Davids toothpaste review 2026: Hydroxi, dose, lawsuits
Product Review

Davids toothpaste review 2026: Hydroxi, dose, lawsuits

Davids is a fluoride-free toothpaste from Menifee, California, sold in aluminum tubes, and its Hydroxi line is the brand's nano-hydroxyapatite range. People searching for a Davids toothpaste review usually want three answers: is the hydroxyapatite version any good, how is it different from the original Davids paste with the same flavor names, and what is the Davids toothpaste lawsuit they keep seeing mentioned. This review answers all three from primary sources: the brand's own pages quoted word for word, the USPTO trademark register, federal court dockets, FDA databases, PubMed, and the review platforms. Every finding carries its source so you can check it yourself.

M
Max, Founder of Minvelle
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 25 September 2026 · 26 min read

Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum with nano-hydroxyapatite, which is a different kind of product from a toothpaste but close enough that you should know who is writing. That is why every critical statement about Davids below is either the company's own published text quoted verbatim, a public record you can query yourself, or a directly observed fact about its live pages, with the date we observed it.

Before you buy

The number on the box

This review went looking for the hydroxyapatite percentage in a Davids Hydroxi tube and found a policy of not publishing it. Ours is printed on the box: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, one piece a day between brushings, chewed for at least 20 minutes.

Read the Minvelle formula

30-day refund on unopened boxes

The short version

Davids is a legitimate US toothpaste company with a named founder, a public trademark record and a fluoride-free, SLS-free formula in aluminum tubes. Its Hydroxi line contains nano-hydroxyapatite, and Davids states the particle plainly: uncoated, rod-shaped, 50 nm.

The one missing number is the dose: Davids' FAQ says it does not give out the hydroxyapatite percentage, only that it is in line with the EU safety committee's recommendations (EU law, Regulation (EU) 2024/858, caps nano-hydroxyapatite at 10% in toothpaste). Three more things to know before you pay: the original Premium line with the same flavor names has no hydroxyapatite, the refund policy says all sales are final, and one federal lawsuit about a Hydroxi product is active, with no ruling on its allegations as of 25 September 2026.

If you are comparing hydroxyapatite products, the dose is the number to ask every brand for. Minvelle is a chewing gum you use between brushings, not a replacement for brushing, and it publishes that number: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box. One piece a day, 18 pieces per box, chewed for at least 20 minutes.

At a glance

Davids Hydroxi, Davids Premium and Minvelle, side by side

What's checked Davids Hydroxi Davids Premium (original) Minvelle gum
Format Toothpaste, 4 oz (113 g) aluminum tube Toothpaste, 5.25 oz aluminum tube Chewing gum, 18 pieces per box
Hydroxyapatite Yes, declared as nano on the ingredient panel None Yes, nano
Dose published? No. FAQ: "we do not give out the exact percentage" Not applicable 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece (0.30% by weight), printed on the box
Particle stated Uncoated, rod-shaped, 50 nm Not applicable Rod-shaped, 200 nm x 20 to 50 nm (supplier-stated)
Fluoride None None None
Price $10.95 per tube; 3-pack $32.85 $10.95 per tube; 3-pack $32.85 €24.99 per box
Returns "ALL SALES FINAL" "ALL SALES FINAL" 30 days on unopened boxes
Study on the product itself None found in PubMed None found in PubMed No clinical trial on the gum; batch certificate published

Swipe sideways on mobile. Davids data from davids-usa.com as checked on 25 September 2026; the two products do different jobs, a toothpaste for brushing and a gum for between brushings.

Part 1

Which Davids? One domain, two formulas

Start with the address, because it trips up a lot of searchers. The brand lives at davids-usa.com, with a hyphen. RDAP registry records show that domain was created on August 11, 2011, which matches the year the founder says he started researching toothpaste ingredients. The similar-looking davidsusa.com, without the hyphen, is unrelated: when we loaded it on 25 September 2026 it showed a generic "Under Construction" placeholder from a website builder, and its registry record shows it was registered on April 26, 2024. If you typed the name without the hyphen and landed on an empty page, that is why. Nothing in this review is about that domain.

The second point of confusion is inside the real store. Davids sells two different toothpaste families under overlapping names. The Hydroxi line contains nano-hydroxyapatite. The original Premium line, the paste that built the brand, contains none. Both lines are fluoride-free, both come in aluminum tubes, and both cost $10.95 per tube. And several flavor names appear in both: Strawberry Watermelon, for example, exists as an original kids-and-adults paste with no hydroxyapatite and as a Hydroxi paste with it. The same goes for other kids-and-adults flavors. On the site, the product title is the only dependable way to tell them apart.

Of the 36 active listings in the Davids catalog on 25 September 2026, 22 carried a hydroxyapatite or Hydroxi tag or title and 14 did not. The Hydroxi family covers four toothpaste types: Whitening+Enamel Health (Unflavored, Cinnamon, Peppermint, Spearmint, and kids-and-adults Strawberry Watermelon, Mild Mint and Orange Vanilla), Gum Health+Whitening in Peppermint, Sensitive+Whitening in Peppermint, and two travel tubes at 1.75 oz. It also extends beyond paste to an oil-pulling rinse, a mouthwash kit and refill, expanding floss, and several bundles. The Premium family covers Peppermint, Spearmint, Herbal Citrus Peppermint, Charcoal+Peppermint, the original kids-and-adults Strawberry Watermelon, and a set of trial and travel packs.

One caution on that count: we read the full ingredient panels of three Hydroxi pastes and two Premium pastes directly. For the rest, the Hydroxi or non-Hydroxi status comes from the product title and tags in the store's catalog data, not from reading every panel. That is almost certainly right, but it is a different level of checking, and we would rather say so.

The practical rule: if you are buying Davids for the hydroxyapatite, look for the word Hydroxi on the tube and "nano hydroxyapatite" or "hydroxyapatite (nano)" in the ingredient list. If you see neither, you are holding an original Premium tube, which is a perfectly ordinary fluoride-free baking-soda paste but not a hydroxyapatite product. Most reviews online do not make this distinction, so a glowing review of "Davids" may be about a tube with no hydroxyapatite in it at all.

Two new flavours land in December

Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.

Part 2

Who makes Davids: founder, companies, trademarks

Davids has a named founder, which is more than many brands in this category offer. The brand's Our Story page says: "In 2011, Davids founder Eric Buss became curious about the toothpaste ingredients he was putting in his mouth twice a day and began researching them." It describes the project that followed as "a four-year personal obsession for Eric to develop the cleanest ingredient, highest performance, and most sustainable toothpaste available." The same page explains the name: Eric "didn't like how Eric's toothpaste sounded, so he used his middle name." David is Eric Buss's middle name, not a second founder. Court filings list him as Eric David Buss.

Davids does not claim to be dentist-founded, and we found no such claim on its pages. You may see a dentist's name attached to a Davids review elsewhere; that is a reviewer writing about the product, not the company's founder.

Two companies at one address

Two corporations appear in the public record, both at 33360 Zeiders Rd., Menifee, California. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc. is a California corporation. It owns the registered SUSTAIN | NATURE+YOU trademark and is the defendant named in both lawsuits covered below. A court filing in one of those cases records service on the company's VP of Operations on behalf of Eric D. Buss, its registered agent. Davids Health Sciences, Inc. is a Delaware corporation at the same address. It owns the pending DAVIDS trademark application, it appears in the site footer as "© 2026 Davids Health Sciences, Inc.", and it is the vendor name on most current product listings.

What the records do not say is how the two relate: parent and subsidiary, successor, or sister company. Both names are current in 2026 records, both trademark files are handled by the same law firm, and both share the address. Beyond "two related corporate entities share the Menifee address," we do not assert anything, because no document we found spells it out.

The trademark record

The USPTO register is where the brand-name question gets interesting. The word mark DAVIDS (serial number 97865772), filed on March 30, 2023 by Davids Health Sciences, Inc., is not a registered trademark. Its status in TSDR reads: LIVE/APPLICATION/Under Examination, with the latest status line "A fourth request for extension of time to file a Statement of Use has been granted," dated September 21, 2026. The application was filed on an intent-to-use basis and covers toothpaste and mouthwash, medicated oral-care gels, tongue scrapers, toothbrushes and floss, and breath mints and chewing gum.

That is the status as the register states it, and we draw no conclusion from it beyond what it says. Pending applications and extensions are routine in trademark practice. The brand's other mark, SUSTAIN | NATURE+YOU (serial 88816087, registration 6563553), owned by Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc., is registered: LIVE/REGISTRATION/Issued and Active, registered on November 16, 2021.

The name Hydroxi itself carries a ™ symbol on the site, not an ®, and we found no USPTO record for a Hydroxi mark owned by either Davids company. A mark called HYDROXI PRO exists in the register, but it belongs to an unrelated party.

Part 3

The Hydroxi ingredient list, line by line

Here is the full ingredient panel of Hydroxi Gum Health+Whitening, Peppermint, exactly as listed on its product page on 25 September 2026: calcium carbonate (limestone abrasive), vegetable glycerin, purified water, sodium bicarbonate (baking soda), xylitol (birch derived), hydrated silica, hydroxyapatite (nano), sodium cocoyl glutamate, carrageenan (seaweed derived), cocos nucifera (coconut oil), mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, illicium verum (anise) fruit oil, mentha veridis (spearmint leaf) oil, menthol, eucalyptol, citrus limon (lemon) peel oil, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) oil, gaultheria procumbens (wintergreen) oil, potassium chloride (potassium salt), stevia (leaf extract).

Ingredient lists run from most to least by weight, so the order tells you something even without percentages. Here is what each group does.

Calcium carbonate and hydrated silica: the abrasives. Calcium carbonate, described on the label as limestone abrasive, is the first ingredient and does most of the polishing. Hydrated silica is a second, common abrasive. Every Davids paste we read uses both. Davids does not publish an RDA (relative dentin abrasivity) number for any of its pastes; its pages describe the abrasive only in words such as "gentle micro abrasive." A figure circulating online comes from a competing brand's blog and gives no number, so we do not repeat it. If abrasivity matters to you, our guide to the RDA number explains what to ask for. Glycerin and water: the base. Vegetable glycerin keeps the paste moist and gives it body. Water is the carrier. Sodium bicarbonate: baking soda. A mild abrasive and a buffer, and part of the traditional Davids formula across both lines. Xylitol, birch-derived. A sugar alcohol used as a sweetener. The Sensitive+Whitening page says it is "used to aid in mineralizing tooth enamel." As with the hydroxyapatite, no amount is given. Hydroxyapatite (nano). The reason the Hydroxi line exists. It sits seventh on this panel, after the abrasives, base, baking soda and xylitol. Ingredient order alone cannot give you the percentage, and Davids does not publish it. More on that in Part 4. Sodium cocoyl glutamate: the foaming agent. A coconut-derived surfactant used instead of sodium lauryl sulfate. Every Davids listing is tagged SLS-free, and none of the panels we read contains SLS. Carrageenan and coconut oil. Carrageenan, from seaweed, thickens the paste. Coconut oil adds texture. The flavor oils. Peppermint, anise, spearmint, menthol, eucalyptol, lemon peel, tea tree and wintergreen in the Gum Health version. The Sensitive+Whitening and Mild Mint versions use a shorter list: peppermint, spearmint, anise seed extract and wintergreen. Potassium chloride and stevia. Potassium chloride is listed as a potassium salt. It is not potassium nitrate, the desensitizing ingredient in many sensitivity pastes; we found no potassium nitrate in any Davids panel. Stevia is the second sweetener.

How the other panels differ

The Hydroxi Sensitive+Whitening panel is the same core with hydroxyapatite written as "nano hydroxyapatite (rod shaped)" and the shorter flavor list. Its product page says it "supports sensitive teeth by filling microscopic tubules in enamel", so the mechanism Davids describes is physical, the nano particles filling tiny channels, rather than a chemical desensitizer. That is the brand's claim; we have not seen a published test of this paste behind it. The kids-and-adults Mild Mint Hydroxi panel lists "(nano) hydroxyapatite" and calls the calcium carbonate a "limestone micro abrasive."

The Premium Peppermint panel, from the original line, reads: calcium carbonate (limestone micro abrasive), purified water, sodium bicarbonate (baking soda), vegetable glycerin, hydrated silica, xylitol (birch derived), sodium cocoyl glutamate (coconut derived), carrageenan (seaweed derived), peppermint oil, spearmint leaf oil, anise seed extract, wintergreen leaf oil, stevia (leaf extract). Same family resemblance, no hydroxyapatite. The Premium Charcoal+Peppermint adds activated charcoal and coconut oil, again with no hydroxyapatite. If charcoal is what drew you in, our look at charcoal toothpaste covers what it does and does not do.

None of the labels we read has a Drug Facts panel split into active and inactive ingredients. That fits the catalog: with no fluoride product, Davids sells its pastes as cosmetics rather than as over-the-counter anticavity drugs.

Part 4

The hydroxyapatite question: size disclosed, percentage withheld

Davids is unusually open about one of the two numbers that matter, and firmly closed about the other.

The particle. The Hydroxi page states: "The nano hydroxyapatite in our Hydroxi formulation is comprised of uncoated, rod-shaped particles of 50nm in size." It adds that "only rod-shaped nHA has been approved for use in oral care products" and that nano-hydroxyapatite in oral care "must be uncoated and unmodified, in line with SCCS guidelines." The ingredient panels back this up by declaring the nano form directly. A specific size, shape and coating status, stated by the brand in writing, is more than most nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes give you, and it deserves credit. The percentage. Davids' FAQ asks the question outright and answers it: "What % of hydroxyapatite do you use for your toothpaste products that include this ingredient? While we do not give out the exact percentage of any ingredient in our proprietary Hydroxi formula, we do say that the amount we use is in line with the recommendations from the Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS)... It is important to note that a higher percentage does not mean better performance..."

The Hydroxi page fills in the reference point: "The Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS), the primary EU regulatory board for cosmetic safety, recommends having less than 10% hydroxyapatite for safety purposes, which is inline with Davids Hydroxi formulation." So what you know is that the amount is below a safety ceiling. Anything from a trace up to just under that ceiling would fit that sentence.

The same page presents the non-disclosure as a position: "performance not percentage focused. Many brands push high nano hydroxyapatite percentages as a selling point, using outdated research to mislead consumers. But here's the truth: percentage alone means nothing without quality." Davids has a point that a bigger number is not automatically a better product. But a buyer comparing products still cannot weigh the quality claim against a quantity nobody states, and the clinical studies on hydroxyapatite toothpaste report the concentration they tested. Without the percentage, you cannot line a Davids tube up against any of that research.

Two other things are not disclosed: an RDA number for abrasivity, covered above, and any study on the finished Hydroxi formula, covered next. For how other brands handle the percentage question, our fluoride-free toothpaste ranking lists which ones print a number and which do not. For whether particle size changes anything, see nano vs non-nano hydroxyapatite.

Part 5

What the studies actually cover, and what they do not

Davids' pages make no specific, checkable study claim. We searched the raw HTML of the Hydroxi page, the hydroxyapatite page, the FAQ, the homepage, Our Story and both ingredient pages on 25 September 2026 for PubMed links, DOI links, footnotes and the words study, clinical, research and journal. The only hits were general phrases, such as the line about brands "using outdated research," with no citation attached.

We then searched PubMed for anything tested on the Davids formula itself. The searches "Davids toothpaste hydroxyapatite", "Davids Health Sciences" and "Davids Natural Toothpaste" as exact phrases, and "Hydroxi" together with toothpaste, all returned zero results. As of 25 September 2026, no published study on a Davids toothpaste exists in PubMed, whether commissioned by the brand or independent.

That is common in this category and not a mark against Davids in particular. Most toothpaste brands, with or without hydroxyapatite, sell on the strength of the ingredient's research rather than trials of their own finished paste. The research on nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste as a category is real, and our review of the hydroxyapatite toothpaste studies goes through it trial by trial with citations. The limit is in the transfer: those studies tested specific pastes at stated concentrations, and without Davids' percentage you cannot tell how close a Hydroxi tube is to any of them.

So the honest summary is this: the ingredient has a research base, the particle Davids describes is the nano, rod-shaped kind that research uses, and the finished Davids product has no published test. For the wider comparison between hydroxyapatite and fluoride, read nano-hydroxyapatite vs fluoride, and for why many dentists still default to fluoride, why dentists don't recommend hydroxyapatite.

Davids Hydroxi and Minvelle, side by side

Fact Davids Hydroxi (davids-usa.com, 25 Sep 2026) Minvelle
Nano-hydroxyapatite per tube or piece Percentage not disclosed; FAQ says only that it is in line with SCCS recommendations (EU legal cap: 10% in toothpaste) 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box
Active and fluoride Nano-hydroxyapatite plus xylitol; fluoride-free Nano-hydroxyapatite plus 817 mg xylitol per piece; fluoride-free
What is published Particle size (50 nm, rod-shaped, uncoated) and full ingredient list; no percentage, no RDA, no study on the formula Dose, particle size and batch certificate
Price, pack and directions $10.95 per 4 oz tube, used for brushing €24.99 for 18 pieces, 1 piece a day, at least 20 minutes

Minvelle is for people who want a written per-piece dose to chew between brushings; if you want a fluoride-free paste in a metal tube for your daily brushing, Davids Hydroxi is the easier buy.

See the dose on the box →

Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.

Part 6

Price math and the subscription display

Davids keeps pricing simple. On 25 September 2026, every full-size tube in both lines cost $10.95. A 3-pack cost $32.85, which is exactly three times $10.95, so there is no multi-buy discount on the 3-pack. Travel tubes of 1.75 oz cost $6.95 in the Hydroxi line and $5.95 in the Premium line. Bundles with a brush, tongue scraper and floss ran $37.95, and the full Oral Care Routine Kit $69.95.

The tube sizes are where the math shifts. A Hydroxi tube holds 4 oz (113 g). A Premium tube holds 5.25 oz. At the same $10.95, that works out to about $2.74 per ounce for Hydroxi and about $2.09 per ounce for Premium, so the hydroxyapatite version costs roughly 31% more per ounce. A Hydroxi travel tube at $6.95 for 1.75 oz is about $3.97 per ounce, the most expensive way to buy it.

For a first order, the homepage banner offered "free shipping on first order with code FREESHIP + free shipping $35+." The FAQ also mentions a rewards loyalty program for subscribers, without point values or redemption rates.

The subscription claim and what the product page showed

The dedicated subscription page states: "Save 15% on your first two orders, and 20% on every order after that." It adds that subscribers "can easily edit, skip, cancel, swap products, or make changes," and the FAQ says you can "cancel your subscription without penalty at any time." If those percentages apply, a $10.95 tube would come to about $9.31 on the first two orders and about $8.76 after that.

Here is what we observed when we loaded two product pages on 25 September 2026, Hydroxi Gum Health+Whitening Peppermint and Premium Peppermint: the purchase-options widget listed "One time Purchase $ 10.95" and "Subscribe and Save $ 10.95", the same price for both options, with no discount shown at the point where you choose. There are two plausible explanations. The discount may be applied later, in the cart or at checkout. Or the discount is not applied to those items. We did not place an order, so we cannot tell you which. What we can tell you is that the product page itself did not show the saving on the day we checked, so look at the cart total before you commit to a recurring order.

For comparison, Minvelle costs €24.99 for a box of 18 pieces at one piece a day, which is about €1.39 per day of use. That is a different product for a different job, and it sits on top of your toothpaste rather than replacing it, so treat it as an added cost, not a swap.

Part 7

Refunds, returns and cancellations

This is the section to read before checkout. Davids' refund policy, last updated on June 10, 2026 according to the store's own policy data, opens in capital letters: "ALL SALES FINAL - WE DO NOT ACCEPT RETURNS." It continues: "PLEASE READ THE DESCRIPTION/INGREDIENT LIST CAREFULLY BEFORE PURCHASING AS ALL SALES ARE FINAL" and "WE DO NOT ACCEPT ORDER CANCELLATIONS - ORDERS ARE PROCESSED IN REAL TIME... THEREFORE WE CANNOT ACCEPT ORDER CANCELLATIONS."

The policy includes one exception: a "European Union 14 day cooling off period" for merchandise shipped into the EU. In practice this rarely applies, because the brand's FAQ says it does not ship outside the US. Where an exception is granted, the policy promises a refund "within 10 business days" of approval.

The FAQ says the same thing in softer words: "All Davids items are non-returnable. If you are unsatisfied with your purchase, we want to hear from you... please send us a message at info@davids-usa.com." Elsewhere it reassures buyers that "based on customer feedback and reviews, the odds are in your favor that you will like Davids."

We searched the homepage, FAQ, Our Story, Hydroxi and hydroxyapatite pages for "guarantee," "money back" and "satisfaction" and found none, so there is no guarantee on the site that conflicts with the policy. There is simply no guarantee. The confident tone of the FAQ sits next to a no-returns rule, and a buyer should weigh the rule, not the tone.

What this means in practice: order one tube before a 3-pack, read the ingredient list first (especially if you want hydroxyapatite and might pick up a Premium tube by mistake), and keep your order confirmation and photos if anything arrives damaged. For contrast, Minvelle refunds unopened boxes within 30 days. Part 8

Where to buy Davids toothpaste

Per the brand's FAQ: "Davids is available on our website, Amazon, as well a growing number of beauty supply, spas, salons, clothing, specialty retail, and select grocery store locations nationwide." Walmart.com and iHerb also list Davids products. The FAQ is explicit on international orders: "No, we do not currently offer shipping outside the US, however several of our retail partners do offer International Shipping," naming Beauty Heroes and The Detox Market among them. For Davids next to 10 other hydroxyapatite pastes by stated dose, particle size and price, see our best hydroxyapatite toothpaste 2026 comparison.

Two practical notes. First, on any marketplace, check the product title for the word Hydroxi and read the ingredient panel in the listing photos, because the same flavor names exist in both lines. Second, the refund terms that apply depend on where you buy: a marketplace purchase falls under that marketplace's return rules, not Davids' all-sales-final policy. If return flexibility matters to you, that is a real reason to buy through a retailer you already trust.

Part 9

Reviews, ratings and complaint themes

There are three places to look, and they tell different stories because they measure different things.

The brand's own site. Davids product pages use an Okendo review widget. The ratings we saw in the page code on 25 September 2026 sat in the high 4-star range, with review counts from 11 to 1,261 per product. We could not reliably match each count to a specific product from the page code, so we do not quote a rating for any single paste. These are reviews collected and displayed by the brand, not an independent audit. Trustpilot. The profile for davids-usa.com showed a TrustScore of 3.2 out of 5, based on a single review. A score built on one review tells you almost nothing about the brand overall, and we mention it only because it exists. That one review, dated September 2, 2026 and rated one star, describes a cracked, leaking tube, and says the reviewer was told the purchase fell outside the replacement window and no resolution was offered. That is one customer's account, and it matches what the written policy would lead you to expect. BBB. The Better Business Bureau profile for Davids Health Sciences Inc, at the same Menifee address, showed the business as not BBB accredited, with a D+ rating and 3 complaints closed in the last 3 years, when read on 25 September 2026. The BBB lists the business as established June 13, 2023, which is the date for that entity, not for the brand. BBB ratings mix complaint handling, time in business and other factors, and 3 complaints over 3 years is a small number for a brand sold nationwide. EWG Verified. Several Davids products are listed in the Environmental Working Group's Verified program, and EWG's Skin Deep database has entries for Davids Sensitive+Whitening Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste and two Premium flavors. The EWG site blocked direct page loads during our check, so we confirmed the listings through search results pointing to ewg.org rather than reading each entry in full. What other reviews cover. The top search results for a Davids toothpaste review are mostly personal-use write-ups, one by a dentist reviewer and one on a competing toothpaste brand's own blog. One of them quotes a figure of 97% hydroxyapatite by weight. That number describes natural tooth enamel, not the toothpaste, and it is easy to misread. None of the pages we saw covered the hydroxyapatite percentage policy, the 50 nm disclosure, the two companies, the trademark status or the court dockets, which is why this review does. Part 10

FDA record, recalls and warning letters

We checked the three public FDA-side sources on 25 September 2026. The openFDA drug enforcement data and the openFDA food enforcement data returned no recall records for a recalling firm named Davids. DailyMed, the National Library of Medicine's label database, has no Davids toothpaste listing, which is expected: DailyMed covers drugs, and Davids sells cosmetic toothpaste with no fluoride. A search of FDA warning letters for Davids, Davids Health Sciences and Davids Natural Toothpaste found none.

Result: no FDA warning letters or recalls found for Davids, Davids Health Sciences or Davids Natural Toothpaste as of 25 September 2026. Part 11

Davids toothpaste lawsuit: what the dockets show

A lawsuit is a claim, not a verdict. Two federal cases name Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc. as defendant. Below is what the public dockets on CourtListener show, as checked on 25 September 2026. We describe the allegations only as allegations, attributed to where they come from.

Case Court and number Filed Status per the docket
Schoeps v. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc. U.S. District Court, N.D. California, No. 3:24-cv-01978 April 1, 2024 Closed. Stipulation of dismissal with prejudice filed May 9, 2025
Alexander Reilly v. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc. U.S. District Court, C.D. California, No. 5:25-cv-01103 (now 5:25-cv-01103-AS) May 7, 2025 Active. Answer filed April 17, 2026; scheduling order and referral to a private mediator June 1, 2026

Swipe sideways on mobile. Docket data from CourtListener, linked in the sources, as checked on 25 September 2026.

Schoeps: dismissed with prejudice

The Schoeps case was filed on April 1, 2024 in the Northern District of California by two plaintiffs, as a proposed class action under the court's diversity jurisdiction, with the docket's nature-of-suit code recorded as 370, "Other Fraud", which is a filing category, not a finding. Legal-news coverage at the time reported that the complaint challenged the "natural" marketing and alleged the presence of PFAS; those were the plaintiffs' allegations. Davids filed a motion for judgment on the pleadings in January 2025. On May 9, 2025, the plaintiffs filed a stipulation of dismissal with prejudice, which ended the case. The public docket shows no settlement terms, and no court made findings on the allegations.

Reilly: active, referred to mediation

The Reilly case was filed on May 7, 2025 in the Central District of California, with the nature of suit recorded as personal injury (other). According to the case summary published by Truth in Advertising, a nonprofit that tracks advertising cases, the complaint alleges that Davids marketed products as safe and made with clean ingredients while a Hydroxi-line toothpaste contained harmful levels of lead and arsenic. We have not read the complaint itself, and the complaint alleges; it does not prove. Allegations in a complaint are not findings of fact.

What the docket shows is procedure. After motion practice in 2025, Davids filed an answer to the complaint on April 17, 2026, which is the stage where a defendant formally responds to each allegation. The parties filed a joint discovery plan on May 1, 2026, and on June 1, 2026 the court issued a scheduling order and referred the case to a private mediator. As of the latest docket entries we could see, through June 1, 2026, and our check on 25 September 2026, no court has ruled on the allegations, and there has been no verdict, no published settlement and no admission.

If a ruling or settlement is entered, the docket links in our sources will show it before any blog does. We will update this section when the record changes.

In fairness

What Davids does well

A review built on documents owes the brand the documents in its favor, and Davids has several. It has a named founder with a public story, which many brands in this space do not. It states its nano-hydroxyapatite particle in writing, with a size, a shape and a coating status, and its ingredient panels declare the nano form outright. It publishes a full, plain-language ingredient list for every paste we checked. The formulas skip fluoride and SLS, the two things its core buyers are usually trying to avoid, and it keeps a separate original line for people who do not want hydroxyapatite at all.

The packaging is a real design choice. The FAQ explains that the tubes are "made out of aluminum metal and lined with a Food Grade Non-BPA liner so there is no paste to metal contact," the cap is recyclable HDPE, and the tube key is mild steel. You can even ask for the cap box to be left out with an order note. Pricing is flat and easy to understand, with no inflated "compare at" anchors. The FAQ answers the percentage question directly instead of dodging it, even if the answer is no. And we found no FDA warning letters or recalls on record.

None of that cancels the missing percentage, the no-returns policy or the active lawsuit, and those do not cancel this. Both are the record.

Who it suits

Who should buy Davids Hydroxi, and who should skip it

Davids Hydroxi fits you if you want a fluoride-free, SLS-free toothpaste with nano-hydroxyapatite, you are in the US, you like the idea of a metal tube, and you are comfortable buying without knowing the hydroxyapatite percentage. It also suits households that want one brand for adults and kids, since several Hydroxi flavors are sold as kids-and-adults pastes. Consider skipping it if the percentage is your deciding number. Some brands print it, and our fluoride-free ranking shows which. Skip it too if you need the freedom to return a product you do not like, since all sales are final at davids-usa.com, or if you live outside the US and want to buy from the brand directly. If your main concern is sensitivity, Davids' Sensitive+Whitening paste relies on hydroxyapatite rather than potassium nitrate, so compare it against our Sensodyne alternatives and hydroxyapatite vs Sensodyne guides. If you want the original Davids for the baking-soda taste and metal tube and do not care about hydroxyapatite, the Premium line is the better value per ounce. Just know what you are buying. If fluoride is part of your plan, Davids has no fluoride product. Many dentists recommend fluoride toothpaste, and your own dentist is the right person to decide which fits your teeth. The verdict

Davids toothpaste, in one paragraph

Davids is a real company with a named founder, a fluoride-free formula and a clear ingredient list, and its Hydroxi line is a nano-hydroxyapatite paste whose particle size is stated in writing. The things to weigh against that are all documented: Davids does not publish the hydroxyapatite percentage, there is no published study on its finished formula, the Premium line with matching flavor names contains no hydroxyapatite, the refund policy says all sales are final, the subscription discount was not shown on the product pages we checked, the DAVIDS word mark is still a pending application, and one federal lawsuit about a Hydroxi product is active with no ruling. If you buy it, buy one tube first, check the word Hydroxi on the label, and check the cart total if you subscribe.

Where Minvelle fits, briefly. A gum does not replace a toothpaste, and we would not suggest swapping one for the other. Minvelle is an add-on for the hours between brushings: one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece printed on the box and a published batch certificate. There is no clinical trial on the gum itself, and we say that plainly for the same reason we asked Davids for its numbers. For the category context, see hydroxyapatite paste vs anti-cavity gum.

Facts checked on 25 September 2026 from the sources below; if Davids changes its pages, tell us and we will update.

Glossary

Nano-hydroxyapatite: A lab-made form of the calcium-phosphate mineral that makes up tooth enamel, manufactured at controlled nano-scale particle sizes. Studies on it treat particle size and concentration as the working variables.

SCCS: The Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety, the EU's scientific advisory body on cosmetic ingredient safety. Its opinion on hydroxyapatite in oral care sets an upper concentration, which Davids cites as the reference for its formula.

INCI: The International Nomenclature of Cosmetic Ingredients, the standard naming system for ingredient panels. A nanomaterial is marked "(nano)" in the list.

RDA: Relative dentin abrasivity, a lab score for how abrasive a toothpaste is. Davids does not publish one.

Intent-to-use application: A US trademark application filed before the mark is in use. It registers only after the owner files a Statement of Use, and extensions of time to file it are routine.

Stipulation of dismissal with prejudice: An agreement by the parties that ends a case permanently, so the same claims cannot be refiled. It is not a ruling on whether the allegations were true.

Referral to mediation: A court order sending the parties to a neutral mediator to try to settle. It is not a finding for either side.

Selling plan: Shopify's name for the subscription options on a product page. The price shown in the widget may differ from the final checkout price.

Questions, answered

The things people actually ask

Is Davids toothpaste legit?

Davids is a real US company. Its founder, Eric Buss, is named on its own site, its trademark filings sit in the USPTO register under two related corporations at the same Menifee, California address, and its toothpaste is sold on its own site, on Amazon, and in shops across the US. The Hydroxi line declares nano-hydroxyapatite on the ingredient panel and states a 50 nm rod-shaped particle. The things a buyer should know before paying: Davids does not publish the hydroxyapatite percentage, all sales are final under its refund policy, no published study on its own formula exists in PubMed, and one federal lawsuit about a Hydroxi product is active, with no ruling on its allegations.

Does Davids toothpaste have hydroxyapatite?

Only the Hydroxi line does. The Hydroxi tubes list hydroxyapatite on the ingredient panel, written as "hydroxyapatite (nano)", "nano hydroxyapatite (rod shaped)" or "(nano) hydroxyapatite" depending on the product. The original Premium line, including Premium Peppermint and Premium Charcoal+Peppermint, contains no hydroxyapatite at all. Several flavor names, such as Strawberry Watermelon and Mild Mint, exist in both lines, so check for the word Hydroxi on the tube.

How much nano-hydroxyapatite is in Davids Hydroxi?

Davids does not say. Its FAQ answers the question directly: "While we do not give out the exact percentage of any ingredient in our proprietary Hydroxi formula, we do say that the amount we use is in line with the recommendations from the Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS)." The Hydroxi page adds that the SCCS recommends less than 10% hydroxyapatite. That is a ceiling, not a dose. What Davids does publish is the particle: uncoated, rod-shaped, 50 nm.

Is there a Davids toothpaste lawsuit?

Two federal cases name Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc. as defendant. Schoeps v. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc., No. 3:24-cv-01978 in the Northern District of California, was filed on April 1, 2024 and dismissed with prejudice by stipulation on May 9, 2025. Alexander Reilly v. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc., No. 5:25-cv-01103 in the Central District of California, was filed on May 7, 2025 and is active: Davids answered the complaint on April 17, 2026, and on June 1, 2026 the court referred the case to a private mediator. Allegations in a complaint are not findings. As of 25 September 2026, no court has ruled on them.

Who owns Davids toothpaste?

The founder is Eric Buss; the brand's Our Story page explains that Davids is his middle name. Two corporations appear in the public record at 33360 Zeiders Rd., Menifee, California: Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc., a California corporation that owns the registered SUSTAIN | NATURE+YOU trademark and is the defendant in the two lawsuits, and Davids Health Sciences, Inc., a Delaware corporation that owns the pending DAVIDS trademark application and appears in the site footer. The exact relationship between the two is not stated in any record we checked.

Is Davids toothpaste fluoride-free?

Yes. Every listing in the Davids catalog we checked on 25 September 2026 carries a fluoride-free tag, and no fluoride product was in the catalog. The labels also show no Drug Facts panel, which fits a cosmetic toothpaste rather than an over-the-counter anticavity drug.

What is the difference between Davids Hydroxi and Davids Premium?

Hydroxi is the nano-hydroxyapatite line in a 4 oz tube. Premium is the original line in a 5.25 oz tube with no hydroxyapatite. Both cost $10.95 a tube, both use calcium carbonate, baking soda, hydrated silica, xylitol and sodium cocoyl glutamate, and both come in aluminum tubes. The difference is the hydroxyapatite, plus a smaller tube for the same price on the Hydroxi side.

Can I return Davids toothpaste?

Not under the standard policy. The refund policy reads "ALL SALES FINAL - WE DO NOT ACCEPT RETURNS" and "WE DO NOT ACCEPT ORDER CANCELLATIONS." The FAQ says all Davids items are non-returnable and asks unhappy buyers to write to info@davids-usa.com. The policy names an EU 14-day cooling-off exception, but Davids says it does not ship outside the US.

Does the Davids subscription save money?

The subscription page says: "Save 15% on your first two orders, and 20% on every order after that." When we opened two product pages on 25 September 2026, the purchase-options widget showed the same $10.95 for one-time purchase and for Subscribe and Save. The discount may be applied later at checkout; we did not place an order, so we cannot confirm either way. Check the cart total before you commit.

Is Davids toothpaste safe?

We found no FDA warning letter and no recall for Davids in the openFDA enforcement data, DailyMed or the FDA warning-letter search as of 25 September 2026, and several Davids products are listed in EWG's Verified program. One active lawsuit makes allegations about a Hydroxi product; those are claims that no court has ruled on. This article is educational, not medical advice, so ask your dentist about your own situation.

Where is Davids toothpaste sold?

On davids-usa.com (with a hyphen), on Amazon, and in beauty supply stores, spas, salons, specialty shops and select grocery stores across the US, per the brand's FAQ. Walmart and iHerb list Davids products too. Davids says it does not ship outside the US from its own store. Note that davidsusa.com, without the hyphen, is an unrelated placeholder page.

Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.

Sources
  1. CourtListener docket, Schoeps v. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc., No. 3:24-cv-01978 (N.D. Cal.): filed April 1, 2024; stipulation of dismissal with prejudice May 9, 2025
  2. CourtListener docket, Alexander Reilly v. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc., No. 5:25-cv-01103 (C.D. Cal.): filed May 7, 2025; answer April 17, 2026; referral to private mediator June 1, 2026
  3. USPTO TSDR, DAVIDS, serial 97865772: LIVE/APPLICATION/Under Examination, owner Davids Health Sciences, Inc. (Delaware), status date September 21, 2026
  4. USPTO TSDR, SUSTAIN | NATURE+YOU, serial 88816087, registration 6563553: owner Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc. (California), registered November 16, 2021
  5. RDAP registry record for davids-usa.com: created August 11, 2011
  6. RDAP registry record for davidsusa.com: registered April 26, 2024, unrelated to the brand
  7. BBB profile, Davids Health Sciences Inc: not accredited, D+ rating, 3 complaints closed in 3 years, as read September 25, 2026
  8. Trustpilot profile for davids-usa.com: TrustScore 3.2 based on 1 review, as displayed September 25, 2026
  9. EWG Verified program listing for Davids Natural Toothpaste
  10. openFDA drug enforcement query for recalling firm Davids: no matches, September 25, 2026
  11. openFDA food enforcement query for recalling firm Davids: no matches, September 25, 2026
  12. DailyMed (National Library of Medicine): no Davids toothpaste listing, September 25, 2026
  13. PubMed search, "Davids Natural Toothpaste": zero results, September 25, 2026
  14. Davids brand pages at davids-usa.com, quoted verbatim above and checked September 25, 2026: /pages/hydroxi, /pages/faq, /pages/our-story, /pages/davids-subscription, the refund policy, and the product pages for Hydroxi Gum Health+Whitening Peppermint, Hydroxi Sensitive+Whitening Peppermint, Hydroxi Mild Mint, Premium Peppermint and Premium Charcoal+Peppermint
  15. Truth in Advertising case summary of Reilly v. Davids Natural Toothpaste, Inc., cited above for the complaint's allegations
M

About the author

Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.

Documents over adjectives. This review set out to answer the questions people actually type about Davids, including the uncomfortable one about lawsuits, without adding a single characterization of our own. What came out is a brand that states more than most about its particle and less than some about its dose, that sells two different formulas under shared flavor names, and that runs a strict no-returns policy. Davids could change parts of this article easily: publish the hydroxyapatite percentage, publish an RDA number, show the subscription price on the product page. We would welcome writing that update. All findings reflect the listed pages and records as checked on 25 September 2026; pages and dockets change, and the links in the sources are there so you can re-check every claim.

Between brushings

A remineralizing gum with the dose in writing

Keep brushing with the paste you like. Minvelle is for the hours in between: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, printed on the box, xylitol-sweetened and fluoride-free, one piece a day chewed for at least 20 minutes. 18 pieces per box, batch certificate published.

Try Minvelle with 10% off

Or see the subscription option →

30-day refund on unopened boxes

Back to blog