Fygg toothpaste review 2026: 3.1% or 20%, study, varnish
Fygg is a fluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste from a Portland, Oregon company that trades as Feed Your Good Guys, developed by a dentist who sold his practice in 2019 and his daughter. It has an unusual claim to attention: in a 2025 laboratory study of eight toothpastes, it posted the highest remineralization score. It also has an unusual source of confusion. The study lists it as "20% nanoXIM", while Fygg's own FAQ says the tube holds 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite. This review sorts out which number means what, then answers the other things people search for: does it work, who paid for the study, what is in it, the varnish, prices, refunds, reviews, and where to buy it in the UK, Canada and Australia. Every finding carries its source and the date we checked it.
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 2026-09-25 · 25 min read
Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum with nano-hydroxyapatite, which is a different kind of product from a toothpaste but close enough that you should know who is writing. That is why every critical statement about Fygg below is either the company's own published text quoted verbatim, a public record you can query yourself, or a directly observed fact about its live pages, with the date we observed it.
A percentage of what, exactly?
Fygg's own pages show 3.1%, 15.5% and 20%, and each describes something different. Fygg does the arithmetic in its FAQ, which is more than most brands do. Ours is simpler to read: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box, one piece a day between brushings, chewed for at least 20 minutes.
Read the Minvelle formula30-day refund on unopened boxes
Fygg is a real US toothpaste brand, run by Oral Microbiome Solutions LLC of Portland, Oregon, and developed by Dr. Mark Burhenne, a dentist with an active California license. It publishes more numbers than most: 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite in the tube, a named supplier, a median particle size of 27.6 by 15.4 nm, an RDA of 34.3 and a pH of 6.5.
Four things to know before you pay. The study lists Fygg as "20% nanoXIM"; Fygg's FAQ puts the final in-tube figure at 3.1%, because 20% is the share of the raw material added, not the hydroxyapatite content. Fygg scored highest in that 2025 lab study on bovine enamel, and Fygg's parent company funded it, which Fygg itself discloses. There is no full ingredient list on fygg.com. And we found no lawsuit, no FDA enforcement record and no BBB listing; Trustpilot shows just two reviews, both one star.
If you are comparing hydroxyapatite products, the dose is the number to ask every brand for, and the Fygg case shows why the unit matters as much as the number. Minvelle is a chewing gum you use between brushings, not a replacement for brushing, and it publishes the weight: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box. One piece a day, 18 pieces per box, chewed for at least 20 minutes.
Fygg toothpaste and Minvelle, side by side
| What's checked | Fygg toothpaste (Mild Mint, 4 oz) | Minvelle gum |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Toothpaste in a 4 oz tube; 0.7 oz travel tubes | Chewing gum, 18 pieces per box |
| Hydroxyapatite source | nanoXIM CarePaste from Fluidinova, Portugal (named on the Science page) | Nano-hydroxyapatite, supplier-stated specification |
| Stated amount | 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite per tube (FAQ and home page); the 2025 study labels it "20% nanoXIM" | 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece (0.30% by weight), printed on the box |
| Particle stated | Rod-shaped, median 27.6 nm long and 15.4 nm wide, uncoated | Rod-shaped, 200 nm x 20 to 50 nm (supplier-stated) |
| RDA and pH | RDA 34.3, pH 6.5 (brand-stated, lab not named) | Not applicable (not a toothpaste) |
| Full ingredient list on the brand site | Not published; four ingredients named in product copy | Published on the transparency page |
| Fluoride | None | None |
| Price | $14 per tube, $39 for three; $11.90 on subscription | €24.99 per box |
| Returns | 30 days to request a return or exchange; bulk and resale orders excluded | 30 days on unopened boxes |
| Study on the product itself | One in vitro study on bovine enamel, funded by the maker (PMID 40744295) | No clinical trial on the gum; batch certificate published |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Fygg data from fygg.com as checked on 25 September 2026; the two products do different jobs, a toothpaste for brushing and a gum for between brushings.
Part 1Which Fygg? The name, the site and the company
Start with the name, because it is not a word. Fygg is an acronym for Feed Your Good Guys, and the brand says so on its About Us page:
"We all chose the name Fygg because we dreamt of starting a movement. 'Feed Your Good Guys' is a call to action for all of us to think differently about our mouths and oral health."
The "good guys" are the helpful bacteria in the mouth, and the whole brand is built around that idea: a toothpaste meant to remineralize enamel while leaving the oral microbiome alone, or in the brand's word, nourishing it. That positioning explains most of what is and is not in the formula, which we cover in Part 6.
The store is fygg.com, a live Shopify shop. Its product feed listed 19 items on 25 September 2026: toothpastes, a varnish, floss, a tongue scraper, mints and a plush toy. The domain itself is older than the brand. Its registry record shows a registration date of August 26, 2003, while the brand's own story places its start after 2019. Short four-letter domains often change hands, and the registry record does not show ownership history, so we read this as a domain the company acquired, not as a sign of anything. The site's products, founder story and store handle all match the brand.
There is a second domain, fyggoralcare.com, registered on December 27, 2022 and hosted on the same kind of name servers as fygg.com. It does not serve a website, but it has live email records, so it works as an email domain. That matters for one small detail. The site's pages show the support address as support@fygg.com, but the Terms of Service still say: "Questions about the Terms of Service should be sent to us at support@fyggoralcare.com." And on the refund policy page, the visible text reads support@fygg.com while the underlying email link points to support@fyggoralcare.com. Both addresses belong to the company. If an email bounces from one, try the other.
The company behind the store
The legal entity is named in Fygg's privacy policy: "Oral Microbiome Solutions LLC, 11370 S Riverside Dr, Portland OR 97219, United States." The Terms of Service add the trading name: "This website is operated by Feed Your Good Guys." Every product in the store feed lists Feed Your Good Guys as the vendor, and the footer reads "© 2026 Feed Your Good Guys".
We tried to pull the company's filing from the Oregon Secretary of State business registry, but its search blocked every automated request on 25 September 2026. So we can confirm the entity name and address from the brand's own policy and, as Part 7 shows, from a scientific paper, but not its registry standing. We also could not run a trademark search for FYGG: the USPTO's search tools did not return results to our checks. That is a limit of our tools, not evidence that no mark exists.
Two new flavours land in December
Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.
Who makes Fygg: a dentist and his daughter
Fygg's About Us page presents the brand as the work of Dr. Mark Burhenne, DDS, and his daughter Catharine Burhenne. Dr. Burhenne's side of the story, in his words:
"My entire career, I've been frustrated with the toothpaste options on the market. I was given the nickname 'Mr. Consumer Reports' in dental school for my obsession with researching everything from toothpaste to stereos to car seat safety. Even hydroxyapatite toothpaste had ingredients I did not stand behind, like emulsifiers, surfactants, and essential oils. After selling my private practice in 2019 after 40 years of dentistry, I started to see what impact I could make on the toothpaste industry."
He adds that he asked manufacturers to make "something remineralizing but also oral microbiome-nourishing" and that "no one wanted to do it. They said it was impossible." Each toothpaste page carries the line "Developed by functional dentist Dr. Mark Burhenne using the highest quality, cleanest ingredients available."
Unlike some founder stories in this category, this one can be checked. The federal NPPES registry, the US government's database of licensed health providers, lists Dr. Mark Burhenne under NPI 1295858546 as a dentist with an active status, California license 35683, at an address in Sunnyvale, California. That is a real, licensed dentist, as the brand says.
Catharine Burhenne's part of the page is about children and the microbiome:
"As a new mom of two, and with a dad for a dentist, I'm acutely aware of the lack of dental education for new parents and what I call, 'the nightly brushing battle.' Knowing what I knew from building Ask the Dentist, I was frustrated that there weren't better options for my babies, even the toothpaste that my dad recommended, he acknowledged, was 'a compromise.'"
She goes on to describe her daughter's hospital stay and months of antibiotics as the reason she "threw myself into the research for microbiome health." The page does not give her a formal title, so we do not assign one. The two voices together explain the product choices: a dentist who did not want surfactants or essential oils in his paste, and a parent looking for something she was comfortable giving small children, which also explains the flavors, from Chocolate Swirl to Vanilla Vibes.
Part 3The Fygg range: toothpastes, NOx and a varnish
Every toothpaste and varnish in the current Fygg catalog contains nano-hydroxyapatite, and none contains fluoride. There is no separate fluoride line. The core range, as listed on 25 September 2026:
| Product | Format | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild Mint (flagship) | 4 oz tube | $14.00, 3-pack $39.00 | The product most searches mean by "Fygg toothpaste" |
| Chocolate Swirl | 4 oz tube | $14.00, 3-pack $39.00 | Same line, different flavor |
| Coconut Cream | 4 oz tube | $14.00, 3-pack $39.00 | Same line |
| Vanilla Vibes | 4 oz tube | $14.00, 3-pack $39.00 | Same line |
| Travel tubes (all four flavors) | 0.7 oz tube | $6.00 each, 4-pack $15.00 | One of each flavor in the 4-pack |
| NOx toothpaste, Wild Mint | 4 oz tube | $19.00 | "Nitric Oxide Functional Toothpaste with Nano-Hydroxyapatite"; a different formula |
| Remineralizing Varnish, Pro Strength | Varnish | $117.90 | Mild Mint or Vanilla; see Part 8 |
From the fygg.com product feed, 25 September 2026. Prices in US dollars.
Two things in that list are easy to mix up. The NOx toothpaste is sold as a nitric-oxide "functional" toothpaste with nano-hydroxyapatite. It is a separate formula with its own positioning, at a higher price, and the study in Part 7 did not test it. And the varnish is a different category of product altogether, which we treat separately because "fygg varnish" is its own search.
The rest of the store is supporting cast: propolis silk floss at $7.95, a stainless steel tongue scraper from $7.95, nitric-oxide functional mints at $27.95 for 30, an oral probiotic breath mint made with a partner brand called Bristle at $30.00, a plush toy called Tusk at $19.99, and bundles such as a Family Bundle of four tubes at $54.00 and a Remineralization Routine at $119.00. This review is about the toothpastes and the varnish, the products where Fygg states a nano-hydroxyapatite content.
Part 4Fygg hydroxyapatite percentage: 3.1%, 15.5% or 20%?
This is the question behind the search "fygg hydroxyapatite percentage", and it deserves a careful answer, because three different numbers circulate and each one is correct about something. Here they are, with the page each comes from.
| Where | What it says | What the number describes |
|---|---|---|
| Fygg FAQ | "Fygg uses a 15.5% nano-hydroxyapatite made by Fluidinova in Europe called NanoXIM. We add 20% of this 15.5% resulting in 3.1% per toothpaste tube." | 15.5% = hydroxyapatite in the raw material; 20% = share of raw material in the toothpaste; 3.1% = hydroxyapatite in the finished tube |
| Fygg home page | "Formulated with 3.1% active nano-hydroxyapatite from nanoXIM, plus prebiotics..." | The finished toothpaste |
| Fygg Science page | "...a synthetic nanohydroxyapatite delivered as a 20% pre-aqueous solution and added directly to our toothpaste at the time of production." | Describes the raw material as 20% |
| Journal of Dentistry study, 2025 | "Fygg (20% nanoXIM)" | Not defined in the study |
| Fygg References page | "...a toothpaste containing 6.5% nanoXIM.CarePaste, i.e. 1% nHA" | Shows the convention: a share of the raw paste is not the share of hydroxyapatite |
All Fygg pages checked 25 September 2026. The study is PMID 40744295.
The final figure: 3.1%
Fygg's FAQ is the only page that does the arithmetic from start to finish, and it is internally consistent: 20% of a 15.5% raw material is 3.1%. The home page uses the same 3.1%. So the answer to "what percentage of hydroxyapatite is in Fygg toothpaste" is 3.1%, according to Fygg. The FAQ also explains the reasoning behind the level: "The percentage of nano-HAp to use depends on the source of nano-HAp... For the source that we use, nanoXIM, case studies show 1-3% of nanoXIM is optimal for safety, sensitivity, remineralization, and whitening." That is the brand's statement; we did not trace the case studies it refers to.
What "20% nanoXIM" in the study means
The study that made Fygg well known lists it as "Fygg (20% nanoXIM)". Some of our own earlier reviews repeat that label as the study wrote it, including our Boka review and RiseWell review. Read precisely, the two statements fit together: the study lists Fygg as 20% nanoXIM; Fygg's FAQ puts the final in-tube figure at 3.1%. On the FAQ's own numbers, 20% is how much nanoXIM raw material goes into the toothpaste, not how much hydroxyapatite the toothpaste contains.
Fygg's References page supports that reading. It describes third-party studies the same way: one used "a toothpaste containing 6.5% nanoXIM.CarePaste, i.e. 1% nHA", and another a toothpaste with 15% nanoXIM.CarePaste, which the page converts to a hydroxyapatite figure printed as "2,325%", that is about 2.3% with a comma as the decimal mark. In that convention, a percentage of nanoXIM is a percentage of the raw paste. Converted the same way, 20% nanoXIM paste is 3.1% hydroxyapatite.
Why this matters for readers of the study: the same table lists Dr. Jen as "10% nanoHAP" and Risewell Regular as "10% microHAP", and those figures are the brands' stated percentages of hydroxyapatite in the finished product, as our Dr. Jen review documents. Side by side in one table, "20%" next to "10%" invites the reading that Fygg has twice as much hydroxyapatite. By Fygg's own figures it has about a third as much as a 10% paste. The labels are not in the same unit.
The one number Fygg's pages disagree on
There is a remaining inconsistency, and it sits on Fygg's side. The FAQ says the raw material is 15.5% nano-hydroxyapatite. The Science page describes the same raw material, nanoXIM CarePaste, as "a 20% pre-aqueous solution". Those cannot both describe the hydroxyapatite content of the same input. It may be loose wording on one page; the Science page elsewhere says "20% nanoXIM is part of the reason" for the study result, which fits the 20%-of-the-formula reading. We could not settle it from the brand's pages, and we did not obtain the supplier's datasheet. The final figure is not affected either way on the FAQ's math, but a brand this careful with numbers would do well to use one raw-material figure on every page.
Percentage is not dose
A percentage tells you the share of the paste that is hydroxyapatite. What reaches your teeth depends on how much paste you use, and nobody measures that at the sink. Fygg does not state a milligram figure per brush, which is normal for toothpaste. For comparison, our gum is 0.30% nano-hydroxyapatite by weight, a lower percentage than Fygg's 3.1%, and that comparison tells you very little, because the gum is chewed for 20 minutes between brushings while a toothpaste sits on your teeth for two minutes of brushing. That is why we print milligrams per piece. Across brands, the fair rule is to compare like with like: final percentage with final percentage, and never a raw-material figure against a finished-product one.
Part 5Particle size: where Fygg is unusually specific
Particle size is the other number people ask about, and on this Fygg gives more than almost any brand we have reviewed. From the Science page:
"Fygg uses nanoXIM·CarePaste from Fluidinova (Maia, Portugal), a synthetic nanohydroxyapatite delivered as a 20% pre-aqueous solution and added directly to our toothpaste at the time of production. The particles are rod-shaped, with a median length of 27.6 nm and width of 15.4 nm, well below the 1.3 µm adhesion threshold identified in the literature. They are uncoated, not surface-modified, and contain no needle-shaped structures."
That paragraph names the supplier, the supplier's city, the product, the particle shape, two median dimensions, and the surface treatment. The same page says nanoXIM particles are "typically below 50 nm". For context, in our NOBS review the brand states a rod shape but no nanometer size, and our Boka review records nanorods of 20 to 80 nm. Fygg's disclosure is the most specific of the three.
A note on what we did not use. The Science page also shows figures of 4 nm and 6 nm in an animated diagram, and we could not tell from the page what those measure. We rely only on the clearly stated median dimensions above. Whether a smaller particle is better is a separate debate that the research has not settled; the point here is that Fygg tells you what it uses, which lets you or your dentist judge.
Part 6Fygg ingredients: what is named and what is not
Here Fygg is less open than on its numbers. There is no full ingredient list on fygg.com. We checked all four toothpaste product pages, the varnish page, the FAQ, the Science page and the full sitemap on 25 September 2026. There is no ingredients page and no ingredient-panel image. What we could collect comes from product copy and FAQ answers:
- Named in product copy: the Mild Mint page says the paste is "formulated with oral microbiome nourishing ingredients, including L-arginine, xylitol, chicory root and nano-hydroxyapatite."
- Excluded, per the brand: the home page says "No SLS and no essential oils", and the FAQ describes the product as "An oral microbiome-supportive remineralizing toothpaste without surfactants, emulsifiers, fluoride, and essential oils." Preservatives and foaming agents are also described as left out.
- Diet claims: the FAQ says "all our offerings are vegan and gluten-free." That is the brand's statement; we saw no certification mark cited for it.
- Packaging: the FAQ says "all Fygg products and packaging are BPA, PFAS, and Phthalate-free."
Read as a formula, what is named tells you the design idea. L-arginine is an amino acid that some oral bacteria use; xylitol is a sugar alcohol that the common cavity bacterium Streptococcus mutans cannot ferment well; chicory root is a source of inulin, a fiber often described as a prebiotic. Together with nano-hydroxyapatite, that is the "feed your good guys" concept in four ingredients. No abrasive is named anywhere we looked, which fits the brand's low stated RDA, but without the full list we cannot say what does the cleaning, what gives the texture, or what carries the flavor in Chocolate Swirl.
We say this plainly because it is the most practical gap for a buyer with an allergy or a strict ingredient rule. If that is you, email the brand for the full label, or read the ingredient panel on the physical tube before you use it. Several brands in our fluoride-free toothpaste ranking publish their full list online, and it would suit a brand this open about its science to do the same.
RDA 34.3 and pH 6.5
The FAQ gives two lab values: "Fygg has an RDA of 34.3 and pH of 6.5, as determined through third-party testing." RDA, relative dentin abrasivity, is a lab score for how abrasive a toothpaste is. For context that Fygg does not give, the ADA's upper limit for toothpaste is 250, so 34.3 is at the gentle end. A pH of 6.5 is close to neutral. The testing lab is not named and no report is linked, so both are brand-stated figures. Publishing them at all is uncommon: many brands give neither.
Part 7Does Fygg toothpaste work? The study, read in full
Fygg's main evidence is one peer-reviewed laboratory study that compared eight toothpastes, including four hydroxyapatite brands. We resolved it in PubMed and read the record, including the funding statement.
| What the paper says | Detail |
|---|---|
| Citation | Amaechi BT, Tan AI, Noureldin AAK, Kanthaiah K, Holladay E, Obiefuna AC, Vijayaraghavan M. "In vitro evaluation of the ability of nanohydroxyapatite toothpastes to enhance remineralization of enamel caries lesion." Journal of Dentistry 2025;161:106006. PMID 40744295 |
| Where | University of Texas Health San Antonio (corresponding author), with co-authors at Texas A&M, the University of Maryland Global Campus and Texas Tech |
| What was tested | 160 bovine (cow) enamel blocks with early caries-like lesions, 20 per product: Crest Cavity Protection (1,100 ppm fluoride), ClinPro 5000 (5,000 ppm fluoride), Fygg (20% nanoXIM), Boka (nanoXIM, concentration not disclosed), Dr. Jen (10% nanoHAP), Risewell Regular (10% microHAP), Risewell PRO (5% nanoXIM plus microHAP), Just-Ingredients Powder (15% microHAP) |
| How | 14 days of pH cycling: a daily two-minute acid challenge, three two-minute toothpaste treatments a day, storage in artificial saliva |
| Measured | Change in surface microhardness, a laboratory stand-in for remineralization |
| Result | Every product produced a significant increase (p<.001). Fygg 39.81% (plus or minus 24.07; 95% CI 26.99 to 52.64) was significantly higher than Boka 19.5%, Dr. Jen 21.68% and Risewell Regular 21.80%, and not significantly different from the other products |
| Funding | "Bennett T. Amaechi reports financial support was provided by Oral Microbiome Solutions, LLC." The other authors declare no competing interests |
Source: PubMed 40744295, checked 25 September 2026. A corrigendum was published in February 2026 (PMID 41457006).
Credit where it is due. This is a real, peer-reviewed paper from a university team that tested the finished product by name, alongside competitors and two fluoride pastes, which is more than most toothpaste brands can show. Fygg's mean result was the highest of the eight.
Now the limits, and several of them Fygg states itself:
- It is a lab study, not a human trial. Fygg's Science page says so directly: "All results cited on this page are from an in vitro study using bovine enamel and a 14-day pH-cycling protocol. In vitro results may not directly predict clinical outcomes. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease."
- It was funded by Fygg's maker. Oral Microbiome Solutions, LLC is the company named in Fygg's privacy policy. So the funder's product came out on top. That does not by itself change the measurements, but it belongs in the same sentence as the result.
- "Highest" is not "better than everything". Fygg was significantly ahead of three products. Against the other four, including both fluoride pastes and Risewell PRO, the difference was not statistically significant.
- The spread was wide. Fygg's standard deviation, 24.07, was larger than any other product's reported in the abstract, and its confidence interval ran from about 27% to 53%. A high average with a wide spread is a result to replicate, not to settle on.
- There is a correction. The Journal of Dentistry published a corrigendum to the paper in February 2026 (PMID 41457006). Fygg's Science page acknowledges it. The correction has no abstract in PubMed and we could not read its text, so we make no assumption about what it changes.
How Fygg handles the funding
This is the part of the study story that reflects well on the brand. Fygg's Science page carries a section headed Transparency and Disclosures that says: "This study was designed and conducted at the University of Texas Health San Antonio. Funding support was provided by Oral Microbiome Solutions, LLC, as disclosed in the published paper." Most brands that cite a favorable study do not name the funding on their own site. Fygg does, next to the result.
So, does Fygg toothpaste work? The fair answer: in one maker-funded laboratory study, it increased enamel microhardness more on average than any of seven other toothpastes, significantly more than three of them, in a bovine enamel model. That is a promising lab result for its formula. It is not a human trial. For the wider research on hydroxyapatite toothpaste, our review of the hydroxyapatite toothpaste studies goes through it study by study, nano-hydroxyapatite vs fluoride covers the bigger comparison, and why dentists don't recommend hydroxyapatite explains why many dentists still default to fluoride.
Fygg and Minvelle, side by side
| Fact | Fygg toothpaste (fygg.com, 25 Sep 2026) | Minvelle |
|---|---|---|
| Nano-hydroxyapatite per tube or piece | 3.1% per tube per the FAQ (20% nanoXIM raw paste at 15.5%); no mg per brush | 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box |
| Active and fluoride | Nano-hydroxyapatite plus L-arginine, xylitol and chicory root; fluoride-free | Nano-hydroxyapatite plus 817 mg xylitol per piece; fluoride-free |
| What is published | Final percentage, supplier, particle size 27.6 x 15.4 nm, RDA 34.3, pH 6.5, one maker-funded lab study with the funding disclosed; no full ingredient list | Dose, particle size and batch certificate |
| Price, pack and directions | $14 for a 4 oz tube, used for brushing | €24.99 for 18 pieces, 1 piece a day, at least 20 minutes |
Minvelle is for people who want a written per-piece dose to chew between brushings; if you want a fluoride-free paste that states its final percentage, its particle size and its RDA for your daily brushing, Fygg is the easier buy.
Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.
Part 8Fygg varnish: what it is and how strong
The search "fygg varnish" is about a different product: the "Nano-Hydroxyapatite Remineralizing Varnish, Pro Strength", $117.90, in Mild Mint or Vanilla. The product page describes it this way: "Fygg Varnish delivers the same remineralization treatment your dentist uses in-office, now available... at the highest concentration available in any at-home product." Those are the brand's words; we did not survey every at-home product to test the "highest" claim. It is sold directly to consumers on the store, with no wording that restricts it to dental practices, and a separate wholesale channel exists for practices.
On strength, the FAQ gives the numbers:
"The varnish has nearly 3x the amount of hydroxyapatite in it, which supports effective cavity arrest and reversal in a short amount of time. Fygg varnish contains 57.3% nanoXIM CarePaste, a water-based solution with 15.5% nano-HAp, bringing the active nano-HAp concentration to 8.6%."
A second FAQ answer gives the same figures as "15.5% nanoXIM at 57.34% concentration (8.6% nano-HAP)". Two notes from the arithmetic. 8.6% against the toothpaste's 3.1% is about 2.8 times as much, which matches "nearly 3x". But 57.3% of a 15.5% raw material works out to about 8.9%, not 8.6%; 8.6% would follow from a 15% raw material. The gap is small, and we flag it only because the brand's own figures do not quite multiply out. The claim about "cavity arrest and reversal" is the brand's, and it is a treatment-style claim that you should discuss with a dentist before relying on it.
On regulation, the FAQ ties the varnish to a dental billing code: "the ADA launched a new CDA code in January 2024 for hydroxyapatite varnishes, which makes us feel hopeful that the ADA will start approving hydroxyapatite products soon." That is the brand's account; a billing code is not an approval. The varnish is a sensible product to ask your dentist about if you are already having in-office varnish treatments, because they can tell you whether a take-home version fits your case.
Part 9Fygg price, subscription and value
Prices on fygg.com, in US dollars, as checked on 25 September 2026:
| Item | One-time price | Subscription price |
|---|---|---|
| Toothpaste, one 4 oz tube (any of the four flavors) | $14.00 | $11.90 |
| Toothpaste, 3-pack | $39.00 | Not checked |
| Travel tube, 0.7 oz | $6.00 | Not offered |
| Travel 4-pack (one of each flavor) | $15.00 | Not offered |
| NOx toothpaste, Wild Mint | $19.00 | Not checked |
| Remineralizing Varnish | $117.90 | Not checked |
| Family Bundle, 4 tubes | $54.00 | Not checked |
| Remineralization Routine bundle | $119.00 | Not checked |
Subscription price from the selling plan on the Mild Mint page; other items were not checked for a subscription price.
The math. A single tube is $14, and the 3-pack brings it to $13 a tube. The subscription on a single Mild Mint tube is $11.90, about 15% off. That puts Fygg in the same range as most hydroxyapatite toothpastes we have reviewed, above drugstore fluoride pastes and below the most expensive imports. The travel tubes at $6 are a cheap way to try a flavor before committing to a full tube or a subscription, and the 4-pack at $15 lets you try all four.
One comparison matters for value. The varnish at $117.90 is priced like a treatment, not a toothpaste. If you are choosing between them, they are not substitutes: the toothpaste is the daily product, and the varnish is sold as an occasional stronger application.
Part 10The refund policy: 30 days, return or exchange
Fygg's refund policy, last updated June 3, 2025 according to the store's policy record, reads:
"We have a 30-day return policy, which means you have 30 days after receiving your item to request a return. If for any reason you are not satisfied, please contact us at support@fygg.com within 30 days of your purchase and we will do our best to make it right, either through a return or exchange. Bulk orders and orders for resale are not eligible for return or exchange."
Two small wording points. The first sentence counts 30 days from receiving the item; the second says "within 30 days of your purchase". To be safe, count from the order date. And "we will do our best to make it right, either through a return or exchange" is a commitment to resolve it, not an unconditional money-back promise. For damage, the policy asks you to "inspect your order upon reception and contact us immediately if the item is defective, damaged or if you receive the wrong item."
We found no "100% money-back guarantee" badge or similar marketing claim on the home page, product pages or FAQ, so there is no gap between the marketing tone and the policy text here. The policy is the only guarantee language, and it says what it says. The practical rule: if a tube is not for you, email support within 30 days of ordering, quote the order number, and ask whether they will do a return or an exchange. For comparison, our own policy is a 30-day refund on unopened boxes.
Part 11Fygg reviews, ratings and the ADA Seal
People search "fygg reviews" for independent opinions. Here is what the public platforms showed on 25 September 2026.
- Trustpilot: the fygg.com profile is unclaimed and lists two reviews, both one star. One, from a US reviewer dated August 12, 2026, is titled "Bad customer service. Didn't do right" and describes missing subscription items and unresolved refund or replacement requests. The other, from an Australian reviewer dated July 25, 2026, is titled "Fear-Based Marketing and No Customer Support" and describes inconsistent product messaging and slow support replies. The page also displayed a headline score that did not match two one-star reviews, so we do not quote a score. Two reviews are far too few to describe a brand's service, but the theme, support response on subscriptions, is worth knowing if you plan to subscribe.
- BBB: a search for Fygg and for Feed Your Good Guys returned no matching business. That means BBB has no file we could find, not that the company has no complaints.
- On-site reviews: fygg.com has a reviews page. We did not extract a rating from it, so we do not quote one. Treat any star figure you see as unchecked until you read it on the page yourself.
No ADA Seal, and Fygg says why
The ADA Seal of Acceptance is the American Dental Association's mark for products it has evaluated. Fygg does not have it, and its FAQ says so up front:
"While Fygg does not have the ADA seal of approval because the ADA will not approve anything without fluoride in it, there is some good news on the horizon... The truth is, many oral care ingredients, including fluoride (yes, fluoride!), lack ADA and FDA approval for certain uses, and we use them off-label."
That is the brand's explanation of the ADA's position, not ours, and it matches the pattern across this category: no nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste we have reviewed carries the Seal. What stands out is that Fygg answers the question directly instead of leaving it out.
Part 12Is Fygg safe? FDA records and court records
We checked the federal databases on 25 September 2026. The openFDA drug product directory returned no listing for a labeler named Fygg, and the openFDA enforcement database returned no recall mentioning Fygg. DailyMed, the National Library of Medicine's drug label database, returned zero results for Feed Your Good Guys. That is expected: a fluoride-free toothpaste is sold as a cosmetic, not as an over-the-counter anticavity drug, so there is no drug listing to check a recall against.
Nano-hydroxyapatite itself has been reviewed by the EU's Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety for use in oral care; our article on whether nano-hydroxyapatite is safe covers what that opinion says and the conditions attached. Fygg's own statement that its particles are "uncoated, not surface-modified, and contain no needle-shaped structures" speaks to exactly the points that opinion was concerned with, and it is useful that the brand addresses them in writing.
Is there a Fygg lawsuit?
We searched CourtListener, which indexes federal court dockets, on 25 September 2026. A search for "Feed Your Good Guys" returned zero results. A search for "Oral Microbiome Solutions" returned zero results. A broad search for the word Fygg returned 32 results, and every case name we inspected was unrelated to the toothpaste; the matches were on incidental text. We found no lawsuit naming the brand or its company. CourtListener's coverage of state courts is incomplete, so read that as "none found" rather than a certificate.
Part 13Where to buy Fygg: UK, Canada, Australia, NZ
The main channel is the brand's own store at fygg.com. There is also a wholesale sign-up for dental practices and retailers. For buyers outside the US, which is where searches like "fygg toothpaste uk" and "fygg toothpaste canada" come from, Fygg keeps an international stockist page. As listed on 25 September 2026:
| Country | Stockist named by Fygg | How Fygg describes it |
|---|---|---|
| United Kingdom | Healf | Wellness retailer |
| Canada | Cheung's Wellness | Wellness boutique |
| Canada | Evi Beauty | Clean beauty boutique |
| Australia | One Fine Secret | Clean beauty store |
| Australia | West Supply | Health and beauty |
| Czech Republic | BioAura | |
| Iceland | Mandlan | |
| Norway | Sweet Mood | |
| Kuwait | Provin |
From fygg.com/pages/international, 25 September 2026. We list channel names only; check the retailer's own site for current stock and price.
New Zealand: no stockist is listed. If you are in New Zealand, the options are the brand's own store, if it delivers to you, or a stockist in another country if it delivers to you. We did not test international delivery from fygg.com, so check at checkout before you order.
A named list of independent retailers is useful for another reason: it tells you which non-US sellers the brand itself recognizes. If you find Fygg somewhere else, the product may be genuine, but this list is the brand's own record of its partners.
Part 14Boka vs Fygg, and the other hydroxyapatite brands
"Boka vs Fygg" is a common search, and the two are unusually easy to compare because they were tested side by side in the same study, and because we reviewed Boka the same way. For the wider field, our comparison of 11 hydroxyapatite toothpastes puts Fygg next to the other brands we have checked.
| What's checked | Fygg | Boka (from our Boka review) |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Paste in a 4 oz tube | Paste in a tube |
| Stated hydroxyapatite amount | 3.1% final, per the FAQ; the study labels it "20% nanoXIM" | Not disclosed; Boka calls the percentage proprietary; the study lists "concentration not disclosed" |
| Particle stated | Median 27.6 x 15.4 nm rods | Nanorods 20 to 80 nm |
| Result in PMID 40744295 | 39.81% remineralization | 19.5% remineralization; significantly lower than Fygg (p<.01) |
| Study funding | Funded by Fygg's maker | Same study, same funder |
| Fluoride | None | None |
Boka facts as published in our Boka toothpaste review on 25 September 2026.
On the study, Fygg is ahead, and the difference was statistically significant. Read that with the two caveats from Part 7: it is a bovine enamel model, and Fygg's maker paid for it. On disclosure, Fygg states a final percentage and Boka does not. If you want the brand that tells you more about what is in the tube, that is Fygg.
For the other names in the same study: our Dr. Jen review covers a paste that states 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and scored 21.68% in the study, and our RiseWell review covers both RiseWell products. Our NOBS review covers a tablet with a stated 5% and its own maker-funded study, Davids states a particle size but not a percentage, and our Bioniq review covers a brand using micro-sized hydroxyapatite. The best fluoride-free toothpaste ranking puts them all side by side on disclosure.
Part 15Paste, varnish or gum: where each fits
Fygg sells two ways to get nano-hydroxyapatite onto teeth: a daily paste and a stronger take-home varnish. A remineralizing gum is a third format, and it helps to be exact about where each one sits in a day.
A Fygg toothpaste is your brushing product. It is on your teeth for the two minutes you brush, twice a day, and then you spit. That is the core of any routine, and nothing else replaces it. The varnish, by the brand's description, is an occasional stronger application, the kind of thing you would discuss with a dentist.
A gum works in the time between brushings: after lunch, after coffee, on a commute, when there is no sink and no toothbrush. Minvelle is one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite in each 1.9 g piece and 817 mg of xylitol. The box states the weight of the active per piece. There is no clinical trial on our finished gum, and we say that for the same reason we credited Fygg for stating the limits of its study. What we publish is the dose, the supplier-stated particle size and a batch certificate on the transparency page.
So the honest framing is not Fygg or Minvelle. If Fygg is your toothpaste, keep brushing with it. A gum is an add-on for the part of the day a toothpaste does not reach. Our comparison of hydroxyapatite paste vs anti-cavity gum goes further into how the two fit together.
In fairnessWhat Fygg does well
A review built on documents owes the brand the documents in its favor, and Fygg has more than most. It names its supplier and the supplier's product. It publishes a median particle size in nanometers, states that the particles are uncoated and not needle-shaped, and gives an RDA and a pH. It does the percentage arithmetic in public, from raw material to finished tube, which is exactly what lets a reader see that "20% nanoXIM" and "3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite" describe the same toothpaste.
On evidence, it put its finished product into a peer-reviewed study against competitors and fluoride pastes, and then disclosed on its own site that its parent company funded the work, under a heading called Transparency and Disclosures. It states the in vitro limitation of that study in its own words. It answers the ADA Seal question directly. Its founder is a dentist whose license we could confirm in a federal registry. It names independent stockists in the UK, Canada and Australia. And we found no FDA enforcement record, no lawsuit and no BBB file.
None of that cancels the missing ingredient list, the 15.5% versus 20% wording on two pages, the funding of the one study, or the thin and negative Trustpilot record, and those do not cancel this. Both are the record.
Who it suitsWho should buy Fygg, and who should skip it
Fygg fits you if you want a fluoride-free, SLS-free paste with a stated final hydroxyapatite percentage, a stated particle size and a low stated abrasivity, and you like the microbiome-first idea behind L-arginine, xylitol and chicory root. It suits families who want flavors children accept. And it suits buyers who value a brand that put its product into a published comparison and named who paid for it.
Consider skipping it if you need a complete ingredient list before you buy, since fygg.com does not publish one. Skip it if you need an ADA Seal. If you are in New Zealand, there is no listed stockist. And if you plan to subscribe, note the two Trustpilot reviews about support response and keep your order details handy.
If fluoride is part of your plan, Fygg has no fluoride product. Many dentists recommend fluoride toothpaste, and your own dentist is the right person to decide which fits your teeth. If you are unsure about the taste, buy the $15 travel 4-pack first.
The verdictFygg toothpaste, in one paragraph
Fygg is a real, fluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste from Oral Microbiome Solutions LLC, trading as Feed Your Good Guys, developed by a licensed dentist, and it discloses more numbers than almost any brand in the category: 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite in the tube, nanoXIM from Fluidinova, median particles of 27.6 by 15.4 nm, an RDA of 34.3 and a pH of 6.5. Its study result is the strongest in the 2025 comparison, with the documented caveats: a bovine enamel lab model, funding from Fygg's own parent company (disclosed by Fygg), a wide spread in its results and a published corrigendum. The study lists Fygg as 20% nanoXIM; Fygg's FAQ puts the final in-tube figure at 3.1%, and the two are consistent once you read 20% as the share of raw material. What to weigh against it: no full ingredient list online, two raw-material figures on two pages, and a thin Trustpilot record. If you want a hydroxyapatite paste that shows its work, it is one of the most transparent to try. Start with a travel tube.
Where Minvelle fits, briefly. A gum does not replace a toothpaste, and we would not suggest swapping one for the other. Minvelle is an add-on for between brushings: one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece printed on the box and a published batch certificate. There is no clinical trial on the gum itself, and we say that plainly for the same reason we credited Fygg for stating its limits.
Facts checked on 25 September 2026 from the sources below; if Fygg changes its pages, publishes a full ingredient list, or the corrigendum turns out to change its result, tell us and we will update. Last reviewed: 2026-09-25.
Nano-hydroxyapatite: A lab-made form of the calcium-phosphate mineral that makes up tooth enamel, manufactured at controlled nano-scale particle sizes. Studies on it treat particle size and concentration as the working variables.
nanoXIM CarePaste: A nano-hydroxyapatite raw material made by Fluidinova in Portugal and supplied as a water-based paste. A percentage of nanoXIM paste in a toothpaste is not the same as the percentage of hydroxyapatite.
Final concentration: The share of the finished product that is the active ingredient. Fygg states 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite per tube.
RDA: Relative dentin abrasivity, a lab score for how abrasive a toothpaste is. The ADA's upper limit is 250. Fygg states 34.3.
In vitro: Done in a laboratory, outside a living person. The Fygg study used bovine enamel blocks and pH cycling.
Surface microhardness: How hard the enamel surface is under a lab indenter. An increase after treatment is used as a stand-in for remineralization.
Corrigendum: A formal correction a journal publishes after an article. It can be minor or substantive; its text tells you which.
Oral microbiome: The community of bacteria and other microbes living in the mouth. Fygg's name and formula are built around supporting it.
ADA Seal of Acceptance: The American Dental Association's mark for products it has evaluated. Fygg states it does not have it.
The things people actually ask
Is Fygg toothpaste good?
On the documents, Fygg is one of the more open hydroxyapatite toothpastes we have reviewed. It states a final nano-hydroxyapatite figure of 3.1% per tube, names its supplier (nanoXIM CarePaste from Fluidinova), gives a median particle size of 27.6 by 15.4 nanometers, states an RDA of 34.3 and a pH of 6.5, and discloses on its own site that its maker funded the study it cites. The limits: no full ingredient list is published on fygg.com, two of its own pages give different figures for the raw material (15.5% and 20%), and the study is a laboratory study on bovine enamel. Ask your dentist if you are unsure whether it fits your routine.
What percentage of hydroxyapatite is in Fygg toothpaste?
Fygg's FAQ says 3.1%. Its wording: "Fygg uses a 15.5% nano-hydroxyapatite made by Fluidinova in Europe called NanoXIM. We add 20% of this 15.5% resulting in 3.1% per toothpaste tube." The home page banner uses the same 3.1% figure. Fygg's Science page describes the raw material differently, as "a 20% pre-aqueous solution", so the brand's own pages give two numbers for the input material, but only one final figure: 3.1%.
Why does the study list Fygg as 20% nanoXIM?
The 2025 Journal of Dentistry study (PMID 40744295) labels the product "Fygg (20% nanoXIM)" and does not define the 20%. Fygg's FAQ says it adds 20% of the nanoXIM raw material to the toothpaste, which gives 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite in the tube. Read that way, the study lists Fygg as 20% nanoXIM and Fygg's FAQ puts the final in-tube figure at 3.1%. The 20% is not a 20% hydroxyapatite content.
Does Fygg toothpaste work?
In one laboratory study, Amaechi et al., Journal of Dentistry 2025 (PMID 40744295), every one of eight toothpastes increased enamel surface microhardness, and Fygg had the highest mean remineralization at 39.81% (plus or minus 24.07). It scored significantly higher than Boka, Dr. Jen and Risewell Regular, but not significantly higher than the other four products, which included two fluoride pastes. The study used bovine enamel blocks, not people, and was funded by Oral Microbiome Solutions, LLC, the company behind Fygg.
Who funded the Fygg study?
The paper's competing-interest statement says: "Bennett T. Amaechi reports financial support was provided by Oral Microbiome Solutions, LLC." Fygg's privacy policy names Oral Microbiome Solutions LLC of Portland, Oregon as the company behind the site. Fygg discloses the funding itself on its Science page, under a heading called Transparency and Disclosures.
What are the Fygg toothpaste ingredients?
Fygg does not publish a full ingredient list on fygg.com as of 25 September 2026. The Mild Mint product page names L-arginine, xylitol, chicory root and nano-hydroxyapatite. The FAQ and home page say the formula has no fluoride, no SLS, no essential oils, no emulsifiers, no surfactants and no preservatives, and the FAQ says all Fygg products are vegan and gluten-free.
What is the RDA of Fygg toothpaste?
Fygg's FAQ says: "Fygg has an RDA of 34.3 and pH of 6.5, as determined through third-party testing." The lab is not named and no report is linked. An RDA of 34.3 sits at the low, gentle end of the abrasivity scale.
What is Fygg varnish and how strong is it?
Fygg sells a take-home "Nano-Hydroxyapatite Remineralizing Varnish, Pro Strength" for $117.90 in Mild Mint or Vanilla. Its FAQ says the varnish "contains 57.3% nanoXIM CarePaste, a water-based solution with 15.5% nano-HAp, bringing the active nano-HAp concentration to 8.6%." It is a separate product from the toothpaste, not a stronger toothpaste.
Where can I buy Fygg toothpaste in the UK?
Fygg's own international stockist page lists one UK retailer: Healf, described as a wellness retailer. The brand also sells directly at fygg.com. We did not test UK delivery from the brand's own store.
Can I buy Fygg toothpaste in Canada, Australia or New Zealand?
Fygg's stockist page lists Cheung's Wellness and Evi Beauty in Canada, and One Fine Secret and West Supply in Australia. It lists no New Zealand stockist as of 25 September 2026. Other listed countries are the Czech Republic, Iceland, Norway and Kuwait.
What do Fygg reviews say?
On Trustpilot, the fygg.com profile is unclaimed and showed two reviews on 25 September 2026, both one star: one from the US in August 2026 about missing subscription items and refund requests, and one from Australia in July 2026 about marketing tone and slow support. Two reviews are too few to say much either way. We found no BBB listing for Fygg or Feed Your Good Guys.
Boka vs Fygg: which is better?
In the one laboratory study that tested both, Fygg reached 39.81% remineralization against 19.5% for Boka, a statistically significant difference (p<.01). The study was funded by Fygg's maker and used bovine enamel, not people. On disclosure, Fygg states a final 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite figure and a particle size; Boka, per our Boka review, calls its percentage proprietary. Both are fluoride-free pastes in a tube.
Who makes Fygg toothpaste?
The storefront is operated by Feed Your Good Guys, and the privacy policy names Oral Microbiome Solutions LLC, 11370 S Riverside Dr, Portland, Oregon. The About Us page presents the brand as the work of Dr. Mark Burhenne, a dentist whose California license shows as active in the federal NPI registry, and his daughter Catharine Burhenne.
Is Fygg toothpaste ADA approved?
No. Fygg says so itself: "While Fygg does not have the ADA seal of approval because the ADA will not approve anything without fluoride in it..." No nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste we have reviewed carries the ADA Seal.
Is there a Fygg lawsuit?
We found none. CourtListener searches on 25 September 2026 returned no case naming Feed Your Good Guys or Oral Microbiome Solutions, and the 32 results for the word Fygg were unrelated cases. CourtListener's coverage of state courts is incomplete, so read that as none found rather than a guarantee.
Can I return Fygg toothpaste?
The refund policy gives 30 days from receiving your item to request a return and says the company will "do our best to make it right, either through a return or exchange." Bulk orders and orders for resale are excluded. Email support@fygg.com inside the 30 days and keep your order number.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.
- Amaechi BT, Tan AI, Noureldin AAK, et al. In vitro evaluation of the ability of nanohydroxyapatite toothpastes to enhance remineralization of enamel caries lesion. Journal of Dentistry 2025;161:106006. PMID 40744295: products, results and competing-interest statement
- Same paper at the publisher, DOI 10.1016/j.jdent.2025.106006
- Corrigendum to the same paper, Journal of Dentistry 2026;165:106308. PMID 41457006
- NPPES NPI Registry, NPI 1295858546: Mark Burhenne, Dentist, status active, California license 35683
- RDAP registry record for fygg.com: registered August 26, 2003
- RDAP registry record for fyggoralcare.com: registered December 27, 2022
- openFDA drug product directory, labeler Fygg: no matches, September 25, 2026
- openFDA drug enforcement query for Fygg: no matches, September 25, 2026
- DailyMed (National Library of Medicine): no listing for Feed Your Good Guys, September 25, 2026
- CourtListener search for "Oral Microbiome Solutions" and "Feed Your Good Guys": no results, September 25, 2026
- Trustpilot profile for fygg.com: unclaimed, two one-star reviews, September 25, 2026. BBB search for Fygg and Feed Your Good Guys: no matching business, September 25, 2026
- Fygg brand pages at fygg.com, quoted verbatim above and checked September 25, 2026: the home page, the four toothpaste product pages, the varnish page, /pages/about-us, /pages/faq, /pages/science, /pages/references, /pages/international, the privacy policy, the terms of service, the refund policy and the product catalog feed
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Documents over adjectives. This review set out to answer the questions people actually type about Fygg, above all the percentage question, without adding a single characterization of our own. What came out is a brand that shows its arithmetic, names its supplier and particle size, publishes an RDA, and discloses who paid for the one study it cites, while leaving out a full ingredient list and describing its raw material with two different figures on two pages. Fygg could improve this article easily: publish the full ingredient list, use one raw-material figure everywhere, and say what the corrigendum changed. We would welcome writing that update. All findings reflect the listed pages and records as checked on 25 September 2026; pages change, and the sources are there so you can re-check every claim.
A remineralizing gum with the dose in writing
Keep brushing with the paste you like. Minvelle is for between brushings: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, printed on the box, xylitol-sweetened and fluoride-free, one piece a day chewed for at least 20 minutes. 18 pieces per box, batch certificate published.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr see the subscription option →
30-day refund on unopened boxes