NOBS toothpaste review 2026: tablets, dose, rebrand
NOBS makes toothpaste tablets: small, dry tablets you chew into a foam and then brush with, sold in a glass jar and built around nano-hydroxyapatite instead of fluoride. Until October 2025 the same product was sold as biöm. People searching for NOBS toothpaste usually want to know four things: is it good, does it work, what is in it, and how it compares with a paste like Boka. This review answers each from primary sources: the brand's own pages quoted word for word, the USPTO trademark register, the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board, a federal court docket, FDA databases, PubMed, and the review platforms. Every finding carries its source and the date we checked it, so you can verify it yourself.
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 25 September 2026 · 25 min read
Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum with nano-hydroxyapatite, which is a different kind of product from a toothpaste but close enough that you should know who is writing. That is why every critical statement about NOBS below is either the company's own published text quoted verbatim, a public record you can query yourself, or a directly observed fact about its live pages, with the date we observed it.
A percentage is not a dose
NOBS tells you its tablets are 5% nano-hydroxyapatite. It does not tell you how many milligrams are in one tablet. Ours is printed on the box: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, one piece a day between brushings, chewed for at least 20 minutes.
Read the Minvelle formula30-day refund on unopened boxes
NOBS is a real US toothpaste-tablet brand, owned by BIOM LLC of Wyoming and sold as biöm until October 2025. It states more than most in the category: 5% nano-hydroxyapatite, rod-shaped particles, an RDA of 21.38, a 13-ingredient list, no fluoride and no SLS.
Four things to know before you pay. The 5% and the RDA appear on the flagship product page only, not on the five flavor pages. The study NOBS cites for "as effective as fluoride toothpaste" was a lab study on bovine teeth, funded by BIOM LLC. The refund policy states both a 30-day and a 15-day window. And the rename followed a trademark dispute over the BIÖM name, including a federal trademark case the company itself filed; we found no consumer lawsuit.
If you are comparing hydroxyapatite products, the dose is the number to ask every brand for. NOBS gets closer than most by stating a percentage. Minvelle is a chewing gum you use between brushings, not a replacement for brushing, and it publishes the weight: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box. One piece a day, 18 pieces per box, chewed for at least 20 minutes.
NOBS tablets and Minvelle, side by side
| What's checked | NOBS flagship page (Classic Mint) | NOBS flavor pages | Minvelle gum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Format | Chewable toothpaste tablet, 62 per jar (37 g listed) | Same tablet, 62 per jar | Chewing gum, 18 pieces per box |
| Hydroxyapatite | Nano, stated as 5% | Nano, no percentage stated | Nano, 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece (0.30% by weight) |
| Weight of nano-HAp per unit | Not published | Not published | 5.7 mg per piece, printed on the box |
| Particle stated | Rod-shaped; no nanometer size | Not stated | Rod-shaped, 200 nm x 20 to 50 nm (supplier-stated) |
| RDA | 21.38 | Not stated | Not applicable (not a toothpaste) |
| Fluoride | None | None | None |
| Price | $15 (62 ct) or $40 (186 ct); 15% off on subscription | $15 (62 ct) | €24.99 per box |
| Returns | Policy states a 30-day and a 15-day window | Same policy | 30 days on unopened boxes |
| Study on the product itself | One brand-funded lab study on bovine teeth (PMID 40422621) | Same study | No clinical trial on the gum; batch certificate published |
Swipe sideways on mobile. NOBS data from nobsroutines.com as checked on 25 September 2026; the two products do different jobs, a toothpaste for brushing and a gum for between brushings.
Part 1Which NOBS? The right domain and the old name
Start with the address, because it trips up searchers. The brand's store is nobsroutines.com. The shorter nobs.com has nothing to do with it: its RDAP registry record shows it was registered on February 5, 2001, more than two decades before the toothpaste brand existed, and it sits on classic domain-parking name servers. nobsroutines.com itself is young. Its registry record shows it was created on June 3, 2025, and it runs as a Shopify store. If you typed nobs.com and found nothing useful, that is why.
The second thing to know is the name change. NOBS used to be biöm. The brand says so on its own rebrand page:
"biöm is now NOBS. It's a rebrand, not a new brand... We started as biöm to reflect our thoughtful, science-based approach to oral care... As of October 2025, we're dropping the 'biöm' and taking on the name our customers already trust, remember, and search for by name: NOBS."
The same page gives an example that shows how deep the change went: "'Prism Whitening Strips' are now 'NOBS Whitening Strips'. Same product, just a different name with a different box!" So the whitening strips carried a third name before the switch. In its FAQ on the rebrand, the brand explains the choice as a simplification: "People already knew us for NOBS Toothpaste Tablets... It's simpler, more recognizable."
A few traces of the old name remain on the live site as of 25 September 2026. The free digital product "A Guide to Oral Health" still lists its vendor as biöm in the store's product feed, while the other 16 listings say NOBS. The NOBS Jr kids' toothpaste copy ends with the line "biöm believes in fostering a love for oral hygiene from a young age... Switch to NOBS Jr." And the "Canadian Store" link in the site footer leads to a marketplace storefront still branded Biöm. None of this changes the product. It matters for you in one practical way: older reviews titled "biöm NOBS" are about the same tablets, and a listing that says biöm is not automatically a knock-off.
The practical rule: NOBS toothpaste tablets and biöm NOBS toothpaste tablets are the same product line. Buy through the channels the brand lists (see Part 12), and ignore nobs.com.
Two new flavours land in December
Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.
Who makes NOBS: company and founder
The company behind NOBS is BIOM LLC. The USPTO record for the registered NOBS trademark names the owner as "BIOM LLC ... 30 N. Gould Street, Suite N Sheridan, WYOMING", and gives the legal entity type as a limited liability company organized in Wyoming. That Sheridan address is a commercial registered-agent address, the kind many companies use for their legal filings, not an operating office. The same company name and a Sheridan address appear in the funding statement of the study NOBS cites, which is independent confirmation that the maker of the tablets and the funder of the study are one entity.
We tried to pull BIOM LLC's filing record from the Wyoming Secretary of State, but the registry search sits behind a CAPTCHA that blocked every attempt on 25 September 2026. So we can confirm the owner and its state of organization from the federal trademark record, but not its current standing in the Wyoming registry.
A dentist founder, per the brand
NOBS says it was founded by a dentist. Its About page names Dr. Ilon Choai, DDS, and tells the origin story this way: "Back in 2015, long before NOBS became one of the fastest-growing oral care brands in the country, Dr. Choai was struggling with his own sensitivities. Traditional toothpastes left his tongue irritated, so he began mixing a formula in his kitchen using baking tools and simple, gentle ingredients. It worked. Friends and family started asking for jars."
The page describes him today as "a premiere dentist based in Miami" whose practice "attracts a discreet clientele of athletes, artists, entrepreneurs, and global leaders." The FAQ points readers to "the dentist behind the brand on TikTok and Instagram (@thenobsdentist)". We report these as the brand's own statements. We did not check Dr. Choai's license against a state dental board registry, so we neither confirm nor question it.
One date is worth placing next to the 2015 kitchen story. The USPTO record lists the first use of the NOBS mark in commerce as November 21, 2022. So the documented commercial history of the name starts about seven years after the founding story. That is not unusual for a product that grew from a side project, and it is simply what the two dates say.
Part 3Why biöm became NOBS: the trademark record
The rebrand page explains the new name as marketing. The public trademark record adds a timeline that the page does not mention. We set it out below as dated events and draw no conclusion about cause, because no document we found connects them in words.
| Mark | Number | Status per the USPTO record | Filed | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOBS | Serial 98080527, Reg. 7683953 | Registered February 11, 2025; live | July 11, 2023 | Toothpaste; solid toothpaste tablets; swallowable toothpaste. First use in commerce November 21, 2022 |
| NOBS (second filing) | Serial 99324987 | Published for opposition; Notice of Allowance June 9, 2026 | August 7, 2025 | Mouthwash, body wash, cosmetics, deodorants, hair care, skin care and more; not toothpaste |
| BIÖM | Serial 98038503 | Dead: "Abandoned after an inter partes decision by the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board," September 4, 2025 | June 12, 2023 | Mouthwash, solid toothpaste tablets, whitening strips, dental floss |
| NO B.S. | Serial 86836230, Reg. 7000664 | Registered; live. A cancellation proceeding was terminated | December 1, 2015 | Cosmetics and personal care; toothpaste shown in brackets, which the register uses for deleted goods |
| TOOTHPASTE WITHOUT THE BS. | Serial 98813430, Reg. 7671589 | Registered January 28, 2025; live | October 22, 2024 | Toothpaste; solid toothpaste tablets; swallowable toothpaste |
Source: USPTO TSDR, checked 25 September 2026. All five filings share the same owner address and the same attorney of record.
The BIÖM opposition
BIOM LLC applied to register BIÖM for mouthwash, toothpaste tablets, whitening strips and floss on June 12, 2023. On February 10, 2025, a different company, Biom Innovations Inc., filed an opposition against that application at the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board: Opposition No. 91296842. Biom Innovations is an unrelated business whose products listed in the National Library of Medicine's DailyMed database are sanitizing wipes. The TTAB is the USPTO's internal tribunal for disputes over who may register a mark; an opposition there is a registration fight, not a lawsuit over a product.
On September 4, 2025, the BIÖM application was recorded as abandoned after an inter partes decision by the Board. One month later, in October 2025, the brand announced it was dropping the biöm name. The rebrand FAQ does not mention the opposition. We place the two dates side by side because they are both on the record; we do not state that one caused the other.
The federal case: Biom LLC v. Biom Innovations Inc.
Nine days after the opposition was filed, the same naming dispute reached a federal court. This is the case people sometimes find when they search for a NOBS lawsuit, so here is exactly what the docket shows, as checked on CourtListener on 25 September 2026.
| Case | Court and number | Filed | What it is | Status per the docket |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biom LLC v. Biom Innovations Inc. | U.S. District Court, S.D. Florida, No. 1:25-cv-20783 | February 19, 2025 | Complaint for declaratory judgment filed by Biom LLC, the maker of NOBS. Nature of suit: 840 Trademark | No termination date in the docket data we could read, which runs to a June 2025 index refresh. No ruling, settlement or dismissal is confirmed |
Source: CourtListener docket 69654953. A plaintiff's filing states that party's position; it is not a finding.
Two things about this case matter for a buyer. First, NOBS's maker is the plaintiff, not the defendant: Biom LLC asked the court to declare its position on its own trademark rights, which is a common step when a name is being contested at the TTAB at the same time. Second, it is a dispute between two companies about a name. It makes no claim about the tablets, their ingredients or their marketing. Its entry 8, dated February 20, 2025, is a corporate disclosure statement in which Biom LLC disclosed no affiliates.
We also searched CourtListener for any other federal case naming Biom LLC, BIOM LLC or NOBS. A keyword search for "NOBS toothpaste" returned 36 results; on inspection, every one other than this case was an unrelated match on the letters "NOBS" inside other text. We found no product-liability, consumer or false-advertising lawsuit against the company as of 25 September 2026. CourtListener's federal coverage is broad but not complete, so read that as "none found" rather than a certificate.
The NO B.S. cancellation
A second, separate dispute ran earlier. On April 24, 2024, a company called No BS Life, LLC petitioned to cancel BIOM LLC's NO B.S. registration: TTAB Cancellation No. 92085034. The proceeding was terminated on December 23, 2024 after the petitioner withdrew. The current register entry for NO B.S. shows toothpaste in brackets, which the register uses to mark goods deleted from a registration. BIOM LLC separately registered TOOTHPASTE WITHOUT THE BS. for toothpaste and tablets in January 2025. In short: several closely related names, two TTAB proceedings and one federal case between 2023 and 2025, before the brand settled on NOBS. None of it touches the formula.
Part 4How NOBS toothpaste tablets work: chew, then brush
If you have never used a toothpaste tablet, the mechanics are simple and a little strange the first time. The "How To Use" graphic on the NOBS product page gives four steps: 1. Grab a tab. 2. Chew the tab. 3. Wet your toothbrush. 4. Brush teeth. The FAQ explains what happens in step two: "When chewed, toothpaste tablets dissolve to create a foamy paste with great oral care ingredients... This paste helps remove plaque, freshen breath, and remineralize your teeth."
The recommended routine is the same as for a paste. The FAQ says: "For best results, you should brush with NOBS Toothpaste Tablets twice a day for two minutes each." One tablet per brush means a 62-tablet jar covers a month of twice-daily brushing, which is how NOBS labels it: the 62-count jar is the "1-month" size and the 186-count jar is the "3-month" size.
The practical questions the FAQ answers
- Swallowing: "NOBS is actually safe to be swallowed! Just be aware that you may experience a bit of gas due to the xylitol." The registered trademark lists "swallowable toothpaste" among its goods, which fits.
- Pets: "This product is not suitable for pets... xylitol... can be toxic to pets." Keep the jar out of a dog's reach.
- Fibers on the tablets: "The hair-like fibers on the tablets come from menthol crystallization due to temperature changes. They're safe."
- Crushed tablets: "Occasionally, shipping handlers can be rough with packages which can cause some tablets to become powder. No worries, the powder is still safe to use!"
- Travel: the product page says the tablets "don't apply to the 3.4oz limit. Fly with confidence." A dry tablet is not a liquid or gel, which is the main practical advantage of the format.
- Braces and implants: the FAQ states the tablets are "safe for sensitive teeth and dental work like braces and dental implants." That is the brand's statement; ask your orthodontist or dentist about your own case.
The packaging is part of the pitch. The FAQ says the tablets "come in plastic-free, reusable glass jars", and the product page describes "an air-tight glass jar" that is "without the mess." Those are the brand's words; we did not audit the packaging chain. What we can say is that a dry tablet in a glass jar is a different object from a squeezed tube, and some people prefer it for exactly that reason.
Part 5NOBS ingredients: the 13 on the label
NOBS does not publish a plain-text ingredient list. The list lives in an image, an "Ingredients" graphic headlined "Just 13 incredible ingredients" on the flagship product page. We transcribed it on 25 September 2026, with the brand's own one-line description of each:
| Ingredient | What NOBS says it does |
|---|---|
| Xylitol | "kills the bad bacteria while sparing the good guys" |
| Nano hydroxyapatite | "provides your teeth with essential minerals" |
| Menthol | "for that fresh inhale after brushing" |
| Hydrated silica | "gentle plaque and stain remover" |
| Zinc citrate | "helps remove plaque, and prevents new plaque from forming" |
| Baking soda | "gentle tooth polisher and stain remover" |
| Calcium carbonate | "fights tooth stains and plaque" |
| Peppermint | "reduces bad breath and gives a delightful freshness" |
| Xanthan gum | "improves the texture of NOBS" |
| Cellulose | "helps keep your NOBS bound together" |
| Licorice root extract | "naturally sweet, effective against bad breath" |
| Sodium cocoyl isethionate | "derived from coconuts, produces a gentle foam" |
| Sodium lauryl sulfoacetate | "derived from coconuts, produces a gentle foam" |
Transcribed from the ingredient graphic on nobsroutines.com, 25 September 2026. The same image file is used on the Blueberry Bliss page, so the base list appears to be shared across flavors; flavor oils per flavor are not listed separately.
Read as a formula, this is a conventional toothpaste built into a tablet. The cleaning work is done by two abrasives, calcium carbonate and hydrated silica, with baking soda as a polishing aid. Zinc citrate is the named anti-plaque agent. Xylitol and licorice root extract sweeten it. The foam comes from two coconut-derived surfactants, sodium cocoyl isethionate and sodium lauryl sulfoacetate. Note the similar names: sodium lauryl sulfoacetate is not sodium lauryl sulfate, and there is no SLS in the list. Xanthan gum and cellulose hold the tablet together. And nano-hydroxyapatite is the mineral active.
A documented discrepancy: baking soda or sodium carbonate?
The study NOBS cites (Part 7) includes a composition table for the tested tablets, and that table was built from information BIOM LLC supplied as the study's funder. It lists: "5% Nanohydroxyapatite, Xylitol, Hydrated silica, Sodium Carbonate, Calcium Carbonate, Zinc Citrate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Peppermint, Menthol, Cellulose, Surfactant from coconut oil, Licorice Root Extract and Xanthan gum."
Where the brand's graphic says baking soda, the study table says sodium carbonate. Baking soda is sodium bicarbonate; sodium carbonate is a related but different compound. Both descriptions come from the brand's side. We record the difference and draw no inference from it: it may be a naming shortcut in one of the two documents, a formula change between the study and today, or something else. If the exact compound matters to you, it is a fair question to email the brand.
What is not in the list
There is no fluoride, and there is no "Active ingredients / Inactive ingredients" split or Drug Facts panel. That fits a cosmetic toothpaste: a fluoride anticavity toothpaste in the US carries a Drug Facts panel under the FDA's monograph, and NOBS sells no fluoride product. There is also no potassium nitrate, the classic desensitizing ingredient. The FAQ says the tablets are safe for sensitive teeth; with no desensitizer on the list, any effect there would have to come from the hydroxyapatite itself, which is how many hydroxyapatite brands describe it.
Two smaller notes. The kids' product, NOBS Jr, is a tube paste, not a tablet, and its copy names "Nano Hydroxyapatite" along with hydrated silica, xylitol and stevia; no percentage is given for it. And on a NOBS blog post about ADA status, the brand makes much broader claims for licorice root's constituents, including against "periodontitis, caries, canker sores, candidiasis, and even oral cancer." That text is on a blog post, not the product page, and cites no specific study there. We did not treat it as a product claim, and neither should you.
Part 6The 5%: what NOBS discloses, and where
On the headline number, NOBS is more open than most brands we have reviewed. The flagship product page says: "We used the magical remineralizing power of 5% nano-hydroxyapatite to protect your teeth long-term." The FAQ repeats it: "NOBS Toothpaste Tablets contain 5% nano hydroxyapatite." And it answers the natural follow-up question directly:
"Why do NOBS Tablets have a 5% concentration instead of 10% or more? We chose 5% nano hydroxyapatite with rod-shaped particles to avoid aggregation and maintain quality."
Compare that with our reviews of other brands. In our Davids toothpaste review, Davids declines to give a percentage and cites only an upper safety limit. In our Boka toothpaste review, Boka calls its percentage proprietary. NOBS states one. That is a real point in its favor.
Only on one of six tablet pages
There is a catch in where the number appears. NOBS sells six tablet flavors: the flagship Classic Mint, plus Cinnamon Craze, Blueberry Bliss, Gracefully Grape, Citrus Crush and Vanilla Velour. We read all six product pages on 25 September 2026. The 5% and the RDA figure appear on the flagship page only. The five flavor pages use the unquantified phrase "the magical remineralizing power of nano-hydroxyapatite", with no percentage and no RDA.
The flavor pages share the same ingredient graphic as the flagship, so the base formula is presumably the same. But if you land on the Citrus Crush page from an ad, you will not see the number. The FAQ is the place to find it.
Particle shape yes, particle size no
NOBS names the particle shape: rod-shaped. It does not give a size in nanometers for its own particle. Its educational blog post on hydroxyapatite says nano-hydroxyapatite particles are "typically with dimensions in the range of tens to hundreds of nanometers", which is a general description of the category, not a statement about NOBS. For comparison, Davids states a 50 nm particle. For most buyers this is a detail; for the ones who care about particle size, it is the missing figure.
RDA 21.38
The flagship page also states an abrasivity score: "With an enviable RDA of 21.38, NOBS Toothpaste Tablets are intentionally designed to help you gently buff out surface stains and break up plaque biofilm without causing damage to your enamel." RDA, relative dentin abrasivity, is a lab measure of how abrasive a toothpaste is. For context that NOBS does not give itself, the ADA's upper limit for toothpaste is an RDA of 250, so 21.38 is at the gentle end of the scale. The figure is a brand self-report; we did not see the lab report behind it. Publishing an RDA at all is uncommon, and it is useful.
No milligrams per tablet
Here is the number that matters most for comparing products and that no NOBS page gives: the weight of nano-hydroxyapatite in one tablet. A percentage tells you the share of the tablet that is hydroxyapatite. It does not tell you how much hydroxyapatite reaches your teeth per brush unless you also know the exact weight of a tablet, and NOBS does not publish a per-tablet weight or a per-tablet milligram figure. The catalog lists a 37 g net weight for the 62-count jar, but that is a declared package weight, not a lab-measured fill, so we do not turn it into a milligram claim on the brand's behalf.
That is the gap our own product was designed around, and it is why the comparison box below exists. A gum and a tablet are used at different times, so the numbers are not a contest. They are a question of what each brand writes down.
Part 7Does NOBS toothpaste work? The study, read in full
NOBS makes one specific research claim, in the same words on the product page and in the FAQ: "in May of 2025, a peer reviewed study was published showing NOBS are as effective as fluoride toothpaste." The link goes to a paper in Dentistry Journal. We resolved it in PubMed and read the full text.
| What the paper says | Detail |
|---|---|
| Citation | Amaechi BT, Kanthaiah K, Farah R, et al. "Evaluation of the Efficacy of a Dentifrice Tablet to Prevent Dental Caries: A Microbial Study." Dentistry Journal 2025;13(5):201. PMID 40422621 |
| Where | Department of Comprehensive Dentistry, University of Texas Health San Antonio, with co-authors from other institutions |
| What was tested | 120 bovine (cow) tooth blocks in four groups of 30: no treatment; "Biöm® NOBS™ toothpaste tablets" with 5% nano-hydroxyapatite; a Sensodyne fluoride toothpaste at 1100 ppm fluoride; and a placebo NOBS tablet with no nano-hydroxyapatite |
| How | Slurries applied twice daily for two minutes in a laboratory "Microbial Caries Model", an artificial-mouth system with live Streptococcus mutans and Lactobacillus casei plaque |
| Measured | Surface microhardness, reported as % demineralization |
| Result | No treatment 29.93%, placebo tablet 22.81%, NOBS tablet 13.93%, fluoride paste 14.44%. No significant difference between the NOBS tablet and the fluoride paste |
| Funding | "This research was funded by BIOM LLC", the maker of NOBS. The paper states the funder had no role in design, analysis, writing or the decision to publish, and the authors declare no conflicts of interest |
Sources: PubMed 40422621 and the full text at PMC12110711, read 25 September 2026.
Credit where it is due. This is a real, peer-reviewed paper that tests the actual product by name, which is more than most toothpaste brands can show. It includes a placebo tablet, which is the better design choice: comparing the full tablet with the same tablet minus the nano-hydroxyapatite isolates the active. And the authors' conclusion is plain: "dentifrice tablets containing 5% nanohydroxyapatite are as effective as NaF toothpastes containing 1100 ppm fluoride in preventing tooth demineralization." NOBS's own wording, "peer reviewed study", is accurate. We searched its product pages and FAQ for "clinically proven", "clinical trial" and "clinically tested" and found none. That restraint is worth noting, because many brands in this category are less careful.
Now the limits, which are in the paper itself:
- It is a lab study, not a human trial. The teeth were bovine tooth blocks in an artificial-mouth model. Lab models are how the research starts; they are not the same as people brushing at home for months.
- It was funded by the maker. BIOM LLC paid for the study of its own product. The paper discloses this and states the funder had no role in the work. Both facts belong in the same sentence.
- "As effective as" means "not significantly different" in this model. The result is statistical equivalence on one measure, demineralization under a bacterial challenge. It does not test cavities in people, and it does not compare against higher-fluoride pastes.
- One study. No second, independent study of the NOBS tablet appeared in our PubMed search. The paper is the only specific citation anywhere on nobsroutines.com; we checked the product pages, FAQ, About page, rebrand page and the hydroxyapatite blog post for PubMed, DOI and journal links.
So, does NOBS toothpaste work? The fair answer: in one brand-funded laboratory study, the tablet with 5% nano-hydroxyapatite reduced demineralization about as much as a standard fluoride toothpaste and clearly more than no treatment. The wider research on nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste as a category is real, and our review of the hydroxyapatite toothpaste studies goes through it trial by trial. For the bigger comparison, read nano-hydroxyapatite vs fluoride, and for why many dentists still default to fluoride, why dentists don't recommend hydroxyapatite.
NOBS and Minvelle, side by side
| Fact | NOBS Toothpaste Tablets (nobsroutines.com, 25 Sep 2026) | Minvelle |
|---|---|---|
| Nano-hydroxyapatite per tablet or piece | 5% stated on the flagship page and FAQ; no mg per tablet published | 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box |
| Active and fluoride | Nano-hydroxyapatite plus xylitol and zinc citrate; fluoride-free | Nano-hydroxyapatite plus 817 mg xylitol per piece; fluoride-free |
| What is published | Percentage, rod shape, RDA 21.38, 13-ingredient graphic, one brand-funded lab study; no nm size, no mg per tablet | Dose, particle size and batch certificate |
| Price, pack and directions | $15 for 62 tablets, chewed then brushed, twice a day | €24.99 for 18 pieces, 1 piece a day, at least 20 minutes |
Minvelle is for people who want a written per-piece dose to chew between brushings; if you want a fluoride-free tablet with a stated percentage for your daily brushing, especially for travel, NOBS is the easier buy.
Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.
Part 8NOBS price, subscription and shipping
Prices on nobsroutines.com, in US dollars, as checked on 25 September 2026:
| Product | One-time price | Subscription price | Size |
|---|---|---|---|
| NOBS Toothpaste Tablets, Classic Mint, 1-month | $15.00 | $12.75, shown as "$13" (15% off) | 62 tablets |
| NOBS Toothpaste Tablets, Classic Mint, 3-month | $40.00 | $34.00 (15% off) | 186 tablets |
| Flavor tablets (Cinnamon Craze, Blueberry Bliss, Gracefully Grape, Citrus Crush, Vanilla Velour) | $15.00 | Not checked per flavor | 62 tablets |
| NOBS Jr kids' toothpaste (tube) | $15.00 | Not checked | 122 g |
| Complete Oral Care Routine (bundle) | $62.00 (list $70.00) | Not checked | Bundle |
| Family Oral Care Routine (bundle) | $75.00 (list $85.00) | Not checked | Bundle |
Flavor tablets were only offered in the 62-count size on the day we checked.
The math is simple. One tablet per brush, twice a day, makes the 62-count jar a month's supply at $15, or about 24 cents a tablet. The 186-count jar at $40 saves $5 against three small jars and brings the per-tablet price to about 22 cents; on subscription it is $34. For a toothpaste, that is at the upper end of drugstore pricing and in line with most hydroxyapatite brands.
On subscriptions, NOBS does something we wish more brands did: the 15% discount is visible in the product page's price widget itself, labeled "3 month subscription with 15% discount", so you see the number before checkout. A banner on the page adds: "No commitment... Cancel anytime." The FAQ confirms: "Can I cancel my subscription at any time, and is there a cancellation fee? Yes, you can cancel your subscription and there's no fee." The page also carries a 10% first-order coupon configuration; we did not place an order to test how it is applied.
Shipping from the brand's store is a flat $7 standard rate, with no free-shipping threshold stated in the shipping policy. And it is US-only: "We do not offer international shipping." A single $15 jar therefore costs $22 delivered, which makes the 3-month jar or a subscription the better value if you already know you like the tablets.
Part 9The refund policy: 30 days or 15?
NOBS uses the phrase "satisfaction guarantee" in its own refund policy, which is more than some brands offer. But the policy text, last updated October 15, 2025 according to the store's policy record, states two different windows. Here are both paragraphs, quoted in full:
"We have a no return policy, however we provide a satisfaction guarantee. If you are unhappy with your purchase, within the first 30 days, send us an email at hello@mail-nobsroutines.com and we will provide a one time refund for up to 1 unit per SKU of your order."
"Buyer's Remorse: We provide a satisfaction guarantee. If you are unhappy with your purchase, send us an email within 15 days at hello@mail-nobsroutines.com and we will provide a refund."
One paragraph says 30 days, the next says 15, for what reads as the same guarantee. That is the brand's policy document disagreeing with itself, and we cannot tell you which window the company applies in practice. The first paragraph also caps the refund at "up to 1 unit per SKU" and makes it "one time". The policy excludes personal care goods, sale items and gift cards from returns. The FAQ adds that you do not have to send back an item damaged in transit ("for sanitary reasons") and that orders cannot be exchanged for a different item once processed.
The practical rule: if a jar does not work for you, email the brand inside 15 days to be safe, quote your order number, and expect a refund on one unit per product, not on a multi-jar order. For comparison, our own policy is a 30-day refund on unopened boxes.
Part 10Reviews, ratings and the ADA Seal
We checked the usual review platforms on 25 September 2026.
- Trustpilot: there is no profile for nobsroutines.com. The profile address returns a "not found" page, so there is no TrustScore to report.
- BBB: a search for NOBS returned no matching business profile, and we found none for BIOM LLC or NOBS Routines either. That means BBB has no file we could find, not that the company has zero complaints.
- On-site reviews: the store uses the Judge.me review app. Its page renders in the browser and returned no readable rating data to our checks, so we do not quote a star figure. Treat any rating you see quoted elsewhere as unchecked until you read it on the page yourself.
- Customer counts and "#1" claims: the rebrand page advertises a large customer count, and a syndicated press-style article calls NOBS the best nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste of 2025. Neither figure can be audited from public data, so we do not repeat them as facts.
No ADA Seal, by the brand's own account
The ADA Seal of Acceptance is the American Dental Association's mark for products it has evaluated. NOBS addresses it in a January 24, 2024 blog post titled around whether toothpaste tablets are ADA approved. The live text reads: "So far, toothpaste tablet on the market has been given the seal of approval from the American Dental Association as the ADA's regulations typically revolve around specific ingredients instead of the 'type' of product." A negative word appears to be missing from that sentence; the next line, "But that doesn't mean they don't work!", makes the meaning clear. By the brand's own account, no toothpaste tablet carries the ADA Seal, NOBS included.
NOBS frames this as a category gap rather than a mark against its own product, and that is a fair framing: it is true of the tablet format generally. The same post quotes several dentists speaking favorably about toothpaste tablets in general. Those quotes are about the format; the post does not present them as endorsements of NOBS by name, and we do not either.
Part 11Is NOBS safe? FDA records and the fine print
We checked the federal databases on 25 September 2026. The openFDA drug enforcement data and the openFDA food enforcement data both returned zero recall records for a recalling firm named Biom. DailyMed, the National Library of Medicine's drug label database, returned 96 results for "Biom", none of them BIOM LLC or NOBS; the matches were unrelated companies, including Biom Innovations, the sanitizing-wipe maker from the trademark dispute. That is expected: a fluoride-free cosmetic toothpaste has no drug label to file. We found no FDA warning letter to NOBS or BIOM LLC; that search ran through search tools rather than the FDA's own warning-letter database interface, so read it as a good-faith negative.
One FAQ answer deserves a close read. The question is: "Are NOBS Toothpaste Tablets FDA approved?" The answer is: "All NOBS formulas are proudly made adhering to US FDA regulations in compliant facilities." That answers a different question from the one asked. A non-fluoride cosmetic toothpaste is not something the FDA approves in the regulatory sense, for NOBS or any other brand, and the answer does not claim that it is. It speaks to manufacturing compliance. Read it that way.
Nano-hydroxyapatite itself has been reviewed by the EU's Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety for use in oral care; our article on whether nano-hydroxyapatite is safe covers what that opinion says and the conditions attached. On the tablet specifically, the practical safety notes are the ones the brand gives: swallowing a tablet is described as safe but may cause gas because of the xylitol, and the jar must be kept away from pets.
Part 12Where NOBS is sold, and a counterfeit warning
The NOBS FAQ doubles as its official channel list, in the form of a counterfeit warning:
"The only legitimate places to purchase NOBS are through our TikTok Shop 'NOBS Routines', through our Amazon store 'The NOBS Store', through Facebook and IG Shop, and our website. If you purchased through a different store on any of these platforms or a different platform altogether, you purchased a counterfeit."
That is the brand's own statement about its channels, and it is useful: if you buy on a marketplace, check that the seller is the one the brand names. A retail listing at Target also carries the Classic Mint tablets. The brand also offers bulk purchasing to dental clinics, and hosts a dentist locator page; the locator loads in the browser and we could not read its list of participating practices.
Outside the US, the picture is thinner. The footer links a "UK Store" and a "Canadian Store". On 25 September 2026 the UK link led to a third-party UK retailer, and the Canadian link to a marketplace storefront still branded Biöm. Neither is a NOBS-run shop, and the brand's own store does not ship internationally. The NOBS trademark does have an international registration under the Madrid system, so the name is protected abroad even though direct sales are US-only.
Part 13NOBS vs Boka, and the other hydroxyapatite brands
"NOBS vs Boka" is a common search, and the two are easy to compare on the documents, because we reviewed Boka the same way. The short version: they differ most on format and on the dose disclosure.
| What's checked | NOBS | Boka (from our Boka review) |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Chewable tablet in a glass jar | Paste in a tube |
| Nano-hydroxyapatite amount | 5% stated on the flagship page and in the FAQ | Not disclosed; Boka calls the percentage proprietary |
| Particle | Rod-shaped; no nm size stated | Nanorods 20 to 80 nm stated |
| Study naming the product | 2025 lab study on bovine teeth, funded by the maker | 2025 laboratory study on enamel blocks |
| Where to buy | Own site, Amazon brand store, TikTok Shop, Facebook/IG Shop, Target; US-only shipping from its own store | Own site and major US retailers |
| Refunds | Satisfaction guarantee, 30 or 15 days, one unit per SKU | Unused product only |
Boka facts as published in our Boka toothpaste review on 25 September 2026.
Which is better depends on what you are choosing on. If you want a number on the page, NOBS states a percentage and Boka does not. If you want a stated particle size, Boka gives one and NOBS does not. If you want the familiar feel of a paste from a tube that you can pick up in a pharmacy, Boka is the simpler habit. If you fly often or want to keep a dry jar in a gym bag, the tablet format is the reason to choose NOBS. Neither has a human clinical trial on its own finished product that we could find, and both have been named in a 2025 laboratory study. For the rest of the field, see our comparison of 11 hydroxyapatite toothpastes.
For the wider field, our Davids review covers a paste that states its particle size but not its percentage, and our Bioniq review covers a brand that uses micro-sized rather than nano hydroxyapatite. Our ranking of the best fluoride-free toothpastes puts all of them side by side on disclosure.
Part 14Tablets, paste or gum: where each fits
A toothpaste tablet and a remineralizing gum are sometimes compared because both are chewed. They do different jobs, and it helps to be exact about the difference.
A NOBS tablet is a toothpaste. You chew it for a few seconds to turn it into foam, then you brush for two minutes, twice a day. Its nano-hydroxyapatite is on your teeth for the length of a brush, then you rinse or spit. That is the brushing window, and it is the core of any routine.
A gum works in the time between brushings: after lunch, after coffee, on a commute, when there is no sink and no toothbrush. Minvelle is one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite in each 1.9 g piece and 817 mg of xylitol. The box states the weight of the active per piece, which is the number this review could not find for a NOBS tablet. There is no clinical trial on our finished gum, and we say that for the same reason we asked NOBS for its numbers. What we publish is the dose, the supplier-stated particle size and a batch certificate on the transparency page.
So the honest framing is not NOBS or Minvelle. If you like tablets, keep brushing with them. A gum is an add-on for the part of the day a toothpaste does not reach. Our comparison of hydroxyapatite paste vs anti-cavity gum goes further into how the two fit together.
In fairnessWhat NOBS does well
A review built on documents owes the brand the documents in its favor, and NOBS has several. It states a nano-hydroxyapatite percentage, 5%, and explains in its FAQ why it chose that figure. It publishes an RDA, 21.38, which few toothpaste brands do. It names its particle shape. It commissioned a study of its own finished product, had it published in a peer-reviewed journal with a university team, included a placebo tablet, and then described it with the accurate phrase "peer reviewed study" rather than "clinically proven". The formula has no fluoride and no SLS, the two things its core buyers usually want to avoid.
On the buying side, the subscription discount is shown in the price widget instead of only at checkout, cancellation is free by the brand's own FAQ, and the policy includes a satisfaction guarantee at all. The FAQ answers awkward questions directly, from menthol fibers to crushed tablets to swallowing. The brand is open about the ADA Seal gap for tablets. It names a founder. And we found no FDA recall, no warning letter and no consumer lawsuit on record. The travel format is a real advantage for anyone who flies with carry-on only.
None of that cancels the one-page disclosure, the missing milligram figure, the two refund windows or the funding of the only study, and those do not cancel this. Both are the record.
Who it suitsWho should buy NOBS, and who should skip it
NOBS fits you if you want a fluoride-free, SLS-free toothpaste with a stated nano-hydroxyapatite percentage, you like the idea of a dry tablet in a glass jar, and you travel often enough that liquid limits annoy you. It also suits you if the rest of the routine appeals: the brand sells floss, a tongue scraper and a mouthwash under the same name, and the bundles price them together. And it suits a buyer who values a brand that at least put its product into a published study, even a lab one.
Consider skipping it if you want the weight of the active per unit, not a percentage, since NOBS does not publish milligrams per tablet. Skip it if you live outside the US and want to buy from the brand directly. Skip it if you need an ADA Seal, since no tablet has one. If you are specifically after a stated particle size, other brands state it. And if your main concern is sensitivity, note that NOBS contains no potassium nitrate; compare it against our Sensodyne alternatives guide and ask your dentist.
If fluoride is part of your plan, NOBS has no fluoride product. Many dentists recommend fluoride toothpaste, and your own dentist is the right person to decide which fits your teeth. If you are unsure about the format, buy one $15 jar before a subscription; the tablet feel is the thing people either like or do not.
The verdictNOBS toothpaste, in one paragraph
NOBS toothpaste tablets are a real, fluoride-free nano-hydroxyapatite product from BIOM LLC, sold as biöm until October 2025, and the brand discloses more than most: 5% nano-hydroxyapatite, rod-shaped particles, an RDA of 21.38 and a 13-ingredient list, with one peer-reviewed study on its own tablets. The things to weigh against that are all documented: the percentage and RDA appear on one of six tablet pages, the particle size and the milligrams per tablet are not published, the study was a lab study on bovine teeth funded by the maker, the ingredient graphic and the study table disagree on baking soda versus sodium carbonate, the refund policy states both 30 and 15 days, and there is no ADA Seal for any tablet. The rename followed a documented trademark dispute, including a federal trademark case the company filed itself, with no outcome confirmed in the docket data; we found no consumer lawsuit. If you like the format, it is one of the more transparent tablets to try. Buy one jar first and email inside 15 days if it is not for you.
Where Minvelle fits, briefly. A gum does not replace a toothpaste, and we would not suggest swapping one for the other. Minvelle is an add-on for between brushings: one piece a day, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece printed on the box and a published batch certificate. There is no clinical trial on the gum itself, and we say that plainly for the same reason we asked NOBS for its numbers.
Facts checked on 25 September 2026 from the sources below; if NOBS changes its pages or the dockets move, tell us and we will update.
Nano-hydroxyapatite: A lab-made form of the calcium-phosphate mineral that makes up tooth enamel, manufactured at controlled nano-scale particle sizes. Studies on it treat particle size and concentration as the working variables.
Toothpaste tablet: A dry, compressed toothpaste you chew into a foam and then brush with. It replaces the paste from a tube, not the toothbrush.
RDA: Relative dentin abrasivity, a lab score for how abrasive a toothpaste is. The ADA's upper limit is 250. NOBS states 21.38 on its flagship page.
In vitro: Done in a laboratory, outside a living person. The NOBS study used bovine tooth blocks in an artificial-mouth model.
Placebo tablet: A tablet identical to the product except for the tested ingredient. In the NOBS study it had no nano-hydroxyapatite.
TTAB opposition: A proceeding at the USPTO's Trademark Trial and Appeal Board in which a third party objects to a trademark application. It decides registration, not product claims.
Declaratory judgment: A court ruling that states the parties' rights without awarding damages. A company may ask for one to settle a naming dispute. Filing for one is not a finding.
ADA Seal of Acceptance: The American Dental Association's mark for products it has evaluated. By NOBS's own account, no toothpaste tablet carries it.
The things people actually ask
Is NOBS toothpaste good?
On the documents, NOBS is one of the more open brands in the category. It states 5% nano-hydroxyapatite and an RDA of 21.38 on its flagship tablet page, publishes a 13-ingredient list, uses no SLS and no fluoride, and names a peer-reviewed study on its own tablets. The limits: the 5% and the RDA appear only on the flagship page, the particle size in nanometers is not stated, the study was a lab study on bovine teeth funded by the maker, and there is no mg figure per tablet. Whether it suits you depends on whether you like the tablet format and want a fluoride-free routine; ask your dentist if you are unsure.
Does NOBS toothpaste work?
The one study NOBS cites, Amaechi et al., Dentistry Journal 2025 (PMID 40422621), tested NOBS tablets with 5% nano-hydroxyapatite in a laboratory caries model on 120 bovine tooth blocks. Demineralization with the tablets was 13.93% against 14.44% for a 1100 ppm fluoride toothpaste and 29.93% for no treatment, and the authors found no significant difference between the tablets and the fluoride paste. It was not a human trial, and it was funded by BIOM LLC, the company that makes NOBS; the paper states the funder had no role in the design, analysis or writing.
What are the NOBS ingredients?
The ingredient graphic on the NOBS tablet page lists 13 ingredients: xylitol, nano hydroxyapatite, menthol, hydrated silica, zinc citrate, baking soda, calcium carbonate, peppermint, xanthan gum, cellulose, licorice root extract, sodium cocoyl isethionate and sodium lauryl sulfoacetate. There is no fluoride and no sodium lauryl sulfate. One documented discrepancy: the composition table in the brand-funded study lists sodium carbonate where the graphic says baking soda.
How much nano-hydroxyapatite is in NOBS toothpaste tablets?
NOBS says 5%. Its FAQ reads: "NOBS Toothpaste Tablets contain 5% nano hydroxyapatite." The figure also appears on the flagship Classic Mint product page, but not on the five flavor pages we read on 25 September 2026. NOBS gives a percentage, not a weight, so the milligrams of nano-hydroxyapatite in one tablet are not published.
Are NOBS toothpaste tablets the same as biöm?
Yes. The brand's rebrand page says: "biöm is now NOBS. It's a rebrand, not a new brand." The change took effect in October 2025. Some listings still carry the old name, including the Canadian store link in the NOBS site footer and one line in the NOBS Jr product copy.
Is there a NOBS toothpaste lawsuit?
We found one federal case, and it is a trademark matter. Biom LLC v. Biom Innovations Inc., No. 1:25-cv-20783 in the Southern District of Florida, was filed on February 19, 2025 by Biom LLC, the maker of NOBS, as a complaint for declaratory judgment about the BIÖM name. The docket data we could read runs to June 2025 and shows no termination date; no outcome is confirmed. We found no consumer, product-liability or false-advertising lawsuit against the company in CourtListener as of 25 September 2026.
Who owns NOBS toothpaste?
BIOM LLC, a Wyoming limited liability company, owns the NOBS trademark according to the USPTO record, with a registered address in Sheridan, Wyoming. The brand's About page names Dr. Ilon Choai, DDS, a dentist in Miami, as the founder.
How do you use NOBS toothpaste tablets?
The brand's four steps: grab a tablet, chew it, wet your toothbrush, brush. Chewing turns the tablet into a foamy paste. The FAQ recommends brushing twice a day for two minutes.
NOBS vs Boka: which is better?
They answer the dose question differently. NOBS states 5% nano-hydroxyapatite on its flagship tablet page; Boka, per our Boka review, calls its percentage proprietary. NOBS is a chewable tablet in a glass jar, Boka a paste in a tube. Both have been named in a 2025 laboratory study, and neither of those studies was a human trial. Pick on format first, then on the disclosure you care about.
Is NOBS toothpaste fluoride-free?
Yes. Every toothpaste product in the NOBS catalog we checked on 25 September 2026 is sold as fluoride-free, and no fluoride product was listed. There is no Drug Facts panel, which fits a cosmetic toothpaste rather than an over-the-counter anticavity drug.
Can I return NOBS toothpaste tablets?
The refund policy opens with "We have a no return policy, however we provide a satisfaction guarantee." It then states two windows: a refund "within the first 30 days" for "up to 1 unit per SKU", and a "Buyer's Remorse" refund if you email "within 15 days". Email the brand before either date passes and keep the order number.
Are NOBS toothpaste tablets ADA approved?
No. A NOBS blog post from January 2024 says no toothpaste tablet on the market has the ADA Seal of Acceptance, and frames that as a gap for the whole tablet category.
Does NOBS ship outside the US?
Not from its own site. The shipping policy says: "We do not offer international shipping." The site footer links a UK store and a Canadian store, but both lead to third-party retailers, not to a NOBS-run shop.
Is it safe to swallow a NOBS tablet?
The NOBS FAQ says the tablets are "actually safe to be swallowed" and warns you "may experience a bit of gas due to the xylitol." It also says the product is not suitable for pets, because xylitol can be toxic to them.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.
- Amaechi BT, Kanthaiah K, Farah R, et al. Evaluation of the Efficacy of a Dentifrice Tablet to Prevent Dental Caries: A Microbial Study. Dentistry Journal 2025;13(5):201. PMID 40422621
- Full text of the same paper, PMC12110711: product names, composition table and funding statement
- CourtListener docket, Biom LLC v. Biom Innovations Inc., No. 1:25-cv-20783 (S.D. Fla.): filed February 19, 2025; complaint for declaratory judgment; nature of suit 840 Trademark
- USPTO TTAB, Opposition No. 91296842, Biom Innovations Inc. against the BIÖM application, filed February 10, 2025
- USPTO TTAB, Cancellation No. 92085034, No BS Life, LLC against the NO B.S. registration, filed April 24, 2024, terminated December 23, 2024
- USPTO TSDR, NOBS, serial 98080527, registration 7683953: owner BIOM LLC (Wyoming), registered February 11, 2025
- USPTO TSDR, BIÖM, serial 98038503: abandoned after an inter partes decision by the TTAB, September 4, 2025
- USPTO TSDR, NO B.S., serial 86836230, registration 7000664
- USPTO TSDR, TOOTHPASTE WITHOUT THE BS., serial 98813430, registration 7671589
- USPTO TSDR, NOBS second filing, serial 99324987: published for opposition, personal care goods
- RDAP registry record for nobsroutines.com: created June 3, 2025
- RDAP registry record for nobs.com: registered February 5, 2001, unrelated to the brand
- openFDA drug enforcement query for recalling firm Biom: no matches, September 25, 2026
- openFDA food enforcement query for recalling firm Biom: no matches, September 25, 2026
- DailyMed (National Library of Medicine): no BIOM LLC or NOBS listing, September 25, 2026
- Trustpilot profile address for nobsroutines.com: not found, September 25, 2026. BBB search for NOBS: no matching profile, September 25, 2026
- NOBS brand pages at nobsroutines.com, quoted verbatim above and checked September 25, 2026: the flagship NOBS Toothpaste Tablets page and ingredient graphic, the five flavor tablet pages, NOBS Jr, /pages/faq, /pages/about, /pages/rebrand, the refund policy, the shipping policy, the product catalog feed, and the blog posts on ADA approval and on hydroxyapatite vs nano-hydroxyapatite
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Documents over adjectives. This review set out to answer the questions people actually type about NOBS, including the one about the lawsuit and the one about the name change, without adding a single characterization of our own. What came out is a brand that states more than most about its dose, less than some about its particle, backs its main claim with one study it paid for and describes accurately, and changed its name after a trademark fight that the record documents step by step. NOBS could improve this article easily: print the 5% and the RDA on every flavor page, publish the milligrams per tablet and the particle size, and pick one refund window. We would welcome writing that update. All findings reflect the listed pages and records as checked on 25 September 2026; pages and dockets change, and the sources are there so you can re-check every claim.
A remineralizing gum with the dose in writing
Keep brushing with the tablets or paste you like. Minvelle is for between brushings: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, printed on the box, xylitol-sweetened and fluoride-free, one piece a day chewed for at least 20 minutes. 18 pieces per box, batch certificate published.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr see the subscription option →
30-day refund on unopened boxes