Elmex toothpaste review 2026: fluoride, no HAp
Product Review

Elmex toothpaste review 2026: fluoride, no HAp

If you saw elmex in a pharmacy in Germany, Austria or Switzerland and want to know what is in the tube, or whether you can get it at home, this review is for you. We read elmex's own pages, the company registry, three peer-reviewed studies that name elmex products, and the public records in the US and UK. Every finding carries the date we checked it.

M
Max, Founder of Minvelle
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 26 September 2026 · 24 min read

Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum with nano-hydroxyapatite, a different kind of product from elmex and a different active. You should know who is writing, which is why every statement about elmex below is elmex's own text, a public record, or a peer-reviewed paper we resolved in PubMed, including the one that favours elmex over a hydroxyapatite paste.

The short answer

elmex is a fluoride toothpaste brand from CP GABA GmbH, part of the Colgate-Palmolive group. Its signature active has long been amine fluoride (olaflur); the current German caries-protection tube lists sodium fluoride at 1,450 ppm plus a separate amine ingredient, marketed as Neo-Aminex. No elmex product we checked contains hydroxyapatite. And elmex is not officially sold in the US, UK, Australia or Canada: its own country list names 25 markets, none of them those four.

Which line does what: the caries-protection pastes (Kariesschutz) are the everyday fluoride tubes, today listing sodium fluoride on German labels. Sensitive Professional uses Colgate's arginine technology, PRO-ARGIN. The enamel line, Opti-namel (Opti-schmelz in German), combines stannous chloride, chitosan, amine fluoride and sodium fluoride. Junior and the kids' pastes are for children. elmex gelée is a weekly high-fluoride gel that elmex's Swiss site calls an approved medicine.

One independent 2022 lab study found elmex protected enamel better than a hydroxyapatite toothpaste. We report that result in full below. A fluoride toothpaste and a nano-hydroxyapatite gum are different tools, and a gum does not replace fluoride toothpaste.

elmex answers a different question from the one our product answers. elmex is what you brush with, twice a day. Minvelle is a chewing gum for between brushings, one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece printed on the box. It is an extra step, not a replacement for your toothpaste, and if your toothpaste is elmex, keep brushing with it.

At a glance

elmex, in one table

What's checked elmex caries-protection toothpaste elmex gelée Minvelle gum
Format Toothpaste in a tube, for daily brushing Gel in a 25 g tube, once a week Chewing gum, 18 pieces per box, one a day
Active Amine fluoride (olaflur), 1,400 ppm, on the pack transcribed in a 2022 study; the current German label lists sodium fluoride, 1,450 ppm Amine fluoride; "8x" the fluoride concentration of standard toothpaste, per elmex Nano-hydroxyapatite plus xylitol
Hydroxyapatite None None 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box
Fluoride Yes Yes, high concentration None
Regulatory status Toothpaste "Approved medicine" in Switzerland, per elmex.ch No regulatory approval claimed; batch certificate published
Officially sold in US, UK, AU, CA No No Yes, from minvelle.com
Price published by the brand No price on elmex.de, .ch or .at No price on elmex.de, .ch or .at €24.99 per box

Swipe sideways on mobile. elmex data from elmex.de, elmex.ch and elmex.at, a 2022 study that transcribed an elmex pack (PMID 35831871), and registry records, checked 26 September 2026. The products do different jobs: a toothpaste is for brushing, a gum for between brushings.

Part 1

What is in elmex toothpaste? Amine fluoride

Every elmex product we could check is built on fluoride. The historic signature compound is amine fluoride, whose chemical name is olaflur. It is a fluoride bound to an organic amine, which is a different carrier from the sodium fluoride or sodium monofluorophosphate you find in most toothpastes sold in the US and UK. On its current German site, elmex describes the technology behind its flagship caries-protection paste as "Amin + Fluorid-Technologie" and markets it under the name "Neo-Aminex". The ingredient list behind that name has changed: dm.de's listing for elmex Kariesschutz (product 1006511, checked 26 September 2026) reads sodium fluoride, 1,450 ppm total fluoride, plus oleaminopropylamineth-3 HCl, an amine ingredient that carries no fluoride itself, and no olaflur. Olaflur is the historic elmex active and still appears in some Austrian elmex products and in elmex gelée; our German guide to every elmex variant lists each label.

Our guide to stannous vs sodium fluoride covers the other fluoride actives in detail. The short version for elmex: amine fluoride, the historic active, is the reason people who grew up with elmex in Europe look for it by name, and it is the part you cannot easily match with a local tube in the US, UK, Australia or Canada.

The full ingredient list, and why it comes from a university paper

Here we hit the first practical problem. elmex's own product pages load the ingredient panel only after you accept cookies in a browser. When we checked on 26 September 2026, the panel showed a template placeholder and the notice "Dieser Inhalt ist nicht zugänglich, da Cookies deaktiviert sind" (this content is not accessible because cookies are disabled). The fluoride strength and the pack size of the everyday pastes were not visible either.

The clearest ingredient list we found is in a peer-reviewed paper. In 2022, researchers at the University of Münster tested an elmex toothpaste and, as usual in a methods section, copied its ingredients from the pack (Guntermann et al., Head & Face Medicine, PMID 35831871). Their Table 1 lists the elmex paste, made by CP GABA GmbH, Hamburg, as:

aqua, hydrated silica, sorbitol, hydroxyethylcellulose, olaflur (1.400 ppm), anethole, carvone, eucalyptol, limonene, mentha arvensis extract, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, mentha viridis (spearmint) leaf oil, menthol, saccharin, limonene, CI 77,891

Read in plain English: water, a silica cleaning agent, sorbitol to keep it moist, a thickener, amine fluoride at 1,400 ppm (the "1.400" is the German way of writing 1,400), flavour oils, the sweetener saccharin, and titanium dioxide (CI 77891) as the white colour. There is no hydroxyapatite, no calcium carbonate and no arginine in that list. It is a plain amine-fluoride caries paste.

One caveat we want to be clear about. That list documents the elmex paste as it was bought for a 2022 study. elmex now markets its flagship with the Neo-Aminex name, which does not appear in the paper, so the 2026 formula may be different. We describe the list as elmex toothpaste as independently documented in 2022, not as the current label. If you hold a tube, the pack in your hand wins.

Abrasivity and pH

The same paper adds two numbers elmex does not show on its accessible pages. In its discussion, the authors write: "According to the manufacturer, Karex has the highest RDA value of the toothpastes tested here, at 60. The RDA value of Elmex is between 50 and 60; the RDA value of Ajona is 30." RDA, relative dentin abrasivity, is a lab score for how abrasive a paste is, and 50 to 60 sits at the low end of the usual toothpaste range. The authors also note that "the pH of Elmex is in the acidic range", without giving a number. Amine-fluoride pastes are often formulated slightly acidic; we did not find elmex's own explanation of this, so we leave it at what the paper says.

Where hydroxyapatite would be, and is not

If you came here from a search for hydroxyapatite toothpaste, this is the key point. We went through each elmex product page we could open on 26 September 2026: the caries-protection paste, the Sensitive Professional pastes, the enamel-protection paste, the Junior paste and the gelée. None mentions hydroxyapatite. That is not a gap or an oversight. elmex is built on a different mechanism: fluoride helps enamel take up mineral from saliva and form a more acid-resistant surface, while nano-hydroxyapatite supplies the mineral itself in particle form. Our comparison of nano-hydroxyapatite and fluoride goes through the two mechanisms side by side.

Two new flavours land in December

Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.

Part 2

Which elmex does what: the lines, mapped

elmex sells more than a dozen toothpastes, and the German names do not always match the English ones you see in travel photos or import listings. This map uses elmex.de's own sitemap and product pages, checked 26 September 2026. Where a product page gave no detail we could read, we say so.

Line (German name) Product What elmex's page says
Kariesschutz (caries protection) elmex Kariesschutz Zahnpasta Flagship daily paste, "mit zweifach Schutz" (with double protection); amine plus fluoride technology, marketed as Neo-Aminex
Kariesschutz elmex Professional (anti-caries) Caries-protection paste; the page content was cookie-gated, no further detail readable
Kariesschutz elmex Intensive Cleaning, elmex menthol-free Listed in the sitemap; not individually documented here
Kariesschutz elmex gelée Weekly high-fluoride amine-fluoride gel, 25 g; see Part 3
Kariesschutz elmex anti-caries dental rinse Mouthwash; listed, not documented here
Sensitive elmex SENSITIVE PROFESSIONAL PRO-ARGIN technology (arginine); the page says it closes the tubules leading to the nerve and so blocks pain
Sensitive elmex SENSITIVE PROFESSIONAL REPAIR & PREVENT "ProArgin Formel" plus zinc, which the page says helps strengthen the gums
Sensitive elmex Sensitive, Sensitive Whitening and other variants Listed in the sitemap; not individually documented here
Zahnschmelz (enamel protection) elmex Opti-schmelz Professional (Opti-namel in English) "Mikroversiegelungs-Technologie" (micro-sealing) against acid erosion; a 2025 study describes it as stannous chloride, chitosan, amine fluoride and sodium fluoride
Kids elmex Junior (6 to 12 years) Contains "Aminfluorid" per the page; no fluoride figure visible
Kids elmex baby, kids, Junior Professional Listed in the sitemap; not individually documented here

Source: elmex.de sitemap and product pages, checked 26 September 2026. No product on the list mentions hydroxyapatite.

The everyday caries-protection pastes

This is the elmex most people mean. It is the plain amine-fluoride paste from Part 1, sold for daily brushing in the Kariesschutz range. If you want the elmex taste and formula you remember from a European holiday, this is almost always the tube. elmex also sells a Professional version in the same range; its page did not show any detail to a reader without cookies, so we cannot say how it differs.

Sensitive Professional: arginine, not hydroxyapatite

The Sensitive Professional pastes are built on PRO-ARGIN, the arginine technology Colgate also uses in its Colgate Sensitive Pro-Relief line. Our guide to Sensodyne alternatives and our article on arginine toothpaste cover that technology in more depth. The product page describes the mechanism in its own words: it "verschließt Kanälchen, die zum Zahnnerv führen und blockiert auf diese Weise den Schmerz", it closes the tiny channels leading to the tooth nerve and so blocks the pain. The Repair & Prevent version adds zinc. Neither page mentions hydroxyapatite. If this is the elmex you are after, the closest local product in the US or UK is likely to be a Colgate-branded arginine paste, since both come from the same company and technology family. We could not confirm from elmex's gated ingredient panel that the formulas are identical, so ask a pharmacist to compare the labels.

Opti-namel: the enamel line

The enamel-protection paste is sold as Opti-schmelz in German-speaking markets and appears as Opti-namel in English-language research. elmex's page talks about a "Mikroversiegelungs-Technologie", a micro-sealing layer against acid erosion. The most specific description of the formula comes from a 2025 study in the Journal of Dentistry, which calls it "a SnCl2+chitosan+amine fluoride/NaF toothpaste (Elmex Opti-namel)": stannous chloride, chitosan, amine fluoride and sodium fluoride together. We cover that study in Part 5.

Junior and the kids' pastes

elmex sells a baby paste, a kids' paste and elmex Junior for children aged 6 to 12. The Junior page shows "Aminfluorid" in an image caption, but no fluoride strength we could read. For children, the right fluoride strength depends on age and on your dentist's view of the child's caries risk, so the dentist is the person to ask, not a brand page and not us.

This review stays with the paste in the tube. If you are comparing whole categories rather than one brand, our ranking of the best hydroxyapatite toothpastes covers the other mechanism, and elmex does not appear in it for the simple reason that it contains no hydroxyapatite.

Remember this

No hydroxyapatite, by design

elmex is a fluoride brand. Its historic signature active is amine fluoride; current German labels list sodium fluoride plus a separate amine ingredient, and some lines add stannous chloride, arginine or zinc. None of the products we checked lists hydroxyapatite. That is a different mechanism, not a missing feature.

Not officially sold in the four big English markets

elmex's own country list names 25 markets, and the US, UK, Australia and Canada are not among them. Colgate's US and UK sites show no elmex products. If you buy it there, it has been imported by someone other than the brand.

Brushing and chewing are different jobs

A fluoride toothpaste brushed twice a day is the base of home care that most dentists recommend. A nano-hydroxyapatite gum chewed between brushings is an extra step. The gum does not replace fluoride toothpaste.

Part 3

elmex gelée: the weekly high-fluoride gel

elmex gelée is the product people most often ask about by name after a trip to a German or Swiss pharmacy, and it is different from the toothpastes in one important way: it is not a daily cosmetic. elmex's Swiss product page, checked on 26 September 2026, says it plainly: "Dies ist ein zugelassenes Arzneimittel", this is an approved medicine. The same page says the gel has an "8x höherer Fluoridkonzentration", eight times the fluoride concentration of standard toothpaste.

What elmex's pages say about use, word for word where we can: the tube holds 25 g, identical on the German and Swiss pages. It is for use "ab dem vollendeten 6. Lebensjahr", from the completed age of 6. The directions read "Einmal wöchentlich etwa 1 cm elmex® gelée auf die Zahnbürste auftragen", once a week, about 1 cm on the toothbrush. And the contact time "darf 5 Minuten nicht überschreiten", must not exceed 5 minutes.

The ppm figure you will see elsewhere

You will often see a precise fluoride figure quoted for elmex gelée. We could not confirm it. It does not appear in the readable text of elmex.de or elmex.ch, and the German drug registries we tried load their results in a way our tools could not read. So we give you only what elmex itself says: eight times the fluoride of standard toothpaste. The exact number is on the pack and its patient leaflet, and that is where you should read it.

What that means for buyers outside Europe

A licensed medicine in Switzerland is a different kind of product from a toothpaste you pick up at a supermarket. We did not find elmex gelée on any official channel in the US, UK, Australia or Canada, and a high-fluoride product used once a week is exactly the kind of thing to discuss with a dentist first, especially for children. Many dentists in those countries have their own high-fluoride products to prescribe or recommend, and they can tell you whether you need one at all.

We also want to give elmex credit here. Its Swiss page is explicit that the gel is a medicine, gives the age limit, the weekly frequency and a maximum contact time. That is the kind of plain labelling a concentrated product should carry, and it is clearer than much of what is written about the gel on third-party pages.

Part 4

Can you buy elmex in the US, UK, Australia or Canada? Not officially

This is the question behind a lot of the searches for "elmex toothpaste" in English: roughly 1,300 a month in the US, 1,000 in the UK, 210 in Canada and 170 in Australia, by the keyword estimates we were given. The answer, from four independent kinds of evidence, is that elmex has no official retail presence in any of the four countries as of 26 September 2026.

1. elmex's own country list

The footer of elmex.at carries a country selector. On 26 September 2026 it listed exactly 25 storefronts: Argentina, Austria, Belgium (French and Dutch), Brazil, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greater China/Hong Kong SAR, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland (German and French). The United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and Canada are not on the list.

2. Colgate's own sites

elmex belongs to the Colgate-Palmolive group, so the next place to look is Colgate. A search for "elmex" on colgate.com's US site and on its UK site, both on 26 September 2026, returned no elmex products, only Colgate-branded lines. In the US those included Optic White, Total, Sensitive, MaxFresh, Kids, 360 and Prevident; in the UK, Max White, Total, Sensitive and Kids.

3. The domains

The registry records tell the same story. elmex.com was registered in 1996 through CSC Corporate Domains, a registrar large companies use for their brand portfolios, and elmex.ch uses the same registrar. By contrast, elmex.co.uk (registered in 2018 through a French registrar) and elmex.ca (registered in 2023) both redirected on 26 September 2026 to a domain-sale page on Sedo, a domain marketplace. They are parked domains, not Colgate storefronts. And elmex.com.au does not exist: a DNS lookup returned "not found".

4. Regulators and consumer bodies

A search of the UK government's GOV.UK search service for "elmex" returned zero results, and the same for "CP GABA". The US FDA's public recall databases, for drugs and for food, returned no records for elmex or for GABA as the recalling firm. The Better Business Bureau has no profile for elmex, CP GABA or GABA. Our attempts to query Australia's TGA and Health Canada's recall database did not connect, so for those two countries we can only say that a product not sold there would not normally appear in their recall records. That is an inference, and we label it as one.

What that means if you want it anyway

If you see elmex for sale in one of these four countries, it has come in through someone other than the brand, usually a reseller importing stock bought in the EU. We found nothing that makes any such seller an elmex-authorized channel. We do not link to any of them. Three practical points if you go down that road: the pack will usually be labelled in German or another EU language; the formula you get is whatever was sold in the country it came from; and if you are buying the gelée, you are buying a product that elmex's own Swiss site calls a medicine, so talk to your dentist first.

The simpler path for most readers is to keep what you liked about elmex and find it locally. If what you want is fluoride, a local fluoride toothpaste your dentist recommends does that job. If it was the Sensitive Professional you liked, Colgate sells its arginine technology under its own name. If it was the amine-fluoride formula specifically, there is no official local equivalent we could find, and that is the honest answer.

Part 5

Does elmex work? The studies that name it

elmex's site does not have a studies page we could find. So we searched PubMed for papers that test a named elmex product, and resolved each one in NCBI's database to check the authors, journal and what was actually tested. Three stood out. They are studies about elmex products, not necessarily studies elmex cites itself, and we keep that distinction.

2022, University of Münster: elmex vs a hydroxyapatite paste

This is the most important study for anyone weighing elmex against hydroxyapatite, and it favours elmex. Guntermann, Rohrbach, Schäfer and Dammaschke published it in Head & Face Medicine in 2022 (PMID 35831871). They took 57 enamel samples from 19 extracted human teeth, softened them with lactic acid for 8 hours, then treated them with one of three toothpastes: Karex (a hydroxyapatite toothpaste), elmex (the olaflur paste from Part 1), and Ajona (a paste with neither fluoride nor hydroxyapatite). Then they measured how much enamel remained demineralized, before and after a second acid challenge.

The result, in the authors' words: "The surfaces treated with Elmex showed the lowest percentage of demineralization (mean 5.01 ± 0.98%) (p < 0.01). Thus, Elmex remineralized more effectively compared to Ajona (8.89 ± 1.41%) and Karex (9.85 ± 1.63%) (p < 0.01). Furthermore, Elmex showed the lowest percentage of demineralized enamel after new demineralization (median 6.29%), followed by Ajona (11.92%) and Karex (13.46%) (p < 0.001)."

Toothpaste Demineralized after treatment Demineralized after a second acid challenge
elmex (amine fluoride) 5.01% (mean) 6.29% (median)
Ajona (no fluoride, no hydroxyapatite) 8.89% (mean) 11.92% (median)
Karex (hydroxyapatite) 9.85% (mean) 13.46% (median)

Lower is better. Guntermann et al., Head & Face Medicine 2022, PMID 35831871. In vitro, human enamel.

The authors concluded that "a hydroxyapatite-containing toothpaste (Karex) appears to be inferior to a fluoride-containing toothpaste (Elmex) and a fluoride- and hydroxyapatite-free toothpaste (Ajona)". The paper states that no funding was obtained for the study, and the authors declare no competing interests. It is an independent result, and it goes against the category we sell into. We report it as it stands.

What the study is, and is not: it is one in vitro study on extracted teeth, with one hydroxyapatite paste at one concentration, in one lab model. It did not count cavities in people. Other studies with other hydroxyapatite products and other designs have reached different conclusions, and our comparison of nano-HAp, CPP-ACP and fluoride puts several of them side by side. But within its design, this result is clear, and it is a fair reason to take elmex seriously.

1999, Indiana University: amine fluoride vs sodium fluoride in rats

Warrick, Miller, Doan and Stookey at Indiana University's Oral Health Research Institute published this in the American Journal of Dentistry in 1999 (PMID 10477992). It is an animal study. Rats on a caries-promoting diet were treated for three weeks with slurries of six dentifrices, including "amine fluoride (0.14%) containing silica (Elmex)", several sodium fluoride pastes and a placebo. The result: "all five experimental fluoride dentifrices were equally efficacious statistically in reducing caries formation when compared to the placebo with reductions ranging from 26 to 43%." In other words, the elmex amine-fluoride paste performed like the sodium fluoride pastes, and all of them did better than no fluoride. The abstract does not state who funded the study, and no full text was available to check, so we make no claim either way.

2025, São Paulo and London: Opti-namel on dentin

Mosquim, Gillam, Magalhães and Wang published this in the Journal of Dentistry in 2025 (PMID 40349908). It is an in vitro study on dentin blocks, 13 per group, testing whether two fluoride varnishes, elmex Opti-namel and Biomin F toothpaste reduce dentin permeability, meaning how easily fluid moves through exposed dentin, under simulated pulp pressure and after an acid challenge. The result was mixed for elmex: "Only Biomin F reduced dentin permeability under simulated pulp pressure and maintained an effect after erosion", while "the number of particles covering the dentin surface was higher for the Elmex toothpaste". So Opti-namel left the most deposit on the surface, but in this protocol it did not reduce permeability as well as Biomin F. The abstract does not state funding, and we make no claim either way.

What the evidence adds up to

The broader case for elmex does not rest on these three papers. It rests on fluoride, the most widely studied active in caries prevention, and on amine fluoride performing like sodium fluoride where the two have been compared, as in the 1999 rat study. The 2022 Münster paper is the one that speaks most directly to readers comparing elmex with a hydroxyapatite toothpaste, and it favoured elmex. No study we found is a long-term clinical caries trial on the current Neo-Aminex formula, but that is true of most toothpastes on any shelf, and it does not change the fluoride picture.

Part 6

elmex and nano-hydroxyapatite: different tools

You may be here because you are deciding between fluoride and hydroxyapatite. We sell a nano-hydroxyapatite product, so here is our position as plainly as we can put it. Fluoride is not the enemy. Fluoride toothpaste, brushed twice a day, is what most dentists recommend as the base of home care, and elmex is a well-made example of it. The independent 2022 study above favoured elmex over a hydroxyapatite paste. If you are happy with elmex, or with any fluoride toothpaste your dentist recommends, keep it.

A nano-hydroxyapatite gum does a different job at a different time. You brush in the morning and at night. Between those two moments you eat and drink, and the mouth goes through acid swings. A sugar-free gum chewed after a meal adds saliva flow, and ours adds a measured amount of nano-hydroxyapatite during that time. That is an extra step, not a substitute. Nothing in this review, and nothing on our site, suggests swapping a fluoride toothpaste for a gum.

What a gum cannot do

  • It does not replace brushing. A gum does not remove plaque the way a toothbrush and paste do.
  • It does not replace fluoride toothpaste. If your dentist has recommended fluoride, keep using it.
  • It does not repair a cavity. No gum and no toothpaste fills a hole in a tooth. That is a job for a dentist.
  • It does not bleach teeth. There is no peroxide in it; at most it helps with surface stains between brushings.
  • It has not been in a clinical trial. There is no clinical trial on the finished Minvelle gum. What we publish is the dose, the full ingredient list and a batch certificate from lab testing of the finished gum.

If you want the hydroxyapatite side of the question in depth, our article on whether nano-hydroxyapatite is safe covers the safety evidence, and our ranking of fluoride-free toothpastes is the place for readers who have decided, with their dentist, to brush without fluoride. For everyone else, a fluoride paste like elmex stays the base.

elmex and Minvelle, side by side

Fact elmex caries-protection toothpaste (elmex.de, 26 Sep 2026) Minvelle
Nano-HAp per tube or piece Nano-HAp per tube: none (active is fluoride) 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box
Active Amine fluoride (olaflur), 1,400 ppm, on a pack documented in 2022; the current German Neo-Aminex tube lists sodium fluoride, 1,450 ppm Nano-hydroxyapatite plus 817 mg xylitol per piece; fluoride-free
What is published Product range and technology names; ingredient panel behind a cookie wall; an independent 2022 study favouring it over a hydroxyapatite paste Dose, full ingredient list, particle size and batch certificate; no clinical trial on the gum
Price and where sold No price on elmex's sites; pharmacies and drugstores in 25 markets, none of them the US, UK, Australia or Canada €24.99 for 18 pieces, 1 piece a day, at least 20 minutes

If you want a fluoride toothpaste for daily brushing, elmex is a well-researched choice where it is sold, and a local fluoride paste your dentist recommends does the same job elsewhere; Minvelle is for people who want a written per-piece dose of nano-hydroxyapatite to chew between brushings, on top of that.

See the dose on the box →

Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.

Part 7

Who makes elmex, and what the records show

elmex is not a founder-led startup like most of the brands we have reviewed this month. It is a long-established pharmacy brand owned by one of the largest oral-care companies in the world. The imprint behind elmex.de (it redirects to Colgate-Palmolive's German imprint) names the company as CP GABA GmbH, Alsterufer 1-3, 20354 Hamburg, registered at the Amtsgericht Hamburg under HRB 65891. The independent registry record for the same number shows the company was formerly called Colgate-Palmolive Beteiligungsgesellschaft mbH, that its shareholder is Colgate-Palmolive Services CEW GmbH, and that the former Gaba GmbH was merged into it in September 2017. In Switzerland, the footer of elmex's site names a separate company, GABA Schweiz AG.

We did not find a history or "about us" page on elmex.de; the addresses we tried returned "not found". You will read origin stories about elmex elsewhere, but we could not confirm one from an elmex or CP GABA source, so we do not repeat any.

Recalls and warning letters

We found no FDA drug or food recall naming elmex or GABA, and no GOV.UK content of any kind naming elmex or CP GABA, as of 26 September 2026. Our queries to Australia's TGA and Health Canada did not connect. For a brand that is not sold in those markets, an empty record is what you would expect, and we read it that way rather than as a special credential.

Lawsuits

We searched CourtListener, the public archive of US federal court dockets, on 26 September 2026. A search for "elmex" returned 43 results, and every one concerned unrelated companies that happen to share the name, such as an Ohio company called The Elmex Corporation in a 1988 bankruptcy. Searches for "CP GABA" and "Gaba GmbH" returned nothing. A search for "olaflur" returned two cases, both about other matters, where the word appears incidentally. The closest-looking result for "elmex Colgate", Abelman v. Colgate-Palmolive Company (S.D.N.Y., No. 1:08-cv-03317, filed April 3, 2008), is an employee retirement plan case with no connection to elmex products. We found no US federal lawsuit about elmex toothpaste. CourtListener does not hold every filing, so this is a good-faith search, not a guarantee.

Customer reviews

Trustpilot has an unclaimed profile for elmex.de with a TrustScore of 3.3 out of 5 from only 5 reviews, one of them from the past 12 months. Five reviews say very little about a brand sold in 25 countries, so we would not read anything into the score. Two one-star reviews are worth knowing about only so you can weigh them properly. One alleges that the reviewer's recent tube no longer contained amine fluoride and had switched to a different fluoride; that is a single unverified claim, and elmex.de still describes the flagship paste as amine plus fluoride technology, but the current German label on dm.de does list sodium fluoride and no olaflur, which fits that report. The other complains that the pack was large and the content small. Neither is corroborated by anything we found.

The transparency point

One thing we would change if we could: elmex's ingredient panels, fluoride figures and pack sizes sit behind a cookie-consent wall. A shopper in a browser can click through it. But it meant we had to rebuild the ingredient list of elmex's best-known paste from a university paper rather than from the brand's own page. That is almost certainly a side effect of the site's cookie setup, not a choice to hide anything, and we note it as a fact, not a criticism of the formula.

Part 8

How to read an elmex pack in five steps

If you have an elmex tube from Europe in your hand, or you are looking at photos of one before importing it, these steps get you the facts elmex's website did not show us.

  • Find the fluoride compound. Current German tubes list sodium fluoride (Natriumfluorid) plus a separate amine ingredient; older packs, some Austrian products and elmex gelée list "olaflur" or "Aminfluorid" (amine fluoride). Some lines also list stannous chloride (Zinnchlorid).
  • Find the fluoride figure. The pack documented in the 2022 study showed "olaflur (1.400 ppm)". The point is the German thousands separator: 1.400 means one thousand four hundred.
  • Check the line name. Kariesschutz is the everyday caries paste, Sensitive Professional is the arginine paste, Opti-schmelz or Opti-namel is the enamel line, Junior and kids are for children.
  • Check whether it is the gelée. The gelée is a weekly gel, not a toothpaste, and elmex's Swiss site calls it an approved medicine. Read the patient leaflet and ask your dentist before using it.
  • Check the age line. The Junior paste is labelled for ages 6 to 12, and the gelée for use from age 6. For young children, follow your dentist's advice on fluoride strength.

You will not find hydroxyapatite on any of these packs, so if that is what you are looking for, elmex is the wrong brand, and that is fine. If fluoride is what you want, you are holding one of the best-known fluoride brands in Europe.

In fairness

What elmex does well

A review built on documents owes the brand the documents in its favour, and elmex has strong ones. Its core claim is caries protection with fluoride, the most widely studied active in the field, and it does not stretch that into claims it cannot back. An independent 2022 university study with no funding and no competing interests found the elmex paste protected enamel better than both a hydroxyapatite paste and a paste with neither active. A 1999 animal study found its amine fluoride performed like sodium fluoride. Its RDA, per the manufacturer data quoted in that 2022 paper, sits at 50 to 60, at the lower end of the range.

It is also candid where it matters. elmex's Swiss site states plainly that the gelée is an approved medicine and gives an age limit, a weekly frequency and a maximum contact time. elmex makes no subscription offer, no satisfaction guarantee and no direct-to-consumer sales claims that could later be checked against fine print, because it sells through pharmacies and drugstores. There is simply less marketing to audit than with many younger brands. And behind it stands a registered, traceable company with a documented ownership chain.

The things a reader should still know, the cookie-gated labels and the absence of any official channel in the US, UK, Australia and Canada, do not cancel any of that. Both are the record.

The verdict

elmex toothpaste, in one paragraph

elmex is a well-established fluoride toothpaste brand from CP GABA GmbH in Hamburg, part of the Colgate-Palmolive group. Its historic signature active is amine fluoride, olaflur, documented at 1,400 ppm on a pack tested in 2022; current German labels list sodium fluoride plus a separate amine ingredient, while some Austrian products and the gelée may still list olaflur. It contains no hydroxyapatite in any line we checked. The caries-protection pastes are the everyday tubes, Sensitive Professional uses Colgate's PRO-ARGIN arginine technology, Opti-namel combines stannous chloride, chitosan and two fluorides, and the gelée is a weekly high-fluoride gel that elmex's Swiss site calls an approved medicine. An independent lab study favoured elmex over a hydroxyapatite paste. It is sold in 25 markets across Europe, Latin America and Hong Kong, and not officially in the US, UK, Australia or Canada, where elmex.co.uk and elmex.ca are parked domains and elmex.com.au does not exist. We found no recall and no US federal lawsuit about elmex products.

Who it suits: anyone who wants a fluoride toothpaste with a long track record and can buy it where it is sold. Who should look elsewhere: readers who specifically want hydroxyapatite, because elmex has none, and readers in the four English-speaking markets who want an official channel, because there is none. For them, a local fluoride paste their dentist recommends is the straightforward answer.

Where Minvelle fits, briefly. A gum does not replace a toothpaste, and we would not suggest swapping one for the other. Minvelle is an add-on for between brushings: one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece printed on the box and a published batch certificate. There is no clinical trial on the gum itself, and we say so for the same reason we reported a study that favours elmex.

Facts checked on 26 September 2026 from the sources below. If elmex changes its pages or its country list, tell us and we will update this review.

Glossary

Amine fluoride (olaflur): A fluoride bound to an organic amine carrier. It is elmex's historic signature active, listed as olaflur or, in German, Aminfluorid; current German elmex tubes list sodium fluoride instead, while some Austrian products and elmex gelée may still list it.

Sodium fluoride: The most common fluoride in toothpaste. Current German elmex caries-protection tubes use it, and Opti-namel combines it with amine fluoride per a 2025 study.

Stannous chloride: A tin compound used in some toothpastes against acid erosion. elmex's enamel line contains it, per a 2025 study.

Nano-hydroxyapatite: A lab-made form of the calcium-phosphate mineral that makes up tooth enamel, at nano-scale particle sizes. elmex does not use it.

In vitro: Done in a laboratory, outside a living person, for example on extracted teeth.

RDA: Relative dentin abrasivity, a lab score for how abrasive a toothpaste is. Manufacturer data quoted in a 2022 paper puts elmex at 50 to 60.

Questions, answered

The things people actually ask

Does elmex toothpaste contain hydroxyapatite?

No. None of the elmex products we checked on 26 September 2026 mentions hydroxyapatite: not the caries-protection pastes, not the Sensitive or enamel lines, not the kids' pastes and not the gelée. elmex is a fluoride brand. Its historic signature active is amine fluoride, also called olaflur; current German labels list sodium fluoride plus a separate amine ingredient, some Austrian products and the gelée may still list olaflur, and some lines add stannous chloride, arginine or zinc.

What is the active ingredient in elmex toothpaste?

Fluoride. Historically that meant amine fluoride (olaflur): a 2022 university paper that transcribed an elmex pack listed olaflur at 1,400 ppm. The current German caries-protection tube, marketed as Neo-Aminex, lists sodium fluoride at 1,450 ppm plus a separate amine ingredient and no olaflur (dm.de product 1006511, checked 26 September 2026). Some Austrian elmex products and elmex gelée may still list olaflur.

Can you buy elmex in the US, UK, Australia or Canada?

Not through any official channel we could find. elmex's own country selector lists 25 storefronts, and the US, UK, Australia and Canada are not among them. Colgate's US and UK sites show no elmex products, elmex.co.uk and elmex.ca are parked domains offered for sale, and elmex.com.au does not exist. Anyone selling elmex in those countries is importing it, and we found no sign that such sellers are authorized by the brand.

Is elmex better than a hydroxyapatite toothpaste?

In one independent lab study, yes. Guntermann and colleagues at the University of Münster (2022, PMID 35831871) tested elmex against Karex, a hydroxyapatite toothpaste, and Ajona on human enamel. elmex left the least demineralized enamel, and the authors concluded the hydroxyapatite paste appeared inferior in that model. It was one in vitro study, not a trial in people, so it is a strong data point rather than the final word.

What is elmex gelée?

A high-fluoride amine-fluoride gel used once a week, not every day. elmex's Swiss site calls it an approved medicine with 8 times the fluoride concentration of standard toothpaste. Per its product page it comes in a 25 g tube, is for use from the age of 6, about 1 cm is brushed on once a week, and contact time must not exceed 5 minutes. Ask a dentist or pharmacist before using it.

Is elmex made by Colgate?

Yes, through subsidiaries. elmex.de's imprint names CP GABA GmbH in Hamburg (Amtsgericht Hamburg HRB 65891), and the registry record shows its shareholder is Colgate-Palmolive Services CEW GmbH. The former Gaba GmbH, elmex's historical maker, was merged into CP GABA GmbH in 2017. In Switzerland, elmex's site names GABA Schweiz AG.

Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, and before using any high-fluoride product such as elmex gelée, especially for children. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.

Sources
  1. Guntermann L, Rohrbach A, Schäfer E, Dammaschke T. Remineralization and protection from demineralization: effects of a hydroxyapatite-containing, a fluoride-containing and a fluoride- and hydroxyapatite-free toothpaste on human enamel in vitro. Head Face Med 2022. PMID 35831871
  2. Full text of the same paper, PMC9278013: Table 1 ingredient list, RDA and pH discussion, funding and competing-interests statements
  3. Warrick JM, Miller LL, Doan EJ, Stookey GK. Caries-preventive effects of sodium and amine fluoride dentifrices. Am J Dent 1999. PMID 10477992
  4. Mosquim V, Gillam DG, Magalhães AC, Wang L. Dentin permeability and tubule occlusion of dentin treated with NaF and TiF4 varnishes compared to Elmex Opti-namel and Biomin F toothpastes under simulated pulp pressure. J Dent 2025. PMID 40349908
  5. RDAP registry record for elmex.com: registered September 27, 1996, CSC Corporate Domains
  6. RDAP registry record for elmex.co.uk: registered December 11, 2018
  7. RDAP registry record for elmex.ca: registered August 8, 2023
  8. openFDA drug enforcement query for elmex: no matches, September 26, 2026

Also checked, without a stable link: elmex's own pages, quoted above and checked September 26, 2026: elmex.de sitemap and product pages (caries protection, Sensitive Professional, Sensitive Professional Repair & Prevent, enamel protection, Junior, gelée), elmex.ch gelée page, elmex.at footer country selector and copyright line; CP GABA GmbH imprint at colgatepalmolive.de. Colgate US and UK site searches for elmex, no elmex products, September 26, 2026. Northdata registry record for CP GABA GmbH, HRB 65891. DNS lookup for elmex.com.au: not found. Redirects of elmex.co.uk and elmex.ca to a Sedo domain-sale page, September 26, 2026. GOV.UK search for elmex and CP GABA: zero results, September 26, 2026. CourtListener RECAP searches for elmex, CP GABA, Gaba GmbH, olaflur and elmex Colgate, September 26, 2026. Trustpilot profile for elmex.de and BBB search for elmex, September 26, 2026.

M

About the author

Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.

The answer in one line: elmex is a trusted amine-fluoride toothpaste with no hydroxyapatite, sold officially in 25 markets but not in the US, UK, Australia or Canada. If you liked it in Europe, what you liked was a good fluoride paste, and your dentist can point you to one at home. If you also want nano-hydroxyapatite between brushings, that is a separate, added step. elmex could make this review more complete by publishing its ingredient panels, fluoride figures and pack sizes as plain text, and we would welcome writing that update. All findings reflect the listed pages and records as checked on 26 September 2026.

Between brushings

Keep your toothpaste. Add a dose in writing.

Brush with the fluoride paste you trust. Minvelle is for between brushings: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, printed on the box, xylitol-sweetened, one piece a day chewed for at least 20 minutes. 18 pieces per box, batch certificate published.

Try Minvelle with 10% off

Or see the subscription option →

30-day refund on unopened boxes

Back to blog