linked, the largest cited set here. Its FAQ percentages carry no citation | Enamio comparison |
| CaviChew | Not published. Particle size of 100 nm or below stated | Not recorded | About €0.43 | No citations found on the listing we checked | CaviChew review |
| Halo | Not published. No particle size either | Not recorded | About $0.50 to $0.67 | No citations. Bacteria-reduction figures of 48 and 99 percent with no source attached | Halo review |
| Dentagum | Not published. No particle size either | Not recorded | About $0.55 | Citations resolve. They cover hydroxyapatite made in a lab from eggshell, mostly preclinical, not eggshell powder in a gum | Dentagum review |
| Larineco | Not published. No particle size or concentration either | Not recorded | Not computable from the page | Page reads "Backed by thousands of peer-reviewed studies". Zero of them are cited | Larineco review |
| Underbrush (Nathan & Sons) | Not published. No particle size either | Not recorded | About $1.14 | Eight references spot-checked, five did not resolve to the record the page claims | Underbrush review |
On piece counts: we record our own box at 18 pieces. We did not record piece counts for the other brands, so those cells read "not recorded" rather than "not published". The per-piece prices are the figures from our comparison chart, computed from the pack listings we checked on 4 September 2026, and currencies are shown as each brand sells in.
The other six ranked brands, Kreain, Aurien, VanMan, ApaCare, Gud Gum+ and Weldental, publish no per-piece hydroxyapatite dose either. Their prices, particle claims and citation grades sit in the full fourteen-brand chart below.
Fourteen remineralizing gums, side by side
"As labelled" means what the brand's own page or pack says, not what we assume is inside. "Dose disclosed" is a yes only when a milligram amount per piece is stated. Price per piece is computed only where the brand publishes both a pack size and a price; where it does not, the cell says so. The disclosure grade is the letter our comparison chart uses: A means a full ingredient list with the evidence graded on its own merits, B means a dose or citation gap, C means a saliva-only mechanism with no mineral claim. Four brands were added to the database on 28 and 29 August 2026 after the chart was built, so their grade comes from our citation audit rather than the chart.
| # | Brand | Active as labelled | Dose disclosed | Nano / micro | Xylitol | Price / piece | Grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Minvelle (ours) | Nano-hydroxyapatite + xylitol + mastic | Yes, 5.7 mg/piece | Nano, rods 200 nm × 20 to 50 nm | Yes, 817 mg/piece | ~€1.39 | A, MSDS + CoA public |
| 2 | Crait | OMYADENT composite (calcium carbonate core, hydroxyapatite shell) | Yes, 70 mg/piece composite; HAp fraction not published | Non-nano | Yes | Not computable | A, none cited |
| 3 | Enamio | Nano-hydroxyapatite | No | Nano, 20 nm rod stated | Not stated | ~$0.49 to $0.69 | A, 14 studies linked |
| 4 | CaviChew | Nano-hydroxyapatite | No | Nano, 100 nm or below stated | Yes | ~€0.43 | A, no citations found |
| 5 | Halo | Nano-hydroxyapatite | No | Nano, size not stated | Yes, listed first | ~$0.50 to $0.67 | A, percentages uncited |
| 6 | Dentagum | Nano-hydroxyapatite + mastic; eggshell calcium headline | No | Nano, size not stated | Not stated | ~$0.55 | A, citations off-scope |
| 7 | Larineco | Nano-hydroxyapatite + xylitol + erythritol; eggshell powder, bentonite | No | Nano stated, no size | Yes | Not computed | A, zero citations |
| 8 | Kreain | Nano-hydroxyapatite | No | Nano stated, no size | Not stated | Not published | A, 8 of 18 citations failed |
| 9 | Underbrush (Nathan & Sons) | Nano-hydroxyapatite | No | Nano, size not stated | Not stated | ~$1.14 | A, 5 of 8 citations misresolve |
| 10 | Aurien | Nano-hydroxyapatite | No | Nano stated, no size | Not stated | Not published | A, non-existent study cited |
| 11 | VanMan | Cattle-bone hydroxyapatite | No | Not stated (bovine) | Yes | Not computable, no piece count | A, none cited |
| 12 | ApaCare | "Tooth enamel minerals (hydroxyapatite)" in description; ingredient list names calcium carbonate | No | Not stated | Yes, 56% | Not published | Not citation-audited |
| 13 | Gud Gum+ | "Vegan hydroxyapatite" | No | Not stated (URL says "nhap") | Not stated | Not published | No ingredient list, zero citations |
| 14 | Weldental ChewTabs | "Micro" hydroxyapatite, rod-shaped | No | Micro, no numeric size | Not stated | ~$0.10 to $0.11 (180-count) | A, none cited; not a gum |
| n/r | RevitaBite | Nano-hydroxyapatite, liquid centre | No | Nano, size not stated | Not stated | Not verified | Not reviewed |
Data: minvelle.com brand database and linked review pages, all checked 4 September 2026. Prices are the brand's own list prices divided by the pack size on the date of our review and will drift. "n/r" = not ranked.
How we ranked them, and what we refused to guess
This is not a taste test and not a lab test. We did not send gums to a laboratory, and I am not going to pretend that chewing fourteen brands for a week each would tell anyone anything about enamel. What we did is slower and more boring: we read every brand's own product page, ingredient list, FAQ and study section, and we wrote down what was there and what was not. Those notes live in our brand database, and each brand with a full review is linked from its section below. The ranking is a sort of that database on four criteria, in this order of weight.
1. Disclosure. Does the brand publish a complete ingredient list, and does it say what form its mineral takes: nano or not, and at what size? Does it publish documents you can open, a safety data sheet or a certificate of analysis for the batch? A brand that names its active but not its particle size gets partial credit. A brand whose description and ingredient list disagree gets none, because you cannot know which one to believe.
2. Dose. Is there a milligram amount of the mineral active per piece? This is the single number that separates a product from a promise. If it is not stated, the row says "not disclosed", and we do not estimate it from the ingredient order, the pack weight or the price. Only two brands in the fourteen pass this test, and one of them only partly.
3. Evidence. Does the brand cite studies, and do the citations hold up? Our citation audit runs a two-part check on every identifier a brand publishes: does the PubMed ID or DOI resolve at all, and does the record it opens match the authors, journal, year and finding the brand attributes to it? A missing citation is a disclosure gap. A citation that opens to a different paper than claimed is a different kind of problem, because the reader has been told something that is not so. We weight the second more heavily than the first.
4. Price per piece. Computed only when both a pack size and a price are published on the brand's page, then noted as an approximate figure with its currency. A brand with no piece count gets "not computable", not a guess. Price breaks ties inside a tier; it never lifts a brand out of one.
Two more things went into the sort without being scored. Where a brand states a money-back guarantee, we checked whether the product page and the refund policy say the same thing. And where a brand shows a review count, we checked whether it lives on a third-party platform you can open or in an on-site widget you cannot. Neither moved a brand more than one place.
Every fact in the sections below carries a date. Brands update pages. If you find a dose, a size or a corrected citation that was published after 4 September 2026, that brand's placement is out of date, and I would like to hear about it so we can move it.
The 14 remineralizing gums, one by one
1. Minvelle (ours)
I will be plain about this one: I make it, and it is first because the criteria above put it first, not because it is mine. If you think that is convenient, you are right to, and the fairness section further down tells you how to check us with the same tools we used on everyone else.
What is published, as of 4 September 2026, on our transparency page: each piece of Minvelle gum contains 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite, which is 0.30 percent of a 1.9 g piece. Alongside it sit 817 mg of xylitol (43 percent) and 285 mg of erythritol (15 percent), with mastic in the gum base. The particle form is rod-shaped, 200 nm long and 20 to 50 nm wide, as stated by our supplier; the width sits inside the EU's 1 to 100 nm nanomaterial definition, and we corrected the wording on that point on 22 August 2026 after an earlier version was less precise. A box holds 18 pieces, the recommended use is one piece a day, and the safety data sheet and the batch certificate of analysis are downloadable as PDFs with the manufacturer's name redacted, which the page says openly.
What is not there, and I want it in the same paragraph: there is no clinical trial on the finished Minvelle gum. None. The studies we cite on the sister page are the two gum-format hydroxyapatite studies that exist, and neither used our product. Our comparison chart lists Minvelle at about €1.39 per piece, which makes it the most expensive gum in this ranking per piece, and a subscription of two boxes runs €29.99 every four weeks. Unopened boxes carry a 30-day refund. Our Trustpilot profile is claimed and, at the time of writing, shows no reviews, so do not take a review count from us as evidence of anything.
Why first: it is the only brand of the fourteen that publishes all three of dose per piece, particle size and lab documents. That is the whole case. Take the dose off the page and we would sit somewhere around Enamio.
2. Crait
Crait is the only other brand in the fourteen that prints a per-piece amount, and that alone puts it second. Its headline figure, per our Crait review of 2026, is 70 mg per piece of OMYADENT, a mineral composite. The catch is in what OMYADENT is: as our review puts it, "the supplier describes that ingredient as a calcium carbonate core with a hydroxyapatite shell, and neither company publishes the hydroxyapatite fraction." So you know the composite dose and not the hydroxyapatite dose, which is the number the front of the pack is trading on.
Two other facts from the same review: the composite is non-nano, which makes Crait the one ranked gum that does not lean on the word nano at all, and the ingredient list includes xylitol. We could not compute a price per piece from what the page publishes, and our review found no studies cited.
Why second: a printed number, even a composite one, is more than eleven brands below it offer. Why not first: the fraction that matters is not published, and there are no documents behind the number.
3. Enamio
Enamio leads the group of brands that publish something specific about their mineral without publishing how much of it is in a piece. Its page states a 20 nanometre rod-shaped particle, which our Enamio comparison summarises this way: it "publishes a 20 nanometre particle size... it publishes no dose per piece." Twenty nanometres is well inside the EU nanomaterial range, so the nano label is at least consistent with the number given.
On evidence, Enamio links 14 studies, which is the largest cited set of any brand here, and our citation audit graded them on their own merits. Its FAQ carries percentages that are not tied to a specific citation. Xylitol is not stated on the page we checked. Price works out to roughly $0.49 to $0.69 per piece depending on pack, which puts it in the middle of the field.
Why third: a real particle size, a large linked bibliography, a fair price. Why not higher: no dose, and no lab document behind the size.
4. CaviChew
CaviChew states a particle size of 100 nm or below and lists xylitol, and at about €0.43 per piece it is the cheapest gum in the ranking that publishes a size at all. Our CaviChew review records "a published particle size (100 nm or below)... and no dose per piece anywhere on the listing."
The gap is evidence. Our review found no citations at all on the listing we checked: no study named, no link, no identifier. That is a disclosure gap rather than a misrepresentation, which is why CaviChew sits above every brand whose citations failed our audit, and below Enamio, which at least shows its reading list.
Why fourth: size published, xylitol published, price low. Why not higher: no dose and nothing cited.
5. Halo
Halo Advanced Gum lists xylitol first on its ingredient panel, which is the clearest ingredient disclosure in this tier, and prices out at roughly $0.50 to $0.67 per piece. Our Halo review found "no milligram amount or particle size for its nano-hydroxyapatite anywhere we could find."
Where Halo drops below CaviChew is the numbers it does publish. Its page states bacteria-reduction figures of 48 percent and 99 percent, and our review could not find a source attached to either. A precise percentage with no study behind it is worse, in our scoring, than no percentage at all, because a reader will remember the number and not the absence of a footnote.
Why fifth: good ingredient transparency, fair price. Why not higher: no dose, no size, and claimed percentages without a citation.
6. Dentagum
Dentagum is a sugar-free gum that combines nano-hydroxyapatite with mastic and leads its marketing with eggshell calcium. Our Dentagum review describes it as "a real sugar-free gum whose eggshell-calcium headline is mostly calcium carbonate, not the enamel mineral." At about $0.55 per piece it is priced with Enamio and Halo.
Dentagum does cite real studies, and they resolve. The issue our review found is scope: the eggshell studies it points to are about hydroxyapatite made in a lab from eggshell, mostly in preclinical settings, not about eggshell powder in a gum. The citations are real, the connection to the product is not made. No dose, no particle size, and xylitol is not stated on the page we checked.
Why sixth: an honest sugar-free gum with citations that open. Why not higher: no dose or size, and studies that are about something other than the product.
7. Larineco
Larineco publishes a fuller ingredient list than most: nano-hydroxyapatite, xylitol, erythritol, eggshell powder and bentonite are all named. What it does not publish is any quantity. Our Larineco review found that the brand "states no dose, particle size or concentration, and the company's own terms of service describe the products as cosmetic oral care items."
The evidence line on Larineco's page reads "Backed by thousands of peer-reviewed studies", and our review found zero of them cited. That is a claim of volume with no specimen, and it costs Larineco its place above Dentagum, whose studies at least exist. The eggshell powder and bentonite are worth knowing about if you have an egg allergy or simply want to know what you are chewing. Price per piece is anchored on the brand's page in a way we could not reduce to a per-piece figure.
Why seventh: full ingredient naming. Why not higher: no quantities of anything, and an evidence claim with nothing behind it.
8. Kreain
Kreain opens the tier where citations failed our audit. Its page carries 39 references. Our Kreain review reports: "Of the 39, 18 carry a checkable identifier... Ten checked out. Eight did not." Eight of eighteen is a 44 percent failure rate among the citations that could be checked at all; the other 21 had no identifier to check.
One detail from the audit deserves its own sentence: three of Kreain's citation errors are identical to errors on Underbrush's page. We do not know why, and we do not guess. It is recorded because two brands sharing the same wrong references is a fact a buyer might want. No dose, no particle size, and no price per piece we could compute. Kreain was added to our database on 28 August 2026, after the comparison chart was built, so its grade comes from the citation audit.
Why eighth: ten citations that resolved correctly is more than most brands manage. Why not higher: eight that did not.
9. Underbrush (Nathan & Sons)
Underbrush is probably the most-searched nano-hydroxyapatite gum in the English-speaking market, and at about $1.14 per piece it is the second most expensive gum in this ranking after ours. Our Underbrush review notes that across the customer discussion we read there was "not one thread asking the dose per piece, which the brand does not publish." No particle size is stated either.
The citation spot-check is what puts Underbrush below Kreain. Of eight references we checked, five did not resolve to the record the page attributes to them. Our audit uses the same language for every brand: "wrong record", "wrong authors", "malformed link". Five of eight is the highest failure share of any spot-check in our database as of 4 September 2026. That, plus the price, is the placement.
Why ninth: a well-known, widely available gum with a complete ingredient list. Why not higher: no dose, no size, the highest citation-failure share we have measured, and a premium price for it.
10. Aurien
Aurien states nano-hydroxyapatite with no size and no dose, and its evidence section has one feature that no other brand here shares. Our Aurien review puts it directly: the homepage cites a "Harvard Health Study", and "'Harvard Health Study' is not the name of a study; it is not the name of anything." We could not find a paper, a press release or a page under that title.
To be fair to Aurien, the review also found three real citations on its page. None of the three is about gum, and all three are shown as screenshots rather than links, so a reader cannot open them without retyping. Aurien was added to our database on 29 August 2026 and, like Kreain, is graded from the citation audit rather than the chart. No price per piece was published where we looked.
Why tenth: three real references exist. Why not higher: the most prominent one on the site does not.
11. VanMan
VanMan is the one brand in the ranking whose hydroxyapatite is stated to come from cattle bone rather than a synthetic process, and it lists xylitol. Beyond that, our VanMan review found "the boldest remineralization verbs we have reviewed, and no particle size, no dose and not even a piece count published."
The missing piece count is why the price column reads "not computable": without it, there is no honest way to divide the pack price. No studies were cited on the page we reviewed. The bovine source is a legitimate choice, but it is also a reason to want a certificate of analysis, and there is none published.
Why eleventh: the source of the mineral is at least named. Why not higher: nothing about it is quantified, down to how many pieces you are buying.
12. ApaCare
ApaCare is the brand whose two descriptions of itself disagree. The product description names "tooth enamel minerals (hydroxyapatite)". The printed ingredient list, per our ApaCare comparison, has "no hydroxyapatite named in it and no per-piece dose," and names calcium carbonate instead. Xylitol is stated at 56 percent, which is the highest xylitol figure any brand here publishes.
ApaCare links 11 studies, none of them on a gum. We did not run the full citation audit on ApaCare because it entered the database as a comparison-only entry on 29 August 2026, so the grade column says exactly that. We have no price per piece for it.
Why twelfth: strong xylitol disclosure. Why not higher: when the ingredient list and the marketing name different minerals, the ingredient list wins, and it does not say hydroxyapatite.
13. Gud Gum+
Gud Gum+ describes its active as "vegan hydroxyapatite" and its URL contains "nhap", but our Gud Gum+ review could not find an ingredient list on the brand's own page at all. Without one, there is no way to say whether the mineral is nano, what else is in the piece, or whether xylitol is present.
On evidence, the review is blunt: "There is no study cited, not for this product, not for this dose, not for hydroxyapatite in gum at all." No price per piece is in our data.
Why thirteenth: it is, as far as we can tell, a gum with hydroxyapatite in it. Why not higher: as far as we can tell is all we can say.
14. Weldental ChewTabs
Weldental is last for a reason that has nothing to do with quality. Our Weldental review found it is "not a gum but a nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste tablet you chew for 5 to 10 seconds and then brush off." It appears in gum listicles, which is why it is in our database, but it does not stay in your mouth, so none of the saliva mechanism that any gum comparison rests on applies to it.
On its own terms it publishes a rod-shaped "micro" hydroxyapatite with no numeric size, no dose, and no citations, at roughly $0.10 to $0.11 per tablet in the 180-count pack, which is the lowest unit price on this page by a wide margin. If you want a tablet toothpaste, that is a different comparison and this page is not it.
Why fourteenth: it is not a gum. Everything else about it is scored on a scale it was never entered in.
Who each tier is for, honestly
Fourteen positions make a neat list and a poor buying guide. The list really splits into four groups, and the group matters more than the rank inside it.
Tier 1, a dose is printed (Minvelle, Crait). For the buyer who wants to know what is in the piece before spending money on it. You pay for that: ours is the priciest gum per piece here. If the number matters to you more than the price, this is the tier. If you only want a sugar-free gum to chew after lunch, you are overpaying in this tier and should look lower.
Tier 2, something specific is published, but not the dose (Enamio, CaviChew, Halo, Dentagum, Larineco). For the buyer who wants a nano-hydroxyapatite gum at a mid-market price and accepts that the brand is telling you the particle size or the sweetener order rather than the amount. CaviChew is the value pick on price alone. Enamio is the pick if you want to read the brand's sources yourself. Halo and Dentagum are fine sugar-free gums with claims that outrun their footnotes. Larineco names the most ingredients and the fewest numbers.
Tier 3, citations failed our check (Kreain, Underbrush, Aurien). This is the tier I would think hardest about. The gums themselves may be perfectly good sugar-free gums; the problem is that their pages told us things about the science that the science did not say when we looked it up. If you buy here, buy for the chewing and ignore the study section. Underbrush in particular asks a premium price for a page that did not survive a spot-check.
Tier 4, the product is not fully described (VanMan, ApaCare, Gud Gum+), plus one that is not a gum (Weldental). For nobody in particular until the pages change. VanMan does not tell you how many pieces you get. ApaCare's ingredient list does not name the mineral its description advertises. Gud Gum+ has no ingredient list we could find. Weldental is a toothpaste tablet and belongs in a different ranking.
And the rows we did not score: plain xylitol gum, PUR and Trident White. If you want the saliva benefit and nothing else, any genuinely sugar-free gum from a supermarket does that job at a fraction of every price on this page, and our label test explains why. They are not "worse" remineralizing gums. They are not remineralizing gums in the sense this list uses, and they do not claim to be.
What "best" cannot mean on this page
Every ranking on this topic, including this one, is built on a foundation the reader deserves to see. The evidence that hydroxyapatite in a chewing gum does anything to enamel is, as of September 2026, two studies. Our sister page walks through them in detail; here is the short form so the word "best" stays the right size.
The first is Porciani, Chazine and Grandini, published in the Journal of Clinical Dentistry in 2014 (PubMed 25122980). It was a double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of a calcium hydroxyapatite gum against an identical gum without it, 107 people enrolled and 100 completing, two pieces three times a day, with dentin hypersensitivity measured at one and two weeks. It found a reduction in sensitivity. It did not measure cavities, enamel hardness or mineral content, and it did not test any brand on this page.
The second is Hassani and colleagues, in the Journal of the Mechanical Behavior of Biomedical Materials, December 2023 (PubMed 37852085). A single-blind in situ study with three arms: a plant-synthesised nano-hydroxyapatite gum, a commercial nano-hydroxyapatite gum, and a plain resin gum. Enamel calcium was highest in the commercial arm, and the plant-synthesised version did worse. Again, no cavity endpoint, and again, no brand from this list.
The broader claim that hydroxyapatite matches fluoride comes from a 2025 narrative review by Naim and Sen in the Journal of Functional Biomaterials (PubMed 41003396), which looked at 15 clinical studies from the prior five years and reported similar efficacy to fluoride for caries prevention. It is a narrative review, the studies it summarises are mostly toothpaste rather than gum, and the authors themselves call for standardized long-term studies. So: no gum on this page is a fluoride replacement, and no ranking can make one so.
What a sugar-free gum can do is well established and belongs to all of them equally. The EU authorises a claim, under Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012, that sugar-free chewing gum contributes to the maintenance of tooth mineralisation when chewed for at least 20 minutes after eating or drinking. That is a saliva effect. A 2014 in situ study by Tuncer, Onen and Yazici (PMC4241604) tested xylitol, sorbitol and xylitol-sorbitol gums across 21-day periods and found no significant change in the enamel calcium-to-phosphorus ratio for any of them, while surface microhardness rose in every group, including the paraffin control. The chewing did the work.
So "best" on this page means: the brand that shows you the most, misstates the least, and charges a price you can compute. It does not mean "proven to remineralize better than the one below it", because no study on earth has made that comparison for any two of these fourteen gums.
We sell one of these, so check us the same way
Minvelle is my company. It makes one product, and that product is first on a list I wrote. There is no version of this page where that is not a conflict of interest, and I would rather name it than have you find it in the footer. Here is how to audit us with exactly the tools we used on the other thirteen, in the order the criteria run.
Disclosure. Open the transparency page. The ingredient list is there, the particle form and size are there, and the safety data sheet and batch certificate are downloadable. The manufacturer's name is redacted on those documents, and the page says so; if that redaction bothers you, it should count against us in your own scoring. Dose. 5.7 mg per piece, 0.30 percent of 1.9 g. If you find a page of ours that states a different number, one of them is wrong and I want to know. Evidence. Every study we cite carries a PubMed number in the sources block below. Open them. The 2014 and 2023 gum studies did not use our product, and we say so on every page that mentions them. Price. Roughly €1.39 per piece in our chart, the most expensive gum here. We do not hide that, and we do not claim the price buys you a clinical result.
Every negative fact about another brand on this page is attributed to a specific review or audit of ours, with the date we looked. We used the same categories for every brand: "not disclosed", "wrong record", "no citation", "not computable". We did not use verdict words about any company, and if you find one, tell me and it comes out. Brands change their pages, and when they do, the ranking is wrong until we re-check it. The "Last reviewed" date at the top is the date this page was last true to our knowledge.
One more thing you can do: read our whitening gum ranking, which uses the same criteria on a partly different set of brands, and see whether we placed ourselves consistently. If the method only ever favours us, that is worth noticing.
If the dose is what you were looking for: Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, 18 pieces per box, one piece a day, with the full ingredient list and batch certificate published. Try it with 10% off, or read the full formula first. Unopened boxes carry a 30-day refund.
Questions people ask before buying
What is the best remineralizing gum in 2026?
On the published facts we could check on 4 September 2026, Minvelle ranks first because it is the only gum in our database that publishes a per-piece hydroxyapatite dose (5.7 mg), a particle size, and a downloadable safety data sheet and batch certificate. We make Minvelle, so read that with the bias in mind. Crait is second because it prints a per-piece amount for its mineral composite, although the hydroxyapatite fraction inside it is not published. No brand, ours included, has a published clinical trial on its own finished gum.
Which remineralizing gums publish a dose per piece?
Two of the 14 ranked brands as of 4 September 2026. Minvelle publishes 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, which is 0.30 percent of a 1.9 g piece. Crait publishes 70 mg per piece of OMYADENT, a calcium carbonate core with a hydroxyapatite shell, but neither Crait nor its supplier publishes how much of that 70 mg is hydroxyapatite. Every other brand in our database states no per-piece amount for its mineral active.
Is nano-hydroxyapatite gum better than micro-hydroxyapatite gum?
There is no gum trial that compares the two, so nobody can say from evidence. What can be checked is whether a brand's nano label matches the EU definition of a nanomaterial, which covers particles of 1 to 100 nanometres. Enamio states 20 nm, CaviChew states 100 nm or below, Minvelle states rods of 200 nm by 20 to 50 nm, with the width inside the EU range. Most other brands say nano without a size. We do not rank on particle size; we rank on whether the number is published at all.
Does the most expensive remineralizing gum work best?
Price and disclosure do not line up in our data. Minvelle at about 1.39 euros per piece and Underbrush at about 1.14 dollars per piece are the two priciest gums where a per-piece price could be computed, and only one of them publishes a dose. CaviChew at about 0.43 euros per piece publishes a particle size but no dose. Pay for the numbers a brand shows you, not for the adjectives.
Can a remineralizing gum replace fluoride toothpaste?
No. The gum-format evidence for hydroxyapatite is two small studies, one on dentin sensitivity and one in situ measurement of enamel minerals, and neither measured cavities. The 2025 narrative review that reports similar efficacy to fluoride draws mostly on toothpaste trials and calls for standardized long-term studies. Any gum on this list is an addition to brushing, not a substitute.
How did you rank the gums, and why is your own gum first?
We scored each brand on four things that can be read off its own pages: whether the active dose per piece is disclosed, whether the ingredient list and particle size are complete, whether cited studies resolve to the record claimed, and price per piece where a pack size and price are both published. Minvelle is first because it is the only brand that publishes all of the first three. We sell it, so check us the same way: the transparency page carries the dose, the size, the safety data sheet and the batch certificate, and the citations on this page carry PubMed numbers you can open.
Which remineralizing gum is best for sensitive teeth?
The only gum-format trial with a sensitivity outcome is a 2014 double-blind, placebo-controlled study of a calcium hydroxyapatite gum, 107 enrolled and 100 completed, chewed two pieces three times a day, with dentin hypersensitivity measured at one and two weeks. It was not a trial of any brand on this list, so no brand can borrow it as proof for its own product. If sensitivity is your problem, see a dentist first and treat gum as a side habit.
Is a plain xylitol gum a remineralizing gum?
In the EU, any sugar-free gum chewed for at least 20 minutes after eating may carry the authorised claim that it contributes to the maintenance of tooth mineralisation, so in that legal sense yes. But a 2014 in situ study of xylitol and sorbitol gums found no significant change in the enamel calcium-to-phosphorus ratio after 21-day chewing periods, so the mineral claim is about saliva, not about the sweetener adding minerals. We list plain xylitol gums as not scored because they make no hydroxyapatite claim to check.
Hydroxyapatite: The calcium phosphate mineral that makes up most of tooth enamel. In oral-care products it is added as a synthetic powder, or in one case here from cattle bone, with the aim of depositing mineral on enamel.
Nano-hydroxyapatite: Hydroxyapatite in particles small enough to meet the EU's nanomaterial definition of 1 to 100 nanometres in at least one dimension. Many brands use the word without stating a size, which makes the label unverifiable.
Dose per piece: The milligram amount of the mineral active in one piece of gum. This is the number that turns an ingredient into a quantity, and only two brands on this page publish one.
Certificate of analysis (CoA): A batch-level lab document listing what was measured in a specific production run. It is the only public way to tie a stated dose to a product that actually shipped.
Safety data sheet (MSDS/SDS): A supplier or manufacturer document describing the composition and handling of a material or product. When published, it lets a reader check the full ingredient list against the marketing.
Citation that resolves: A reference whose PubMed ID or DOI opens to a real record, and whose authors, journal, year and finding match what the brand said about it. A reference that opens to a different paper is recorded as "wrong record".
Disclosure grade: The A/B/C letter our comparison chart uses. A is a full ingredient list with evidence graded on its merits, B is a dose or citation gap, C is a saliva-only product with no mineral claim.
In situ study: A study where treated enamel samples are worn in the mouth, usually on a removable appliance, then measured in a lab. It is closer to real life than a test tube and further from it than a trial on people's own teeth.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. If you have active tooth decay, a cracked tooth, or persistent sensitivity, see a dentist, because no gum can treat those.
- Porciani PF, Chazine M, Grandini S. J Clin Dent 2014 (PMID 25122980): double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of a calcium hydroxyapatite chewing gum, 107 enrolled, 100 completed, two pieces three times a day; outcome dentin hypersensitivity at one and two weeks; no caries endpoint.
- Hassani AR et al. J Mech Behav Biomed Mater, Dec 2023 (PMID 37852085): single-blind in situ study of a plant-synthesised nano-hydroxyapatite gum, a commercial nano-hydroxyapatite gum and a plain resin gum; enamel calcium highest in the commercial arm; no caries endpoint.
- Naim J, Sen S. J Funct Biomater, Sep 2025 (PMID 41003396): narrative review of 15 clinical studies from the prior five years, reporting similar efficacy to fluoride for caries prevention and calling for standardized long-term studies; mostly toothpaste, not gum.
- Tuncer D, Onen A, Yazici AR. Dent Res J 2014 (PMC4241604): in situ study of xylitol, sorbitol and xylitol-sorbitol gums over 21-day periods in 12 subjects; no significant change in enamel calcium-to-phosphorus ratio for any gum; microhardness rose in every group.
- Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012, Annex: authorised health claim that sugar-free chewing gum contributes to the maintenance of tooth mineralisation, conditional on chewing for at least 20 minutes after eating or drinking.
- Minvelle transparency page: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, 1.9 g piece, 18 pieces per box, particle form and size, safety data sheet and batch certificate of analysis as downloadable PDFs.
- Minvelle, The hydroxyapatite gum citation audit (2026): the two-part resolve-and-match check applied to every brand's published references, with per-brand results.
- Minvelle, Does remineralizing gum work? A label-by-label check (2026): the 16-row comparison chart this ranking's price and grade columns draw on.
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Buy the number, not the adjective. Fourteen gums say remineralizing on the front. Two tell you how much mineral is in a piece. Three cite studies that did not open to what they claimed when we checked. That is the whole state of the market in September 2026, and it is why this ranking sorts on disclosure rather than on promises. Whichever gum you choose, chew it after eating for the saliva, keep brushing with fluoride, and hold every brand on this page, ours first, to the standard of showing its work. Last reviewed: 4 September 2026.
One piece, once a day, with the dose on the page
Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, made to be chewed one piece a day after meals or when brushing is not an option. A box holds 18 pieces, which is 18 days, and it sits alongside your fluoride routine rather than replacing it. The full formula and the batch certificate are published.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks for €29.99, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes