Theodent toothpaste review 2026: theobromine, studies, price
Product Review

Theodent toothpaste review 2026: theobromine, studies, price

Theodent is the toothpaste that swapped fluoride for theobromine, a compound from cacao, and it markets that swap with some of the most specific numbers in the category: "71 times" more fluoride needed, tubules closed "within three days", an FDA clearance. This review reads the label, resolves every study Theodent cites, checks how its own pages describe them, and looks at the price, from $16 to $100 a tube. Every finding carries the date I checked it.

M
Max, Founder of Minvelle
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 26 September 2026 · 22 min read

Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum with nano-hydroxyapatite, which Theodent's pages discuss as a competing technology. That is a reason to be careful, so every statement about Theodent below is Theodent's own text, an FDA or court record, or a peer-reviewed paper we resolved in PubMed.

The short answer

Theodent is a fluoride-free toothpaste whose active, Rennou, is theobromine from cacao paired with calcium and phosphate. It comes in Classic (spearmint, $16), Kids (chocolate, $16) and 300 ("extra-strength", $100), each 3.4 oz. All three list the same 16 ingredients; no theobromine amount is stated. There is no hydroxyapatite and no fluoride.

The evidence is mostly laboratory work. The headline "71 times" figure comes from a 2013 lab study in which theobromine in artificial saliva and a fluoride toothpaste slurry produced remineralization that was not statistically different; Theodent's clinical page calls it "randomized double-blind", which the paper does not. Independent lab work is mixed, and the only study in children was small and preliminary.

The FDA clearance is real, but it is for a professional varnish for sensitivity, not for the toothpaste. Theodent is a reasonable choice for adults who have decided against fluoride and want something other than hydroxyapatite; the 300's price is hard to justify from what is published.

Theodent answers a different question from the one our product answers. Theodent makes toothpaste, the thing you brush with twice a day. Minvelle is a chewing gum for between brushings, one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece printed on the box. It is an extra step, not a replacement for any toothpaste, Theodent's included.

At a glance

Theodent, in one table

Question What we found Source, date
Active Rennou: theobromine with calcium (calcium acetate) and phosphate (disodium phosphate) theodent.com ingredients and technology pages, 26 Sep 2026
Theobromine amount Not stated for any product, including the "extra-strength" 300 Product pages
Fluoride / hydroxyapatite Neither Ingredient lists
Products and prices Classic $16, Kids $16, 300 $100; each 3.4 oz (96.4 g), about two months of twice-daily use Product pages
Key study cited Amaechi et al. 2013, Caries Res, PMID 23615395: lab pH-cycling; theobromine and fluoride slurry not significantly different PubMed
FDA 510(k) K243777 for Rennou Varnish (3%), cleared 27 May 2025; the professional varnish, not the toothpaste openFDA 510(k) database
Court record Theodent, LLC v. Sadeghpour, E.D. La. 2:22-cv-00507, trademark, filed 25 Feb 2022, terminated 5 Aug 2022 CourtListener

Swipe sideways on mobile. Every row checked 26 September 2026.

Part 1

What is in Theodent? The label, word for word

On 26 September 2026 all three Theodent product pages printed the same ingredient list:

Aqua/Water/Eau, Hydrated Silica, Xylitol, Sorbitol, Glycerin, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Xanthan Gum, Theobromine, Calcium Acetate, Disodium Phosphate, Citric Acid, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Chloride, Stevioside, Flavor.

In plain English: water, sorbitol and glycerin make the paste; hydrated silica is the mild abrasive; xylitol and stevioside sweeten it; sodium lauroyl sarcosinate is the foaming agent, which Theodent describes as "a safer alternative to SLS"; xanthan gum thickens; theobromine, calcium acetate and disodium phosphate are the Rennou system; citric acid, baking soda and salt adjust pH and taste; sodium benzoate preserves. Theodent's ingredients page adds that Kids uses natural chocolate flavour, Classic and 300 use spearmint leaf oil, and all use a little vanilla extract; it also notes the foaming agent is in Classic and 300, although the Kids product page lists it too.

No dose, and the same list for a $16 and a $100 tube

Theobromine sits eighth, after the foaming agent and thickener. Theodent does not state how much theobromine any product contains. That matters most for Theodent 300, which the product page describes as "an extra-strength dose of Rennou" and prices at $100 for 3.4 oz, against $16 for Classic. The ingredient list printed for 300 is identical to Classic's, in the same order. A higher concentration would not necessarily change the order, but without a number, the buyer has no way to see what the extra $84 pays for.

What theobromine is

Theobromine is a natural compound in the cacao plant, chemically related to caffeine. Theodent's technology page explains the idea behind Rennou: "In laboratory research, theobromine influenced the growth of hydroxyapatite, the mineral crystal that makes up enamel. The crystals that formed were larger, which means less surface area for acid to attack, and they were harder to dissolve." In other words, Rennou does not add enamel mineral the way a hydroxyapatite paste does; it supplies calcium and phosphate and aims to change how the mineral that forms at the surface crystallises.

Two new flavours land in December

Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.

Part 2

The "71 times" claim, checked against the paper

Theodent's clinical-information page opens with this sentence: "In a randomized double-blind study, it took 71 times more fluoride to match the remineralization theobromine achieved (Caries Research, 2013)." The technology page puts it as: "Rennou achieves rapid enamel remineralization at 71x less concentration when compared to a typical fluoride toothpaste."

The paper is Amaechi and colleagues, Caries Research 2013 (PMID 23615395). It is a laboratory study. Three blocks were cut from each of 30 extracted teeth, caries-like lesions were created with acid gel, and the blocks were cycled for 28 days in one of three media: artificial saliva alone, artificial saliva with theobromine at 0.0011 mol/l, or a sodium fluoride toothpaste slurry at 0.0789 mol/l fluoride. Both theobromine and the toothpaste slurry produced significant remineralization, and "remineralization produced by theobromine and toothpaste was not significantly different".

Measure (Amaechi 2013) Theobromine in artificial saliva NaF toothpaste slurry Artificial saliva alone
Surface microhardness recovery 38% (±32), significant 29% (±16), significant Not significant
Mineral gain (microradiography) Significantly above saliva alone Significantly above saliva alone Reference
Surface calcium (EDS) 13% (±8) 10% (±5) 6% (±8)

Caries Res 2013;47(5):399-405, PMID 23615395, resolved 26 September 2026. Differences between theobromine and toothpaste were not statistically significant.

Three details matter. First, the "71 times" is the ratio of molar concentrations in the two media, not a finding that theobromine works 71 times better; the two produced results that were not statistically different. Theodent's own technology-page footnote describes it accurately as "about 72 times the molar concentration" with remineralization "not statistically different". Second, the paper describes a laboratory pH-cycling model; its abstract does not describe a randomized double-blind design, which is the wording on the clinical-information page. Third, the author list includes A. Sadeghpour and T. Nakamoto, and Theodent's own company page names Dr. Tetsuo Nakamoto as the researcher whose work the brand was developed from. Theodent's clinical page describes the lead author, Professor Bennett Amaechi, as "an independent researcher", which may be true of him; the paper itself has Theodent-connected co-authors.

None of this means the study is weak for what it is. It is a reasonable lab study showing theobromine can enhance remineralization in an apatite-forming medium. It is not a clinical trial, and it does not show that brushing with Theodent prevents cavities as well as, or better than, fluoride.

Remember this

A different active, not hydroxyapatite

Theodent's Rennou is theobromine with calcium and phosphate. It aims to change how enamel mineral forms, rather than supplying the mineral itself.

"71 times" is a concentration ratio

In the 2013 lab study, theobromine and a fluoride slurry gave results that were not statistically different. The 71 is how much more concentrated the fluoride medium was.

The FDA clearance is for a varnish

Rennou Varnish was cleared in 2025 for sensitivity relief by tubule occlusion. The toothpaste is not FDA-cleared, and does not need to be.

Part 3

The rest of the evidence, for and against

Dentine tubule occlusion

The second study Theodent highlights is Amaechi and colleagues, Clinical Oral Investigations 2015 (PMID 24671714). Volunteers wore dentine blocks in the mouth while brushing with one of four pastes: Theodent Classic, a Theodent Classic version with fluoride, a 1,500 ppm fluoride toothpaste and a NovaMin toothpaste. After one and two days, both Theodent pastes occluded more tubules than the NovaMin and fluoride pastes; after three and seven days, the Theodent pastes and NovaMin were comparable, and the regular fluoride paste stayed lower. That supports Theodent's sensitivity positioning. Two notes: the study measured tubule occlusion on dentine blocks, not pain in people, and one of the tested products was a fluoride-containing Theodent formula that is not in today's range.

Independent laboratory work

Independent results are mixed. A 2024 systematic review and meta-analysis of laboratory studies (Silva and colleagues, Oper Dent, PMID 38987932) concluded that theobromine increased the microhardness of demineralized enamel with success equivalent to fluoride. Against that, a 2020 study at Indiana University (Thorn and colleagues, J Dent, PMID 34059300) found that theobromine, continuously present in a plaque-fluid-like medium, did not affect de- or remineralization of enamel lesions under its conditions, and concluded: "Based on the presently available evidence, theobromine cannot be recommended as an anticaries agent." Other lab studies, including Farhad and colleagues 2021 (PMID 35965702) and Nassar and Lippert 2021 (PMID 33435546), examined theobromine solutions and protocols with varying results. The honest reading is that theobromine's effect depends heavily on the model.

In children

The only clinical study of Theodent Kids we found is Durhan and colleagues, Acta Stomatologica Croatica 2021 (PMID 33867534), explicitly labelled "preliminary results". It compared Theodent Kids with Colgate Kids fluoride toothpaste in 26 children with early childhood caries, 13 per group. Both pastes showed enamel remineralization of early lesions and reduced Streptococcus mutans levels; the authors declared no conflicts and no company funding. It is encouraging and very small, and it was not designed to show that theobromine prevents new cavities as well as fluoride.

What is missing

We found no randomised clinical trial in which a Theodent toothpaste was compared with a fluoride toothpaste over months, with new cavities as the outcome. For hydroxyapatite toothpaste, several such trials exist; our comparison of hydroxyapatite and fluoride lists them. For theobromine, the evidence is still at the laboratory and pilot stage.

Part 4

The FDA clearance, and what it covers

Theodent's clinical page says Rennou Varnish "received FDA 510(k) clearance on May 27, 2025", clearance K243777. The openFDA database confirms it: applicant Theodent, LLC; device names Rennou Varnish (3%) in spearmint, strawberry, cherry and bubble gum; product code LBH; decision "Substantially Equivalent", dated 27 May 2025, after a submission received on 9 December 2024. Theodent states the indication as relief of dentin hypersensitivity through mechanical occlusion of dentinal tubules, and it adds, correctly: "The clearance applies to the professional varnish, not to Theodent toothpaste."

That is a genuine regulatory milestone for the Rennou technology. It is also a narrower one than the headline suggests. A 510(k) clearance means the FDA found the varnish substantially equivalent to a device already on the market for that use; it is not an approval of theobromine as an anti-cavity drug, and the toothpaste itself remains a cosmetic product that makes no FDA-reviewed drug claim.

Part 5

How Theodent talks about fluoride and hydroxyapatite

Theodent's technology page is candid that fluoride "works" and that its "efficacy is well established". Its argument is about safety at the margin: fluoride toothpastes carry a US warning to seek help if more than the amount used for brushing is swallowed, which Theodent says "matters most for children". Theodent states that Rennou "is not harmful if accidentally swallowed" and that its components hold GRAS status. Swallowing a little toothpaste is exactly what small children do, so this is a real consideration for parents; paediatric dental guidance addresses it with a smear or pea-sized amount of fluoride paste rather than by dropping fluoride.

The same page is sceptical of nano-hydroxyapatite, describing its mechanism as "saturation" at "5 to 10 percent" and questioning "its true potential to replace fluoride's efficacy". We have an interest here, so we will only note the record: nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes have randomised clinical trials against fluoride with cavities as the outcome, and theobromine toothpastes, as far as we found, do not yet.

Part 6

Company, record and price

Theodent's company page says the brand was "Born in New Orleans" and "developed from the research of Tetsuo Nakamoto, DDS, Ph.D.", who "in the 1990s, along with two of his colleagues, Alexander Falster, MS, and William 'Skip' Simmons, Ph.D." discovered the cacao ingredient. It says Theodent launched in "two-thirds of Whole Foods Markets" in 2012 and has distribution in "over 20 countries". The domain theodent.com was first registered on 25 May 2007, according to the .com registry's RDAP record. The professional contact given is info@theo-corp.com.

CourtListener shows one federal case: Theodent, LLC v. Sadeghpour (US District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, No. 2:22-cv-00507), filed on 25 February 2022 and terminated on 5 August 2022, with nature of suit recorded as trademark and Theocorp Holding Company, LLC also listed as a party. Theodent is the plaintiff. An A. Sadeghpour is a co-author of the 2013 Caries Research study. The docket summary does not tell us the outcome, and we draw no conclusion from it.

Price

Product Size Price Per month at Theodent's two-month estimate
Theodent Classic (spearmint) 3.4 oz (96.4 g) $16 about $8
Theodent Kids (chocolate) 3.4 oz (96.4 g) $16 about $8
Theodent 300 (diamond mint) 3.4 oz (96.4 g) $100 about $50

theodent.com, 26 September 2026. Theodent states each tube lasts "approximately two months of twice-daily use".

Classic and Kids are priced like most premium fluoride-free pastes. Theodent 300, at $100 a tube, is by far the most expensive toothpaste we have reviewed, and its product page gives no theobromine amount, no study of the 300 formula and no explanation of how much more Rennou it contains. We found no published evidence that would justify the difference.

How Theodent compares on paper

Toothpaste Active Stated amount Best clinical evidence found
Theodent Classic Theobromine (Rennou) Not stated Lab and in situ studies; one small preliminary study in children
Biorepair classic enamel tube Zinc hydroxyapatite 22% Lab and small clinical studies
Bioniq Repair Hydroxyapatite 20% Randomised caries trials of hydroxyapatite pastes, several with authors employed by its maker
A fluoride toothpaste Sodium fluoride Typically 1,000 to 1,500 ppm Decades of randomised trials

Makers' own pages and our reviews, 25 and 26 September 2026.

What people say about theobromine toothpaste

Theobromine comes up less often than hydroxyapatite in consumer forums, and when it does, the claims tend to grow in the retelling. In a March 2026 r/Crunchymom thread about fluoride-free toothpaste, a commenter who describes herself as a dental hygienist recommended a different theobromine brand and wrote that theobromine "is 10x stronger than fluoride". Nothing in the studies above supports a figure like that: the best-known lab study found theobromine and fluoride similar, and one independent lab study found no effect at all under its conditions. If you see a multiplier attached to theobromine, it almost always traces back to the concentration ratio in the 2013 paper, not to a comparison of results.

How to use it if you choose it

Theodent's directions are the standard ones: brush twice a day for two minutes. Two additions follow from the evidence rather than the label. Spit and do not rinse straight away, which keeps any active in contact with the teeth for longer, the same advice that applies to fluoride and hydroxyapatite pastes. And keep your dental check-ups on schedule, because with a fluoride-free paste that has no clinical caries trial behind it, early detection is your safety net. If your dentist sees new early lesions, that is the moment to revisit the choice.

Part 7

Who Theodent suits

  • Adults who have decided, with their dentist, against fluoride and want an alternative to hydroxyapatite. Classic at $16 is a reasonable way to try it.
  • People with dentine sensitivity who want a fluoride-free option; the tubule-occlusion study and the varnish clearance point in this direction, though the toothpaste itself carries no sensitivity approval.
  • Parents worried about swallowing, who should still discuss fluoride with their child's dentist, since the Kids evidence is one small preliminary study.
  • Not for anyone with a high cavity risk who is replacing fluoride, and not a strong case for the $100 Theodent 300 on the published evidence.

Our fluoride-free toothpaste ranking sets Theodent's disclosure next to other brands, and our Biorepair review covers a zinc-hydroxyapatite alternative at a lower price.

Part 8

Theodent and a nano-hydroxyapatite gum: different moments

Theodent works for the two minutes you brush. Minvelle works in a different window: one piece after a meal, chewed for at least 20 minutes, which raises saliva, the mouth's own buffer against acid and its own supply of calcium and phosphate. That 20-minute condition is attached to the EU-authorised claim for sugar-free gum. Minvelle adds a stated 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece to that window. If you brush with Theodent, a piece after lunch is an extra step, not a switch.

What a gum cannot do

  • It does not replace brushing. A gum does not remove plaque the way a toothbrush and paste do.
  • It does not replace fluoride toothpaste. If your dentist has recommended fluoride, keep using it.
  • It does not repair a cavity. No gum and no toothpaste fills a hole in a tooth. That is a job for a dentist.
  • It does not bleach teeth. There is no peroxide in it; at most it helps with surface stains between brushings.
  • It has not been in a clinical trial. There is no clinical trial on the finished Minvelle gum. What we publish is the dose, the full ingredient list and a batch certificate from lab testing of the finished gum.

Theodent and Minvelle, side by side

Fact Theodent Classic (theodent.com, 26 Sep 2026) Minvelle
Nano-HAp per tube or piece None (active is theobromine with calcium and phosphate, Rennou) 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box
Active Theobromine, calcium acetate, disodium phosphate; fluoride-free Nano-hydroxyapatite plus 817 mg xylitol per piece; fluoride-free
What is published Full ingredient list; no theobromine amount; lab and in situ studies, several with Theodent-connected authors; FDA 510(k) for the separate varnish Dose, full ingredient list, particle size and batch certificate; no clinical trial on the gum
Price and directions $16 per 3.4 oz tube (300: $100); brush twice daily for two minutes €24.99 for 18 pieces, 1 piece a day, at least 20 minutes

If you want a fluoride-free toothpaste built on a different mechanism from hydroxyapatite, Theodent Classic is a fair-priced way to try theobromine; Minvelle is for people who want a written per-piece dose of nano-hydroxyapatite to chew between brushings, on top of whichever toothpaste they use.

See the dose on the box →

Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.

In fairness

What Theodent does well

Theodent is built on original research rather than a borrowed ingredient story, and it publishes a full ingredient list, a list of studies with working DOI links, a downloadable research dossier and the names of its researchers. Its technology page states plainly that fluoride works, and its clinical page is careful to say the FDA clearance covers the varnish, not the toothpaste. The varnish clearance itself is a real regulatory achievement. The Classic and Kids pastes are fairly priced, and the formula avoids sodium lauryl sulfate. The 2015 in situ study is a genuine point in favour of its sensitivity positioning.

The gaps are specific: no theobromine amount, a clinical-page description of the 2013 lab study that does not match the paper, a $100 product whose extra strength is not quantified, and no clinical caries trial yet. Theodent could close most of them with numbers it already has.

How we checked

Method and conflict of interest

We read Theodent's product pages, ingredients page, technology page, clinical-information page and company page, and the public store catalog, on 26 September 2026; resolved every study Theodent cites and the independent theobromine studies in PubMed; checked the FDA 510(k) record in openFDA, the domain's registry record and CourtListener. We did not buy or lab-test Theodent. Minvelle sells a nano-hydroxyapatite gum, and Theodent's pages argue against nano-hydroxyapatite; we have tried to report its record, not rebut its opinion.

The verdict

Theodent, in one paragraph

Theodent is a real, research-born fluoride-free toothpaste with a clean label and an interesting mechanism, backed so far by laboratory and in situ studies and one small preliminary study in children. Its headline "71 times" figure is a concentration ratio from a lab study in which theobromine and fluoride performed similarly, not a clinical result, and its FDA clearance is for a separate varnish. Classic is a fair way to try it if you have chosen fluoride-free brushing with your dentist; the $100 Theodent 300 has no published evidence to justify its price.

Glossary

Theobromine: A natural compound in cacao, related to caffeine. Theodent's active ingredient.

Rennou: Theodent's trade name for its active system: theobromine with calcium and phosphate.

pH-cycling model: A lab method that alternates tooth samples between acid and remineralizing solutions to imitate daily conditions.

In situ study: A study in which tooth samples are worn in volunteers' mouths, between a lab test and a clinical trial.

510(k) clearance: An FDA decision that a medical device is substantially equivalent to one already legally marketed. It is not a drug approval.

Dentine tubules: Microscopic channels in the layer under enamel. Open tubules are one cause of sensitivity; closing them is how many sensitivity products work.

Questions, answered

The things people actually ask

Is Theodent better than fluoride?

No study we found shows that. In the 2013 lab study Theodent cites, theobromine and a fluoride toothpaste slurry produced remineralization that was not statistically different. There is no randomised clinical trial comparing Theodent with fluoride toothpaste for cavities.

What does "71 times" mean on Theodent's site?

It refers to the 2013 Caries Research lab study, where the fluoride medium was about 72 times more concentrated (by moles) than the theobromine medium, and the two gave similar remineralization. It is a concentration ratio, not a measure of how much better Theodent works.

Is Theodent FDA approved?

Theodent's Rennou Varnish, a professional product, received FDA 510(k) clearance (K243777) on 27 May 2025 for dentin hypersensitivity. The toothpaste is not FDA-cleared; Theodent itself says the clearance applies to the varnish, not the toothpaste.

Does Theodent contain hydroxyapatite or fluoride?

Neither. Its active is theobromine with calcium acetate and disodium phosphate. It aims to influence how enamel mineral forms rather than adding hydroxyapatite.

Is Theodent 300 worth $100?

Theodent describes 300 as an extra-strength dose of Rennou but states no theobromine amount, and its printed ingredient list is identical to the $16 Classic. We found no published study of the 300 formula, so we cannot say what the extra cost buys.

Is Theodent safe for kids?

Theodent says Rennou is not harmful if accidentally swallowed. A small preliminary study in 26 children found Theodent Kids and a fluoride kids' toothpaste both remineralized early lesions. Most paediatric dental guidance still recommends fluoride toothpaste in small amounts; ask your child's dentist.

Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, including before switching between a fluoride and a fluoride-free product. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.

Sources
  1. Amaechi BT, Porteous N, Ramalingam K, Mensinkai PK, et al. Remineralization of artificial enamel lesions by theobromine. Caries Res 2013. PMID 23615395
  2. Amaechi BT, Mathews SM, Mensinkai PK. Effect of theobromine-containing toothpaste on dentin tubule occlusion in situ. Clin Oral Investig 2015. PMID 24671714
  3. Durhan MA, Ozsalih S, Gokkaya B, Kulan PY, et al. Caries preventive effects of theobromine containing toothpaste on early childhood caries: preliminary results. Acta Stomatol Croat 2021. PMID 33867534
  4. Silva AD, Gonçalves RDS, Catão MV, et al. Theobromine for remineralization of white spot lesions on dental enamel: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oper Dent 2024. PMID 38987932
  5. Thorn AK, Lin WS, Levon JA, Morton D, et al. The effect of theobromine on the in vitro de- and remineralization of enamel carious lesions. J Dent 2020. PMID 34059300
  6. Farhad F, Kazemi S, Bijani A, Pasdar N. Efficacy of theobromine and sodium fluoride solutions for remineralization of initial enamel caries lesions. Front Dent 2021. PMID 35965702
  7. Nassar HM, Lippert F. Artificial caries lesion characteristics after secondary demineralization with theobromine-containing protocol. Molecules 2021. PMID 33435546
  8. openFDA 510(k) record K243777: Rennou Varnish, Theodent, LLC, decision 27 May 2025
  9. CourtListener docket: Theodent, LLC v. Sadeghpour, E.D. La. 2:22-cv-00507
  10. RDAP registry record for theodent.com: first registered May 25, 2007

Also checked, without a link: Theodent's own pages, quoted above and checked 26 September 2026: Classic, Kids and 300 product pages, the ingredients, technology, clinical-information and company pages, and the public store catalog.

M

About the author

Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.

The answer in one line: Theodent is a research-born, fluoride-free theobromine toothpaste with a clean label and lab and in situ support, but no clinical caries trial; its "71 times" figure is a concentration ratio from a lab study where theobromine and fluoride performed similarly, its FDA clearance is for a separate varnish, and the $100 Theodent 300 is not justified by anything published. All findings reflect the pages and records listed as checked on 26 September 2026.

Between brushings

Keep your toothpaste. Add a dose in writing.

Brush with the toothpaste you trust. Minvelle is for between brushings: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, printed on the box, xylitol-sweetened, one piece a day chewed for at least 20 minutes. 18 pieces per box, batch certificate published. Two new flavours, Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon, arrive in December; the first-dibs list is open if you want to hear first.

Try Minvelle with 10% off

Or see the subscription option →

30-day refund on unopened boxes

Back to blog