Best xylitol gum 2026: 7 brands ranked by dose
Seven xylitol gums ranked on the number most brands do not print: milligrams of xylitol per piece. Then the sweetener blend, the gum base, and the price per gram of xylitol. One of the seven is mine, and on the figure most xylitol buyers care about, cost per gram, it finishes last. This page says so in the first table. If you want the research on xylitol itself, our 20-year xylitol research summary covers it. This page answers the buying question.
Published September 2026 · Last reviewed: 5 September 2026 · 24 min read
One piece, once a day, with the dose on the page
Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 817 mg of xylitol and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, made to be chewed one piece a day after meals or when brushing is not an option. A box holds 18 pieces, which is 18 days, and it sits alongside your fluoride routine rather than replacing it. The full formula and the batch certificate are published.
Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29What is the best xylitol gum in 2026?
On the numbers brands publish, Epic Dental ranks first with a stated 1.06 g of xylitol per piece and no other sweetener. Zellie's is second with a stated 1.0 g per piece at about $0.14 per gram of xylitol. Minvelle, which I make, is third: it states 817 mg per piece on its transparency page, but at roughly 1.70 euros per gram of xylitol it is the most expensive way to buy xylitol on this list, because the price is for the hydroxyapatite, not the sweetener. PUR, Spry and XyliChew are sweetened with xylitol alone but did not state a per-piece milligram figure on their own product pages when we checked on 5 September 2026. Trident lists sorbitol first and xylitol third with no quantity, so it is not a xylitol gum by the standard of any study cited here.
How much xylitol do you need for it to matter?
More than one piece. The 2022 meta-analysis that pooled the trials found the most effective products delivered 5 to 10 g of xylitol a day across three to five chews (PMID 35462747), and the largest gum trial ran 4.3 to 9.0 g a day (PMID 8600188). At 1 g a piece, that is five pieces spread through the day. A single piece of any gum here, ours included, sits below every studied dose. And Cochrane rated the gum evidence itself low to very low quality (PMID 25809586), so treat the whole category as a habit with a plausible mechanism, not a proven treatment.
The quick verdict, in one screen
Here is the ranked order, with the fact that placed each brand where it is. Everything comes from the brand's own product page or listing, read on 5 September 2026. Where a brand publishes no per-piece amount, the row says so; we never estimate a dose a company has not stated, not from the ingredient order, not from the piece weight, and not from a retailer's copy.
- Epic Dental: 1.06 g of xylitol per piece, stated in the brand's own listing title; xylitol is the only sweetener. Price for the 500-piece bag not captured, so no cost per gram.
- Zellie's: 1.0 g per piece, stated on its own product page; xylitol only; $13.99 per 100 pieces, about $0.14 per gram of xylitol. The best fully computable row on the page.
- Minvelle (ours): 817 mg per piece, 43 percent of a 1.9 g piece, published on our transparency page; xylitol first, then 285 mg erythritol; chicle and mastic base; €24.99 per 18 pieces, about 1.70 euros per gram of xylitol, the most expensive here by a wide margin.
- PUR: xylitol is the only sweetener, no sorbitol, no aspartame; cheapest per piece at about $0.076 on a 12-pack listing; per-piece milligrams not on the brand's product page.
- Spry (Xlear): xylitol only, with calcium carbonate in the list; $10.99 per 100 pieces, $0.11 per piece; per-piece milligrams not on the brand page.
- XyliChew: xylitol first, no sorbitol; $9.99 per 50 pieces, $0.20 per piece; per-piece milligrams not on the brand page.
- Trident: sorbitol first, gum base second, xylitol third, quantity undisclosed; aspartame and acesulfame potassium in the under-2 percent list. Included because people search for it as a xylitol gum, ranked last because it is not one by the standard the trials set.
Two things about that order. First, places 4 to 6 are sorted on price per piece only, because none of those three brands gave us a per-piece dose to sort on. If PUR, Spry or XyliChew publishes a milligram figure, it moves, and I would rather move a brand up than guess it into place. Second, my own gum sits in third on dose and in last on cost. Both are true at the same time, and the point of this page is to show you both rather than pick the framing that flatters us.
Seven xylitol gums, side by side
"As stated" means a milligram figure the brand itself publishes, on its own page or its own listing. Where a number only circulates on retailer pages or forums, the cell says "not stated", because we could not trace it to the brand. Sweeteners are listed in label order, which is the order of weight. Price per gram of xylitol is computed only when a brand states both a dose and a price; otherwise the cell says so. Every row was read on 5 September 2026 and will drift.
| # | Brand | Xylitol per piece, as stated | Sweeteners, label order | Base and the rest | Price as found | Per piece | Per g xylitol |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Epic Dental | 1.06 g (brand's own listing title) | Xylitol only | Gum base; full list not captured | 500-piece bag, price not captured | Not computed | Not computed |
| 2 | Zellie's | 1.0 g (brand page) | Xylitol only | Gum base, natural flavors; under 2%: gum arabic, sunflower lecithin, carnauba wax, tocopherols | $13.99 / 100 | $0.14 | ≈ $0.14 |
| 3 | Minvelle (ours) | 817 mg (transparency page; 43% of a 1.9 g piece) | Xylitol, then erythritol 285 mg | Chicle, mastic, spruce, myrrh and acacia gums; coconut oil; 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite; egg shell powder (egg allergen) | €24.99 / 18 | €1.39 | ≈ €1.70 |
| 4 | PUR | Not stated on brand page | Xylitol only (no sorbitol, no aspartame) | Gum base, gum arabic, natural flavors, glycerol, carnauba wax, tocopherols | $49.95 / 12 × 55 (660 pieces, multipack listing) | ≈ $0.076 | Not computable |
| 5 | Spry (Xlear) | Not stated on brand page | Xylitol only (some flavors add stevia) | Gum base, natural flavors, calcium carbonate, gum arabic, vegetable glycerin, sunflower lecithin, carnauba wax | $10.99 / 100 | $0.11 | Not computable |
| 6 | XyliChew | Not stated on brand page | Xylitol only | Gum base, vegetable glycerin, natural peppermint flavors, gum arabic, sunflower lecithin, carnauba wax | $9.99 / 50 | $0.20 | Not computable |
| 7 | Trident | Not disclosed; third ingredient after sorbitol and gum base | Sorbitol, xylitol; under 2%: acesulfame potassium, aspartame | Gum base, glycerin, natural and artificial flavoring, BHT | 14-piece pack, price varies by retailer | Not computed | Not computable |
Data: thepurcompany.com, xlear.com, xylichew.com, shop.zellies.com, Epic Dental's own retail listing, retail ingredient panels for Trident (tridentgum.com shows no panel), and minvelle.com/pages/transparency, all read 5 September 2026. Prices are list prices divided by pack size on that date. "Not computable" means the brand states no dose, so no grams to divide by.
How much xylitol you actually need
The brief I started this page with said the threshold that matters is 1 g of xylitol a day. I went looking for the study behind that number and did not find one. What I found instead is a dose range that is higher, and more demanding, than most gum packaging suggests, so this section is the correction, and the rest of the ranking is built on it.
The pooled number comes from a 2022 meta-analysis by ALHumaid and colleagues, which combined xylitol-product trials published between 1966 and 2020. Its conclusion on dose is specific: the most effective xylitol products were chewed or consumed three to five times a day, for a total of 5 to 10 g of xylitol a day (PMID 35462747). That is the sentence the whole category hangs on. Not one piece. Not one gram. Five to ten grams, split across the day.
The single strongest gum trial agrees. Mäkinen and colleagues ran a 40-month cohort study in Belize with 1,277 children, comparing several gums against a no-gum control (PMID 8600188). The 100 percent xylitol pellet gum, at 4.3 to 9.0 g of xylitol a day, had a relative risk of new caries of 0.27 against no gum, with a 95 percent confidence interval of 0.20 to 0.36. In plain words: roughly a quarter of the risk. Sorbitol gum came in at a relative risk of 0.74, and the paper reports that the 100 percent xylitol pellet was superior to every other gum tested. That trial is why brands say 100 percent xylitol on the front, and it is also why the dose column on this page is the one that decides the ranking.
A shorter trial fills in the mechanism. Söderling and colleagues gave 73 children xylitol gum at about 6 g a day for five weeks, against a sorbitol control, and measured what happened in saliva (PMID 24663814). Mutans streptococci counts fell significantly, with a p-value of 0.006, and the rest of the oral microbiome was not disrupted. The abstract does not state a percentage, so neither do I. What it does tell you is that the dose that moved the bacteria was, again, several grams a day, not a single piece.
The brands' own pages, read on 5 September 2026, land in the same place. PUR's FAQ says 6 g of xylitol a day reduces decay-causing bacteria and stimulates saliva; that is PUR's claim, not an independent finding, and I quote it as theirs. Zellie's product page says studies show 6 to 10 g of xylitol daily, in frequent small doses, helps support oral health, and carries the usual notice that the statement has not been evaluated by the FDA. Two competing brands, both telling you to chew several grams. When the sellers and the trials agree on the number, the number is probably right.
So here is the arithmetic that matters for a buyer. To reach the bottom of the studied range, 5 g a day, you need about five pieces of Epic (1.06 g each) or five pieces of Zellie's (1.0 g each), spread across the day. You would need a little over six pieces of Minvelle at 817 mg, and I want to be direct: that is not what our box says and not what I recommend. Minvelle is labelled one piece a day, because it is a hydroxyapatite gum, and one piece is the hydroxyapatite dose we publish. At one piece a day its 817 mg of xylitol sits below every effective dose in the studies above. That is true of every gum on this page taken one piece at a time; it is just that ours is the only one that tells you to take one. For PUR, Spry, XyliChew and Trident, the arithmetic cannot be done at all, because the per-piece dose is not stated.
How we ranked them, and what we refused to guess
This is not a taste test and not a lab test. I did not send seven gums to a laboratory, and chewing each brand for a week would tell you nothing about caries. What we did is slower: we read every brand's own product page, its ingredient panel and its FAQ on 5 September 2026, wrote down what was there and what was not, and sorted the result on four things, in this order of weight.
1. Stated xylitol per piece. A milligram or gram figure the brand publishes itself, on its own site or in its own listing. This is the only number that lets you compute how many pieces reach the studied dose, and it is the number most brands leave off. Retailer copy and forum posts do not count, however often they are repeated; where that is the only place a figure appears, the table says "not stated". Three brands pass this test: Epic, Zellie's and Minvelle.
2. Sweetener blend. Is xylitol the only sweetener, or is it sharing the label with sorbitol? The 40-month trial found sorbitol gum and xylitol-sorbitol blends did measurably worse than 100 percent xylitol gum (PMID 8600188), so a sorbitol-first label is a different product in the only large trial that compared them. We also note artificial sweeteners in the under-2 percent list, as a disclosure point rather than a dental one.
3. Price per gram of xylitol. Computed only where a brand states both a dose and a price. This is the honest way to compare a 1 g piece at 14 cents with an 817 mg piece at 1.39 euros; per-piece prices alone hide the dose, and per-gram prices alone hide the dose too when the dose is a guess. Where the brand does not state a dose, the cell says "not computable", and we do not fill it from a retailer's number.
4. Base and the rest of the label. Whether the brand names what the gum base is, and what else is in the piece. Every brand on this page except ours uses the collective term "gum base", which is a permitted label term and tells you nothing about what it is. Minvelle names five gums. This did not move anybody's rank; it is here because a buyer who cares about the label should be able to see it.
What we refused to do: estimate a dose from the ingredient order, from the piece weight, or from a percentage on a third-party site. Trident's undisclosed xylitol amount is a good example. An unsourced per-piece figure circulates on aggregator sites with no traceable primary source, and tridentgum.com itself shows no ingredient panel. We do not print it. What we can say, and do, is that xylitol is Trident's third ingredient behind sorbitol and gum base, on retail panels read on 5 September 2026.
Every fact below carries a date. Brands update pages. If a brand publishes a per-piece dose after 5 September 2026, its placement here is out of date and I want to hear about it so we can move it.
The seven xylitol gums, one by one
1. Epic Dental
Epic states 1.06 g of xylitol per piece in the title of its own product listing, read on 5 September 2026. That is the highest brand-stated dose on this page, and it is the brand's own statement, which is the bar we set. The listing describes a 500-piece spearmint bag, and the ingredient copy we captured lists xylitol as the only sweetener with gum base behind it. What we did not capture is a price for that bag, so the price-per-gram cell is empty rather than filled from memory or a retailer's search result.
Why first: highest stated dose, xylitol-only sweetening. At 1.06 g a piece, five pieces a day puts you at 5.3 g, the bottom of the range the meta-analysis called most effective (PMID 35462747). If you buy Epic, the thing to check on your own bag is that the per-piece figure on the label matches the listing, and then count pieces, not packs.
2. Zellie's
Zellie's Peppermint Xylitol Dental Gum states 1 g of xylitol per piece on its own product page, with an ingredient list of xylitol, gum base, natural flavors, and under 2 percent gum arabic, sunflower lecithin, carnauba wax and tocopherols. The page lists $13.99 for 100 pieces, which makes it 14 cents a piece and, because the dose is stated, about 14 cents per gram of xylitol. It is the only row on the page where dose, price and price per gram are all computable from the brand's own page, read on 5 September 2026.
Zellie's also publishes a dosing claim on the same page: that studies show 6 to 10 g of xylitol daily, in frequent small doses, helps support oral health, with an FDA non-evaluation notice attached. That claim is Zellie's, not mine, but it sits inside the range the trials used, which is more than most gum marketing manages. The page also warns that xylitol is toxic to dogs. Why second: 1.0 g against Epic's 1.06 g on the dose axis, which is the first sort key, and a clean, fully computable row on every other axis.
3. Minvelle (ours)
I make this one. It is third because the criteria put it third, and it is last on cost because the criteria put it there too. What is published, as of 5 September 2026, on our transparency page: each 1.9 g piece contains 817 mg of xylitol, 43 percent of the piece, as the first ingredient, then 285 mg of erythritol, then the gum base named as chicle gum and mastic gum with spruce, myrrh and acacia gums further down the list, coconut oil, spearmint oil, and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite. The list also carries egg shell powder, so the gum has an egg allergen and is not vegan. A box holds 18 pieces at €24.99, one piece a day, and the 2-box, 3-box and 4-box tiers are €39.99, €64.99 and €94.99. A subscription is €29.99 for two boxes.
Now the arithmetic. At €24.99 for 18 pieces, one piece is about €1.39, and with 817 mg of xylitol in it, that is roughly 1.70 euros per gram of xylitol. Zellie's is about 14 cents. If grams of xylitol per dollar is your only criterion, Minvelle is the wrong purchase, and I would rather write that sentence than have you work it out and wonder why I did not. The price is for the hydroxyapatite, the published dose and the batch certificate, all of which are on the transparency page, and none of which this page ranks on.
Why third: 817 mg is a stated, primary-source per-piece dose, which puts it above every brand that states none, and below the two that state more. The honest limit sits in the dose section above: at the one piece a day on our box, the xylitol dose is below every studied dose. If you want the studied xylitol dose, a plain xylitol gum is the cheaper way to get it. Some of our customers chew both, a xylitol gum through the day and ours once, and that is a sensible way to read this table.
4. PUR
PUR's peppermint gum page lists xylitol, gum base, gum arabic, natural flavors, glycerol, carnauba wax and tocopherols, read on 5 September 2026. Xylitol is the only sweetener; there is no sorbitol and no aspartame, which PUR makes a point of, and which the trial evidence supports as a distinction. On a 12-pack listing of 55-piece packs at $49.95, that is 660 pieces at about 7.6 cents a piece, the cheapest per piece on this page.
What is missing is the dose. PUR's own product page did not state a per-piece milligram figure when we read it. A figure of about 1.1 g per piece is repeated across retailer copy and secondary sites, and it may well be right, but it is not on the brand's page, so it is "not stated" here and the price-per-gram cell is not computable. PUR's FAQ does state that 6 g of xylitol a day reduces decay-causing bacteria; that is a dosing recommendation without a per-piece figure to divide it by. Why fourth: 100 percent xylitol and the lowest per-piece price put it top of the undisclosed tier. Print the dose, and this brand is probably a contender for second.
5. Spry (Xlear)
Spry's 100-count bag lists xylitol, gum base, natural flavors, calcium carbonate, gum arabic, vegetable glycerin, sunflower lecithin and carnauba wax, with some flavors adding stevia and malic acid, at $10.99, read on 5 September 2026. That is 11 cents a piece. Xylitol is the only sugar-alcohol sweetener, and calcium carbonate sits fourth on the list, which is unusual for a plain xylitol gum and worth noticing if you are reading labels.
The per-piece xylitol dose was not on Xlear's product page. An unsourced figure circulates on third-party retail listings, and we do not print it. Why fifth: xylitol-only sweetening and a full ingredient list, but no stated dose and a higher per-piece price than PUR. Spry and PUR are separated by price alone; if either publishes a dose, the order between them and against Zellie's could change.
6. XyliChew
XyliChew's spearmint gum page lists xylitol, gum base, vegetable glycerin, natural peppermint flavors, gum arabic, sunflower lecithin and carnauba wax, at $9.99 for 50 pieces, read on 5 September 2026. That is 20 cents a piece, the highest per-piece price among the 100 percent xylitol gums here. Xylitol is first and there is no sorbitol.
The per-piece dose is not shown on the page, and third-party sources disagree with each other on what it is. That disagreement is a good illustration of why this page only counts brand-stated numbers: a buyer relying on the wrong guess could be off by half on how many pieces reach 5 g. Why sixth: same tier as PUR and Spry on disclosure, highest price per piece of the three.
7. Trident
Trident is here because it turns up in searches for xylitol gum, and because its ingredient panel is the clearest example on the page of a sweetener blend that the trial evidence treats differently. Retail ingredient panels for Trident sugar-free gum, read on 5 September 2026, list sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavoring, and under 2 percent acesulfame potassium, aspartame and BHT. Xylitol is third. Trident's own site, tridentgum.com, shows no ingredient panel at all on the product page we checked, and no manufacturer page we could find discloses a per-piece xylitol amount.
In the 40-month trial, sorbitol gum had a relative risk of 0.74 against a no-gum control, while the 100 percent xylitol pellet had 0.27, and xylitol-sorbitol blends sat in between (PMID 8600188). That is the difference between a sorbitol-first gum and a xylitol-first gum in the only large trial that ran both. An unsourced per-piece figure is repeated on aggregator sites; we could not trace it to any primary source and do not print it. Why seventh: sorbitol first, xylitol third, no quantity disclosed. It is a sugar-free gum. It is not a xylitol gum in the sense any study on this page uses the term.
Does xylitol gum really help teeth?
The dose section above gives you the trials that found an effect. This section gives you the reviews that looked at all of them together, because a buyer deserves both, and because the reviews are less enthusiastic than the brand pages.
Start with Cochrane. Riley and colleagues reviewed xylitol-containing products for caries prevention in 2015, across 10 studies and 5,903 participants (PMID 25809586). The one finding they rated strong enough to headline was not about gum. It was about a fluoride toothpaste with 10 percent xylitol added, which showed a 13 percent reduction in caries over two and a half to three years, on low-quality evidence. For the gum, lozenge and tablet arms, the review found the evidence insufficient to determine a benefit, and rated it low to very low quality. Read that again if you are about to buy gum on the strength of a study: the strongest xylitol evidence Cochrane found was for a paste you brush with, and even that was rated low quality.
The 2024 picture is no firmer. A systematic review by Ortiz-Sáez and colleagues (PMID 39544205) covered nine clinical trials on xylitol against mutans streptococci and caries, and concluded the caries-preventive effect could not be confirmed, because the trials disagreed on dose, duration and population. An evidence appraisal the same year by Ramasubbu, looking specifically at chewing gums and sweets for children, reached the same inconclusive verdict (PMID 38796554). And this is not a new argument: Twetman was already asking in 2009 whether the effect had clinical merit (PMID 19717410). Researchers have been debating whether xylitol's effect is clinically meaningful for a long time, and a brand page that says "clinically proven" is skipping that debate.
The research does go back a long way. Scheinin's Turku sugar studies of the 1970s are where xylitol's caries story starts (PMID 1070906). One housekeeping note: our own earlier article on xylitol research cites that work under the wrong journal and year, and we are correcting it. The overview is in Acta Odontologica Scandinavica, 1976. I mention it because this page holds other brands to their citations, and we should be held to ours.
What this means for a buyer. The mechanism is plausible: xylitol is a sugar alcohol that mouth bacteria cannot ferment into acid, and chewing itself raises saliva. The best single trial found a large effect at 4 to 9 g a day. The pooled reviews cannot confirm that the effect holds across doses and populations, and Cochrane rated the gum evidence weak. So the honest position is this: if you are going to chew gum anyway, a xylitol gum at a stated dose, chewed several times a day, is the version that matches the trials. It is not a substitute for brushing with fluoride, and no gum on this page has a trial on its own finished product. That includes ours.
Why sorbitol-first is a different product
Xylitol gums love the phrase "100 percent xylitol", and for once a marketing phrase maps onto a trial arm. In the 40-month cohort, the gums were not all the same: there was a 100 percent xylitol pellet, sorbitol gum, and xylitol-sorbitol blends, plus a no-gum control (PMID 8600188). The 100 percent xylitol pellet had the lowest risk of new caries. Sorbitol gum reduced risk too, but by much less, at a relative risk of 0.74 against 0.27. The blends sat in between. So when PUR writes "no sorbitol" on its page, it is pointing at a real distinction in the data, not inventing one.
On this page, five brands sweeten with xylitol alone: Epic, Zellie's, PUR, Spry and XyliChew. Minvelle uses xylitol first and erythritol second; erythritol is another sugar alcohol, and the 40-month trial did not test it, so I make no claim for the blend beyond what the label says. Trident lists sorbitol first, which puts it in the arm of the trial that did least well, with an undisclosed amount of xylitol behind it.
The artificial sweeteners are a separate point. Trident's under-2 percent list carries aspartame and acesulfame potassium. PUR, Spry, XyliChew, Zellie's and Epic list neither, and neither do we. That is a label preference, not a dental finding; none of the trials on this page were about aspartame, and I am not going to pretend they were. If you want a gum without them, the table shows you which rows to skip.
One more label detail that separates the rows: what the gum base is. "Gum base" is a permitted collective term on ingredient panels, and every brand here except ours uses it. PUR, Spry, XyliChew, Zellie's, Epic and Trident all list it without saying what it contains. Minvelle names chicle gum, mastic gum, spruce gum, myrrh gum and acacia gum. I did not score this, because there is no trial that says one base is better for your teeth than another, and I would be inventing a criterion to flatter my own label. But if you are the kind of buyer who reads panels, it is a difference you can see. Simply Gum runs on that same chicle base with a short six-ingredient label, though its core flavors use cane sugar rather than xylitol; our Simply Gum review reads its labels the same way. If breath is the reason you are shopping, our bad breath gum guide ranks for that.
The buyer's math, row by row
Per-piece prices are the number every listing shows, and they are the wrong number for a xylitol gum, because the pieces do not carry the same dose. A 20-cent piece with 1 g is a better buy than a 10-cent piece with an undisclosed amount, and a 1.39 euro piece with 817 mg is the worst buy on the page for xylitol alone. The right number is price per gram of xylitol, and it can only be computed where a brand tells you the grams.
Here is where that lands. Zellie's: $13.99 for 100 pieces at 1.0 g each is 100 g of xylitol, so about 14 cents per gram. Minvelle: €24.99 for 18 pieces at 817 mg each is about 14.7 g of xylitol, so roughly 1.70 euros per gram. Epic: 1.06 g per piece, but we did not capture a price for the 500-piece bag, so the cell stays empty until we do. PUR, Spry, XyliChew: per-piece prices of about 7.6, 11 and 20 cents, and no stated grams to divide by, so the cell says not computable. Trident: neither a stated dose nor a stable price, since the 14-piece pack varies by retailer.
Now the daily cost at the studied dose, for the rows where it can be done. Five pieces of Zellie's a day, 5 g of xylitol, is about 70 cents a day, or around 21 dollars a month. Minvelle at one piece a day is 1.39 euros a day, or about 42 euros a month if you buy single boxes, and about 29.99 euros for two boxes on subscription, with 817 mg of xylitol a day, below the studied range. If the xylitol is what you are buying, Zellie's wins that comparison and it is not close. If the hydroxyapatite is what you are buying, you are on the wrong page, and our remineralization guide is the right one.
What would change this table: any of PUR, Spry or XyliChew printing a per-piece dose on its own page. Their per-piece prices are all lower than Zellie's, so if their doses are near 1 g, one of them likely takes the top spot on price per gram. I would be glad to move them. The whole point of ranking on published numbers is that a brand can climb by publishing one.
Is it safe to chew every day?
The trials on this page ran daily xylitol gum for weeks to years, mostly in children, at 4 to 10 g a day. The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry keeps a standing policy on the use of xylitol (PMID 27931418). It is a policy statement, not a trial, so I do not quote numbers from it, but it tells you the pediatric dental profession has a formal position on the ingredient rather than ignoring it.
Three practical notes. First, xylitol is a sugar alcohol, and sugar alcohols in quantity can loosen stools. That is general label knowledge, not a study finding I can cite here, so I say only what it implies: if you are going from zero to five pieces a day, build up over a week. Second, xylitol is toxic to dogs. Zellie's puts that warning on its product page, and it applies to every gum on this page, ours included. Keep the pack where a dog cannot get it. Third, allergens: Minvelle contains egg shell powder and carries an egg allergen. None of the other six list an allergen in the ingredient copy we captured, but read your own pack, because flavors and formulas change.
And the standard disclaimer, meant seriously: gum is a habit, not a treatment. If you have a cavity, a cracked tooth or sensitivity that will not settle, no gum on this page is the answer, and the dentist is. Our guide to telling cavities from erosion is a start on what to ask.
We sell one of these, so check us the same way
Minvelle is my company. It makes one product, and that product is on a list I wrote. There is no version of this page where that is not a conflict of interest, and I would rather name it in the second paragraph than have you find it in the footer. Here is how to audit us with the same tools we used on the other six, in the order the criteria run.
Stated dose. Open the transparency page. It says 817 mg of xylitol per piece, 43 percent of a 1.9 g piece, and it says it as the first ingredient. If you find a page of ours that states a different number, one of them is wrong and I want to know. Sweetener blend. Xylitol then erythritol; no sorbitol, no aspartame, no acesulfame potassium. The full list is on the same page and in our hydroxyapatite gum database. Price per gram. About 1.70 euros, the most expensive here. We do not hide that, and we do not claim it buys you a xylitol result the cheaper gums cannot. Base. Named, gum by gum.
Every negative fact about another brand on this page is a disclosure gap or a label order, attributed to the page we read and dated 5 September 2026. We used the same categories for every brand: "not stated", "not computable", "not captured". We did not use verdict words about any company, and if you find one, tell me and it comes out. Brands change their pages, and when they do, the ranking is wrong until we re-check it. The "Last reviewed" date at the top is the date this page was last true to our knowledge.
One more check you can run: read our sensitive-teeth gum guide and our strips versus gum comparison, which use the same habit of ranking on published numbers, and see whether we place ourselves consistently. If the method only ever favours us, that is worth noticing. On this page it did not.
If the hydroxyapatite is what you came for: Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 817 mg of xylitol and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, 18 pieces per box, one piece a day, with the full ingredient list and batch certificate published. Try it with 10% off orders from €29, or read the full formula first. Unopened boxes carry a 30-day refund.
Questions people ask before buying
What is the best 100% xylitol gum?
On the numbers the brands themselves publish, Epic Dental is the best 100% xylitol gum we found, because it states 1.06 g of xylitol per piece on its own listing and lists no other sweetener. Zellie's is close behind with a stated 1.0 g per piece and a computable price of about $0.14 per gram of xylitol. PUR, Spry and XyliChew are also sweetened with xylitol alone, but none of the three stated a per-piece milligram figure on its own product page when we checked on 5 September 2026, so we could not rank them on dose.
What gum has the most xylitol in it?
Of the seven gums on this page, the highest brand-stated xylitol per piece is Epic Dental at 1.06 g, then Zellie's at 1.0 g, then Minvelle at 817 mg. We only count a figure the brand itself publishes. Retailers and forums circulate per-piece numbers for PUR, Spry and XyliChew, but those numbers were not on the brands' own pages when we looked, so they are listed as not stated. Trident lists xylitol third, after sorbitol and gum base, with no quantity at all.
Does xylitol gum really help teeth?
The best single trial says yes at high doses: a 40-month study of 1,277 children found a 100% xylitol pellet gum, chewed at 4.3 to 9.0 g of xylitol a day, cut the risk of new cavities to about a quarter of the no-gum group (PMID 8600188). The reviews are more cautious. Cochrane rated the gum evidence low to very low quality in 2015 (PMID 25809586), and a 2024 systematic review of nine trials could not confirm the effect because doses and durations varied so much (PMID 39544205). So: plausible, dose-dependent, and not settled.
How much xylitol per day is needed for dental benefits?
The 2022 meta-analysis that pooled the trials found the most effective products delivered 5 to 10 g of xylitol a day, chewed or consumed three to five times a day (PMID 35462747). The large 40-month trial ran 4.3 to 9.0 g a day (PMID 8600188), and a five-week trial that lowered mutans streptococci used about 6 g a day (PMID 24663814). At roughly 1 g per piece that is five pieces spread through the day. We found no study supporting a 1 g a day threshold.
Is it safe to chew xylitol gum every day?
The trials above ran daily chewing for weeks to years in children, and the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry keeps a standing policy on xylitol use (PMID 27931418), which is not the same as a safety trial but tells you the pediatric profession has looked at it. Xylitol is a sugar alcohol, and sugar alcohols in large amounts can loosen stools, so build up over a week rather than jumping to five pieces. Keep it away from dogs; Zellie's own page carries that warning and it applies to every gum here. Minvelle contains egg shell powder and carries an egg allergen.
Is Trident a xylitol gum?
Not by the standard of any study cited here. Retail ingredient panels for Trident sugar-free gum list sorbitol first, gum base second and xylitol third, with aspartame and acesulfame potassium in the under-2% list, and no per-piece xylitol amount is disclosed anywhere we could find, including tridentgum.com, which shows no ingredient panel at all as of 5 September 2026. In the 40-month trial, sorbitol gum and xylitol-sorbitol blends did measurably worse than 100% xylitol gum (PMID 8600188).
Why is Minvelle on this list, and why is it not first?
It is on the list because it publishes a per-piece xylitol figure (817 mg, 43% of a 1.9 g piece) on its transparency page, which is the entry ticket for this ranking. It is not first because two gums state more xylitol per piece, and it is last on price per gram of xylitol at about 1.70 euros, against about 0.14 dollars for Zellie's. That is because Minvelle is a hydroxyapatite gum that happens to use xylitol as its main sweetener, and it is priced for the hydroxyapatite. I make it, so weigh that as you read.
Xylitol: A sugar alcohol with five carbon atoms, used as a sweetener. Mouth bacteria cannot ferment it into acid the way they ferment sugar, which is the reason it is studied for caries.
Sugar alcohol (polyol): A family of sweeteners that includes xylitol, sorbitol and erythritol. They taste sweet and are not sugars; in quantity they can loosen stools.
Sorbitol: A six-carbon sugar alcohol, cheaper than xylitol and the first ingredient in many mainstream sugar-free gums. In the 40-month trial it reduced caries risk less than 100 percent xylitol gum.
Stated dose per piece: A milligram or gram figure for xylitol in one piece, published by the brand itself. This page only counts figures that trace to the brand's own page or listing.
Price per gram of xylitol: Pack price divided by pack size, then divided by the stated dose per piece. It cannot be computed for a brand that states no dose.
Relative risk: The risk of an outcome in one group divided by the risk in another. A relative risk of 0.27 for new caries means about a quarter of the risk seen in the comparison group.
Mutans streptococci: A group of mouth bacteria strongly associated with caries. Trials often measure their counts in saliva as a short-term marker, which is not the same as counting cavities.
Meta-analysis and systematic review: A systematic review collects every trial on a question by a set method; a meta-analysis pools their numbers into one estimate. Cochrane reviews are systematic reviews held to a published standard and rated for quality of evidence.
Gum base: The permitted collective label term for the chewable part of a gum. It can cover natural gums, synthetic polymers or both, and the term itself does not say which.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. If you have active tooth decay, a cracked tooth, or persistent sensitivity, see a dentist, because no gum can treat those.
- ALHumaid J, Bamashmous M. J Int Soc Prev Community Dent 2022 (PMID 35462747): meta-analysis of xylitol-product trials 1966 to 2020; the most effective products were chewed or consumed three to five times a day at a total of 5 to 10 g of xylitol a day.
- Mäkinen KK et al. J Dent Res 1995 (PMID 8600188): 40-month cohort study in Belize, 1,277 children; 100 percent xylitol pellet gum at 4.3 to 9.0 g a day, relative risk of new caries 0.27 (95 percent CI 0.20 to 0.36) versus no gum; sorbitol gum 0.74; the xylitol pellet superior to every other gum tested.
- Riley P et al. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2015 (PMID 25809586): 10 studies, 5,903 participants; a 13 percent caries reduction for fluoride toothpaste with 10 percent xylitol over 2.5 to 3 years on low-quality evidence; gum, lozenge and tablet evidence insufficient to determine a benefit, rated low to very low quality.
- Söderling E et al. Clin Oral Investig 2015 (PMID 24663814): randomized trial, 73 children, five weeks, about 6 g of xylitol a day versus sorbitol control; mutans streptococci counts significantly reduced (p = 0.006) without disruption of the wider oral microbiome; no percentage stated in the abstract.
- Ortiz-Sáez B et al. J Clin Exp Dent 2024 (PMID 39544205): systematic review of nine clinical trials on xylitol against mutans streptococci and caries; the caries-preventive effect could not be confirmed because of heterogeneity in dose, duration and population.
- Ramasubbu D. Evid Based Dent 2024 (PMID 38796554): evidence appraisal of a systematic review on xylitol chewing gums and sweets in children; inconclusive verdict.
- Twetman S. Adv Dent Res 2009 (PMID 19717410): review titled "Current controversies, is there merit?"; cited here only for the long-running debate over whether xylitol's effect is clinically meaningful, not for any number.
- Scheinin A, Mäkinen KK. Acta Odontol Scand 1976 (PMID 1070906): "Turku sugar studies. An overview"; historical origin of xylitol caries research; PubMed carries the title only, so no figure from it is quoted on this page.
- American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. Pediatr Dent 2016 (PMID 27931418): "Policy on the Use of Xylitol"; a standing policy statement rather than a trial, cited here for the existence of a formal pediatric position on the ingredient and not for any numeric claim, since the record carries no abstract or data.
- Minvelle transparency page: 817 mg xylitol and 285 mg erythritol per 1.9 g piece, 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite, full 14-ingredient list with egg allergen, 18 pieces per box, prices €24.99 / €39.99 / €64.99 / €94.99, subscription €29.99 for two boxes, 30-day refund on unopened boxes.
- Minvelle hydroxyapatite gum database: the brand-by-brand label records this page's Minvelle row draws on.
- Brand pages read 5 September 2026, not linked: thepurcompany.com peppermint gum page and FAQ; xlear.com 100-count Spry gum page; xylichew.com spearmint gum page; shop.zellies.com peppermint xylitol dental gum page; Epic Dental's own 500-piece spearmint listing title; retail ingredient panels for Trident sugar-free gum and the tridentgum.com product page, which shows no panel.
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the records, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Buy the gram, not the word. Seven gums say xylitol on the front. Three tell you how much is in a piece. The trials that found an effect used 4 to 10 g a day across several chews, and the reviews that pooled them still call the gum evidence weak. That is the whole state of the market in September 2026, and it is why this ranking sorts on the stated dose and the price per gram rather than on the front of the pack. Whichever gum you choose, count pieces against grams, keep brushing with fluoride, and hold every brand on this page, ours first, to the standard of printing the number. Last reviewed: 5 September 2026.
One piece, once a day, with the dose on the page
Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 817 mg of xylitol and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, made to be chewed one piece a day after meals or when brushing is not an option. A box holds 18 pieces, which is 18 days, and it sits alongside your fluoride routine rather than replacing it. The full formula and the batch certificate are published.
Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29Or subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks for €29.99, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes
Looking for the gum itself? Nano hydroxyapatite gum, 5.7 mg per piece: dose printed on the box, 18 pieces, one a day, chew for 20 minutes.