Boka toothpaste review 2026: what the record shows
Boka is one of the best-known nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes in the US, sold on its own site and in chains like Target and CVS, and a lot of people type its name into a search box before they switch from a fluoride paste. This review is written for that moment. We read what Boka publishes about its active ingredient, and what it says it will not publish. We pulled the one PubMed-indexed study that tested a Boka paste, the two 2025 advertising decisions about Boka's claims, the trademark and FDA records, the refund policy, and the review record. Every finding below carries its source, so you can check all of it yourself.
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 25 September 2026 · 26 min read
Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a nano-hydroxyapatite chewing gum. It sits beside your brushing routine rather than on your sink, so we do not sell anything that competes with Boka head on. We still have an interest, which is why every critical statement below is Boka's own published text, a regulator's or a court's record, a database entry you can query, or a named reviewer's words presented as exactly that.
The dose, printed on the box
Boka says it cannot share how much nano-hydroxyapatite is in its paste. Our gum states it: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes after a meal or coffee. It adds to brushing and never stands in for it.
Read the Minvelle formula30-day refund on unopened boxes · free shipping from €29
Boka is a real, established US brand: a fluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste made by Boka, LLC, now part of Essor Group, with a trademark in use since 2015 and, per its own press release, shelf space at Target, CVS and Walmart. The one number it does not give you is the percentage of nano-hydroxyapatite in the tube; its own help center says it is "unable to share" it "for proprietary purposes".
Three more facts shape the picture. A 2025 laboratory study on enamel blocks found measurable remineralization with Boka, less than with a 20% nano-hydroxyapatite paste, and listed Boka's concentration as "not disclosed". In 2025 the BBB National Programs advertising bodies recommended that Essor stop claiming Boka toothpaste remineralizes or fortifies teeth, and Essor said it would comply. And Boka's refund policy covers unused product only. The rest of this review walks through each point with its source, credits what Boka does well, and says who the paste suits.
If you are here because you want fluoride-free enamel care, you are also the reader our gum is for, as an add-on rather than a swap. Minvelle prints what this review had to go looking for: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, 18 pieces per box, one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes between brushings. Keep your paste. The gum covers the hours after lunch and coffee when a sink is not around.
Boka compared: what is published, what stays open
| What's checked | What the record shows | Verified or open |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Trademark owner Boka, LLC (Minnesota, per USPTO); part of Essor Group, Inc., named in two 2025 BBB National Programs decisions | Verified: registry and regulator records |
| Brand age | BOKA trademark filed February 13, 2015; first use in commerce August 19, 2015; registered May 24, 2016; renewed 2026 | Verified: USPTO TSDR |
| Active ingredient | Nano-hydroxyapatite ("Hydroxyapatite*", footnoted "Nano"), sixth on the Ela Mint list | Verified: product page |
| Fluoride | None in any Boka toothpaste checked | Verified: product pages |
| nHA concentration | Not published; help center says it is proprietary | Open: the load-bearing number is withheld |
| Particle size | Nanorods 20 to 80 nm long (typically 50 to 60 nm), 10 to 15 nm wide | Verified: stated in Boka's help center |
| Product-specific study | One in-vitro study (PMID 40744295, 2025) tested a Boka paste on enamel blocks | Verified: PubMed record |
| Advertising decisions | NAD (case #7412) and NARB, 2025: recommended Essor stop remineralize, fortify, whitening and prebiotic claims; Essor said it would comply | Verified: BBB National Programs |
| ADA Seal | "not FDA or ADA-approved", per Boka's own FAQ | Verified: Boka's statement |
| Abrasivity (RDA) | No RDA figure found on product pages, FAQ or label | Open |
| Price | Ela Mint $11.62 per 113 g tube, $9.88 on subscription | Verified as displayed on boka.com |
| Refund policy | 30 days, full product cost less shipping, item must be unused and in original packaging | Verified: Boka refund policy |
| Trustpilot | 2.5 out of 5 across 28 reviews | Verified as displayed; a snapshot |
Swipe sideways on mobile. All rows reflect the listed pages and records as checked on 25 September 2026; pages change, so use the sources to re-check anything before relying on it.
Part 1What Boka actually sells
Boka sells a range, not a single tube. On its own store the catalogue ran to 56 listings when we checked, including bundles and multi-packs. The core is a family of fluoride-free toothpastes built on nano-hydroxyapatite, abbreviated n-Ha or nHA on Boka's pages. The flagship is Ela Mint. Around it sit more adult flavors: Cinna Mint, Coco Ginger, Lemon Lavender, Cherry Blossom (sold as mint-free) and Bold Mint.
Then come the specialty lines. The whitening line includes Refresh Mint Whitening, Charcoal Yuzu Mint Whitening and a Whitening 3-Pack, and there is a BrightBoost whitening powder that Boka describes as peroxide-free. The Sensitive paste, sold as Mint Coconut Cream, adds 5% potassium nitrate, which makes it a different regulatory animal, covered in Part 7. A probiotic line, Citrus Mint Probiotic and Peppermint Blossom Probiotic, contains Lactobacillus paracasei according to Boka's launch press release. The kids' range covers Bubble Gum, Blueberry Dragon Fruit, Strawberry Mango, Watermelon Mint and Orange Cream. Floss, mouthwash tablets and travel sizes round it out.
This review focuses on the adult nano-hydroxyapatite pastes, with Ela Mint as the reference product, because that is what most people mean when they search for a Boka toothpaste review. Where the Sensitive or whitening lines differ in a way that matters, we say so. Our wider fluoride-free toothpaste ranking puts Boka next to seven other pastes if you want the category view first.
One thing to keep in mind from the start: the flavors differ, and flavor systems differ in essential oils, which matters to people who react to mint, anise or cinnamon. Boka sells Cherry Blossom as mint-free for exactly that reason. The nano-hydroxyapatite question, how much of it is in the tube, applies to all of them equally, because Boka does not publish the figure for any of them.
Two new flavours land in December
Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.
Who makes Boka: the paper trail
Start with the trademark, because it is the cleanest record. The USPTO register shows the word mark BOKA, serial number 86534719, registration 4965811. It was filed on February 13, 2015, lists a first use in commerce of August 19, 2015, and was registered on May 24, 2016. It is live, and a renewal was recorded on July 16, 2026. The owner is Boka, LLC, which the register describes as a Minnesota limited liability company. The goods on record today are toothpastes, toothbrushes and dental floss, plus online retail services for dental hygiene products. Mouthwash and whitening kits were once in the toothpaste class and were later deleted from it.
Theodent points to an FDA clearance in its marketing, and our Theodent toothpaste review checks that claim and its study numbers the same way.
A Boka and Essor press release gives 2015 as the founding year, which lines up with the USPTO first-use date. One trade-press profile says 2016. We go with 2015 because a federal register backs it.
Addresses differ across records. Boka's refund policy names the return address as Boka, LLC, 2801 Galvin Dr #200, Elgin, Illinois. The Better Business Bureau lists Boka, LLC in Chicago. A DentistryIQ interview with the co-founder gave Minneapolis as headquarters, consistent with the Minnesota organization on the trademark.
Essor Group, the company above the brand
Boka today is part of Essor Group, Inc., a Chicago consumer-goods company that trade press describes as a brand-building platform. Trade press reported that Essor was formed in September 2024 by the merger of two companies, Branded and Heyday, in a deal reported at around $400 million. Those deal details come from trade press, not from a filing we could read. The primary-source link between Essor and Boka is firmer: both 2025 BBB National Programs advertising decisions, and a federal court docket, name Essor Group, Inc. as the company behind Boka products.
There is also a third name. The FDA's drug directory lists the labeler for the Boka Sensitive paste as Karaka LLC, 444 W Lake St, Suite 1700, Chicago. That is a different legal name from Boka, LLC, in the same city as the BBB listing. Large consumer-goods groups often split brands and product registrations across several legal entities, and nothing in the records suggests anything beyond that. It is simply useful to know if you ever need to find the company behind a specific tube.
The founder, and a claim you may read elsewhere
Boka's own About Us and advisory pages do not name a founder. Trade press does: a DentistryIQ interview identifies James Hagen as co-founder and CEO. Per that interview, Hagen "started his career as a hedge-fund analyst in NYC before becoming the president of American Dental Accessories," and holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan and an MBA from Columbia. He is not described as a dentist in any source we found. If you have read that Boka was founded by a dentist, we could not find evidence for it, and Boka's own pages make no such claim.
What Boka does publish is an Oral Health Advisory Committee: Diane Cummins, described as an oral health researcher and industry consultant; Dr. Foti Panagakos, described as a founding dean of a school of dental medicine; Raj Kohli, PhD, described as a former executive vice president for global R&D and technology strategy; Alan Wolpert, described as a consumer brands and oral care leader; and Dr. Victoria Sampson, described as a functional dentist and oral microbiome researcher. We list the names as Boka presents them and did not verify licenses or credentials.
Part 3Ela Mint ingredients, line by line
Here is the full Ela Mint ingredient list as printed on the product page, in order: Water (Aqua/Eau), Glycerin, Hydrated Silica, Sorbitol, Silica, Hydroxyapatite*, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit/Seed Oil, Gaultheria Procumbens (Wintergreen) Leaf Oil, Xylitol, Xanthan Gum, Stevia Rebaudiana Leaf/Stem Extract, Dimethyl Sulfone, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sodium Bicarbonate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Fruit Extract, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Fruit Extract, Menthol, Elettaria Cardamomum Seed Oil, Potassium Chloride, Limonene. The asterisk is footnoted "Nano".
Taken on its own terms, this is a conventional modern paste with a natural-leaning extras list. The skeleton is water, humectants and silica abrasives, the same as in most mainstream toothpastes. What sets it apart is what is missing: no fluoride, no sodium lauryl sulfate, no parabens. What it adds is nano-hydroxyapatite and a long tail of botanicals.
| Ingredient | What it does in a toothpaste |
|---|---|
| Water (Aqua/Eau) | The base of almost every toothpaste. |
| Glycerin | A humectant: it keeps the paste from drying out in the tube. |
| Hydrated Silica | The main cleaning abrasive in most modern pastes; it polishes off plaque and surface stain. |
| Sorbitol | A sugar alcohol used as a humectant and mild sweetener. |
| Silica | Often used as a thickener alongside hydrated silica. |
| Hydroxyapatite* | The active the brand is built on. The asterisk is footnoted "Nano" at the end of the list. It sits sixth. |
| Sodium Benzoate | A preservative. |
| Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate | The foaming agent. It is not sodium lauryl sulfate, which is why Boka can call the paste SLS-free. |
| Peppermint, spearmint, anise and wintergreen oils | The flavor system of Ela Mint. |
| Xylitol | A sugar alcohol sweetener, here in thirteenth position. |
| Xanthan Gum | A thickener that gives the paste its body. |
| Stevia leaf/stem extract | A sweetener. |
| Dimethyl Sulfone | Also known as MSM, used in some personal-care formulas. |
| Aloe leaf juice | A botanical common in natural-positioned pastes. |
| Sodium Bicarbonate | Baking soda, a mild abrasive and buffer. |
| Green tea leaf extract, cucumber, avocado and mango fruit extracts | Botanical extracts. |
| Menthol, cardamom seed oil | More flavor and cooling. |
| Potassium Chloride | Listed near the end of the Ela Mint panel. It is not a drug active in this formula, and the regular paste makes no drug claim. |
| Limonene | A fragrance component of citrus and other essential oils. |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Ingredient list as printed on the Ela Mint product page, checked 25 September 2026. Function notes are general descriptions of each ingredient's usual role, not claims made by Boka.
Two things to take from the list. First, hydroxyapatite in sixth place tells you it is a real ingredient and not a trace addition. But ingredient order only gives a rough hint of amounts, and it cannot be turned into a percentage. That is why the next part matters. Second, silica is doing the cleaning, and Boka publishes no RDA (relative dentin abrasivity) figure for any paste we checked. If abrasivity matters to you, for example because you have exposed root surfaces, our RDA explainer covers what the number means and why so few brands print it.
On the product page, Boka describes the active like this: "Our proprietary and innovative formula includes Nano-hydroxyapatite (n-Ha), a biomimetic mineral form of the same material that naturally makes up 97% of your teeth material and 70% of your dentin." Read that sentence carefully, because it gets misquoted. The 97% and 70% figures describe natural enamel and dentin. They are not the amount of nano-hydroxyapatite in the tube, and Boka does not say they are.
Part 4The missing number: dose versus particle size
Every nano-hydroxyapatite paste raises the same two questions: how much of it is in there, and how small are the particles. Boka answers one of them in unusual detail and declines the other in so many words.
What Boka says about the percentage
Boka's help center has an article titled "What is the percentage of Nano-Hydroxyapatite?". Its answer, verbatim: "Boka works with a high-quality lab in Western Europe. Our Boka toothpaste has a safe level of nHA and we've partnered with formulators to come up with the perfect concentration to ensure safety while delivering the maximum benefits of tooth remineralization, enamel protection, and anti-sensitivity. For proprietary purposes, we're unable to share the exact % of nHA in our products."
The same article continues: "While the % of n-Ha in our toothpaste is proprietary, we can share that our toothpaste is proven to support enamel health, helping to fill small holes and depressions on the enamel's surface." That is Boka's wording. How the "remineralization" part of that language fared before advertising regulators is Part 6.
So this is not a gap by silence. Boka was asked, published the question in its own help center, and answered that the figure is proprietary. That is a legitimate business choice, and plenty of brands in this category make it. It does mean a buyer cannot compare Boka against pastes that do print a percentage, and it means researchers cannot either, as the next part shows.
What Boka says about particle size
A second help-center article, "What is the shape of the Nano-Hydroxyapatite?", goes the other way. Verbatim: "Our n-Ha nanoparticles are nanorods having lengths of 20-80 nm (typically 50-60 nm) and widths of 10-15 nm. This is significantly much smaller than the dentine tubules that typically have 1-2 microns diameter (so, considering an averaged size of 50 nm) we have particles about 40x smaller than the dentine tubules."
It also compares itself with micro-sized hydroxyapatite, which some other brands use: "...the smaller mean particle size of micro-HA you find in the market has at least 5 or 10 microns, which are 5 to 10 times larger than the dentine tubules and will not occlude effectively..." That comparison is Boka's own argument, and we pass it on as such. If you want the neutral version of the nano versus micro debate, our nano vs non-nano explainer walks through it.
Particle size is a real disclosure, and more than most brands give. Boka deserves credit for it. It is just the less useful half of the pair for a shopper, because two pastes with identical particles can contain very different amounts of them.
The contrast inside Boka's own range
The Sensitive paste makes the gap easy to see. Its product description states that it is "formulated with 5% potassium nitrate to help reduce sensitivity caused by cold, heat, acids, sweets, or contact." The FDA-listed Drug Facts panel agrees: "Potassium Nitrate 5%" as the active ingredient. The same panel lists "Hydroxyapatite (nano)" among the inactive ingredients, with no percentage. A Drug Facts panel states the strength of the drug active, while cosmetic ingredients carry no percentages, so this follows the labeling format. The practical result is that in the same tube, one active has a number and the other does not.
If you want to know why the dose question matters so much in this category, our piece on how many milligrams of hydroxyapatite are actually in a product explains it with the numbers other brands do print. Twice, for example, prints 5 percent nano-hydroxyapatite on its Happy Mint tube, as our Twice toothpaste review shows.
Part 5What the one Boka study actually tested
We searched PubMed for studies naming Boka. Exactly one paper tests an actual Boka product. Two other hits contain "Boka" only as an unrelated word in Greek pediatric-dentistry studies, and we set them aside.
The paper is Amaechi and colleagues, "In vitro evaluation of the ability of nanohydroxyapatite toothpastes to enhance remineralization of enamel caries lesion," Journal of Dentistry, 2025. Here is what it did, as recorded in PubMed. The researchers used bovine enamel blocks, 160 in total, 20 per product across 8 products. They created early caries-like lesions, then ran 14 days of pH cycling with toothpaste treatments three times a day. The main outcome was the percentage change in surface microhardness, a laboratory stand-in for remineralization.
The eight products were: Crest Cavity Protection (1100 ppm fluoride), ClinPro 5000 (5000 ppm fluoride), Fygg (20% nanoXIM as the study labels it; Fygg's own FAQ gives 3.1% final nano-hydroxyapatite), Boka (listed as "nanoXIM; concentration not disclosed"), Dr. Jen (10% nanoHAP), Risewell Regular (10% microHAP), Risewell PRO (5% nanoXIM plus microHAP) and Just-Ingredients Powder (15% microHAP). Notice that Boka is the only product in the table without a percentage. The authors could not fill in that cell either.
| Result | What the PubMed record shows |
|---|---|
| Boka remineralization | Mean 19.5% (plus or minus 10.56), 95% confidence interval 14.25 to 24.75 |
| Versus baseline | Every product, Boka included, produced statistically significant remineralization (p<.001) |
| Versus Fygg (labeled 20% nanoXIM) | Boka was significantly lower: Fygg 39.81% (plus or minus 24.07), p<.01 |
| Versus most other products | Not significantly different |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Figures as recorded in the PubMed entry for PMID 40744295, checked 25 September 2026.
Read it fairly in both directions. In favor of Boka: in this lab model it did produce measurable surface remineralization, and it was statistically in the same range as most of the other pastes, including the fluoride products. Against the strongest version of the marketing: it trailed the one high-percentage nano-hydroxyapatite paste in the panel by a clear, statistically significant margin.
And keep the limits in view. This was an in-vitro study on cow enamel, not a trial in human mouths. Lab remineralization of surface lesions tells you a paste can deliver mineral under controlled conditions; it does not tell you how many cavities it prevents in people. It was one study, not a series. No PubMed record we found reports a clinical trial of a finished Boka product, and Boka's pages do not cite one for the finished formula. The broader nano-hydroxyapatite literature is a separate question, covered in our roundup of hydroxyapatite toothpaste studies and our nano-hydroxyapatite vs fluoride comparison.
Boka and Minvelle, side by side
| Fact | Boka Ela Mint (boka.com, 25 Sep 2026) | Minvelle |
|---|---|---|
| Nano-hydroxyapatite amount | Not disclosed; Boka calls the % "proprietary" | 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece (0.30% by weight), printed on the box |
| Active and fluoride | Nano-hydroxyapatite, fluoride-free; Sensitive paste adds 5% potassium nitrate | Nano-hydroxyapatite and xylitol (817 mg per piece), fluoride-free |
| What is published | Particle size (nanorods 20 to 80 nm); full ingredient list; one in-vitro study names the product | Dose, particle size (rods 200 nm x 20 to 50 nm, supplier-stated) and batch certificate |
| Price, pack and use | $11.62 per 113 g tube ($9.88 on subscription); used as your daily toothpaste | €24.99 for 18 pieces; 1 piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes |
Minvelle is for people who want a between-brushings add-on with the milligrams in writing; if you want a fluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite paste for your twice-daily brush that you can pick up at Target or CVS, Boka is the easier buy.
Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.
Part 6The 2025 advertising decisions
This is the part of the record most Boka reviews leave out, and it is a primary source. BBB National Programs runs the US advertising industry's self-regulation system. Its National Advertising Division (NAD) reviews challenges to advertising claims, and its National Advertising Review Board (NARB) hears appeals. It is not a court and not the FDA. Companies take part voluntarily, and its decisions are recommendations.
The challenge came from The Procter & Gamble Company, the maker of Crest, a fluoride competitor. That context matters and a fair reader should keep it in mind: a rival brought the case. It does not change what the reviewers found, but it explains why the case exists.
NAD, case #7412
In its 2025 decision, NAD found that Essor Group had a reasonable basis for the claim that Boka toothpaste is made with nano-hydroxyapatite. That part of the challenge failed. NAD recommended that Essor discontinue claims that Boka toothpaste "remineralizes" or "fortifies" teeth or enamel, along with whitening claims and prebiotic claims for the mouthwash, citing insufficient evidence on the products themselves. Essor said it would appeal.
Wellnesse, another fluoride-free US brand, makes cavity claims of its own, and our Wellnesse toothpaste review quotes each one next to what the trials found.
NARB, July 2025
On appeal, NARB affirmed. Its decision found that Essor "lacked adequate substantiation" for the challenged claims. On remineralization, NARB wrote that "neither the Food & Drug Administration nor the American Dental Association has concluded that n-HA remineralizes teeth." On whitening, it said Essor "provided no evidence of any testing on its own formulated oral care products." On the breath and prebiotic mouthwash claim, it found "no testing on the product as formulated by Essor."
Essor's response, as reported in the decision: it would comply with the recommendations, while stating that its position is "underpinned by a comprehensive dossier of decades of peer-reviewed research." That dossier refers to research on nano-hydroxyapatite as a material. NARB's point was narrower: the question was testing of Essor's finished products, not of the ingredient in general.
What this does and does not mean
It does not mean nano-hydroxyapatite does nothing. NAD accepted that Boka contains it, and the ingredient has its own research base. It does not say anything about safety. What it means is that, as of 2025, the advertising reviewers did not find product-specific evidence behind Boka's remineralize, fortify and whitening claims, and Essor agreed to comply. We did not re-audit every page of Boka's live site against the decision, so we cannot tell you which lines have changed since. The help-center sentence quoted in Part 4 was still live when we checked. If a claim on a Boka page matters to your decision, compare it against the NARB wording in the sources.
One interesting overlap: the 2025 lab study in Part 5, published the same year, did measure remineralization with a Boka paste on enamel blocks. That is not the same as a clinical claim that a paste remineralizes teeth in people, and the regulators and the researchers were answering different questions. Both are real. We present them side by side.
Part 7FDA, the ADA Seal, and the Sensitive paste
Boka's help center answers the regulatory question directly. Verbatim: "Boka toothpaste is not FDA or ADA-approved but has been tested and proven to be non-toxic and safe if swallowed. Our products are often recommended by dental professionals to their patients."
Some context makes this less alarming than it may sound. A toothpaste without a drug active, like Ela Mint, is sold as a cosmetic in the US, and the FDA does not approve cosmetics before sale. So "not FDA-approved" is true of most toothpastes that make no drug claim. The ADA Seal of Acceptance is voluntary, and Boka does not carry it by its own account. Our piece on why many dentists still default to fluoride covers why the Seal matters to some dentists and not to others.
The one Boka product that is an FDA-listed drug
Boka Sensitive is the exception. It is listed in the FDA's National Drug Code directory as an over-the-counter monograph drug, application number M022, NDC 87161-444, with a marketing start date of October 9, 2025. The labeler is Karaka LLC in Chicago. Its active ingredient is potassium nitrate at 5%, listed on the Drug Facts panel with the purpose "Antisensitivity". The brand says the paste helps "reduce sensitivity caused by cold, heat, acids, sweets, or contact". Nano-hydroxyapatite appears in that panel as an inactive ingredient.
For a buyer this means two things. The Sensitive paste has a declared, regulated active at a declared strength, and its label follows the drug-facts format. And its sensitivity claim rests on potassium nitrate, the same active many conventional sensitivity pastes use, rather than on the nano-hydroxyapatite. Boka Sensitive costs $13.98 a tube, about $2.36 more than Ela Mint.
Heavy metals, in Boka's words
Boka also has a help-center article on heavy metals. It says trace amounts "can be present at low levels that are not harmful to health," and that "Boka requires that our toothpaste not only meets FDA guidelines (as confirmed through third party testing), but also that all our raw materials are tested and verified to be within California Proposition 65 limits for heavy metals." Independent lab results about Boka pastes are discussed online. We did not verify the original reports, so we quote only Boka's own statement and do not repeat any numbers. For the general safety question around the ingredient itself, see is nano-hydroxyapatite safe.
We also looked for FDA warning letters and recalls naming Boka, Boka LLC, Essor Group or Karaka LLC and found none in our search. That is a "none found", not a certified absence.
Part 8Boka vs Sensodyne: the facts side by side
"Boka vs Sensodyne" is a common search, and the honest answer starts with the fact that they are different kinds of product. Our Sensodyne label check went through all 26 US Sensodyne and Pronamel leaflets in August 2026. Every one is an OTC drug built on fluoride plus a desensitizing active: either stannous fluoride 0.454%, or potassium nitrate 5% plus sodium fluoride. None lists hydroxyapatite, active or inactive.
| Fact | Boka (regular pastes) | Boka Sensitive | Sensodyne (US range) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product type | Cosmetic toothpaste, no drug active | OTC monograph drug | OTC drug |
| Fluoride | None | None | Yes, in every product checked |
| Nano-hydroxyapatite | Yes, percentage not disclosed | Yes, as an inactive ingredient, no percentage | Not in any US leaflet checked |
| Desensitizing active | None declared | Potassium nitrate 5% | Potassium nitrate 5% or stannous fluoride 0.454% |
| ADA Seal | No, per Boka's FAQ | No, per Boka's FAQ | Not covered in this review |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Boka facts checked 25 September 2026; Sensodyne facts from our August 2026 label check, linked above.
The practical split: if you want fluoride in your paste, Sensodyne has it and Boka does not. If you specifically want a fluoride-free paste with nano-hydroxyapatite, Boka is in that category and Sensodyne is not. If your reason for looking at either is tooth sensitivity, note that Boka Sensitive and Sensodyne's potassium-nitrate lines declare the same desensitizing active at the same strength; the difference is the fluoride on Sensodyne's side and the nano-hydroxyapatite on Boka's. Which of those suits your teeth is a question for your dentist, not for a product page. Our list of Sensodyne alternatives covers more options on both sides of the fluoride line.
Part 9Price math, per tube and per month
Prices on boka.com when we checked, in US dollars:
| Product | Size | One-time price | Per tube |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ela Mint | 113 g | $11.62 | $11.62 ($9.88 on subscribe and save) |
| Ela Mint 2-Pack | 2 x 113 g | $21.99 | About $11.00 |
| Ela Mint 3-Pack | 3 x 113 g | $31.99 | About $10.66 |
| Refresh Mint Whitening | 113 g | $11.62 | $11.62 |
| Bubble Gum Kids | 113 g | $11.62 | $11.62 |
| Mint Coconut Cream (Sensitive) | 113 g | $13.98 | $13.98 |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Prices as displayed on boka.com, 25 September 2026. Retail prices at Target, CVS, Walmart and other stores may differ.
How long a tube lasts depends on how much you use and how many people share it, so we will not invent a number. The simple way to cost it: if one tube lasts you a month, Boka costs $11.62 a month at one-time prices, $9.88 on the subscription, or about $10.66 buying 3-packs. If it lasts six weeks, divide accordingly.
Shipping from boka.com is free on standard orders over $34.99 within the contiguous US, and over $74.99 to Hawaii, Alaska and Canada. Below that it is a flat $5.99 standard or $9.99 expedited. A single tube therefore costs $17.61 delivered, while a 3-pack at $31.99 still falls short of free shipping. That quirk is worth knowing before you check out.
For context against the rest of the category, Boka's shelf price sits in the middle of fluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite pastes. You pay a premium over a mainstream fluoride paste, and you get a brand you can find in stores, which several smaller competitors cannot offer.
And since you may be weighing the gum too, here is ours in the same terms. Minvelle is €24.99 for a box of 18 pieces at one piece a day, which works out to about €1.39 per piece. It is a separate cost on top of your toothpaste, not a replacement for it, and it only makes sense if you want something for the between-brushings part of the day.
Part 10Refunds, subscriptions and shipping
Boka's refund policy, verbatim: "If you decide that you'd like to return your Boka product, please contact us to initiate a return within 30 days of purchase. We offer a full product cost refund (less any incurred shipping costs) within 30 days of your purchase. To be eligible for a return, your item must be unused and in the same condition that you received it. It must also be in the original packaging." On exchanges: "We only replace items if they are defective or damaged."
The practical meaning is simple. If you open a tube, try it and dislike the taste or texture, the policy as written does not cover a refund. We found no satisfaction guarantee or "try it risk-free" wording anywhere on Boka's own site. If you see money-back guarantee language on a marketplace listing, it comes from that seller, not from Boka's policy, so check which seller you are actually buying from.
Our own guarantee is also for unopened boxes only, so this is not a criticism unique to Boka. It is simply a detail to know before you order several tubes at once.
Subscriptions
Boka promotes "Subscribe & Save 15% Every Order" across its site. Its FAQ says "Subscriptions can be cancelled at any time," and adds: "If you choose to cancel after your order has been processed you will still receive and be charged for that Boka order." In other words, cancel before the next order is processed, not after the charge. That timing detail also comes up in the reviews in Part 12.
Shipping
Boka's shipping policy lists one to two business days to process an order and up to five business days for delivery, with the free-shipping thresholds given in Part 9.
Part 11Where to buy Boka
According to Boka's own press release, the brand is sold on boka.com, including subscriptions, at Walmart in stores and online, on Amazon, and at Target, CVS, Sprouts, Erewhon, H-E-B and Fresh Thyme. Boka's store locator needs your location to show results, so check it for stock near you. To see Boka's price and disclosures next to 10 other brands, read our best hydroxyapatite toothpaste 2026 comparison.
Two practical notes. If price matters, compare the in-store price with boka.com's 3-pack and subscription prices, because the per-tube math above can beat a single tube in a shop. And on marketplaces, check that the seller is Boka or the marketplace itself, since third-party sellers set their own return terms. We do not link to any store here; Boka's own site and the retailers are easy to find by name.
A further practical point for shoppers outside the US: the channels in Boka's release are all American. We did not check international shipping beyond the Canada threshold in the shipping policy.
Part 12What reviewers say, on and off Boka's site
There are three review records, and they tell different stories. Here they are side by side, with where each comes from.
| Platform | What it shows | Who controls it |
|---|---|---|
| Boka's product pages | Ela Mint shown as 4.8 across 3,900 reviews | Self-hosted widget on Boka's store |
| Trustpilot (boka.com) | 2.5 out of 5 across 28 reviews, 6 of them in the last 12 months; roughly 75% one-star | Independent platform |
| BBB | Rating D+, not accredited, 1 complaint closed in 3 years, 0 customer reviews | Independent, business profile |
Swipe sideways on mobile. As displayed on 25 September 2026; counts on these platforms change daily.
The two records measure different things. On-site ratings come mostly from buyers who stayed and were asked to rate the product. Trustpilot and the BBB tend to collect people with a problem, often about service rather than the paste. Twenty-eight Trustpilot reviews for a brand of this size is a very small sample, and it would be unfair to treat it as the verdict of Boka's customers. It is useful for one thing: it shows what goes wrong when something does.
The recurring complaint themes
On Trustpilot, the one- and two-star reviews repeat a handful of themes: customer service that reviewers describe as unresponsive, subscription charges that reviewers say they did not authorize or could not cancel, shipping delays, and a smaller group of reviewers who report tooth damage, discoloration or cavities despite using the paste. Those are the reviewers' accounts, and we did not verify any individual case.
Two representative quotes, as posted. A reviewer named Em wrote: "They shipped my subscription order without letting me know, to a wrong address...can't cancel." A reviewer named Terry Shaw wrote: "I've been charged on my credit card every 3 months for almost 2 years for a recurring subscription that I never signed up for." Both are readable in full on the Trustpilot profile in the sources. Set them next to the FAQ line in Part 10, that an order already processed will still be charged, and the practical advice writes itself: if you subscribe, note your renewal dates and cancel well ahead of one.
On the positive side, the general consumer roundups that rank for Boka searches tend to praise flavor and comfort for people with sensitive teeth, while the negative side focuses on cost and the smaller set of cavity and canker-sore complaints. We report that as the shape of the public conversation, not as our finding.
The court docket
A federal docket names Essor Group, Inc., the company that operates Boka: Herrera v. Essor Group, Inc., U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York, case 1:25-cv-04247, filed 21 May 2025. CourtListener records its nature of suit as "Civil Rights: Americans with Disabilities - Other". That is not a product, ingredient or labeling category. A second docket, Silvia Garcia v. Essor Group, Inc. (C.D. Cal. 2:25-cv-11610, filed 5 December 2025), lists no nature of suit on CourtListener, and Essor Group runs more than one brand, so we do not know whether it concerns Boka. A lawsuit is a claim, not a verdict, and we found no court ruling about Boka toothpaste itself as of 25 September 2026. Several websites describe a "Boka toothpaste lawsuit" in detail; the ones we found were attorney marketing pages rather than court records, so we did not use them.
What this review actually concludes
A trademark in use since 2015, a named parent company, national retail distribution, a full ingredient list, a published particle size, and a paste that produced measurable remineralization in a 2025 lab study.
Boka says the nHA percentage is proprietary; researchers listed it as not disclosed; and in 2025 the NAD and NARB recommended Essor drop its remineralize, fortify and whitening claims, which Essor said it would do.
Refunds cover unused product only, a processed subscription order is still charged, and the independent complaint record centers on subscriptions and service.
What Boka does genuinely well
A review built on documents owes the brand the documents in its favor, and Boka has several. It publishes its full ingredient list in plain text. It publishes a particle size in nanometers, with length and width, which most brands in this category never do. It answers the percentage question openly in its help center instead of ignoring it, even if the answer is no. Its regular pastes are fluoride-free, SLS-free and paraben-free exactly as stated. Its Sensitive paste goes through the FDA's drug-listing route and declares its active at a stated strength.
Boka is also one of the few nano-hydroxyapatite brands that an independent research group has tested by name, and in that test it performed in the same statistical range as most other pastes, fluoride products included. It has national retail distribution, so you can buy a single tube in a store before committing to anything online. It has held its trademark since 2015 and is backed by a known parent company. It names an advisory committee. And when the advertising reviewers ruled against its claims, the company said it would comply, which is how that system is supposed to work.
None of this cancels Parts 4, 6 and 10, and those parts do not cancel this. Both are the record.
Who it suitsWho Boka suits, and who should skip it
Boka makes sense if
You want a fluoride-free toothpaste and have decided that with your dentist. You want nano-hydroxyapatite rather than micro-sized hydroxyapatite and value a stated particle size. You want a paste you can buy in regular stores rather than only online. You like the flavor range, including a mint-free option. Or you want a potassium-nitrate sensitivity paste without fluoride, which the Sensitive formula provides.
Consider something else if
You want to know the nano-hydroxyapatite percentage before you buy, because Boka will not tell you. You want a paste backed by the ADA Seal, which Boka does not carry. Your dentist has recommended fluoride for your caries risk, in which case a fluoride-free paste works against that advice. Or you dislike subscriptions and one-way refund terms; in that case buy single tubes in a store.
And one point regardless of brand: if you have active decay, pain or rapidly worsening sensitivity, no toothpaste choice replaces a dental visit.
Where we fitWhere a nano-hydroxyapatite gum fits next to Boka
We make a gum, so weigh this section accordingly. Minvelle is a chewing gum, meant to sit alongside your paste. It is a xylitol-sweetened chewing gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, which is 0.30% by weight, printed on the box. One piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, usually after a meal or coffee when brushing is not practical. Its particle specification, supplied by the manufacturer of the mineral, is rods of 200 nm by 20 to 50 nm. A batch certificate is published, so the lab-tested numbers can be checked.
What it does not have: a clinical trial of its own. We have never run one, and we do not claim one. It contains egg. And it is an add-on between brushings. If you use Boka, keep brushing with it twice a day; the gum just covers a different part of the day. Our comparison of hydroxyapatite paste vs gum explains how the two formats divide the work.
Nano-hydroxyapatite (nHA, n-Ha): An engineered form of the calcium-phosphate crystal that makes up most of enamel, made at nano-scale particle sizes. Research treats particle size and amount as the key variables, which is why disclosure of both matters.
Concentration: How much of an ingredient is in a product, usually given as a percentage by weight for toothpaste or milligrams per piece for gum. Boka does not publish its nHA concentration.
Nanorod: A rod-shaped nanoparticle. Boka describes its particles as nanorods 20 to 80 nm long and 10 to 15 nm wide.
In vitro: Done in a laboratory rather than in living people. The 2025 Boka study used bovine enamel blocks in vitro.
Surface microhardness (SMH): A lab measurement of how hard an enamel surface is. An increase after treatment is used as a stand-in for remineralization.
NAD and NARB: The National Advertising Division and the National Advertising Review Board, the advertising self-regulation bodies of BBB National Programs. They review whether ad claims are supported and issue recommendations.
OTC monograph drug: An over-the-counter drug sold under FDA rules that set allowed actives and strengths for a category. Boka Sensitive is listed this way because of its potassium nitrate.
RDA: Relative dentin abrasivity, a standard measure of how abrasive a toothpaste is. Boka does not publish one.
Putative class action: A lawsuit filed on behalf of a group that a court has not yet certified as a class.
The things people actually ask
Is Boka toothpaste legit?
Boka is a real, widely sold US toothpaste brand. The BOKA trademark has been registered since 2016, with a first use in commerce dated August 19, 2015, and it is owned by Boka, LLC, which is now part of Essor Group, Inc. The paste is fluoride-free and contains nano-hydroxyapatite. Three documented points sit next to that: Boka says it cannot share the percentage of nano-hydroxyapatite in its paste for proprietary reasons; in 2025 the advertising review bodies of BBB National Programs recommended that Essor stop claims that Boka toothpaste remineralizes or fortifies teeth, plus certain whitening and mouthwash claims, and Essor said it would comply; and the refund policy covers unused product only. Weigh those together.
How much nano-hydroxyapatite is in Boka toothpaste?
Boka does not publish it. Its own help center says the company is "unable to share the exact % of nHA in our products" for proprietary purposes. A 2025 laboratory study that tested Boka alongside other pastes listed it as "concentration not disclosed". What Boka does publish is particle size: nanorods 20 to 80 nm long, typically 50 to 60 nm, and 10 to 15 nm wide.
Is Boka toothpaste fluoride-free?
Yes. Every Boka toothpaste checked for this review is fluoride-free, and the Ela Mint product page states "Fluoride-free, SLS-free, Paraben-free." The Sensitive paste is also fluoride-free but adds 5% potassium nitrate as an over-the-counter drug active.
Is Boka ADA-accepted or FDA-approved?
No, by Boka's own account. Its help center states that "Boka toothpaste is not FDA or ADA-approved". Cosmetic toothpastes without a drug active are not approved by the FDA in the first place, so the useful part of that answer is the ADA side: Boka does not carry the ADA Seal. One Boka paste, the Sensitive formula with potassium nitrate, is listed in the FDA's drug directory as an over-the-counter monograph drug.
Who owns Boka?
The trademark owner of record is Boka, LLC, a Minnesota LLC per the USPTO. Boka is part of Essor Group, Inc., a Chicago consumer-goods company formed in September 2024 by the merger of Branded and Heyday, and two 2025 BBB National Programs decisions name Essor Group, Inc. as the company behind Boka products. Trade press identifies James Hagen as co-founder and CEO; the interviews describe a finance and dental-accessories background, and no source we found describes him as a dentist.
What did the NAD and NARB decide about Boka?
After a challenge by Procter and Gamble, the National Advertising Division (case #7412) found Essor had a reasonable basis to say Boka toothpaste is made with nano-hydroxyapatite, but recommended Essor discontinue claims that it remineralizes or fortifies teeth, whitening claims, and prebiotic mouthwash claims. Essor appealed. In July 2025 the National Advertising Review Board affirmed, writing that "neither the Food & Drug Administration nor the American Dental Association has concluded that n-HA remineralizes teeth." Essor said it would comply.
Can I return Boka toothpaste if I don't like it?
Only if it is unused. Boka's refund policy offers a full product-cost refund, less shipping costs, within 30 days of purchase, but the item "must be unused and in the same condition that you received it" and in its original packaging. We found no satisfaction-guarantee language on Boka's own site. Guarantee wording you may see on marketplace listings comes from those sellers, not from Boka's policy.
How much does Boka toothpaste cost?
On boka.com, checked for this review: Ela Mint is $11.62 for a 113 g tube, or $9.88 with the 15% subscribe-and-save discount. The 2-pack is $21.99 and the 3-pack $31.99. The Sensitive paste is $13.98. Standard shipping is free in the contiguous US over $34.99; below that it is $5.99.
What is the difference between Boka and Sensodyne?
They are different product types. Boka's regular pastes are fluoride-free cosmetic toothpastes built on nano-hydroxyapatite. Sensodyne's US range, per our label check, is made up of OTC drug toothpastes built on fluoride plus a desensitizing active, and none of its leaflets lists hydroxyapatite. The closest overlap is Boka Sensitive, which uses 5% potassium nitrate, the same active and strength as Sensodyne's potassium-nitrate lines, but without fluoride and with nano-hydroxyapatite as an inactive ingredient.
Is there a lawsuit against Boka?
A federal docket names Essor Group, Inc., the company that operates Boka: Herrera v. Essor Group, Inc., S.D.N.Y. case 1:25-cv-04247, filed 21 May 2025. CourtListener records its nature of suit as "Civil Rights: Americans with Disabilities - Other", not a product or labeling claim. We found no court ruling about Boka toothpaste itself as of 25 September 2026. Articles online that describe a "Boka toothpaste lawsuit" in detail are mostly attorney marketing pages, not court records, and we did not use them.
Does Boka have heavy metals?
Boka's help center says trace amounts of heavy metals "can be present at low levels that are not harmful to health" and that Boka requires its toothpaste to meet FDA guidelines, confirmed by third-party testing, with raw materials tested to be within California Proposition 65 limits. Independent lab results about Boka circulate online; we did not verify the original reports, so we quote only Boka's own statement here.
Is Minvelle a replacement for Boka?
No. Minvelle is a nano-hydroxyapatite chewing gum, one piece a day chewed for at least 20 minutes between brushings. It does not replace brushing. If you like Boka's paste, keep brushing with it; the gum is an add-on for the hours after meals and coffee, with the dose, 5.7 mg per piece, printed on the box.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, including before switching from a fluoride toothpaste. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.
Facts checked on 25 September 2026 from the sources below; if Boka changes its pages, tell us and we will update.
- USPTO TSDR, BOKA, serial 86534719, registration 4965811: owner Boka, LLC (Minnesota), filed February 13, 2015, first use August 19, 2015, registered May 24, 2016, renewal recorded July 16, 2026
- BBB National Programs, NAD decision on Essor Group (case #7412), 2025: Boka nano-hydroxyapatite claim supported; remineralize, fortify, whitening and prebiotic claims recommended discontinued
- BBB National Programs, NARB decision on Essor Group, July 2025: NAD affirmed; quotations above; Essor states it will comply
- PubMed, PMID 40744295: Amaechi BT et al., in-vitro evaluation of nanohydroxyapatite toothpastes on enamel caries lesions, Journal of Dentistry 2025; Boka listed as concentration not disclosed
- Boka help center: "What is the percentage of Nano-Hydroxyapatite?", the proprietary-percentage statement quoted above
- Boka help center: "What is the shape of the Nano-Hydroxyapatite?", the nanorod particle-size statement quoted above
- Boka help center: "Is this FDA or ADA approved?", the not FDA or ADA-approved statement
- Boka help center: "Do Boka products contain heavy metals?", the heavy-metals statement
- DailyMed (NLM): Boka Sensitive Drug Facts label, potassium nitrate 5%, hydroxyapatite (nano) as inactive ingredient
- openFDA NDC directory: Boka Sensitive, OTC monograph drug M022, NDC 87161-444, labeler Karaka LLC, marketing start October 9, 2025
- Better Business Bureau profile, Boka, LLC, Chicago: rating D+, not accredited, complaint and review counts as displayed
- Trustpilot profile for boka.com: rating, review count, star distribution and reviewer quotes above, as displayed 25 September 2026
- CourtListener docket: Herrera v. Essor Group, Inc., S.D.N.Y. 1:25-cv-04247, nature of suit as recorded
- DentistryIQ interview with James Hagen, CEO and co-founder of Boka: background and headquarters
- PR Newswire, Boka probiotic toothpaste launch release: founding year, retail channels, probiotic strain
- WWD: Branded acquires Heyday and forms Essor, trade-press report of the 2024 merger
- Boka's own store pages (not linked): Ela Mint product page and product description, Sensitive product page, catalogue, prices, refund policy, shipping policy and FAQ, all as checked 25 September 2026 on boka.com
- Minvelle: Does Sensodyne have hydroxyapatite? 26 US labels checked, August 2026
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Documents over adjectives. This review set out to answer the most searched question about a well-known nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste without adding a single characterization of our own. The record turned out to be more favorable in some places and more pointed in others than most review pages suggest. Boka is an established brand with real distribution, a published particle size and one independent lab test to its name. It also withholds the one number a buyer would most like to compare, lost an advertising challenge over its remineralize and whitening claims in 2025, and offers refunds on unused product only. Boka could change the most important line in this article in an afternoon: publish the percentage. We would gladly update the page if it does.
Keep your paste. Add the gum with the dose on the box.
Minvelle is a xylitol gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, printed on the box, with a published batch certificate. One piece after coffee or a meal, chewed for at least 20 minutes, 18 pieces per box. It complements brushing and never replaces it.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks, €15.00 per box, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes · free shipping from €29 · code valid on orders from €29
Looking for the gum itself? Nano hydroxyapatite gum, 5.7 mg per piece: dose printed on the box, 18 pieces, one a day, chew for at least 20 minutes.