CariFree toothpaste review 2026: Gel 1100 and nano-HA
Product Review

CariFree toothpaste review 2026: Gel 1100 and nano-HA

CariFree is a dentist-founded oral-care brand from Albany, Oregon, made by a company called Oral BioTech and sold since 2004. It makes two nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste gels you can buy without a dentist: Gel 1100, which also contains fluoride, and a Fluoride Free Gel. This review answers what people search before buying: what is in each gel, how much nano-hydroxyapatite CariFree states, whether the fluoride matters, what the studies it cites actually tested, and what it costs. Every finding comes from CariFree's own pages or a public record, with the date we checked it.

M
Max, Founder of Minvelle
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 26 September 2026 · 32 min read

Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum with nano-hydroxyapatite, which is a different kind of product from a toothpaste but close enough that you should know who is writing. That is why every statement about CariFree below is either CariFree's own published text, quoted word for word, a public record you can query yourself, or a peer-reviewed paper we resolved in PubMed, with the date we checked it.

Before you buy

A number you can read is worth asking for

CariFree states 2% nano-hydroxyapatite for one gel and keeps the other one's amount private. We print ours on the box: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, one piece a day between brushings, chewed for at least 20 minutes.

Read the Minvelle formula

30-day refund on unopened boxes

The short version

CariFree is a real Oregon brand, founded in 2004 by dentist Kim Kutsch and made by Oral BioTech. It sells two nano-hydroxyapatite gels direct: Gel 1100, with 0.24% sodium fluoride and an undisclosed nano-hydroxyapatite amount, and the Fluoride Free Gel, which states 2%. Its FAQ also gives a particle size.

Which one: if your dentist wants fluoride in your routine, Gel 1100 (about 1,100 ppm fluoride) combines both actives. If you want no fluoride and a stated dose, the Fluoride Free Gel. PRO Gel 5000, with prescription-strength fluoride, is sold only through dentists.

Four things to know before you pay. CariFree cites no study of either finished gel. The 73% vs 29% caries figure on its blog is about its rinse, not the toothpaste, and cites a trial we could not find indexed in PubMed. Gel 1100 contains SLS; the Fluoride Free Gel has not since 2025. And there is no subscription and no self-serve shipping outside the US.

If you are comparing hydroxyapatite products, the amount of the active is the first number to ask for. CariFree gives it for one gel and not the other, and it is one of the few brands that also publishes a particle size. Minvelle is a chewing gum you use between brushings, not a replacement for brushing, and it publishes the weight: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box. One piece a day, 18 pieces per box, chewed for at least 20 minutes.

At a glance

The two CariFree gels and Minvelle, side by side

What's checked CariFree Gel 1100 CariFree Fluoride Free Gel Minvelle gum
Format Toothpaste gel, 2.4 oz tube, about 136 doses Toothpaste gel, 2.3 oz tube, about 130 doses Chewing gum, 18 pieces per box
Nano-hydroxyapatite Yes, nanoXIM by Fluidinova; amount not disclosed Yes, nanoXIM by Fluidinova; 2% stated 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box
Particle size Rod-shaped, under 50 nm long, under 10 nm wide (FAQ, for "our gels") Same FAQ statement Supplier-stated size published
Fluoride 0.24% sodium fluoride, about 1,100 ppm None None
SLS Yes No (removed in 2025) Not applicable (not a toothpaste)
Xylitol 25%, per CariFree 25%, per CariFree 817 mg per piece
Abrasivity RDA 40 stated on the product page "Low abrasion"; FAQ says about 40 for "your gels" Not applicable
Price $18.00 per tube; 10% off 2, 15% off 4 $17.00 per tube; same multipack discounts €24.99 per box
Study on the finished product None cited None cited No clinical trial on the gum; batch certificate published

Swipe sideways on mobile. CariFree data from carifree.com product pages and FAQ, checked 26 September 2026. The products do different jobs: a toothpaste is for brushing, a gum for between brushings.

Part 1

Who makes CariFree: Oral BioTech in Oregon

Start with the company, because the name on the tube and the name on the paperwork differ. CariFree is the brand. The company behind it is Oral BioTech. The footer on every CariFree page we loaded on 26 September 2026 reads "Copyright © 2026, Oral BioTech. All Rights Reserved." The brand's privacy policy gives a mailing address in full:

Oral BioTech, makers of CariFree, 321 1st Avenue NE, Ste 3A, Albany, OR 97321.

CariFree's company page says the products are made there too: "CariFree products are proudly manufactured in Albany, Oregon by Oral BioTech." Its CariFree Difference page adds that the company has been in Albany since 2004, has three locations in the area, and does "all our sales, manufacturing, and distribution" in-house. The product pages say the gels are made in the USA with domestic and globally sourced ingredients.

The domain is old and stable. The registry record for carifree.com shows it was registered on 11 May 2005, one year after the founding date the brand gives, through GoDaddy, with a normal registrar lock and an expiry date in 2031. The shop runs on WordPress with WooCommerce, not Shopify, so you will not find the product data feeds that many direct-to-consumer brands expose.

The founder: Dr. V Kim Kutsch

CariFree's company page introduces its CEO as "Dr. V Kim Kutsch" and describes him as "a retired dentist of 40 years, a reviewer of the Journal of the American Dental Association, a Scientific Advisor of Dental Caries at the prestigious Kois Center, a researcher in the field of dental caries." The founding story on the same page reads:

After decades of not finding effective options for his cavity-prone patients, Dr. Kim Kutsch knew he had to find a solution. He began working with world-renowned researchers to ensure he utilized the best science, and in 2004 CariFree was born.

We checked the name against the federal NPPES registry, where every US health provider who bills insurance has a National Provider Identifier. The registry lists Vernon Kim Kutsch, DMD, NPI 1316160047, a general-practice dentist in Albany, Oregon, with Oregon license number D5532. That explains the "V" in the brand's version of his name: Vernon is his legal first name, and he goes by his middle name. One limit, stated plainly: the NPI record was last updated in 2007, so it confirms who he is and where he practiced, not his current license status. We did not query the Oregon dental board separately.

This matters for a buyer because a lot of oral-care brands lean on a "Dr." in their marketing. In CariFree's case the founder is a real, registry-listed dentist in the same small city as the factory.

A brand built around dentists, sold direct too

CariFree is often described as a professional brand, and its site supports that. Its professional page says that "Thousands of dental practices in the US partner with CariFree to offer risk assessment based care to their patients", and it runs a find-a-dentist directory. Its own name for its method is "Caries Risk Management (CRM™)": the idea that cavities come from an imbalance of acid-producing bacteria, and that a dentist can measure a patient's risk and treat it. CariFree also sells a chairside bacterial test called CariScreen to dental offices.

But the two gels this review covers do not need a dentist. Gel 1100 and the Fluoride Free Gel are sold directly on carifree.com to anyone with a US address. The FAQ says it plainly: Gel 1100 "can be purchased directly from our website." Only the professional products, including PRO Gel 5000, are limited to dental offices.

Two new flavours land in December

Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.

Part 2

The product line: which CariFree has nano-hydroxyapatite

CariFree sells toothpaste gels, rinses, mints, a spray, books and a toothbrush. Not all of them contain hydroxyapatite, and not all the ones that do use the nano form. The label word is the same, "hydroxyapatite", so it is worth mapping the line before you buy. Everything in this table comes from CariFree's product pages, checked on 26 September 2026.

Product Hydroxyapatite Fluoride Price (single) Where sold
Gel 1100 Nano (nanoXIM); amount not disclosed 0.24% sodium fluoride, about 1,100 ppm $18.00 carifree.com and dentists
Fluoride Free Gel Nano (nanoXIM); 2% stated None $17.00 carifree.com and dentists
PRO Gel 5000 Nano, per CariFree's product copy; amount not stated 1.1% sodium fluoride, prescription strength Not listed Dentists only
Breath Mints Micronized, not nano (per the product FAQ) None $5.00 for 50 carifree.com
Naturals Fluoride Free Kids Toothpaste None in the ingredient list None $14.00 carifree.com
Treatment Rinse None 0.05% sodium fluoride when mixed $39.00 for a two-bottle set carifree.com and dentists
Maintenance Rinse None 0.05% sodium fluoride $18.00 carifree.com and dentists

Source: carifree.com product pages, the pro-products page and the FAQ, checked 26 September 2026.

Three things stand out. First, both fluoride gels also contain nano-hydroxyapatite. Gel 1100 and PRO Gel 5000 pair the two actives, which is unusual. Many hydroxyapatite brands keep their fluoride and fluoride-free products as separate formula families; CariFree puts nano-hydroxyapatite into its fluoride gels too. If you have read that PRO Gel 5000's hydroxyapatite content was unconfirmed, CariFree's own navigation and product cards describe it as "Our prescription-strength tooth gel with nano-hydroxyapatite." No percentage is given for it.

Second, the mints use a different grade. The Breath Mints page says: "We proudly use micronized hydroxyapatite from our partner FLUIDINOVA", and its FAQ answers "What kind of hydroxyapatite is in the mints?" with "Our Breath Mints contain micronized hydroxyapatite." Micronized particles are larger than nano particles. So "CariFree hydroxyapatite" does not mean one ingredient across the line.

Third, the kids toothpaste has no hydroxyapatite at all. The Naturals Fluoride Free Kids Toothpaste lists xylitol, water, glycerin, silica, natural flavor, propanediol, sodium bicarbonate, xanthan gum and raspberry ketone. It relies on 40% xylitol and an alkaline pH of about 8.5. That is a legitimate formula choice, but a parent looking for a children's hydroxyapatite paste should know it is not one. CariFree also recommends the Fluoride Free Gel for all ages and Gel 1100 for ages 2 and up.

Xylitol runs through almost everything. CariFree states 25% xylitol in both gels and the Maintenance Rinse, 22% in the Treatment Rinse and 40% in the kids paste. We found no erythritol in any list we read. The brand's other recurring idea is pH: its pages describe a "Patented pH+ Technology" and say that "CariFree elevated pH products neutralize decay-causing acids." We did not find a patent number quoted on any page we checked.

Remember this

Two gels, two disclosures

The Fluoride Free Gel states 2% nano-hydroxyapatite. Gel 1100 does not state its amount, and CariFree says so openly. The particle size, rod-shaped and under 50 nm long, is on the FAQ page rather than either product page.

The big number is about a rinse

The 73% vs 29% caries figure on CariFree's blog concerns its Treatment Rinse, not the toothpaste. The trial it cites is not indexed in PubMed as far as we could find. No study of either finished gel is cited on CariFree's pages.

Fluoride plus nano-HA is a choice

Gel 1100 pairs about 1,100 ppm fluoride with nano-hydroxyapatite. Fluoride toothpaste at that strength has strong trial evidence behind it. If your dentist wants fluoride kept, Gel 1100 lets you add hydroxyapatite without dropping it.

Part 3

What CariFree discloses: 2%, a size and an RDA

The dose question is where CariFree differs most from other hydroxyapatite brands, and where it differs most from itself.

Fluoride Free Gel: 2%, stated

The Fluoride Free Gel's product page says, in its description: "Now SLS-free, this advanced formula features 2% nano-hydroxyapatite (nanoXIM by FLUIDINOVA)", and repeats "2% Nano-hydroxyapatite (nanoXIM)" in its bullet list. We read it on 25 and 26 September 2026 and the wording was identical both days.

Two percent is lower than the figures some fluoride-free brands print, which often sit at 5% or 10%. A higher number is not automatically a better toothpaste; how much reaches the enamel depends on the rest of the formula, particle size and how you use it. But a stated number lets you compare, and most brands in this category do not give one. Our comparison of hydroxyapatite toothpastes puts CariFree's 2% next to the brands that state a figure and the ones that do not.

Gel 1100: not disclosed, and CariFree explains why

For Gel 1100, CariFree's FAQ answers the question directly:

What concentration of nano-hydroxyapatite is used? Our focus isn't on using the highest percentage possible. It's using the highest-quality nano-hydroxyapatite available. While we don't disclose exact formula percentages, we believe quality matters more than concentration alone. Research suggests that particle size, shape, and stability all influence how nano-hydroxyapatite performs. That's why CariFree has used nanoXIM® by FLUIDINOVA since 2012, a clinically studied, medical-grade nano-hydroxyapatite designed specifically for oral care.

That is a clear answer, and it deserves credit for being on the page instead of being left unanswered. It also means a buyer cannot compare Gel 1100's hydroxyapatite with any other paste. A small detail on the label points the same way: Gel 1100's ingredient list names the ingredient simply "Hydroxyapatite", while the Fluoride Free Gel's list says "Nano-Hydroxyapatite". The "nano" for Gel 1100 comes from the product name, the marketing copy and the FAQ.

Particle size: on the FAQ, not the product pages

Here CariFree gives more than most. Its FAQ, checked on 26 September 2026, says:

What is the size and shape of your nano-hydroxyapatite? Our gels use high-grade, rod-shaped particles that present a length of <50nm and width of <10nm to ensure effective remineralization.

So CariFree states a shape and two dimensions for the nano-hydroxyapatite in "our gels". Neither the Gel 1100 page nor the Fluoride Free Gel page repeats the figure, which is why it is easy to miss. If you read our hub table before 26 September, it listed particle size for both CariFree gels as not stated. The FAQ does state it, and this review uses the FAQ figure.

The same FAQ answer goes on to describe nanoXIM as "the only nano-hydroxyapatite globally recognized and approved for oral care by the European Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety." That is CariFree's description of its supplier's material; we quote it as the brand's claim. For what the EU committee's safety work on nano-hydroxyapatite covers, see our article on whether nano-hydroxyapatite is safe.

Abrasivity: RDA 40

RDA, relative dentin abrasivity, is a lab score for how abrasive a toothpaste is. Gel 1100's product page states: "Low Abrasion (RDA 40)... Gentle on enamel while still delivering an effective clean." The FAQ gives "approximately 40" for "your gels" as a group. The Fluoride Free Gel page itself says "Low abrasion" without a number. So RDA 40 is stated for Gel 1100 on its own page, and applies to the Fluoride Free Gel only through the more general FAQ line.

Many brands never publish an RDA at all. Among the reviews we have written this month, CariFree is one of the more complete on this point: a percentage for one gel, a particle size, and an abrasivity figure, all on its own site.

Where the disclosure stops

  • No percentage for Gel 1100 or PRO Gel 5000. CariFree says it does not disclose exact formula percentages.
  • No milligrams per dose. Even for the 2% gel, CariFree does not say how much nano-hydroxyapatite one brushing delivers.
  • No certificate of analysis or batch document on the pages we checked.
  • No study of the finished gels. "Clinically studied" in the FAQ describes the raw nanoXIM ingredient, not Gel 1100 or the Fluoride Free Gel. Part 6 covers what CariFree does cite.
Part 4

The ingredients, line by line

CariFree publishes a full ingredient list for each gel on its product pages. Here they are as printed on 26 September 2026, followed by what is worth knowing.

Gel 1100 (Mint)

Active Ingredient: Sodium Fluoride, .24% (w/w); Other Ingredients: Water, Xylitol, Hydrated Silica, Glycerin, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Potassium Sorbate, Mentha Spicata (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Hydroxyapatite, Polysorbate 20, Menthol, Sodium Saccharin, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Hydroxide

The Citrus and Grape versions have the same base with "Flavor" in place of the spearmint oil and menthol. The list is in descending order of amount; CariFree's FAQ explains that it switched from alphabetical order to follow the US cosmetic labeling rule, 21 CFR 701.3, because "The Gel 1100 is both a cosmetic and OTC drug", and adds that "The formula has not changed."

A few things to notice. Hydroxyapatite sits in the lower half of the list, after the preservative potassium sorbate and the spearmint oil. In a descending list that tells you it is a minor ingredient by weight, though not how minor. Xylitol is second, after water, which fits CariFree's stated 25%. Hydrated silica is the cleaning abrasive, consistent with a low RDA. And sodium lauryl sulfate is the foaming agent. SLS is the most common toothpaste detergent; some people prefer to avoid it, and if you are one of them, the Fluoride Free Gel is the CariFree option without it.

Fluoride Free Gel (Soft Mint)

Water, Xylitol, Glycerin, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Betaine, Nano-Hydroxyapatite, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Potassium Chloride, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Saccharin, Polysorbate 20, Mentha Spicata (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Menthol, Sodium Hydroxide

The Sweet Grape version swaps the mint oils for "Artificial Flavor". Here nano-hydroxyapatite is sixth, much higher in the list than in Gel 1100, which fits a formula built around it at a stated 2%. There is no hydrated silica in this list, so the main cleaning abrasive of Gel 1100 is absent. The surfactant is sodium methyl cocoyl taurate, a milder coconut-derived cleanser, instead of SLS. CariFree's FAQ confirms the change: "No, these formulas were revamped and made SLS-free in 2025."

Betaine is the other addition. CariFree says it is included because it has been "shown to relieve symptoms of dry mouth", and links a study for that; Part 6 looks at it. Potassium chloride and sodium bicarbonate are there too; CariFree does not state a specific role for either on the page.

How CariFree tells you to use them

Both gel pages carry the same direction: "For optimal results, it's recommended to wait 30 minutes after brushing before rinsing, eating, or drinking when using a nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste." The FAQ explains the order CariFree recommends when you also use one of its rinses: rinse first, brush second, so the gel is the last thing on your teeth. The FAQ also gives an 18-month shelf life from production, with the date marked on each item.

Gel 1100 is recommended for ages 2 and up, and the Fluoride Free Gel for all ages. Gel 1100 is a 2.4 oz tube that CariFree says holds about 136 doses; the Fluoride Free Gel is 2.3 oz, about 130 doses, and CariFree calls it an "approved size for airline travel".

Part 5

Fluoride in Gel 1100: what the evidence says

Gel 1100 is the CariFree gel most people find first, and it contains fluoride. If you came to hydroxyapatite to avoid fluoride, that is worth knowing before you order. If you did not, it is worth knowing why fluoride is there and what the research on it shows. Fluoride is not a problem to be designed out; it is the most studied active in toothpaste.

What 0.24% sodium fluoride means

Gel 1100 lists "Sodium Fluoride, .24% (w/w)" as its active ingredient. That works out to roughly 1,100 parts per million of fluoride, which is where the product name comes from and which sits in the normal range for adult fluoride toothpaste. PRO Gel 5000, the dentist-only gel, contains 1.1% sodium fluoride, about 5,000 ppm; CariFree's FAQ calls it "prescription strength" and says it "must be purchased through a dental professional."

The fluoride evidence

The largest summary of fluoride toothpaste trials is a Cochrane review by Walsh and colleagues, 2019, which pooled 96 randomized studies. For adults, it found that 1,000 or 1,100 ppm fluoride toothpaste reduced the increase in decayed, missing and filled tooth surfaces compared with non-fluoride toothpaste, across three studies with 2,162 participants, graded moderate-certainty evidence. For children and adolescents, the evidence that 1,000 to 1,250 ppm or 1,450 to 1,500 ppm fluoride toothpaste reduces caries compared with non-fluoride paste was graded high to moderate certainty. The review's conclusion: it "supports the benefits of using fluoride toothpaste in preventing caries when compared to non-fluoride toothpaste."

That is the evidence behind Gel 1100's fluoride dose. It is about fluoride toothpaste as a category, not about Gel 1100 specifically, but 1,100 ppm is squarely inside the tested range.

The hydroxyapatite evidence

Hydroxyapatite has a smaller and newer body of evidence. A 2025 systematic review by Chatzidimitriou and colleagues in the Journal of Dentistry looked for trials comparing fluoride-free hydroxyapatite toothpaste with fluoride toothpaste in people under 25. Four studies qualified. The authors found no significant difference in new or progressing lesions between the two, with a pooled risk ratio of 0.98, and declared no competing interests. A 2024 meta-analysis by Pawinska and colleagues, also in the Journal of Dentistry, included 5 clinical trials and 8 in situ trials and concluded that hydroxyapatite works as an anticaries active without fluoride; two of its authors are employed by Dr. Kurt Wolff GmbH, a toothpaste maker, and all received travel grants from that company, as the paper declares.

Put together: fluoride has the longer and larger record; hydroxyapatite has a growing one that compares well in the trials that exist. We go through the head-to-head evidence in nano-hydroxyapatite vs fluoride, and the three main remineralizing actives in nano-HAp vs CPP-ACP vs fluoride.

What about both in one tube?

Gel 1100's pitch is that you do not have to choose. CariFree's FAQ says Gel 1100 "offers all the same benefits" as PRO Gel 5000 with less fluoride. What we did not find is a published study of the combination as CariFree makes it. The evidence above is for fluoride pastes and for fluoride-free hydroxyapatite pastes, tested separately. That does not mean the combination fails; it means there is no product-specific trial to point to. The one other toothpaste we have reviewed that pairs both actives is covered in our Dr. Jen toothpaste review.

For a buyer, the decision is simpler than the debate. If your dentist has told you to keep fluoride, Gel 1100 lets you do that and add hydroxyapatite. If you want to avoid fluoride, choose the Fluoride Free Gel instead. If you are unsure, ask your dentist which fits your risk. If you are choosing among fluoride types, our stannous vs sodium fluoride comparison explains the difference; CariFree uses sodium fluoride.

Part 6

The studies CariFree cites, checked one by one

CariFree links to published research on several of its pages. That is more than many brands do, so we resolved every link we found in PubMed and read what each paper tested. The pattern is clear: the citations support narrow ingredient claims, not the finished gels.

What CariFree claims Where What the paper is Fit
Betaine "shown to relieve symptoms of dry mouth" Fluoride Free Gel page Söderling and colleagues, Acta Odontologica Scandinavica, 1998 (PMID 9669455): 13 people with chronic dry mouth, double-blind crossover, toothpaste with or without 4% betaine, two weeks each Close match to the claim
Glycerin does not inhibit remineralization FAQ Khonina and colleagues, Colloids and Surfaces B, 2020 (PMID 32087529): a silicon-hydroxyapatite glycerohydrogel biomaterial Tests a different question
Sodium hypochlorite is broad spectrum, 0.1 to 0.5% for self-care Blog post on sodium hypochlorite Jorgensen, Aalam and Slots, International Dental Journal, 2005 (PMID 15747646): review of periodontal antimicrobials Quoted accurately
Marked decrease in dental plaque Same blog post Galván and colleagues, Journal of Periodontal Research, 2014 (PMID 24329929): pilot trial, 30 periodontitis patients, 0.25% rinse twice a week Related, different protocol
Dissolves biofilm Same blog post Ruiz-Linares and colleagues, International Endodontic Journal, 2017 (PMID 26660494): 2.5% sodium hypochlorite on root canal biofilm in the lab Different setting and strength
73% vs 29% caries reduction Same blog post Cited as a 2007 to 2010 Queensland trial by Hallett and O'Rourke; no journal, volume or DOI given Not found indexed in PubMed

All PubMed records resolved on 26 September 2026. None of these papers tests Gel 1100 or the Fluoride Free Gel.

The betaine study: a clean match

The betaine citation holds up well. Söderling and colleagues, 1998 gave 13 people with chronic dry mouth two toothpastes, one with 4% betaine and one without, for two weeks each in a double-blind crossover. The betaine paste was associated with significant relief of several subjective dry-mouth symptoms, while plaque, bacteria counts and the appearance of the mouth did not change significantly. It is a small study, and CariFree does not state how much betaine the Fluoride Free Gel contains, but the paper tests exactly the kind of claim CariFree attaches to it.

The glycerin link: a different question

CariFree's FAQ addresses a common worry, that glycerin in toothpaste blocks remineralization, by saying: "There are no scientific studies that indicate that glycerin inhibits remineralization." One of the links offered is Khonina and colleagues, 2020, a materials-science paper on a silicon-hydroxyapatite glycerohydrogel proposed as a dental biomaterial. It does not test glycerin in an ordinary toothpaste, so it does not directly address the sentence it sits next to. CariFree's broader statement may still be right; this paper just is not a test of it.

The sodium hypochlorite papers: rinse, not toothpaste

Three citations support CariFree's Treatment Rinse, which uses 0.2% sodium hypochlorite, a dilute form of the chemical dentists use in root canals. Jorgensen, Aalam and Slots, 2005 is a review that recommends 0.1 to 0.5% sodium hypochlorite for patient self-care in gum disease, and CariFree quotes it accurately. Galván and colleagues, 2014 is a pilot trial in 30 periodontitis patients: a 0.25% rinse twice a week, against water, over three months, with 12 people completing the three-month part. The rinse group had more plaque-free surfaces and fewer bleeding sites. The authors call for long-term controlled studies. Ruiz-Linares and colleagues, 2017 tested 2.5% sodium hypochlorite on lab-grown root canal biofilm on human dentine, with a three-minute contact time. All three are real and relevant to the chemistry. None tests CariFree's rinse at its own strength and schedule, and none is about toothpaste.

The 73% vs 29% figure

This is CariFree's most specific efficacy number, and the one most likely to come up when you search the brand. On the same blog post, CariFree writes:

The placebo fluoride rinse reduced the mean caries index by 29%, and the CariFree Treatment Rinse reduced the caries index by 73% over a 3-year period. There was no additional benefit after 2 years of use.

The source given is: "Hallett KB, O'Rourke PK. Oral biofilm activity, culture testing and caries experience in school 3-year double-blind randomized clinical trial. Queensland, Australia 2007-2010." We searched PubMed on 26 September 2026 for these authors together with the study's terms and could not find it indexed. The citation as printed has no journal name, volume, pages or DOI. We could not find it indexed in PubMed; it may exist as a conference abstract, a report or an unpublished dataset, but we cannot confirm which, and we cannot check the numbers.

Two points of context matter for a toothpaste buyer. The figure is about the Treatment Rinse, not Gel 1100 or the Fluoride Free Gel. And the blog's own wording says "no additional benefit after 2 years", which is worth reading alongside the headline number.

"Scientifically proven" without a footnote

CariFree's technology page says its "non-abrasive products are highly effective and scientifically proven to prevent cavities through remineralization", and its science page says its "pH elevated products... are scientifically proven to prevent cavities." We did not find a study linked to either sentence on the pages we checked. CariFree does not use the phrase "clinically proven" anywhere we looked, and it keeps "clinically studied" for the raw nanoXIM ingredient. The general hydroxyapatite research that CariFree's educational blog posts cite, including the Pawinska 2024 meta-analysis, is real and independent of CariFree, but it is about hydroxyapatite in general, not CariFree's gels.

What the evidence cannot tell you

  • Whether Gel 1100 or the Fluoride Free Gel prevents cavities in you. No study of either finished gel is cited.
  • Whether nano-hydroxyapatite adds anything to 1,100 ppm fluoride. No trial of the combination product was found.
  • Whether the 73% figure holds. We could not find the source indexed.

Read in the brand's favor, CariFree's citations resolve to real papers far more often than they do for some brands we have reviewed, and the betaine one fits its claim closely. Read carefully, they support ingredients and chemistry rather than the tube you are buying. For how other brands handle the same question, see our NOBS toothpaste review, which cites a lab study of its own finished tablet, and our Boka toothpaste review.

CariFree and Minvelle, side by side

Fact CariFree Fluoride Free Gel / Gel 1100 (carifree.com, 26 Sep 2026) Minvelle
Nano-hydroxyapatite per tube or piece Fluoride Free Gel: 2% stated, no mg per dose; Gel 1100: not disclosed 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box
Active and fluoride nanoXIM nano-hydroxyapatite and 25% xylitol; Fluoride Free Gel has no fluoride, Gel 1100 adds 0.24% sodium fluoride (about 1,100 ppm) Nano-hydroxyapatite plus 817 mg xylitol per piece; fluoride-free
What is published Full ingredient lists, particle size on the FAQ, RDA 40 for Gel 1100; no study of the finished gels Dose, particle size and batch certificate
Price, pack and directions $17.00 (Fluoride Free Gel) or $18.00 (Gel 1100) per tube of about 130 to 136 doses; for brushing €24.99 for 18 pieces, 1 piece a day, at least 20 minutes

Minvelle is for people who want a written per-piece dose to chew between brushings; if you want a brushing gel from a dentist-founded brand that states its nano-hydroxyapatite percentage and particle size, or one that pairs it with fluoride, CariFree is a sound choice for your toothbrush.

See the dose on the box →

Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.

Part 7

Price, shipping, returns and the public record

What it costs

Prices on CariFree's shop on 26 September 2026: Gel 1100 from $18.00 per tube, the Fluoride Free Gel from $17.00, the Naturals kids paste from $14.00, the Maintenance Rinse from $18.00 and the Treatment Rinse from $39.00 for a two-bottle set. Each has the same quantity discount: 10% off a 2-pack and 15% off a 4-pack. CariFree also sells a 3 Month Treatment Kit at $141.00, which it describes as "$30 savings vs. ordering individually", and a 3 Month Maintenance Kit at $89.00.

Per use, the gels are inexpensive. Using CariFree's own dose counts, a $18.00 tube of Gel 1100 at about 136 doses works out to around 13 cents a brushing, and the Fluoride Free Gel at $17.00 for about 130 doses is similar. Per ounce the tubes are small, 2.3 and 2.4 oz, so they cost more per ounce than most larger tubes; our fluoride-free toothpaste comparison ranks eight alternatives by evidence.

There is no subscription. We did not find the words subscription, subscribe or auto-ship on any CariFree page we checked; the only discount structure is the multipack. That is different from most direct-to-consumer hydroxyapatite brands, which usually offer subscribe-and-save pricing.

Shipping and where you can buy it

CariFree offers "FREE shipping on orders over $35". The FAQ says orders ship through USPS within one to two business days and that free shipping does not apply to expedited shipping. Outside the US there is no self-serve checkout: "We are able to provide shipping quotes for international orders. Please contact us for more information and a shipping quote." In Canada, CariFree's worldwide page names a distributor, National Dental, Inc.

The other channel is dentists. CariFree's find-a-dentist tool lists offices that sell its products, and the professional-only items, PRO Gel 5000, fluoride varnish, a pre-rinse and the CariScreen test, are available only there. We did not find an Amazon or other marketplace store linked from CariFree's own pages.

Stock can vary. On 26 September 2026 the Treatment Rinse page said: "So sorry for the wait! Mint will be restocked in late September, and apple follows in late October." The Maintenance Rinse page said Grape "will be back in mid-October." Both gels were listed without a restock notice.

Returns

The marketing line on nearly every CariFree page is "Try it risk-free for 90 days!" The FAQ gives the actual policy: "Returns are accepted within 90 days of purchase. If interested in a return, please contact us at (800) 503-0625 or [email]." The 90 days are consistent everywhere we checked. What the pages do not spell out is how a return is processed: whether you get a full refund, who pays return shipping, or whether opened tubes qualify. If that matters to you, ask before you order.

FDA databases

We checked the federal databases on 26 September 2026. No recalls for Oral BioTech or CariFree appear in the openFDA drug enforcement or food and cosmetic enforcement databases. We also found no DailyMed label and no National Drug Code listing for Gel 1100 or any CariFree product. That is worth stating because CariFree's FAQ says Gel 1100 "is both a cosmetic and OTC drug", and fluoride toothpastes sold as over-the-counter drugs often appear in those databases. The absence alone does not tell you whether anything is wrong; it is a fact you can check yourself. We did not search FDA's warning-letter database separately.

Courts

We searched CourtListener, which indexes US federal court dockets, for CariFree, Oral BioTech and Kim Kutsch on 26 September 2026. We found no docket in which CariFree, Oral BioTech or Dr. Kutsch is a named party. The word CariFree does appear inside the documents of one unrelated 2007 case, Synca Direct, Inc. v. Multimedia Dental Systems, Inc., No. 1:07-cv-06030 in the Southern District of New York, filed 26 June 2007 and terminated 13 February 2008, but neither party is CariFree or Oral BioTech. "Oral BioTech" also appears inside two bankruptcy files where it is not a party. CourtListener covers federal courts, not all state courts, so this is a federal-record result, not a claim that no lawsuit has ever existed.

ADA Seal and ratings

CariFree does not claim the ADA Seal of Acceptance anywhere on its site that we checked; the only mention of the American Dental Association is in the founder's bio. We do not give a Trustpilot or BBB rating for CariFree because we could not verify one on 26 September 2026. One thing we did notice on CariFree's own site: its find-a-dentist page shows at least one openly critical customer comment, about the price and bottle of its oral spray, left in place next to the positive ones.

In fairness

What CariFree does well

A review built on documents owes the brand the documents in its favor, and CariFree has several. It is a real company with a stable address, in business since 2004 by its own account, with a domain registered in 2005. Its founder is a registry-listed dentist in the same Oregon city as the factory, not a borrowed title. It states a nano-hydroxyapatite percentage for its Fluoride Free Gel, which most brands do not, and it gives a particle size and shape for its gels on its FAQ, which fewer still do. It publishes an RDA for Gel 1100, in plain marketing copy.

It is also careful with its language in places where others are not. It does not call its gels "clinically proven", and it keeps "clinically studied" for the raw ingredient. When it removed SLS from the Fluoride Free Gel, it said so in the FAQ. When it declines to share Gel 1100's percentage, it says that too, instead of leaving the question unanswered. Its betaine citation matches its claim closely. We found no FDA recall and no federal case naming the company. And it offers a real choice: a fluoride gel with hydroxyapatite for people whose dentist wants fluoride, and a fluoride-free gel for people who do not.

None of that changes the undisclosed Gel 1100 amount, the absence of studies on the finished gels, or the 73% figure we could not trace. Both sides are the record.

The verdict

CariFree toothpaste, in one paragraph

CariFree is a long-running, dentist-founded oral-care brand made by Oral BioTech in Albany, Oregon. Its two consumer gels both use nanoXIM nano-hydroxyapatite. The Fluoride Free Gel states 2% and has been SLS-free since 2025; Gel 1100 pairs an undisclosed amount with 0.24% sodium fluoride, about 1,100 ppm, a fluoride level backed by strong trial evidence for toothpaste in general. CariFree's FAQ gives a particle size for its gels, rod-shaped and under 50 nm long, and Gel 1100 states an RDA of 40. Against that: no study of either finished gel is cited, Gel 1100 contains SLS, the 73% vs 29% caries figure on CariFree's blog is about its rinse and cites a trial we could not find indexed in PubMed, there is no subscription, and outside the US you have to ask for a shipping quote.

Who it suits

Gel 1100 fits you if your dentist wants you to keep fluoride and you would like hydroxyapatite in the same tube, and you do not mind SLS or an undisclosed hydroxyapatite amount. The Fluoride Free Gel fits you if you want no fluoride, a stated nano-hydroxyapatite percentage, no SLS, and a small tube you can fly with. Either suits someone who likes buying from a brand built around dental practices.

Consider something else if you want a higher stated nano-hydroxyapatite percentage, a subscription, a large tube, or easy delivery outside the US. For a wider field, our Sensodyne alternatives guide and the reviews linked above compare other options. And if you are choosing for a child and want hydroxyapatite, note that CariFree's kids paste contains none; the Fluoride Free Gel is the CariFree gel it recommends for all ages.

What neither a toothpaste nor a gum can do

No toothpaste and no gum repairs a cavity that has already formed; that needs a dentist. Neither CariFree's gels nor Minvelle bleaches teeth. And there is no clinical trial on Minvelle's finished gum, just as there is none cited for CariFree's finished gels. What a gel or a gum can do is support the enamel surface as part of a routine that includes brushing, a sensible diet and regular dental visits.

Where Minvelle fits, briefly

A toothpaste works for the two minutes you brush. A gum works in the hours between brushings: after lunch, after coffee, when there is no sink. Minvelle is one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite in each 1.9 g piece and 817 mg of xylitol. The box states the weight of the active per piece, and we publish the supplier-stated particle size and a batch certificate on the transparency page. It is an add-on, not a replacement: if CariFree suits you, keep brushing with it.

Facts checked on 26 September 2026 from the sources below; if CariFree changes its pages or the records change, tell us and we will update this review.

Glossary

Nano-hydroxyapatite: A lab-made form of the calcium-phosphate mineral that makes up tooth enamel, in particles measured in nanometers. Particle size and amount are the variables studies look at.

nanoXIM: A nano-hydroxyapatite raw material made by Fluidinova in Portugal. CariFree says it has used it in its gels since 2012.

ppm: Parts per million, the usual way to state fluoride strength. Gel 1100 is about 1,100 ppm; PRO Gel 5000 about 5,000 ppm.

RDA: Relative dentin abrasivity, a lab score for how abrasive a toothpaste is. CariFree states 40 for Gel 1100.

SLS: Sodium lauryl sulfate, the most common foaming agent in toothpaste. Gel 1100 contains it; the Fluoride Free Gel does not.

Sodium hypochlorite: The active chemical in bleach, used in dilute form in dentistry. CariFree's Treatment Rinse uses 0.2%; none of its toothpaste gels contain it.

Questions, answered

The things people actually ask

Is CariFree toothpaste good?

On the documents, CariFree is a real, long-running brand: Oral BioTech in Albany, Oregon, founded in 2004 by a dentist whose NPI record we found in the federal registry. Its Fluoride Free Gel states 2% nano-hydroxyapatite, its FAQ gives a particle size, and Gel 1100 states an RDA of 40. The limits: Gel 1100 does not disclose its hydroxyapatite amount and contains SLS, and CariFree cites no study of either finished gel. Whether it suits your teeth is a question for your dentist.

Does CariFree toothpaste have fluoride?

One of the two consumer gels does. Gel 1100 contains 0.24% sodium fluoride, about 1,100 ppm, together with nano-hydroxyapatite. The Fluoride Free Gel contains no fluoride. PRO Gel 5000, sold only through dentists, contains 1.1% sodium fluoride, which CariFree calls prescription strength, and also nano-hydroxyapatite according to the brand's product copy.

How much nano-hydroxyapatite is in CariFree?

For the Fluoride Free Gel, CariFree states 2% nano-hydroxyapatite (nanoXIM by Fluidinova). For Gel 1100 it does not disclose the amount; its FAQ says: "While we don't disclose exact formula percentages, we believe quality matters more than concentration alone." No percentage is stated for PRO Gel 5000 either. The FAQ gives a particle size for its gels: rod-shaped, under 50 nm long and under 10 nm wide.

CariFree Gel 1100 or Fluoride Free Gel: which should I buy?

They answer different questions. Gel 1100 combines about 1,100 ppm fluoride with nano-hydroxyapatite, so it fits someone whose dentist wants fluoride kept in the routine. The Fluoride Free Gel is for someone who wants no fluoride, states its 2% nano-hydroxyapatite, and has been SLS-free since 2025. Prices are close: $18.00 and $17.00 for a single tube on CariFree's site.

Is the CariFree 73% cavity reduction claim real?

The figure comes from a CariFree blog post about its Treatment Rinse, not its toothpaste. The post attributes it to a three-year Queensland trial in school children by Hallett and O'Rourke, 2007 to 2010. We searched PubMed for it on 26 September 2026 and could not find it indexed, and the citation as printed gives no journal or DOI. That does not tell you whether the trial happened; it means you cannot look it up from the citation given.

Can I buy CariFree outside the US?

CariFree's own shop ships within the US. For other countries its site asks you to contact the company for a shipping quote. In Canada it names a distributor, National Dental, Inc. Many US dental offices also sell CariFree products, and the professional line, including PRO Gel 5000, is sold only through dentists.

Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, including whether fluoride fits your teeth. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.

Sources
  1. Walsh T, Worthington HV, Glenny AM, Marinho VC, Jeroncic A. Fluoride toothpastes of different concentrations for preventing dental caries. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2019;3:CD007868. PMID 30829399
  2. Chatzidimitriou K, Theodorou K, Seremidi K, Kloukos D, Gizani S, Papaioannou W. The role of hydroxyapatite-based, fluoride-free toothpastes on the prevention and the remineralization of initial caries lesions: a systematic review and meta-analysis. J Dent 2025;156:105691. PMID 40107597
  3. Pawinska M, Paszynska E, Amaechi BT, Meyer F, Enax J, Limeback H. Clinical evidence of caries prevention by hydroxyapatite: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis. J Dent 2024;151:105429. PMID 39471896
  4. Söderling E, Le Bell A, Kirstilä V, Tenovuo J. Betaine-containing toothpaste relieves subjective symptoms of dry mouth. Acta Odontol Scand 1998;56(2):65-9. PMID 9669455
  5. Khonina TG, Chupakhin ON, Shur VY, et al. Silicon-hydroxyapatite glycerohydrogel as a promising biomaterial for dental applications. Colloids Surf B Biointerfaces 2020;189:110851. PMID 32087529
  6. Jorgensen MG, Aalam A, Slots J. Periodontal antimicrobials: finding the right solutions. Int Dent J 2005;55(1):3-12. PMID 15747646
  7. Galván M, Gonzalez S, Cohen CL, et al. Periodontal effects of 0.25% sodium hypochlorite twice-weekly oral rinse. A pilot study. J Periodontal Res 2014;49(6):696-702. PMID 24329929
  8. Ruiz-Linares M, Aguado-Pérez B, Baca P, Arias-Moliz MT, Ferrer-Luque CM. Efficacy of antimicrobial solutions against polymicrobial root canal biofilm. Int Endod J 2017;50(1):77-83. PMID 26660494
  9. National Provider Identifier registry record 1316160047 (general dentist in Albany in Oregon), checked on the review date
  10. RDAP registry record for carifree.com: registered May 11, 2005
  11. openFDA drug enforcement query for recalling firm Oral BioTech: no matches, September 26, 2026
  12. DailyMed (National Library of Medicine): no CariFree or Oral BioTech listing, September 26, 2026
  13. CourtListener federal docket search for the brand, its maker and its founder: no docket naming them as a party, checked on the review date. The one full-text hit is an unrelated case, No. 1:07-cv-06030 in the Southern District of New York, whose parties are not the brand or its maker
  14. openFDA drug code directory plus the food and cosmetic enforcement database: no matches for the brand or its maker, checked on the review date
  15. CariFree's own pages at carifree.com, quoted verbatim above and checked September 26, 2026: Gel 1100, Fluoride Free Gel, Naturals kids toothpaste, Treatment Rinse, Maintenance Rinse and Breath Mints product pages; FAQs; company; CariFree Difference; our technology; the science; pro products; CariFree worldwide; find a dentist; privacy policy; blog post "Sodium Hypochlorite as a Therapeutic Strategy"
M

About the author

Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.

Documents over adjectives. This review set out to answer what people type about CariFree, from "does it have fluoride" to "how much nano-hydroxyapatite" to "is the 73% real", using only CariFree's own words and public records. What came out is a dentist-founded company that discloses more than most in this category, a percentage, a particle size and an RDA, while keeping one gel's dose private and citing no study of its finished gels. CariFree could improve this article easily: state the nano-hydroxyapatite amount for Gel 1100, add milligrams per dose, and publish the full reference for the Queensland trial. We would welcome writing that update. All findings reflect the listed pages and records as checked on 26 September 2026; pages and records change, and the sources are there so you can re-check every claim.

Between brushings

A remineralizing gum with the dose in writing

Keep brushing with the paste you like. Minvelle is for between brushings: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, printed on the box, xylitol-sweetened and fluoride-free, one piece a day chewed for at least 20 minutes. 18 pieces per box, batch certificate published.

Try Minvelle with 10% off

Or see the subscription option →

30-day refund on unopened boxes

Back to blog