Extra gum: ingredients, xylitol, is it bad for your teeth?
Extra is the gum in the checkout lane, the glovebox and the desk drawer, and most people have never read the back of the pack. This page reads it for fifteen variants sold on extragum.com, sticks and Refreshers, then answers the questions people actually type: does Extra have xylitol, is it bad for your teeth, is it ADA approved, and how it compares with Trident. Everything below comes from the brand's own labels, regulator pages and the published research, quoted and dated, with our own conflict of interest stated up front.
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 5 September 2026 · 28 min read
Disclosure: this label check is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum ourselves and it appears in the alternatives table near the end, held to the same standard as everyone else: what does the label say, and what amount does the brand publish. Every factual claim about Extra comes from extragum.com product pages, a UK retailer listing, the ADA's own documents and regulator pages, each one dated in the sources.
Extra is a sugar-free gum built on sorbitol, with aspartame, acesulfame K and BHT in the under-2% tail. The stick flavors contain no xylitol at all; the Extra Refreshers bottles list xylitol first. No Extra product publishes how much xylitol, aspartame or BHT is in a piece; the panel gives only a total for sugar alcohol. On the evidence, it is not bad for your teeth: sugar-free chewing after meals raises saliva flow and the reviews of sorbitol gum associate it with fewer cavities, not more. It is also not doing anything a label can point to beyond that.
Three things people assume about Extra are not on the current record. It is not a xylitol gum in stick form, so the xylitol research does not transfer to it. It is not on the ADA's current Seal list, even though it earned the Seal in 2007 and its sibling Orbit still holds one. And it contains no fluoride, calcium, phosphate or hydroxyapatite, so any tooth benefit is the chewing itself. If you want the mechanism, chew any sugar-free gum for 20 minutes after eating. If you want an ingredient with a published dose behind it, the label you need is further down this page.
Every Extra label we read, variant by variant
| Variant (extragum.com) | First sweetener | Xylitol | Under-2% tail, as listed | Acids / colors |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spearmint stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | Hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K, soy lecithin, BHT | Turmeric, Blue 1 Lake |
| Peppermint stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | Aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K, soy lecithin, BHT (HSH sits above the 2% line) | Blue 1 Lake |
| Smooth Mint stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | HSH, flavors, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K, soy lecithin, BHT | Blue 1 Lake |
| Polar Ice stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | Aspartame, mannitol, soy lecithin, acesulfame K, BHT | Blue 1 Lake |
| Winterfresh stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | Mannitol, aspartame, acesulfame K, BHT, soy lecithin | Blue 1 Lake |
| Sweet Watermelon stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | Aspartame, flavors, malic acid, soy lecithin, mannitol, citric acid, acesulfame K, hydroxylated soy lecithin, BHT | Malic + citric acid; Red 40 Lake, Red 40 |
| Pink Lemonade stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | Flavors, aspartame, malic acid, soy lecithin, mannitol, citric acid, acesulfame K, BHT | Malic + citric acid; no color listed |
| Classic Bubble stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | HSH, soy lecithin, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K, sucralose, BHT | Red 40, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6 |
| Sour Strawberry stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | HSH, citric acid, aspartame, soy lecithin, malic acid, acesulfame K, BHT (mannitol above the line) | Citric + malic acid; Red 40, Red 40 Lake |
| Sour Blue Raspberry stick, 2.5 g | Sorbitol | No | HSH, malic acid, aspartame, citric acid, soy lecithin, mannitol, acesulfame K, BHT | Malic + citric acid; Blue 1 Lake |
| Refreshers Polar Ice bottle, 2 g | Xylitol | Yes, first; amount not stated | Mannitol, soy lecithin, acacia, sorbitol, aspartame, acesulfame K, BHT | Blue 1 Lake |
| Refreshers Spearmint bottle, 2 g | Xylitol | Yes, first; amount not stated | Mannitol, soy lecithin, acacia, sorbitol, aspartame, acesulfame K, BHT | Blue 1 Lake |
| Refreshers Berry Mix bottle, 2 g | Xylitol | Yes, first; amount not stated | Flavors, acacia, mannitol, malic acid, aspartame, soy lecithin, sorbitol, citric acid, sucralose, acesulfame K, BHT | Malic + citric acid; Blue 1 Lake, Red 40, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake |
| Refreshers Fruit Mix bottle, 2 g | Xylitol | Yes, first; amount not stated | Acacia, citric acid, soy lecithin, aspartame, sorbitol, malic acid, acesulfame K, sucralose, BHT | Citric + malic acid; Yellow 5 Lake, Red 40, Red 40 Lake |
| Refreshers Mint Mix bottle, 2 g | Xylitol | Yes, first; amount not stated | Page shows only three ingredients plus the phenylalanine statement; tail not displayed | Not displayed |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Every row is transcribed from the official extragum.com product page for that variant as captured on 5 September 2026; HSH is hydrogenated starch hydrolysate. Every list carries "Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine" and every variant is sold as sugar free; the panels we captured show 5 calories and 2 g sugar alcohol per 2.5 g stick, and 1 to 2 g sugar alcohol per 2 g Refreshers piece. Formulations and pages change; the pack in your hand is the label that governs.
Part 1What is actually in a stick of Extra, read in label order
Take Extra Spearmint, the flavor most people picture. The official listing reads, in full: "Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, Natural And Artificial Flavors; Less Than 2% Of: Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Aspartame, Mannitol, Acesulfame K, Soy Lecithin, Bht (To Maintain Freshness), Colors (Turmeric, Blue 1 Lake)." Underneath, in capitals: "PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE." The nutrition panel gives one piece as 2.5 g, 5 calories, 0 g total sugars and 2 g sugar alcohol. That is the whole label. It is short, it is legible, and it tells you more than the front of the pack ever will, provided you know what each word is doing.
Sorbitol comes first, which makes Extra a sorbitol gum. US ingredient lists run in descending order of predominance by weight under 21 CFR 101.4, with anything at 2% or less allowed to sit behind a "less than 2% of" statement, so the item in first place is the biggest single component. Sorbitol is a sugar alcohol, a polyol: it is less sweet than sugar, it carries fewer calories, and plaque bacteria cannot ferment it into acid the way they ferment sugar, which is the single fact that lets a gum call itself sugar-free in the dental sense and not just the label sense. The US regulation that affirms sorbitol as generally recognized as safe also requires a label warning that "excess consumption may have a laxative effect" wherever a food could reasonably be eaten in amounts reaching 50 g of sorbitol a day. With 2 g of total sugar alcohol per piece, that is 25 pieces a day before the total reaches that figure, and sorbitol is only one of several polyols in the piece. Nobody chews 25 sticks, but people with sensitive stomachs do notice sugar alcohols well below that line, which is worth knowing before a long drive with a fresh pack.
Gum base, glycerol and flavors are the chew. "Gum base" is a category, not an ingredient, and the US regulation for chewing gum base, 21 CFR 172.615, lists the substances a manufacturer may draw from without naming them on the pack; Extra's pages do not say which ones Mars uses, and we will not guess. Glycerol is the humectant, the softener that keeps the stick pliable. "Natural and artificial flavors" is the spearmint, and it is the last item above the 2% line in most flavors. Then comes the tail.
The under-2% tail is where the interesting ingredients live. Hydrogenated starch hydrolysate is another polyol, made from hydrolysed and hydrogenated starch, used for bulk and texture. Aspartame and acesulfame K are the two high-intensity sweeteners on every list; sucralose joins them in Classic Bubble and two of the Refreshers. Mannitol is a third polyol. Soy lecithin is an emulsifier. BHT, butylated hydroxytoluene, is a synthetic antioxidant that the label itself explains as "to maintain freshness": an antioxidant slows oxidation, which is what makes fats and flavor oils go stale. The colors are named: Spearmint lists turmeric and Blue 1 Lake, the other mints list Blue 1 Lake alone, and the fruit and sour flavors list Red 40, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 or, for Sour Blue Raspberry, Blue 1 Lake.
What is not on the label matters as much. No fluoride, in any flavor. No calcium, phosphate or hydroxyapatite. No xylitol in any stick flavor we read; more on that in Part 2. No whitening or stain-control ingredient. No amounts for anything except the nutrition panel's totals. Extra's own product pages, as captured, make no claim about teeth, cavities, whitening or the ADA; the copy is about freshness and confidence, "a minty burst of confidence" on Winterfresh and "a rush of minty flavor" on the Refreshers. That is honest positioning for what the label supports. The dental reputation Extra carries has been laid on it by shoppers, by the 2007 Seal news, and by the general truth that sugar-free gum is good for teeth, and the rest of this page separates those three things.
A dental gum that shows its numbers
Minvelle publishes what a mainstream label never does: 817 mg of xylitol and 285 mg of erythritol per piece, a chicle and Chios mastic base, and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, with the batch certificate public. No aspartame, no acesulfame K, no sorbitol. One piece a day after food, 18 pieces per box, as a complement to fluoride brushing, never a replacement.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks, €15.00 per box, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes · free EU shipping over €29 · code valid on orders from €29
Does Extra gum have xylitol? Sticks no, Refreshers yes, amounts never
This is the most-searched question about Extra and the answer is a clean split. We read ten stick flavors on extragum.com on 5 September 2026: Spearmint, Peppermint, Smooth Mint, Polar Ice, Winterfresh, Sweet Watermelon, Pink Lemonade, Classic Bubble, Sour Strawberry and Sour Blue Raspberry. Not one of them lists xylitol anywhere, above or below the 2% line. Every one opens with sorbitol. Then we read the five Extra Refreshers, the 2 g pieces sold in a 40-piece bottle: Polar Ice, Spearmint, Berry Mix, Fruit Mix and Mint Mix. Every one of those opens with xylitol, and sorbitol has dropped into the under-2% tail or, in the Mint Mix listing as displayed, out of sight altogether. Same brand, same shelf, opposite sweetener. If someone tells you "Extra has xylitol", they are either holding a Refreshers bottle or remembering a different country's recipe.
The different-country part is real. In the UK, Wrigley's Extra Peppermint as listed by Morrisons on the same date reads "Sweeteners (Sorbitol, Xylitol, Aspartame, Mannitol, Acesulfame K), Gum Base, Thickener (Gum Arabic), Flavourings, Humectant (Glycerol), Emulsifier (SOYA Lecithin), Glazing Agent (Carnauba Wax), Antioxidant (BHA)", with the warnings "excessive consumption may produce laxative effects" and "contains a source of phenylalanine". So UK Extra sticks do contain xylitol, in second place after sorbitol, and use BHA rather than BHT as the antioxidant. Mars's own help page keeps it general: "Some of our gum products may contain xylitol and is mentioned as an ingredient on the packaging." That sentence is doing exactly what it should: sending you to the pack, because the answer changes by format and by market. We were not able to fetch other UK retailers' listings, so we make no claim about whether every UK Extra flavor matches Morrisons' Peppermint.
Why the presence of xylitol matters, and why the amount matters more. Xylitol is the one sugar alcohol with a caries literature of its own. The 2008 systematic review by Deshpande and Jadad in the Journal of the American Dental Association pooled polyol-gum trials against no gum and reported mean prevented fractions of about 59% for xylitol gum, 53% for xylitol-sorbitol blends and 20% for sorbitol gum, with the sorbitol-mannitol blend not reaching significance. The 2015 Cochrane review by Riley and colleagues was far more cautious: ten studies, 5,903 participants, only one at low risk of bias, and a conclusion that the evidence for xylitol products beyond a 10% xylitol fluoride toothpaste was of low quality and insufficient. Read those two together and the fair summary is: xylitol gum has the better-looking trial record of any gum sweetener, and the record is weaker than the marketing around it. Either way, that record was built at dose: a 2022 meta-analysis by AlHumaid and Bamashmous concluded the most effective products were 100% xylitol, chewed or consumed three to five times a day after meals, for a total of 5 to 10 g of xylitol a day. It does not transfer to a gum that lists xylitol first but never says how much is in a piece, and it does not transfer at all to a stick that contains none.
That is the gap on every Extra label, Refreshers included. Xylitol first tells you it outweighs the gum base. It does not tell you whether a 2 g soft chew holds 300 mg or 1,200 mg, and no Extra page we found gives a figure. Our best xylitol gum 2026 ranking was built on exactly that test, a per-piece number stated by the brand, and Extra could not be placed on it for the same reason Trident could not: the number is not published. If you specifically want xylitol, buy a gum that tells you the dose; the alternatives section below lists the ones we found that do. If you just want a sugar-free chew, the stick versus Refreshers distinction changes very little, because the mechanism that helps your teeth, as Part 3 explains, is the chewing.
Part 3Is Extra gum bad for your teeth? What the sources support
No, not on anything we could find, and the reasons are specific rather than reassuring-by-default. Start with what the American Dental Association says on its chewing gum topic page, last updated May 2023: "Chewing gum after a meal can increase salivary flow by stimulating both mechanical and taste receptors in the mouth", to "10-12 times that of the unstimulated rate", and that saliva "helps to dilute and neutralize acids produced by the bacteria in plaque on teeth". The same page notes that "clinical trials have found decreased caries incidence in subjects who chewed sugar-free gum for 20 minutes after meals". None of that depends on the sweetener. It depends on the gum being sugar-free, so that the chewing does not feed the bacteria it is rinsing, and on the timing.
Europe reached the same place through its claims law. Under Regulation (EU) 432/2012, a sugar-free chewing gum may state that it "contributes to the maintenance of tooth mineralisation" and "contributes to the neutralisation of plaque acids", on condition that the consumer is told the effect requires chewing "for at least 20 minutes after eating or drinking". Those are authorized health claims, vetted by EFSA, available to any gum that meets the sugars-free definition. Extra meets it. So does every other gum on the checkout shelf. That is the baseline, and it is a genuine one: the 2007 systematic review by Mickenautsch and colleagues found seven of nine accepted studies showing an anti-caries effect for sorbitol, xylitol or blended gum, and ascribed it to "saliva stimulation through the chewing process, particularly when gum is used immediately after meals; the lack of sucrose and the inability of bacteria to metabolize polyols into acids", while calling for better randomized trials.
Sorbitol specifically. Because Extra sticks are sorbitol gums, the relevant number from the Deshpande and Jadad review is the sorbitol one: a prevented fraction of about 20%, with a confidence interval that stayed above zero. That is the direction of a benefit, smaller than xylitol's, and it is the best single figure we have for "does a sorbitol gum help". Our sorbitol versus xylitol deep dive goes through the biology of why the literature rates sorbitol below xylitol rather than against it. A 2021 meta-analysis in BMC Oral Health found sugar-free gum reduced Streptococcus mutans load, but twelve of its thirteen trials used xylitol gum, so it says little about a sorbitol stick on its own.
The acids in the fruit flavors. Sweet Watermelon, Pink Lemonade, Sour Strawberry and the two fruit Refreshers list malic acid and citric acid in the tail; that is what makes them taste tart. Both are acids, and acids are what enamel does not like. Here we have to be precise about what we do not know: we found no published pH measurement of a chewed piece of any Extra flavor, and the acids sit under the 2% line in a piece that is also stimulating a large flow of buffering saliva. So we make no erosion claim about Extra, in either direction. If you have diagnosed erosion or a dentist who has told you to avoid acidic foods, the mint flavors list no acid at all and are the obvious pick.
What the label cannot do. There is no fluoride in Extra, so it does not do what your toothpaste does. There is no mineral, so it does not do what a hydroxyapatite or calcium-phosphate product claims to do. The ADA's line applies to every gum, including ours: "The gum is not to be used as a substitute for a regular oral hygiene routine consisting of twice daily brushing with a fluoride toothpaste and daily cleaning between teeth." Chew Extra after lunch and you get the saliva. Skip brushing because you chewed Extra and you have traded a documented benefit for a minor one. That is the whole honest answer to "is it bad for your teeth": no, and it is also not a treatment.
What the record supports, and what it does not
Sugar free on every label, 5 calories a piece. Chewing it after meals raises saliva flow, the mechanism the ADA and the EU's authorized claims both credit. Sorbitol gum carries a modest, positive record in the reviews.
Ten US stick flavors, zero xylitol. The Refreshers and UK sticks list it, but no Extra product states a milligram figure, so the xylitol trial record cannot be applied to any of them.
Extra earned the ADA Seal in 2007. The ADA's October 2025 reference guide lists eight gums, Orbit and Orbit White among them, and Extra is not one of them. No Seal appears on the product pages we read.
Aspartame, acesulfame K and BHT: the tail, without the panic
The under-2% tail is where most "is Extra gum bad for you" searches are really pointed, so here is what the regulators say, quoted rather than paraphrased. Aspartame is the reason every Extra pack carries the capitalized phenylketonurics line: US law, at 21 CFR 172.804, requires "PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE" in bold on a contrasting background on any food sweetened with it, because people with the inherited condition phenylketonuria cannot metabolize phenylalanine and must restrict it strictly. For everyone else, the FDA's sweeteners page, dated February 2025, gives an acceptable daily intake of 50 mg per kilogram of body weight per day; EFSA's 2013 re-evaluation set 40 mg/kg and concluded that "aspartame and its breakdown products are safe for the general population (including infants, children and pregnant women)" with exposure "well below this ADI".
The 2023 headlines came from the WHO's cancer agency. On 14 July 2023 the WHO announced that IARC had classified aspartame as "possibly carcinogenic to humans (Group 2B)" on limited evidence, and that JECFA, the body that sets intake limits, had in the same review reaffirmed the 0 to 40 mg/kg ADI, illustrating it with the example that a 70 kg adult would need "more than 9–14 cans per day" of a diet soft drink to exceed it. The FDA's page adds that the IARC label "does not mean that aspartame is actually linked to cancer". The label itself bounds the number: aspartame sits under the 2% line of a 2.5 g stick, so a piece holds under 50 mg, a fraction of the 200 to 300 mg the WHO puts in one can. Extra does not publish the exact figure, which is the one thing we would change about the label. Our aspartame in chewing gum article walks through the dose arithmetic in more detail. For teeth specifically, aspartame is not a sugar and does not feed plaque acid, a point our aspartame and teeth article covers; the concern people bring to it is a whole-body one, and it is a preference you are entitled to act on. Our own gum uses none, and we say that as a fact about our label, not as a verdict on theirs.
Acesulfame K is aspartame's partner on every Extra list. The FDA lists its ADI at 15 mg/kg body weight per day on the same page. It is not a sugar, contributes no calories, and sits in every Extra tail we captured. Sucralose appears in three variants. Our sugar substitutes ranked for teeth page puts all of these side by side on the one axis this blog cares about, which is what they do to enamel: nothing, which is the point of them.
BHT is the ingredient that gets the most suspicious reading and deserves the most careful one. It is a synthetic antioxidant, and its job in gum is exactly what the label says: to stop the fats and flavor oils in the base from oxidizing and tasting stale. US rules for chewing gum base, 21 CFR 172.615, permit BHT and BHA at "not to exceed antioxidant content of 0.1% when used alone or in any combination" of the base. In Europe, EFSA re-evaluated BHT as food additive E 321 in 2012 and, in the published opinion, "derived an ADI of 0.25 mg/kg bw/day" from a no-effect level of 25 mg/kg, a hundred-fold safety factor. Extra does not state how much BHT a piece contains, and the UK recipe uses the related compound BHA instead. What BHT does not do is anything to teeth. If you would rather avoid synthetic antioxidants, that is a fair preference and the label lets you act on it; Zellie's, on the table below, lists tocopherols, vitamin E, for the same job.
Soy lecithin and colors. Soy lecithin is an emulsifier and a soy-derived ingredient; the Extra pages we read list it in the ingredients but the allergen line we captured was the phenylalanine statement, so anyone with a soy allergy should read their own pack. Trident's official page, for comparison, prints "CONTAINS: SOY" outright. The colors are named FD&C dyes and lakes plus turmeric; they are cosmetic, they are disclosed by name, and there is nothing about them that touches the dental question. The one whole-body point that is genuinely gum-specific is the sugar alcohol load: the UK pack prints "excessive consumption may produce laxative effects" as a legal requirement, the US GRAS regulation for sorbitol sets its warning threshold at 50 g a day, and a heavy chewer on a sorbitol-and-mannitol stick is the person most likely to find out why.
Part 5Sugar-free gum and teeth: the 20-minute mechanism, and its ceiling
It is worth spelling out the mechanism once, because it is the entire dental case for Extra and for every mainstream gum. After you eat, plaque bacteria ferment sugars into acid and the pH at the tooth surface falls; below a threshold, enamel begins to lose mineral. Saliva is the recovery system. The 2015 review of saliva's functions by Dawes and colleagues lists buffering, clearance of food debris and micro-organisms, and the supply of dissolved minerals among them. Chewing anything stimulates flow; chewing something sweet stimulates it more, through taste receptors; chewing something sugar-free does it without adding fuel to the acid. Twenty minutes is the figure the ADA's page and the EU's claim conditions both use.
Notice what the mechanism does not include. It does not include the sweetener doing anything at the tooth surface; sorbitol, HSH and aspartame are inert there. It does not include any mineral being delivered; saliva supplies its own calcium and phosphate, and a plain sugar-free gum adds none. It does not include fluoride. So the ceiling of a plain sugar-free gum is the ceiling of stimulated saliva, which is real and is why dental associations endorse the habit, and which is also the same for a 2.5 g stick of Extra, a piece of Orbit, a piece of Trident and a store-brand equivalent. Our article on what chewing gum does after eating covers the timing in detail: the best moment is right after the meal or the coffee, when the acid is peaking, not an hour later.
Where a gum can go beyond that ceiling is by adding an ingredient with its own evidence and its own published dose: xylitol in gram quantities across the day, which is what the xylitol trials used, or a mineral such as hydroxyapatite, which is what our own gum carries and what our gum database tracks across fifteen brands, only two of which publish a per-piece amount. Extra does not try to go beyond the ceiling and does not claim to. That is the fairest sentence on this page: Extra is exactly the product its label describes, a sugar-free chew for freshness, and the dental benefit it gives is the one every sugar-free chew gives.
Part 6Trident vs Extra: two labels side by side
The comparison people actually make at the counter is Trident against Extra, so here it is on the two brands' own pages, both read on 5 September 2026. Trident Original, from the tridentgum.com listing, capitalization normalized: "Sorbitol, Gum Base, Xylitol, Glycerin, Natural and Artificial Flavor; Less Than 2% of: Acesulfame Potassium, Aspartame, BHT (to Maintain Freshness), Mannitol, Soy Lecithin, Sucralose. Phenylketonurics: Contains Phenylalanine. Contains: Soy." Extra Spearmint, from extragum.com, is quoted in full in Part 1. Line them up and four differences show.
| What's compared | Trident Original | Extra Spearmint |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Perfetti Van Melle (site footer, 2026) | Mars, "an Affiliate of Mars, Incorporated" (site footer, 2026) |
| First sweetener | Sorbitol | Sorbitol |
| Xylitol | Yes, third on the list; amount not stated | None (sticks); first in Refreshers; amount never stated |
| High-intensity sweeteners | Acesulfame potassium, aspartame, sucralose | Aspartame, acesulfame K (sucralose in three variants) |
| Bulk polyol besides sorbitol | Mannitol | Hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, mannitol |
| Antioxidant | BHT | BHT (BHA in the UK recipe) |
| Allergen line | "Contains: Soy" plus phenylalanine | Phenylalanine statement; soy lecithin in the list |
| ADA Seal, September 2026 | Yes: "Trident Sugarfree Gum", twelve named flavors, for cavity prevention via saliva stimulation | Earned 2007; absent from the ADA's October 2025 list |
| Dental claim on brand page | "Chewing Trident gum after eating and drinking cleans and protect teeth"; "30% fewer calories than sugared gum" | None found; freshness copy only |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Rows reflect the brands' own product pages and the ADA's Seal database as captured on 5 September 2026. Full write-up of the whitening line: Trident White review.
On the two facts a dental reader can check, Trident has the stronger label: it carries xylitol in the sticks and it holds a current ADA Seal, with the accepted basis stated on the ADA's page as "the physical action of chewing Trident Sugarfree Gum for 20 minutes after eating, stimulates saliva flow, which helps to prevent cavities by reducing plaque acids and strengthening teeth." Note what that Seal is for: the chewing, not the xylitol. On the facts that make people nervous, the two are near-identical: both are sorbitol-first, both list aspartame and acesulfame, both use BHT, both carry the phenylalanine warning, neither publishes a milligram for any sweetener. Trident's xylitol in third place is above the 2% line, which puts it somewhere between a flavor note and a meaningful share, and without a number nobody outside the company can say which. If a xylitol gum is the goal, neither of these is the clean answer; if a sugar-free chew with a current Seal is the goal, Trident is. Note also that our Trident White review found the White line carries no xylitol at all, so the Trident advantage belongs to the Original-style sticks, not the brand as a whole.
The ADA Seal, stated precisely
"Is Extra gum ADA approved" is a question with a date attached. On 4 October 2007 the trade press reported a Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company announcement that "Orbit, Extra and Eclipse are the first and only gums in the U.S. to earn this recognition", the ADA Seal of Acceptance, on the basis that they were "clinically proven to help fight cavities, strengthen teeth and reduce harmful plaque acids". That happened. What the record shows in 2026 is different. The ADA's own Seal Reference Guide, marked "Updated: October 2025" and downloaded from ada.org on 5 September 2026, lists eight products under chewing gum: Bazooka Sugar Free Bubble Gum, Ice Breakers Ice Cubes, Mentos Gum Pure Fresh, Mentos Pure White Gum, Orbit Sugarfree Gum, Orbit White Sugarfree Gum, quip Sugarfree Chewing Gum and Trident Sugarfree Gum. Extra is not on it. The August 2023 chairside guide carries the same eight. A search of ada.org on the same day returned Seal entries for Orbit, Orbit White, Trident, Mentos and quip and none for Extra. And the Orbit entry names the company as "Mars Wrigley Confectionery, US, LLC", the same company that makes Extra, so this is not a case of a manufacturer leaving the program.
We do not know why, and we are not going to guess. There could be a dozen ordinary reasons, and neither the ADA nor Mars has published one that we could find. None of the extragum.com product pages we read shows a Seal, which is consistent with the current list. The precise sentence, then: Extra earned the ADA Seal in 2007; as of September 2026 it does not appear on the ADA's published Seal lists, while Orbit from the same company does; and the ADA guide itself says "new products are regularly accepted", so check ADA.org/seal rather than this page if the date matters to you. A shopper who buys Extra because "Wrigley gum has the ADA Seal" is applying a 2007 endorsement of one product to a 2026 purchase of another, and the database does not currently back the transfer. That is a statement about a list, not about the gum.
Part 7If you want a published xylitol dose, these labels give one
The test that Extra and Trident both fail is simple: does the brand state, in its own words, how many milligrams of xylitol are in one piece. It sounds pedantic until you remember that the xylitol trials were dose studies, and that "xylitol first on the label" can mean anything from a third of the piece to most of it. On 5 September 2026 we found three brands that state a figure on their own pages, and we list ours among them with its conflict on display.
| Gum | Xylitol per piece, as the brand states it | Other sweeteners | Aspartame / BHT | Where stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Epic Dental | 1.06 g (1,060 mg) | None listed | No / no | epicdental.com xylitol gum page and FAQ |
| Zellie's | 1 g (1,000 mg) | None listed | No / no (tocopherols as antioxidant) | shop.zellies.com product page |
| Minvelle (ours) | 817 mg, in a 1.9 g piece | Erythritol 285 mg | No / no | minvelle.com/pages/transparency, with batch certificate |
| Spry (Xlear) | Not stated on the brand page | None (stevia in one flavor) | No / no | xlear.com, ingredients only |
| Trident Original | Not stated; xylitol third after sorbitol and gum base | Sorbitol, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, sucralose | Yes / yes | tridentgum.com |
| Extra Refreshers | Not stated; xylitol first | Mannitol, sorbitol, aspartame, acesulfame K (sucralose in two) | Yes / yes | extragum.com |
| Extra sticks | None | Sorbitol, HSH, mannitol, aspartame, acesulfame K | Yes / yes | extragum.com |
Swipe sideways on mobile. All rows read from the brands' own pages on 5 September 2026. Epic's "more than any other US brand" wording is Epic's claim. Full write-ups: Epic Dental · best xylitol gum 2026.
Two honest notes on that table. First, if your dentist has told you to reach several grams of xylitol a day, the studied range, Epic and Zellie's are the right tools, at about five pieces a day spread across the day; that is what their own dosing copy suggests and what the trials did. Second, our own gum is not a xylitol dosing product and we do not sell it as one. Minvelle is chewed one piece a day, which delivers 817 mg of xylitol, below the studied range, because the reason it exists is the 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite in each piece, published with the batch certificate on our transparency page. It is on this table because it passes the publishing test, not because it wins the xylitol race, and it costs more per piece than the xylitol gums we could price. Readers who want the cheapest sugar-free chew for the saliva benefit should buy the cheapest sugar-free chew; Extra qualifies, and so does any store brand with 0 g sugars on the panel.
Fairness, and our conflict
Extra gets several things right that this page should say plainly. Its labels are complete and legible; every ingredient is named, the phenylalanine warning is printed in capitals as the law requires, and the nutrition panel gives real per-piece numbers for weight, calories, sugars and sugar alcohol. Its product pages do not make dental claims they cannot back; the copy is about freshness, and freshness is what the product delivers. It is sugar-free across every variant we read, which is the one property that matters most for a gum chewed several times a day. And the same company holds a current ADA Seal on Orbit, so the mechanism Extra relies on has been reviewed by the ADA's council in a sibling product. Nothing in this label check found a hidden ingredient, a contradiction between pack and page, or a claim that outran the evidence. What it found is a gap between what shoppers assume about Extra and what the label says, and that gap was built by memory and by 2007, not by Mars.
Our conflict is that we sell a gum, and a reader should weigh this page accordingly. We have tried to make it easy to check: every Extra fact above is a quote from a dated extragum.com page or a UK retailer listing, every regulator statement is linked to the regulator, every study is a PubMed record you can open, and the ADA lists are the ADA's own PDFs. Where we could not verify something, the Sainsbury's recipe, the Refreshers Mint Mix tail, the reason behind the Seal list, the pH of a chewed piece, we said so instead of filling it in. And the one comparison that favors us, the published-dose table, favors two other brands more than it favors us on the xylitol figure. If Mars publishes a per-piece xylitol amount for the Refreshers, or the ADA list changes, this page will be updated; the date under the byline is the promise.
Part 8Who Extra is right for, and who is reading the wrong label
Good fit: the after-meal chewer who wants freshness and the saliva benefit. If you chew because you like chewing, want your mouth to feel clean after lunch or coffee, and would like the modest, documented benefit that any sugar-free gum gives when chewed for 20 minutes after eating, Extra does that job at supermarket prices in more flavors than most. Pick a mint if you are avoiding acids. Read your own pack for the soy line if that matters to you. Keep brushing with fluoride twice a day and cleaning between your teeth, because the ADA is explicit that gum does not replace either.
Wrong label: the reader who came here for xylitol. If the reason you searched "does Extra gum have xylitol" is that you read about the xylitol trials and want the effect they measured, the sticks do not contain it and the Refreshers do not tell you how much. Buy a gum that states its dose; the table above lists the ones we found, our own included with its limits stated. If your interest is broader, our label-first guide to which gum is actually good for you and our roundup of the gums that carry the ADA Seal cover the rest of the shelf the same way.
Wrong label: the reader avoiding aspartame or BHT. Every Extra variant we captured lists both, and the UK version swaps BHT for BHA. That is a preference, not a safety verdict; the FDA, EFSA and JECFA figures quoted in Part 4 are the regulators' positions and we have not contradicted them. But the label gives you the information to act on the preference, and there are gums, on the table above and elsewhere, that use neither. Ours is one of them, and the reason we can say so without hedging is the same reason this whole page exists: the list is public and the amounts are on it.
Sorbitol: A sugar alcohol (polyol) and the first ingredient in every Extra stick. About half as sweet as sugar, not fermented into acid by plaque bacteria, affirmed GRAS in the US with a laxative-effect label rule at foreseeable intakes of 50 g a day.
Xylitol: The polyol with its own caries literature; the 2008 JADA review put xylitol gum's prevented fraction near 59% against sorbitol's 20%, and the 2015 Cochrane review rated the evidence low quality. First ingredient in Extra Refreshers, absent from Extra sticks, never quantified by Extra.
Hydrogenated starch hydrolysate (HSH): A polyol blend made from starch, used for bulk and texture. On every Extra stick, not on the Refreshers.
Aspartame and acesulfame K: High-intensity sweeteners in every Extra tail. FDA ADI 50 and 15 mg/kg body weight per day respectively; EFSA's aspartame ADI is 40 mg/kg. Aspartame requires the phenylketonurics warning. Dentally inert.
BHT (butylated hydroxytoluene): A synthetic antioxidant "to maintain freshness". US gum-base rules cap it at 0.1% antioxidant content of the base; EFSA's 2012 ADI is 0.25 mg/kg body weight per day. UK Extra uses BHA instead.
Phenylketonuria (PKU): An inherited condition in which phenylalanine cannot be metabolized; the reason aspartame-sweetened foods must carry the capitalized warning.
ADA Seal of Acceptance: The American Dental Association's per-product endorsement. For gum, the accepted basis is saliva stimulation from 20 minutes of sugar-free chewing after eating. Extra earned it in 2007 and is absent from the ADA's October 2025 list.
Prevented fraction: The share of new cavities a treatment group avoided relative to a control group in a trial; the statistic the polyol-gum reviews pool.
The things people actually ask about Extra
Does Extra gum have xylitol?
It depends on the format. On the official extragum.com labels captured on 5 September 2026, none of the ten stick flavors we read (Spearmint, Peppermint, Smooth Mint, Polar Ice, Winterfresh, Sweet Watermelon, Pink Lemonade, Classic Bubble, Sour Strawberry, Sour Blue Raspberry) lists xylitol; every one opens with sorbitol. The Extra Refreshers bottles (Polar Ice, Spearmint, Berry Mix, Fruit Mix, Mint Mix) list xylitol first. No Extra product states how many milligrams of xylitol a piece contains. UK Extra Peppermint, as listed by Morrisons on the same date, contains xylitol as the second sweetener after sorbitol.
What are the ingredients in Extra gum?
Extra Spearmint, as listed on extragum.com on 5 September 2026: sorbitol, gum base, glycerol, natural and artificial flavors; less than 2% of hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K, soy lecithin, BHT (to maintain freshness), colors (turmeric, Blue 1 Lake), plus the statement 'Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine.' The other stick flavors follow the same pattern with different colors, and the fruit and sour flavors add malic acid and citric acid. One piece is 2.5 g, 5 calories, 0 g sugars and 2 g sugar alcohol.
Is Extra gum bad for your teeth?
Not on the evidence we could find. Extra is sugar-free, and sugar-free gum chewed after meals raises saliva flow, which the American Dental Association credits with diluting and neutralizing plaque acid; the EU has authorized the claim that sugar-free gum contributes to the maintenance of tooth mineralisation when chewed for at least 20 minutes after eating. A 2008 systematic review in JADA found sorbitol gum associated with a 20% prevented fraction of caries, lower than xylitol's 59%. The fruit and sour flavors list citric and malic acid; we found no published pH data for the chewed gum, so we make no erosion claim. Gum is a supplement to brushing and cleaning between teeth, never a replacement.
Does Extra gum give you cavities?
The label lists 0 g total sugars, and the sweeteners it uses (sorbitol, mannitol, hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, aspartame, acesulfame K) are not fermented into acid by plaque bacteria the way sugar is. Systematic reviews of sugar-free gum, including sorbitol gum, associate after-meal chewing with fewer new cavities rather than more. What Extra does not do is add any active that the caries literature is specifically about: the stick flavors contain no xylitol, and no Extra product contains fluoride or a mineral such as hydroxyapatite. It is neutral-to-helpful, not protective in the way a fluoride toothpaste is.
Does Extra gum have fluoride?
No. None of the fifteen Extra ingredient lists we captured from extragum.com on 5 September 2026 names fluoride in any form, and none names calcium, phosphate or hydroxyapatite either. Extra's dental benefit, such as it is, comes from the sugar-free chewing itself, not from an added mineral. Fluoride still comes from your toothpaste, which the ADA says gum must not replace.
Is Extra gum ADA approved?
It was, and the current record does not show it. In October 2007 Wrigley announced that Orbit, Extra and Eclipse had earned the ADA Seal of Acceptance. On 5 September 2026 the ADA's Seal Reference Guide (updated October 2025) listed eight chewing gums, Orbit Sugarfree Gum and Orbit White among them, and Extra was not on the list; the August 2023 chairside guide and a search of ada.org gave the same result. We found no published explanation from the ADA or Mars, and the extragum.com product pages we read show no Seal. Treat the 2007 news as history, not as a current endorsement.
Does Extra gum whiten teeth?
Nothing on the US Extra product pages we read claims whitening, and no captured ingredient list names a stain-control or whitening ingredient such as sodium hexametaphosphate, titanium dioxide or a peroxide. Any sugar-free gum chewed after coffee gives a small mechanical rinse; no gum bleaches teeth, because changing the intrinsic shade of a tooth requires peroxide chemistry no gum contains. A UK line sold as Extra White exists at retailers; we did not capture its label and make no claim about it.
Trident or Extra: which is better for teeth?
On the labels, Trident Original lists sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, flavor, then under 2% of acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, soy lecithin and sucralose. Extra Spearmint lists sorbitol, gum base, glycerol, flavors, then hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, aspartame, mannitol, acesulfame K, soy lecithin, BHT and colors. So Trident sticks carry xylitol in third place and Extra sticks carry none; neither publishes a xylitol amount. Trident Sugarfree Gum holds a current ADA Seal for cavity prevention through saliva stimulation; Extra is absent from the ADA's 2025 list. On those two facts Trident has the stronger dental label; both are sugar-free, both list aspartame and BHT, and both rely on the same chewing-and-saliva mechanism.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, and do your own research on any ingredient you want to avoid. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current pack, and if you have phenylketonuria, a soy allergy or a sensitivity to sugar alcohols, the pack is the only label that counts.
- Mars, official Extra product pages at extragum.com (Spearmint, Peppermint, Smooth Mint, Polar Ice, Winterfresh, Sweet Watermelon, Pink Lemonade, Classic Bubble, Sour Strawberry, Sour Blue Raspberry; Refreshers Polar Ice, Spearmint, Berry Mix, Fruit Mix, Mint Mix): ingredient statements, phenylketonurics line and nutrition panels, all captured 5 September 2026. Product-purchase pages are not linked on this blog; the URLs follow the pattern extragum.com/products/extra-[flavor]-sugarfree-chewing-gum-15-stick-single-pack-single.
- Mars, Extra contact and help page: "Some of our gum products may contain xylitol and is mentioned as an ingredient on the packaging", read 5 September 2026.
- Morrisons (UK), Wrigley's Extra Peppermint Sugar Free Chewing Gum 46 Pieces: full ingredient statement with xylitol and BHA, laxative-effect and phenylalanine warnings, listing downloaded 5 September 2026 (retail listing, not linked).
- Perfetti Van Melle, tridentgum.com, Trident Original (14 pieces): ingredient statement, "Contains: Soy", and claims copy, captured 5 September 2026 (product page, not linked).
- American Dental Association, Seal of Acceptance database: Orbit Sugarfree Gum, Mars Wrigley Confectionery, US, LLC, basis of acceptance and flavors, read 5 September 2026.
- American Dental Association, Seal of Acceptance database: Trident Sugarfree Gum, Perfetti Van Melle USA, basis of acceptance and twelve flavors, read 5 September 2026.
- American Dental Association, ADA Seal Reference Guide, "Updated: October 2025": chewing gum list of eight products, downloaded 5 September 2026.
- American Dental Association, ADA Seal Chairside Guide, "Updated: August 2023": chewing gum list, downloaded 5 September 2026.
- Dimensions of Dental Hygiene, 4 October 2007, reporting the Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company announcement that Orbit, Extra and Eclipse earned the ADA Seal of Acceptance.
- American Dental Association, Chewing Gum (oral health topic, updated 4 May 2023): saliva flow, 20 minutes after meals, the Seal, and gum as no substitute for brushing.
- Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012: authorised health claims for sugar-free chewing gum (tooth mineralisation, plaque acid neutralisation, at least 20 minutes after eating or drinking).
- Deshpande A, Jadad AR. The impact of polyol-containing chewing gums on dental caries: a systematic review. J Am Dent Assoc 2008;139(12):1602-14. PMID 19047666: prevented fractions for xylitol, xylitol-sorbitol and sorbitol gum.
- Riley P, Moore D, Ahmed F, Sharif MO, Worthington HV. Xylitol-containing products for preventing dental caries in children and adults. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2015;(3):CD010743. PMID 25809586: 10 studies, 5,903 participants, low-quality evidence.
- AlHumaid J, Bamashmous M. Meta-analysis on the effectiveness of xylitol in caries prevention. J Int Soc Prev Community Dent 2022;12(2):133-138. PMID 35462747: most effective products 100% xylitol, three to five times a day, 5 to 10 g a day.
- Mickenautsch S, Leal SC, Yengopal V, Bezerra AC, Cruvinel V. Sugar-free chewing gum and dental caries: a systematic review. J Appl Oral Sci 2007;15(2):83-8. PMID 19089107.
- Nasseripour M et al. A systematic review and meta-analysis of the role of sugar-free chewing gum on Streptococcus mutans. BMC Oral Health 2021;21:217. PMID 33926448.
- Dawes C et al. The functions of human saliva: a review sponsored by the World Workshop on Oral Medicine VI. Arch Oral Biol 2015;60(6):863-74. PMID 25841068.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Aspartame and Other Sweeteners in Food (page dated 27 February 2025): approval history, ADIs of 50 mg/kg for aspartame and 15 mg/kg for acesulfame potassium, PKU labeling, IARC statement.
- 21 CFR 101.4 Food; designation of ingredients: descending order of predominance by weight and the "less than 2 percent of" grouping (Cornell LII mirror).
- 21 CFR 172.804 Aspartame: the required "PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE" statement (Cornell LII mirror).
- 21 CFR 172.615 Chewing gum base: BHT and BHA "not to exceed antioxidant content of 0.1%" (Cornell LII mirror).
- 21 CFR 184.1835 Sorbitol: GRAS affirmation and the "excess consumption may have a laxative effect" label rule at 50 g a day (Cornell LII mirror).
- World Health Organization, 14 July 2023: IARC Group 2B classification of aspartame and JECFA's reaffirmed ADI of 0 to 40 mg/kg body weight.
- European Food Safety Authority, aspartame topic page: December 2013 full risk assessment, ADI of 40 mg/kg bw/day, PKU note.
- EFSA Panel on Food Additives and Nutrient Sources. Scientific Opinion on the re-evaluation of butylated hydroxytoluene BHT (E 321) as a food additive. EFSA Journal 2012; doi 10.2903/j.efsa.2012.2588: ADI of 0.25 mg/kg bw/day.
- Epic Dental, epicdental.com xylitol gum page and FAQ: "One piece of Epic Xylitol Gum contains 1.06 grams of Xylitol", read 5 September 2026. Zellie's, shop.zellies.com Peppermint Xylitol Dental Gum: "each piece of gum contains 1 gram of xylitol" and ingredient list, read 5 September 2026. Xlear, Spry 100-count xylitol gum page: ingredient lists, no per-piece amount, read 5 September 2026 (brand shop pages, not linked).
- Minvelle transparency page: 817 mg xylitol, 285 mg erythritol and 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, full ingredient list, batch certificate, and the hydroxyapatite gum database, both read 5 September 2026.
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Read the pack, then decide. Extra is a well-labelled, sugar-free, everywhere-available gum whose dental reputation is mostly borrowed: from the general truth that sugar-free chewing helps, from a Seal it earned in 2007, and from a xylitol association that belongs to its Refreshers line and its UK recipe rather than to the sticks in most people's pockets. None of that makes it bad for your teeth; chewed for 20 minutes after eating it does exactly what every sugar-free gum does, and the reviews of sorbitol gum point the right way. It just does not do more, and the label does not claim to. If freshness and the saliva benefit are what you want, buy it and enjoy it. If a published dose of a studied ingredient is what you want, buy the label that prints one, ours or anyone's, because in this category the label is the product and the name on the front has never changed a single number on the back.
A dental gum that shows its numbers
Minvelle publishes what a mainstream label never does: 817 mg of xylitol and 285 mg of erythritol per piece, a chicle and Chios mastic base, and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, with the batch certificate public. No aspartame, no acesulfame K, no sorbitol, no BHT. One piece a day, 18 pieces per box, as a complement to fluoride brushing, never a replacement.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks, €15.00 per box, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes · free EU shipping over €29 · code valid on orders from €29