XyliMelts review 2026: label, dose, studies checked

Brand review

XyliMelts review 2026: label, dose, studies checked

XyliMelts is a xylitol disc that sticks to a back tooth and dissolves over hours, sold for dry mouth. This review checks its label, the dose per disc, the price per disc, what buyers report, and every study behind it, using only what I could verify on 5 September 2026. One thing before anything else: I run Minvelle, which sells a nano-hydroxyapatite chewing gum, so I sell in the same aisle. XyliMelts does a different job than my product. Where that matters, I say so.

M
Max, Founder of Minvelle
Published September 2026 · Last reviewed: 5 September 2026 · 27 min read
Quick answer

Is XyliMelts worth buying for dry mouth?

For dry mouth at night, its record is better than most of what sits beside it on the shelf. A 2026 randomized crossover trial of 33 radiotherapy patients found 76 percent reported relief with the discs against 24 percent with water, though measured saliva flow did not change. The label prints 550 mg of xylitol per disc, which is more disclosure than two xylitol gums I have reviewed manage. A lab comparison of 11 dry-mouth products found it the least erosive to enamel. Price is roughly 19 to 22 US cents per disc at the listings I checked.

Is it a gum, and does it compete with one?

No on both counts. It is an adhering disc you do not chew, built for passive relief over hours while you sleep. A xylitol or hydroxyapatite gum is chewed for minutes during the day. Different problem, different tool. I sell one of the gums, so read the comparison with that in mind.

A simple daily habit

One piece, once a day, with the dose on the page

Minvelle is a sugar-free chewing gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite and 817 mg of xylitol per piece, made to be chewed one piece a day. Every ingredient and every dose is public, with the batch certificate.

Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29
The verdict

What checked out, and what did not

I went into this expecting a thin record, because most dry-mouth products have one. XyliMelts surprised me. Here is the short version, and every line below has a longer one further down with a date and a PubMed number where a study is involved.

  • Checked out: the xylitol amount is on the label, 550 mg per disc. Two clinical studies name the product, and the stronger one, from 2026, is randomized and controlled against water. The lab record on enamel is the best of the 11 products it was tested against.
  • Did not check out: four of the studies the manufacturer lists on its own website do not resolve to any PubMed record. They may be posters or case reports, but I cannot verify them, so they are not evidence on this page.
  • Needs care: the 2026 trial found people felt wetter without measurably producing more saliva. That is real relief, but it is not the same claim as "restores saliva". And a 2026 lab study found a moderate color change on filling material, so "gentle on enamel" does not mean "inert on everything in your mouth".
  • Missing: a refund or guarantee on the manufacturer's own site. Two policy pages returned 404 on the day I checked. Retailers carry their own windows instead.

If you only wanted the answer to "should I buy it for a dry mouth at night", the answer is that the evidence is decent and the price is low. If you wanted to know whether it does anything a chewing gum does, keep reading, because that is where the two products stop being comparable.

Comparison table

XyliMelts against three xylitol gums, on what each one publishes

"As labeled" means what the brand's own page or pack says. I have not sent anything to a lab. Minvelle is my product; its row uses our own published numbers, and you can check them on the transparency page. The Xylichew and Spry rows come from our earlier Xylichew review and Spry review.

Product Format Active as labeled Xylitol per piece Studies naming the product Price per piece Refund wording
OraCoat XyliMelts Adhering disc, not chewed Xylitol, acacia gum, cellulose gum, magnesium stearate, sodium bicarbonate, calcium carbonate 550 mg (label) 5 PubMed records: 1 randomized trial (n=33), 1 pilot (n=15), 2 lab studies, 1 patient survey ~$0.19 to $0.22 (Walmart, 40 to 215 count) None found on manufacturer site; retailer windows apply
Minvelle (ours) Chewing gum Nano-hydroxyapatite + xylitol 817 mg, plus 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite None on the finished gum ~€1.39 single box; ~€1.11 two-box; ~€0.83 on subscription 30-day money-back on unopened boxes
Xylichew Chewing gum Xylitol, amount not disclosed Not published Not checked for this review ~$0.14 to $0.22 Not checked for this review
Spry Chewing gum Xylitol, amount not disclosed Not published Not checked for this review ~$0.11 Not checked for this review

Data: oracoat.com product page, Walmart listings, minvelle.com transparency page and brand reviews, all checked 5 September 2026. Prices move by retailer and by day; treat every per-piece figure as that day's.

What it is

What you are actually buying, and who makes it

XyliMelts is a small, two-sided disc. One side is tan and adhesive. The other is white. The directions on the product page say to place the tan side on the outside of a molar, or on the gum beside it, upper or lower, with the white side touching your cheek. Then you leave it. It softens and dissolves on its own, and the manufacturer claims it "lasts 4 to 8 hours between applications", releasing xylitol slowly while it sits there. You do not chew it. You do not suck on it. That is the whole trick, and it is a genuinely different trick from a gum or a lozenge.

The product page states no maximum number of discs per day. I looked for one because most oral-care products carry a daily limit somewhere, and I did not find it. That is a gap worth knowing about before you start using several a night.

The brand is OraCoat. The company behind it is OraHealth Corp., incorporated in 2001 and based in Bellevue, Washington, which also makes CankerMelts and Avamin Melts. In January 2019, Quest Products, Inc. of Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, a portfolio company of Promus Equity Partners, announced a merger with OraHealth; the press release from 14 January 2019 says the founder, Jeff Haley, stayed on to expand distribution. I mention the ownership because it matters when you read the study record: the 2012 pilot study names OraHealth Corp. as the product's maker, which was true then and is a corporate layer removed now.

One small thing that search data taught me while researching this: about 14,800 people a month in the US search for "xylimelts", and about 50 a month search for "xylimelts gum". Fifty is not many, but it tells you the format confuses some buyers. It is not a gum. If you buy it expecting to chew, you will be disappointed within the first minute.

The label

What is on the label, and one number that moved

The Mild Mint variant I checked lists six ingredients: xylitol, acacia gum, cellulose gum, magnesium stearate, sodium bicarbonate, and calcium carbonate. That is a short list, and short lists are easy to read. Xylitol comes first. There is no hydroxyapatite, no fluoride, no sugar, and no flavoring named beyond what the variant name implies.

The product page describes the disc as adhering and slowly dissolving, but the label does not say which ingredient does which job. I could guess, and I would probably guess right, but this review is built on what the brand states, so I will leave it there: six named ingredients, roles not specified.

The number that matters most is the xylitol dose, and here XyliMelts does something I wish more brands did. The current label states 550 mg of xylitol per disc. When I wrote our Xylichew review and our Spry review, neither of those xylitol gums published a milligram amount per piece, on the pack or on any listing I could find. XyliMelts prints it. That is a real point in its favor, and I want it stated plainly before I get to the caveats.

Here is the caveat. The manufacturer's own 2012 clinical study describes the tested disc as time-releasing "500 mg of xylitol". The label today says 550 mg. So the formula, or at least the stated dose, appears to have moved by about 10 percent since that study was run. I do not know when it changed or why, and the brand does not say. What I will not do is average the two numbers. When I talk about the label, it is 550 mg. When I talk about the 2012 trial, it is 500 mg. The two are not interchangeable, and if you are counting xylitol grams per day for any reason, use the label.

Two of the six ingredients, sodium bicarbonate and calcium carbonate, are worth flagging because of a measurement further down: a 2026 lab study found the dissolved disc sits at a mildly alkaline pH of 8.14. I will not claim which ingredient sets that pH, because the label does not tell me. But the measurement is the number that matters for your enamel, and it is a favorable one.

The dose

How much is 550 mg of xylitol, and how it is delivered

A number on a label only helps if you can put it next to something. So here are the comparisons I can make from published figures. Minvelle, my product, contains 817 mg of xylitol per piece, which is 43 percent of the piece by weight and the first of its 14 ingredients; that is on our transparency page. Xylichew and Spry publish no figure, so I cannot place them. On disclosure alone, XyliMelts sits with us in the small group of xylitol products that tell you what you are getting, and ahead of the two gums that do not.

But a milligram figure without a delivery pattern is half a fact. A gum releases its xylitol while you chew, over minutes, and then the piece is spent. XyliMelts claims to release its 550 mg over 4 to 8 hours while stuck to a tooth. Those are different exposure curves: a short, larger pulse against a long, slow drip. I have no study that compares the two head to head, and I am not going to tell you one is better, because the honest answer is that they are built for different hours of the day. If you want the general research on xylitol and teeth, our summary of 20 years of xylitol gum research covers it without leaning on any single brand.

One more thing about dose that people miss: with no stated daily maximum on the product page, the number of discs you use per day is up to you. If you use one a night, that is 550 mg. If you use one by day and one by night, it is 1.1 g. The 2012 pilot used the discs overnight; the 2026 trial studied nighttime use as well. I have not seen a study of all-day use, so I would not extrapolate the evidence past the hours it was collected in.

The evidence

Every study I could verify, and the four I could not

Here is how I checked. For every study I cite, I resolved the PubMed ID on NCBI, confirmed the title, first author, journal and year, and then limited what I write to what the paper actually measured. No PubMed number, no study claim: that is the rule on this blog, and it applies to the manufacturer's claims as much as to mine.

A warning for anyone who wants to repeat the search: typing "XyliMelts" into PubMed returns several thousand results, because PubMed silently expands the term into a general xylitol search. Those are not studies of XyliMelts. Only five records name the product in the title or abstract, and those five are the record. Here they are, in the order I would weigh them.

1. The 2026 randomized crossover trial (the strongest evidence)

Schoppmeier CM and colleagues published a randomized, single-blind, crossover trial in Clinical Oral Investigations in 2026 (PMID 41761023). Thirty-three patients with nighttime dry mouth after head and neck radiotherapy used XyliMelts discs and, in the other arm, water. On subjective symptom relief, 76 percent reported relief with the discs against 24 percent with water. On sleep continuity, 67 percent reported improvement against 9 percent. Both differences reached p below 0.001.

And then the sentence that matters just as much: "no changes were observed in salivary flow parameters." People felt wetter. Their measured saliva output did not change. That is not a contradiction; a disc that sits on a tooth and slowly dissolves can keep the mouth feeling lubricated without touching the glands. But it does mean the honest claim is "relieves the feeling of dry mouth at night", not "restores saliva". I would keep those two sentences apart, and I would be wary of any marketing that blurs them.

Why it is the strongest: randomized, controlled against a comparator, crossover so each person is their own control, in a patient group for whom dry mouth is severe and well defined. Its limits: 33 people, single-blind rather than double-blind, and radiotherapy patients, whose dry mouth has a specific cause that may not match yours.

2. The 2012 pilot study (the origin of the claims)

Burgess J and Lee P published the first XyliMelts paper in the International Journal of Dental Hygiene in 2012 (PMID 22040224). Fifteen people used the discs overnight and reported their perceived oral dryness and discomfort in the morning with and without them. Oral wetness scores were "more than threefold" higher with the discs. The paper describes the tested disc as time-releasing 500 mg of xylitol.

Now the ceiling. Fifteen participants. A before-and-after design with no control group, so nobody in the study got a placebo disc. The author affiliation is Oral Care Research Associates in Seattle, and the abstract names OraHealth Corp. as the maker, which places the study close to the company. None of that makes the result wrong. All of it makes the result small and non-randomized, which is why I rank it second even though it came first. If the 2026 trial did not exist, this would be a thin record; because the 2026 trial does exist and points the same way, the 2012 pilot reads as an early signal that later held up.

3. The 2021 enamel and dentin erosion comparison

Delgado A and colleagues tested the erosive potential of 11 dry-mouth lozenges and tablets in the Journal of Dentistry in 2021 (PMID 33310065). The products were Salese, Cotton Mouth, TheraBreath, DenTek OraMoist, SmartMouth, ACT, CVS Health, Rite Aid, Med Active, Hager Pharma, and XyliMelts. The study measured pH, titratable acidity, and substance loss from enamel and dentin samples. XyliMelts had the lowest percentage of substance loss for both enamel and dentin of all 11 products.

This is the single most useful safety fact on the page, and it is a lab result rather than a clinical one, so read it as such: in a controlled bench comparison, the disc that people leave on a tooth for hours was also the one that took the least mineral off enamel and dentin. For a product designed for overnight contact, that is exactly the property you want. Our article on why dry mouth drives tooth decay explains why acid exposure with low saliva is the combination to avoid.

4. The 2026 pH and restorative-material study

Aşık A and colleagues published a companion lab study in Odontology in 2026 (PMID 41535666). They dissolved four dry-mouth lozenges in water and measured pH: XyliMelts 8.14, ACT 8.53, Biotene 5.34, TheraBreath 3.55. Two of the four were alkaline, one mildly acidic, one strongly acidic. XyliMelts sits at the non-acidic end, which is consistent with its low erosion result in the 2021 paper.

The same study measured color change on restorative materials, the composites and compomers used in fillings. Here XyliMelts caused a color shift of ΔE 4.34, roughly in the middle of the group. So the finding cuts both ways: less erosive to enamel and dentin than the acidic products, but not free of effects on filling material. If you have a lot of visible restorations, "safe for enamel" is the claim the data supports; "safe for restorations" is not fully supported by this paper, and I would want your dentist's view.

5. The 2023 Sjögren's disease survey

Assy Z and colleagues surveyed 92 people with Sjögren's disease about which dry-mouth interventions they use and how well they feel each works, published in Clinical Oral Investigations in 2023 (PMID 37507599). XyliMelts was one of several products patients reported using, and its use was associated with the patients' Bother Index score, a measure of how much their dryness troubles them.

This is a cross-sectional survey, not a trial. It cannot tell you whether XyliMelts relieves dryness. What it tells you is that people whose dryness bothers them more are more likely to reach for it, which is a usage pattern and nothing more. I include it because it is a real record naming the product, and because it identifies one of the groups the disc is aimed at. I would not cite it as proof of anything.

The four I could not verify

The manufacturer's own clinical-studies page lists additional work: a hospice xerostomia paper attributed to Walding, Matt and Seaman; a caries case study attributed to Hoeg and Burgess; a remineralization study attributed to Ho and colleagues at UC Irvine; and an acid-reflux study attributed to VanderVen and colleagues. I searched PubMed for each, by author, by topic, and by combinations. Zero hits, for all four.

That does not mean they are invented. They may be conference posters, pieces in trade publications that PubMed does not index, or single-patient case reports. It does mean I cannot check what they measured or what they found, and neither can you. So they are not evidence on this page. If OraCoat publishes them somewhere with a persistent identifier, I will read them and update this section. Until then, the honest description is that OraCoat also cites studies and case reports on its site that do not carry a public, verifiable PubMed record.

What the record supports, in one paragraph

Five records. One randomized crossover trial of 33 people showing relief of nighttime dryness symptoms and better sleep, with no change in measured saliva. One 15-person pilot pointing the same way. Two lab studies showing the disc is the least erosive of 11 products tested and sits at an alkaline pH, with a moderate color effect on filling material. One survey showing Sjögren's patients use it. That is enough to say "decent evidence for nighttime symptom relief" and "favorable lab data on enamel". It is not enough to say it treats any condition, and nobody has studied it for long-term nightly use, or for anything to do with whitening or enamel repair, which it does not claim.

Teeth

Is it safe to leave on a tooth every night?

This is the question I would ask before any other, because the format is unusual. A lozenge is gone in ten minutes; a disc parked against a molar for hours is a long exposure. Three facts answer it as far as the data goes.

First, the 2021 erosion comparison found XyliMelts caused the least enamel and dentin substance loss of 11 dry-mouth products (PMID 33310065). Second, the 2026 pH study measured the dissolved disc at 8.14, on the alkaline side (PMID 41535666). Third, both clinical studies, the 2012 pilot and the 2026 trial, used the discs overnight, so the way the product is meant to be used is the way it was studied.

What the data does not cover: there is no published study of nightly use over months or years, and the product page states no daily maximum. There is also the restorative-material finding: a moderate color change on filling material in the 2026 lab study. If your molars carry composite fillings or crowns, that is a conversation for your dentist, not for a blog.

There is a broader point about dry mouth here that I think matters more than any single product. Saliva is the mouth's own repair system; when it is scarce, acids linger and minerals leave. Anything that keeps the mouth feeling wet at night is doing something useful for comfort, but the underlying cause, whether it is a medication, a CPAP mask, a condition like Sjögren's, or radiotherapy, still needs its own attention. Our guide to dry mouth causes, risks, and fixes is the place for that, and if your dry mouth started with a new prescription, this article on medication-induced dry mouth explains what it does to enamel.

Price

What it costs per disc, and per night

The prices I found on Walmart listings on 5 September 2026: 40 discs for $8.97, which is about 22 cents a disc; 80 for $15.96, about 20 cents; 215 for $40.99, about 19 cents. The larger the pack, the lower the per-disc price, and the spread between the smallest and largest is small. These are retailer-and-day-specific; Amazon, Target, CVS and iHerb all carry it, and each will show a different number by the time you read this.

If you use one disc a night, the arithmetic is simple: roughly 19 to 22 cents per night, or about $6 to $7 a month. That is my calculation on the listed prices, not a manufacturer figure, and it doubles if you use two a night.

Against the gums in the table, the per-piece figures look close: Xylichew at about 14 to 22 cents, Spry at about 11 cents. But per-piece is a misleading unit across formats, because one disc covers a night and one piece of gum covers a chew. Minvelle is a different unit again: one piece a day, at about €1.39 a piece from a single box, about €1.11 on the two-box pack, and about €0.83 per piece on the 2-box subscription at €29.99. Our ladder runs €24.99, €39.99, €64.99 and €94.99. It is the most expensive product on this page per piece, and it carries an active ingredient, nano-hydroxyapatite at 5.7 mg per piece, that XyliMelts does not have and does not claim. Paying more for it only makes sense if that is the ingredient you wanted.

Buyers

What people who bought it say, and where they say it

I could not find a Trustpilot company page for OraCoat or XyliMelts. That is not a mark against the brand; it means the review volume lives on retailer pages instead: Amazon, Walmart, iHerb, CVS, Target and eBay. Any headline rating you see for this product is a retailer's aggregate, not an independent one, and I am not going to quote a number that I cannot pin to a date and a method.

What I can do is describe the themes, and attribute them. Reviewers on retailer sites, in listings I read on 5 September 2026, praise the discs for long-lasting moisture through the night and for better sleep, often in the context of dry mouth caused by medication. That lines up neatly with what the 2026 trial measured, which makes me trust the theme more than I usually trust review pages.

The complaints cluster in three places. Some reviewers say the taste is extremely sweet; that is a matter of preference, and 550 mg of xylitol in a slowly dissolving disc is a lot of sweetness for some palates. Some say the discs did not stick, while others say theirs never fail to stick, so adhesion reads as inconsistent across mouths rather than as a general fault. And one reviewer reported a chalky residue and reduced effectiveness over time. That last one is a single account, and I include it because leaving it out would be shaping the picture.

Two rules for reading any of this. Every review is an individual experience, dated to whenever it was posted, and it describes that person's mouth, not yours. And I have drawn no brand-wide verdict from them, because a handful of themes from anonymous retail pages is not a dataset. The clinical studies above are the evidence; the reviews are color.

Guarantee

What happens if it does not work for you

I looked for a manufacturer guarantee and did not find one. The oracoat.com product page carries no refund wording. The FAQ page at oracoat.com/pages/faq returned a 404 on 5 September 2026, and so did a return-policy page at oracoat.com/pages/return-policy. That may be a website reorganization rather than a policy; but as of the day I checked, there was no brand-level promise to point to.

In practice, you are covered by whichever retailer you buy from. Walmart, Amazon, Target and CVS each have their own standard return windows, and a 40-count box is a low-cost way to find out whether the disc stays put in your mouth before you commit to a 215-count. For contrast, and because I said I would hold my own product to the same check: Minvelle carries a 30-day money-back guarantee on unopened boxes, stated on our site. That is a narrower promise than some brands make and I keep it narrow on purpose, because a promise I can actually honor is worth more than a generous one I cannot.

Who it is for

XyliMelts or a xylitol gum: buy for the job

This is the section where I have to be most careful, because I sell a gum. So I will start with what XyliMelts does that no gum can do, and only then say where a gum wins.

XyliMelts is for the hours when you cannot chew. Nighttime dry mouth is its home ground: CPAP users whose mask dries the mouth, people on medications that cut saliva, people with Sjögren's disease, and people after head and neck radiotherapy. Those are the groups the studies actually looked at. A disc that sits still for hours and slowly releases xylitol while you sleep is a solution to a problem that a gum, a spray or a rinse structurally cannot solve, because they all rely on you being awake. If that is your problem, XyliMelts is the format to try, and the evidence for it is better than for most of the category. Our roundup of the best gum for dry mouth ends with a similar caveat: gum helps while you chew, and nobody chews asleep.

A xylitol gum is for the hours when you can. Chewing itself stimulates saliva, and that is the mechanism that most of the daytime dry-mouth benefit of any sugar-free gum rests on; our piece on whether sugar-free gum helps dry mouth walks through the evidence. A xylitol gum adds the xylitol on top. If your mouth is dry at your desk, in a meeting, or after coffee, a gum is quicker, more discreet than a disc stuck to a tooth, and gone in minutes.

A hydroxyapatite gum is a third thing. Minvelle is not a dry-mouth product. It is a chewing gum that carries 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece along with 817 mg of xylitol, sold for whitening and to remineralize enamel, chewed one piece a day. XyliMelts contains no hydroxyapatite and makes no whitening or remineralization claim on its label. It is not in our hydroxyapatite gum database because it is neither a gum nor a hydroxyapatite product. Comparing the two on efficacy would be comparing a nightlight to a lamp. They are not competitors, and I have no commercial reason to steer you away from XyliMelts. If you are on a GLP-1 medication and your dry mouth is new, our article on GLP-1 dry mouth and enamel is where the two problems, dryness and mineral loss, meet.

So the honest split: disc by night if your dryness is nocturnal, gum by day if it is not, and a hydroxyapatite gum only if enamel minerals were the thing you wanted in the first place. Some people will use two of the three. Nobody needs all three for the same reason.

Fairness

I sell a gum, so check me the same way

Minvelle is my company. It sells one product, a nano-hydroxyapatite chewing gum, and this is a review of a xylitol disc for dry mouth. I have said the two are not competitors, and I mean it, but you should not have to take my word for it, so here is the conflict stated as plainly as I can: I benefit if you buy my gum. I do not benefit either way from what you decide about XyliMelts.

Two things XyliMelts does better than my product, said without hedging. It has a randomized trial on its finished product; Minvelle does not have a trial on its finished gum, and I say so on every page where it comes up. And its label prints the xylitol dose, which puts it in the same small club as us and ahead of two xylitol gums I have reviewed. I would rather write that sentence than pretend the comparison flatters me on every line.

Every negative statement about XyliMelts on this page is attributed and dated. The four unverifiable studies: PubMed searches on 5 September 2026. The 404 policy pages: checked the same day. The 500 versus 550 mg mismatch: the 2012 paper against the current product page. The restorative-material color change: PMID 41535666. The reviewer complaints: retailer review pages, individual accounts, dated to their posting. Nothing here is my opinion of the brand; everything is a fact you can go and re-check, with the address to check it at.

Accuracy is dated. Every fact on this page was true on 5 September 2026 at the address given. Labels change, prices move, policy pages come back from 404, and new studies get published. If you find that any of it has moved, tell me and I will correct the page and date the correction.

If enamel minerals were what you came for: Minvelle is a sugar-free chewing gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite and 817 mg of xylitol per piece, 18 pieces per box, one piece a day. It is not a dry-mouth product and does not claim to be. Try it with 10% off orders from €29, or read the full formula first. Unopened boxes carry a 30-day refund.

FAQ

Questions people ask before buying

Do XyliMelts really work?

For how dry your mouth feels at night, the best evidence says yes for many people. A 2026 randomized, single-blind crossover trial of 33 patients with dry mouth after head and neck radiotherapy found 76 percent reported symptom relief with the discs against 24 percent with water, and 67 percent reported better sleep continuity against 9 percent (PMID 41761023). The same trial measured no change in saliva flow. So the discs made people feel wetter without making them produce more saliva. A 2012 pilot of 15 people (PMID 22040224) pointed the same way but had no control group. That is the whole efficacy record I could verify as of 5 September 2026.

What are the side effects of XyliMelts?

None of the five studies I could verify was designed to measure side effects; they measured perceived wetness, symptom relief, enamel and dentin loss in the lab, dissolved pH, and usage patterns. The product page states no maximum number of discs per day. Complaints on retailer review pages cluster on taste that some people find extremely sweet, discs that did not stick for some users, and one report of chalky residue. Those are individual accounts, not a safety record. If you have fillings, note that a 2026 lab study found a moderate color shift on restorative material after exposure (PMID 41535666). Ask your dentist about nightly use if you have a lot of dental work.

Is it safe to use XyliMelts every night?

The lab data on teeth is favorable. In a 2021 comparison of 11 dry-mouth lozenges and tablets, XyliMelts caused the least enamel and dentin substance loss of any product tested (PMID 33310065), and a 2026 study measured its dissolved pH at 8.14, on the non-acidic end of the category (PMID 41535666). Both clinical studies used the discs overnight. What nobody has published is a long-term nightly-use study, and the manufacturer page states no daily maximum. So: the short-term record is clean for enamel, the long-term record does not exist yet, and your dentist should know you use them.

Do dentists recommend XyliMelts?

I have no survey of dentists to cite, so I will not invent one. What I can say is that the 2026 randomized trial was published in Clinical Oral Investigations, a dental journal, and that a 2023 survey of 92 people with Sjögren's disease listed XyliMelts among the interventions patients actually use (PMID 37507599). Neither is a recommendation. The honest answer is to ask the dentist who knows your mouth, and to bring the PubMed numbers on this page with you.

What is actually in XyliMelts?

The Mild Mint label I checked lists six ingredients: xylitol, acacia gum, cellulose gum, magnesium stearate, sodium bicarbonate, and calcium carbonate. Xylitol is first, at 550 mg per disc according to the current label. The label does not say which ingredient does which job inside the disc, so I do not guess. There is no hydroxyapatite, no fluoride, and no sugar on the label.

Is XyliMelts a gum?

No. It is a small disc with an adhesive side that you press onto the outside of a molar or the gum beside it, white side toward your cheek, and then leave alone. It dissolves slowly; the manufacturer claims 4 to 8 hours between applications. You do not chew it and you do not suck it like a lozenge. About 50 people a month search for "xylimelts gum" in the US, which is why this question is here.

XyliMelts or a xylitol gum: which should I buy?

Buy for the job. If your problem is a dry mouth at night, with a CPAP machine, a medication, Sjögren's disease, or after radiotherapy, a disc that sits still for hours is doing something a gum cannot, because you cannot chew while you sleep. If your problem is daytime, a gum gives you chewing, which stimulates saliva while you chew, plus whatever active it carries. I sell a nano-hydroxyapatite gum with 817 mg of xylitol per piece, so weigh my view accordingly. Some people will sensibly use both: a gum by day, a disc by night.

Glossary

Xerostomia: The medical term for dry mouth: the feeling that the mouth has too little saliva, whether or not measured saliva flow is actually reduced. Common causes include medications, CPAP use, Sjögren's disease, and radiotherapy to the head and neck.

Adhering disc: A small tablet with one adhesive side, designed to stick to a tooth or the gum beside it and dissolve slowly over hours rather than being chewed or sucked. XyliMelts is the best-known example.

Xylitol: A sugar alcohol used as a sweetener in oral-care products. XyliMelts lists 550 mg per disc on its label; Minvelle lists 817 mg per piece of gum.

Randomized crossover trial: A study in which each participant receives every treatment in turn, in a random order, so each person serves as their own comparison. The 2026 XyliMelts trial compared the discs with water this way in 33 people.

Single-blind: A trial in which participants do not know which treatment they are getting, but the researchers do. Weaker than double-blind, where neither side knows.

Salivary flow: The measured amount of saliva the mouth produces over a set time. The 2026 trial found XyliMelts improved how dry people felt without changing this measurement.

Substance loss: In erosion studies, the amount of enamel or dentin removed from a sample after exposure to a product, usually reported as a percentage. Lower is better; XyliMelts was lowest of 11 products in the 2021 comparison.

ΔE (delta E): A single number describing how much a color has changed. The 2026 lab study reported a ΔE of 4.34 on restorative material after exposure to dissolved XyliMelts, roughly the middle of its group.

Cross-sectional survey: A study that asks a group of people about their habits and symptoms at one point in time. It can show that two things go together; it cannot show that one causes the other.

PMID: The PubMed identifier, a number that opens a specific record on the US National Library of Medicine's database. Every study claim on this page carries one you can check.

Nano-hydroxyapatite: The calcium phosphate mineral that makes up most of tooth enamel, in particle form small enough to count as a nanomaterial. Minvelle's active ingredient at 5.7 mg per piece. XyliMelts contains none.

Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. Persistent dry mouth can have causes that need a doctor, not a disc or a gum; if yours is new, severe, or paired with other symptoms, get it looked at.

Sources
  1. Schoppmeier CM et al. Clin Oral Investig 2026 (PMID 41761023): randomized, single-blind crossover trial, 33 patients with nocturnal xerostomia after head and neck radiotherapy, XyliMelts versus water; symptom relief 76% vs 24%, sleep continuity 67% vs 9%, no change in salivary flow parameters.
  2. Burgess J, Lee P. Int J Dent Hyg 2012 (PMID 22040224): 15-person, non-randomized before/after pilot of XyliMelts time-release adhering discs for nighttime oral dryness; oral wetness scores more than threefold higher with use; tested disc described as 500 mg xylitol.
  3. Delgado A et al. J Dent 2021 (PMID 33310065): erosive assessment of 11 dry-mouth lozenges and tablets on enamel and dentin; XyliMelts showed the lowest percentage substance loss for both.
  4. Aşık A et al. Odontology 2026 (PMID 41535666): pH of four dissolved dry-mouth lozenges (XyliMelts 8.14, ACT 8.53, Biotene 5.34, TheraBreath 3.55) and their effect on the surface and color of restorative materials; XyliMelts ΔE 4.34.
  5. Assy Z et al. Clin Oral Investig 2023 (PMID 37507599): cross-sectional survey of 92 Sjögren's disease patients on use and perceived efficacy of dry-mouth interventions; XyliMelts use associated with the Bother Index score.
  6. OraCoat, Clinical Studies page (checked 5 September 2026): lists the studies above plus four items (hospice xerostomia, caries case study, remineralization, acid reflux) for which no PubMed record could be found by author or topic search on the same day.
  7. PR Newswire, 14 January 2019: Quest Products, Inc. merges with OraHealth Corporation, maker of the OraCoat brand; founder stays on to expand distribution.
  8. Minvelle transparency page: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite and 817 mg xylitol per piece, 18 pieces per box, egg-derived ingredient, prices €24.99 / €39.99 / €64.99 / €94.99, subscription €29.99 for two boxes, 30-day money-back on unopened boxes.
  9. Minvelle hydroxyapatite gum database: XyliMelts is not listed, being neither a gum nor a hydroxyapatite product.
  10. Minvelle, Xylichew review 2026: no xylitol milligram amount per piece published on pack or listings.
  11. Minvelle, Spry gum review 2026: no xylitol milligram amount per piece published on pack or listings.
M

About the author

Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the record, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.

Buy the disc for the night, the gum for the day, and neither for a job it does not claim. XyliMelts prints its dose, has a randomized trial behind it, and is the least erosive product in the only lab comparison that included it. It does not restore saliva, it has no long-term data, and four of the studies on its own website cannot be found. That is a better record than most of its shelf, stated with its edges showing.

A simple daily habit

One piece, once a day, with the dose on the page

Minvelle is a sugar-free chewing gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite and 817 mg of xylitol per piece, made to be chewed one piece a day. Every ingredient and every dose is public, with the batch certificate.

Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29

Or subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks for €29.99, skip or cancel anytime →

30-day refund on unopened boxes

Back to blog