Milliways gum review 2026: the plastic-free label, checked
Milliways is the best-funded sustainability story on the gum shelf: a chicle base tapped from sapodilla trees, cardboard packs, 10 million dollars of investment and shelf space from Tesco to Sprouts. This review gives the story the credit it has earned, then reads the labels the way nobody else has bothered to: the certified plastic-free claim that names no certifier, the tooth-decay sentence with no dose and no study behind it, the seven-ingredient pitch for an eight-substance label, and the independent science that quietly complicates every plastic-free gum on the market, this one included. The short version: a genuinely likeable product in the wrong aisle of some buyers' heads, because a fresh-breath gum is not an oral-care product, however green the wrapper.
Updated August 2026 · Last reviewed: August 27, 2026 · 24 min read
Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum ourselves, held to the same standard this article applies: dose and lab certificate published. Every factual claim about Milliways below comes from the brand's own live pages, its pack label as recorded on Open Food Facts, UK Companies House filings, its January 2026 funding announcement and its public Trustpilot page, all quoted and linked in the sources.
Milliways is a real plastic-free chewing gum with real momentum: a chicle base from sapodilla tree sap, xylitol and stevia for sweetness, 10 million dollars of funding and, by its own count, shelf space in over 10,000 stores. As a sustainability purchase it is credible. As a dental purchase it is a fresh-breath gum with no active ingredient.
The gaps are all disclosure gaps. The brand's M&S listing says "certified biodegradable and plastic-free", yet no certifying body is named anywhere we could find. The homepage says the gum "keeps teeth healthy, prevents tooth decay", credited to xylitol, yet no xylitol dose per piece is published and no study is cited on the site. And the cleanest version of the plastic-free story has an independent complication: a 2025 UCLA pilot study found natural gum bases shed microplastic counts similar to synthetic ones. None of this makes Milliways a bad product. It makes it a product whose labels deserve the slow read this article gives them, so you know exactly which purchase you are making.
The facts, side by side, stated honestly
| What's checked | Milliways | Minvelle (this blog) |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | Milliways Food Limited, UK company 11367977, incorporated May 2018, London; brand launched January 2021; 10 million dollars raised in total | Minvelle, Austrian oral-care brand; full formula public on its transparency page |
| Format | 10-piece packs, 19 g per pack, about 1.9 g per piece; five flavours | Boxes of 18 pieces, chewed one piece a day |
| Gum base | Natural chicle, sap of the sapodilla tree, harvested in Mexico per the brand's FAQ | Chios mastic in the chew; no plastic-free claim made, and none implied here |
| Sweeteners | Xylitol and steviol glycosides from stevia; polyols 72 g per 100 g on the label | Xylitol and erythritol |
| Active ingredient | None; no hydroxyapatite, no fluoride, no mineral system; xylitol is the closest thing and its per-piece amount is not published | Nano-hydroxyapatite, 5.7 mg per piece at 200 nm, dose published with a lab certificate |
| Price | UK: 12 pounds per 12-pack of 10-piece packs, about 10p per piece; US: 2.49 dollars per 10-piece pack, 5.99 per 30 | EUR 24.99 per 18-piece box one-time; less on subscription |
| Dental claim | "Keeps teeth healthy, prevents tooth decay", credited to xylitol; no dose, no study cited on the site | Enamel support as a complement to fluoride brushing, never a replacement |
| Plastic-free claim | "Zero plastic from our gum to our packaging"; M&S listing adds "certified biodegradable and plastic-free" with no certifying body named | None made |
| Disclosure status | Ingredients public via the pack label; no xylitol dose, no named certifier, no biodegradation timeframe, no methodology for its plastic-saved figure | Formula, dose and particle size published; certificate public |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Milliways rows sourced from uk.milliways.co, the pack label on Open Food Facts, Companies House and the January 2026 funding announcement, as captured on August 27, 2026; stores and labels change, so check the current pack before buying.
Part 1What Milliways is, and why the story deserves its credit first
Most gum startups are a founder, a white-label formula and a Shopify theme. Milliways is not that, and a review that pretends otherwise would be dishonest before it started. The company behind the brand, Milliways Food Limited, was incorporated in London in May 2018, three years before the gum launched in January 2021, which is roughly how long it takes to build a chewing gum from actual tree sap rather than order one from a catalogue. Its two directors are an unusual pairing: Tom Raviv, the founder, came out of Deloitte; Leon Amram previously owned Intergum, the Turkish gum manufacturer that was sold to Mondelez. One of them knows spreadsheets, the other has run gum production at industrial scale. For a category where most challenger brands have never seen the inside of a gum factory, that second name matters more than any marketing page.
The money believed the story too. Milliways has raised 10 million dollars in total, the latest a 3 million dollar round announced in January 2026, with investors including Mehmet Yüksek, the former CEO of Perfetti Van Melle North America, which is to say a man who ran Mentos and Airheads for the American market and presumably knows exactly what a gum brand's numbers should look like before he writes a cheque. The same announcement carries the company's own scale claims, and they should be read as exactly that, the company's own: "third largest and fastest-growing gum brand in the UK", 539% sales growth in twelve months, presence in over 10,000 stores globally, over 2,000 of them US retail stores including Sprouts, Meijer, Hy-Vee, Raley's and Fred Meyer. None of those figures is independently audited anywhere we could find, and growth percentages from small bases are the oldest trick in the press-release drawer. But the retail placements are checkable facts, and the UK ones are visible to anyone with a supermarket loyalty card: Tesco stocks it, and M&S Foodhalls have carried it since October 2025.
So the setup is real. This is a properly financed, properly distributed, properly manufactured plastic-free gum, and it occupies a genuine gap: most people have no idea conventional chewing gum is built on synthetic polymers, and the brand that tells them first earns real goodwill. What the rest of this review examines is not whether Milliways is legitimate, it plainly is, but what happens when its specific printed claims are read at the same slow speed we read every gum label on this blog: the certified claim, the teeth claim, the counting of the ingredients, and the independent science that no plastic-free gum brand, this one included, seems keen to bring up.
A gum with a dental active and the numbers in print
Minvelle sweetens with xylitol and erythritol, chews on Chios mastic, and publishes what this shelf does not: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece at 200 nm, with the full formula and lab certificate public. One piece a day after coffee or food, 18 pieces per box, as a complement to fluoride brushing, never a replacement.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks, €15.00 per box, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes · free EU shipping over €29
The formula: eight substances, marketed as seven
Here is the full Mighty Mint pack label, as recorded on Open Food Facts: "sweeteners: xylitol, steviol glycosides extract from the stevia plant, natural chicle base, stabiliser: vegetable glycerol, natural flavouring, thickener: gum arabic, anticaking agent: magnesium stearate, glazing agent: carnauba wax". Read as a gum label, it is short, comprehensible and genuinely plant-leaning, and every substance on it has an obvious job: two sweeteners, the chew, a softener, the taste, a texturiser, a flow agent for the factory, and a polish for the finished pieces.
The counting deserves one dry paragraph. The marketing says "just 7 plant-based ingredients". The label names eight substances. The arithmetic resolves easily enough: the two sweeteners, xylitol and steviol glycosides, are grouped under one "sweeteners" heading, and if you count the group as a single ingredient you get seven. This is a counting choice, not a deception, and plenty of brands make it. But a brand whose entire identity is built on honest labels should probably not need a footnote to make its headline number true, and a buyer who reads "7 ingredients" and then counts eight on the pack has learned something small and real about how the marketing rounds things. We note it gently and move on.
The base is the whole point of the product. Chicle is the milky sap of the sapodilla tree, tapped, per the brand's FAQ, in Mexico, and it is what all chewing gum was made of before the 1950s, when synthetic polymer bases replaced it because they were cheaper, more consistent and infinitely scalable. A chicle gum in 2026 is therefore not an innovation so much as a revival with better branding, and there is nothing wrong with that: the sap is a renewable forest product, the harvest supports the trees standing rather than felled, and a spat-out piece of chicle is organic matter rather than a polymer wad. The honest trade-off is mechanical, and it will reappear in the Trustpilot section: tree sap chews softer than engineered polymer, and flavour systems hold differently in it. Milliways did not choose chicle to win a chew-feel contest. It chose it so the label could say what it says.
The sweetener line is solid, with one familiar silence. Xylitol leads the list, backed by steviol glycosides from stevia, and the nutrition panel shows 72 g of polyols per 100 g of gum, which is typical for a sugar-free gum. What the label does not do, and the site does not do either, is break out how much of that polyol content is xylitol specifically, so the xylitol in one 1.9 g piece is not calculable from anything Milliways publishes. On the xylitol shelf this silence is practically the uniform: it is the same gap our PUR gum review found on a brand whose entire pitch is the xylitol, and it matters more for Milliways than it first appears, because in Part 4 the homepage will rest a tooth-decay claim on precisely this unquantified ingredient.
And what is not in the formula: any dental active. No hydroxyapatite, no fluoride, no calcium phosphate system, no mineral of any kind intended for the tooth surface. That is not a criticism; it is a category description. Milliways is a fresh-breath and sustainability gum, and judged as one, its label is tidy. The friction only starts where the marketing reaches into a category the formula does not participate in, which is exactly where this review goes after the claim the brand is actually famous for.
Part 3The plastic-free claim, read at walking pace
The homepage claim is absolute: "Zero plastic from our gum to our packaging." The M&S listing raises it: "certified biodegradable and plastic-free". Those are two different kinds of sentence. The first is a description a brand can make about itself; the second invokes an external authority, and an external authority has a name. We looked for that name. It is not on the homepage, not in the FAQ, not on the packs as recorded on Open Food Facts, not in the funding announcement. The only third-party appearance we found is a listing on ethy.co.uk, a UK claims-verification platform, whose own methodology for verifying claims is not disclosed on its site. So the precise, fair statement is this: Milliways claims certification, no certifying body is named anywhere we could find, and the one independent listing that exists comes from a platform whose checking process is itself unpublished. For a brand this well funded, naming the certifier would cost a sentence. It is an odd sentence to withhold.
To be clear about what this does not mean: nothing above suggests the gum secretly contains plastic. The chicle base is real, the cardboard packaging is real, and the underlying story is one of the more substantiated in the category. The point is narrower and it is the point this whole blog exists to make: "certified" is a checkable word, and a claim that borrows the authority of certification while omitting the certificate asks for trust it has not documented. The same page pattern, a bold claim with the load-bearing detail missing, will repeat twice more in this review, and three repetitions is a habit, not an accident.
The science Milliways quotes, and the difference it flattens
The study behind the brand's favourite number is real and worth knowing precisely. In 2025, researchers at Queen's University Belfast published, in the Journal of Hazardous Materials, a finding that more than 250,000 micro and nanoplastic particles were measurable in saliva after one hour of chewing a single piece of conventional gum. That is a genuinely startling result about conventional synthetic-base gum, and it is the best argument Milliways has. The brand's marketing compresses it to "plastic gum can leach up to 250,000 microplastic particles per piece". Compare the two sentences slowly: the study measured particles accumulating in saliva across an hour of chewing; the marketing turns that into a per-piece leaching figure, which sounds like a property of the gum rather than a measurement of a mouth over time. The number is real, the study is real, and the paraphrase quietly strips the conditions off it. Subtle, and the direction of the subtlety always favours the brand. Milliways citing this research is fair game; buyers should just know what the research actually measured.
The study nobody's marketing quotes
Here is the complication, and this review would be marketing rather than journalism if it left it out. In March 2025, a UCLA pilot study presented at the American Chemical Society Spring Meeting measured microplastics released into saliva from chewing gum directly, around 100 microplastics per gram of gum, and found something the plastic-free category would rather not discuss: the natural, plant-based gums in the test released similar amounts to the synthetic ones, with the same polymer types detected in both. The caveats matter and we state them plainly: it was a pilot study, it has not been peer reviewed, and it did not test Milliways specifically. It is a preliminary result, not a verdict. But it is the only independent head-to-head measurement of natural versus synthetic gum bases we are aware of, and its provisional answer is that the clean split every plastic-free gum brand sells, polymer bad, plant good, may be blurrier at the laboratory bench than it is on the shelf. Possible explanations range from contamination in processing to coatings to the measurement itself picking up non-base particles, and none of them are settled.
What should a fair reader do with that? Not conclude that Milliways is equivalent to conventional gum; the study is too preliminary and too general for that, and the non-plastic case for chicle, a renewable tree sap against a synthetic polymer, stands on more legs than particle counts alone: sourcing, packaging, what the spat-out wad is made of. But a buyer paying a premium specifically to get microplastics out of their saliva should know that the one direct measurement so far says the difference may be smaller than the marketing implies, and that the honest posture for every brand in this category, ours included when we write about anything, is to cite the studies with their caveats attached rather than shorn off. Milliways quotes the Belfast study without its conditions and does not mention the UCLA pilot at all. That, more than any single claim, is the pattern to grade.
What this review actually concludes
Chicle base, cardboard packs, serious money, a director who ran an industrial gum maker, and shelf space from Tesco to Sprouts. As green gum stories go, this one has more documentation behind it than any competitor we have reviewed.
The M&S listing says certified biodegradable and plastic-free; no certifying body is named anywhere. The Belfast study is quoted with its conditions removed, and the UCLA pilot that complicates the whole category goes unmentioned.
"Keeps teeth healthy, prevents tooth decay" rests on xylitol, whose research is dose dependent, and Milliways publishes no dose and cites no study. It is a fresh-breath gum with an oral-care sentence on the homepage.
The teeth sentence: one claim, zero numbers
The Milliways homepage makes exactly one dental claim: "Keeps teeth healthy, prevents tooth decay", attributed to the xylitol in the gum. Start with what is defensible about it. Chewing any sugar-free gum after meals raises saliva flow, and saliva is the mouth's own repair fluid: it dilutes and neutralises the acid that plaque bacteria produce, and carries dissolved minerals back toward the enamel surface. Xylitol adds a mechanism on top: the cavity-linked bacteria cannot ferment it into acid the way they ferment sugar. A xylitol-sweetened gum pointing at tooth health is therefore not inventing a connection. The connection exists, and it is why sugar-free gum in general has a place in dental advice.
Now hold the sentence against the label. The research behind xylitol's dental reputation is dose dependent: the studies that built it exposed mouths to specific daily amounts of xylitol, repeated through the day, and the benefit tracks the exposure. So the first question any decay-prevention claim must answer is: how much xylitol does one piece deliver? Milliways does not say. Not on the pack, where xylitol hides inside an aggregate 72 g of polyols per 100 g, not in the FAQ, not anywhere on the site. The second question is: which study supports the claim for this product or this dose? The site cites none. What remains is a sentence shaped like science with no numbers under it, and a buyer has no way to know whether their three pieces a week or thirty pieces a week resembles anything the research studied. We are not calling the sentence false. Xylitol's evidence base is real, and Milliways may sit anywhere within it. We are saying the sentence is unverifiable from everything the company publishes, which for a claim about preventing a disease is the problem entire. If you want to see how the honest version of this reasoning runs across the whole shelf, our guide to which chewing gum is actually healthy applies the same two questions to every brand it covers.
The deeper issue is category confusion, and it is worth naming because it is how buyers get quietly mis-sold. Milliways is a fresh-breath and sustainability gum. Its formula contains no dental active: no mineral system for the enamel, no fluoride, nothing whose job is the tooth surface. That puts it in the same functional category as any well-made sugar-free gum, plus the genuine sustainability difference of its base, and there is no shame in that category; it is where most gum belongs. The homepage sentence, though, borrows the language of a different category, oral care, where products carry actives, doses and evidence. A shopper who reads "prevents tooth decay" and buys Milliways as their dental step has bought a gum that delivers the sugar-free baseline and nothing beyond it, at a premium price justified by an environmental feature, not a dental one. The undosed-xylitol pattern is everywhere on this shelf, our Xylichew review found a brand naming a daily gram target while withholding the per-piece figure, but Milliways is the only brand we have reviewed doing it while its actual product story lives in a different aisle altogether. The gum is not pretending. The homepage is.
Part 5What buyers say, what it costs, and where to find it
For a brand claiming top-three UK status, Milliways has a strikingly thin public review footprint: its Trustpilot page holds just 16 reviews at the time of writing, and that smallness is the first honest thing to say about it. Sixteen self-selected reviews are weather, not climate; unhappy customers review more readily than happy ones everywhere on Trustpilot, and a brand selling through supermarkets collects most of its customers where no review prompt follows. So read what follows as a small, skewed sample read for its pattern, not its average.
The average, for the record, is poor: 2.7 out of 5, with 63 percent of reviews at one star. The pattern inside it is what makes the sample useful, because the complaints are not scattered. They converge on one thing, the chew itself. A reviewer named Paul, writing in August 2026, says the gum "keeps its consistency for about three minutes". Another, Peace, in May 2024: "flavour lasts 10 seconds at most, also it's so unchewy". Different years, same physics. This is exactly what Part 2 predicted from the label: chicle is a soft tree sap, synthetic polymer is an engineered chewing machine, and a buyer raised on the latter will feel the difference in the first minute. The genuine fans exist in the same sample, "Obsessed with Milliways!" writes RG in November 2024, and the split is instructive: the people who bought a planet-friendly gum are happy, and the people who bought a gum are not. Milliways' real product is the label; the chew is the fee.
We flag one more small thing because this is a disclosure review: the 16 reviews sit on the domain milliwaysfood.com, and none of this footprint appears on the brand's own pages, which is normal, and fine, and exactly why checking a brand's Trustpilot before believing its homepage is a habit worth having in every category.
The price arithmetic
The pack maths can be done, because piece counts are printed. In the UK, the brand's own store sells a 12-pack of 10-piece packs for 12 pounds: 120 pieces, so about 10p per piece, which for a chicle-base gum with this ingredient list is genuinely reasonable, cheaper per piece than most of the boutique gum shelf. In the US, a single 10-piece pack is 2.49 dollars, about 25 cents a piece, and the 30-piece pack at 5.99 brings it to about 20 cents, the usual single-pack premium in reverse. Each 10-piece pack weighs 19 g, call it 1.9 g per piece, ordinary for pellet gum. Two practical notes for the habit chewer: the softness complaints above mean a piece's useful life may be short, which quietly raises the real cost per satisfying chew; and we found no subscription programme on either store, so the 12-pack is the brand's only bulk lever. For a company this focused on retail shelves, that is consistent: Milliways is built to be picked up at a till, not delivered monthly.
Where it actually is
Five flavours: Peppermint, Spearmint, Mighty Mint, Watermelon, Bubblemint. In the UK, Tesco and M&S Foodhalls carry it, the M&S listing running since October 2025, and it is listed on Amazon UK; the brand's own store at uk.milliways.co sells the 12-packs. In the US, the company's January 2026 announcement claims over 2,000 retail stores, naming Sprouts, Meijer, Hy-Vee, Raley's and Fred Meyer, chains concentrated in exactly the natural-grocery territory where a plastic-free gum makes intuitive sense. The distribution tells you who the brand thinks its buyer is: someone in a supermarket queue choosing between Milliways and Extra, not someone researching gum on the internet. Which, given that you are reading a 5,000-word review of it, makes you the exception the brand never planned for.
The rest of the green ledger
Beyond the base, the sustainability file reads like this. Packaging: cardboard, recyclable, and genuinely plastic-free as far as anything published shows. Degradation: the FAQ says a chewed piece "biodegrades like a piece of fruit or veg", a vivid sentence with no timeframe attached, and fruit and veg themselves range from days to months, so the image does the work a number should. Impact accounting: the brand says it has "saved over 150 million pieces of plastic", a self-reported figure with no methodology published, presumably one conventional piece avoided per Milliways piece sold, but presumably is our word, not theirs, because theirs do not say. The honest summary of the ledger: the physical product choices are real and checkable, and every quantified green claim around them is self-reported and unaudited. That is better than the category average, and it is still short of what a brand this funded could publish tomorrow.
The pattern this review series keeps finding: the further a claim travels from the label, the fewer numbers travel with it. Milliways' ingredient list is public and verifiable. Its certified plastic-free claim names no certifier, its decay-prevention sentence names no dose and no study, its plastic-saved counter names no methodology, and its favourite piece of science is quoted with the conditions removed. A brand with 10 million dollars behind it could close every one of those gaps with a single documentation page. Until it does, buy the label, not the sentences.
Who Milliways is for, and who is shopping in the wrong aisle
Good fit: the buyer whose reason is the plastic. If what bothers you about gum is the synthetic polymer in your mouth and the wad that outlives you on the pavement, Milliways is one of the most credible ways to act on that in a UK supermarket: a real chicle base, cardboard packs, real distribution, and a per-piece price that does not punish the principle. Take the chew for what the reviews say it is, softer and shorter-lived than the polymer gum you grew up with, and treat that as the cost of the choice rather than a defect. Buyers in this group are optimising for the columns Milliways actually wins, and nothing in this review argues with them; the UCLA pilot is worth knowing as an open question, not a veto.
Read sceptically if the teeth sentence is what sold you. A buyer who arrives at Milliways through "prevents tooth decay" is buying the one sentence on the site that nothing published can support at the product level: no dose, no citation, no active ingredient. The gum still delivers the sugar-free baseline that any dentist would rather see than a sugared gum, and chewing it after meals is a perfectly good habit. But as a dental decision, it is a fresh-breath gum wearing an oral-care sentence, and if dental benefit is the actual goal, the sensible starting point is our breakdown of what dentists actually recommend in a gum, which walks through what the baseline does and where actives begin.
Step across the aisle if you are chewing for your enamel. Anyone chewing specifically for enamel support or remineralisation is shopping in a category Milliways does not enter: gums built around a mineral active, with the dose as the whole point. The standard this review applied to Milliways applies there with more force, not less, because mineral-category prices deserve mineral-category proof: what active, what particle size, how many milligrams per piece, and where is the certificate. Our round-up of remineralizing chewing gum, tested and compared holds every candidate in that category, ours included, to exactly those questions, and brands that answer them in print exist. Any brand that will not answer has told you something useful too.
The verdict in one line. Milliways is the most credible plastic-free gum story we have reviewed and a perfectly honest purchase for the buyer who wants exactly that; it is not an oral-care product, its boldest claims are the ones with no numbers under them, and the right way to buy it is for its label, with the homepage's dental sentence left on the homepage.
Chicle: The milky sap of the sapodilla tree, harvested in Mexico per Milliways' FAQ, and the base all chewing gum used before synthetic polymers took over in the mid-20th century. Renewable, plant-derived, and softer in the chew than engineered bases.
Gum base: The chewable core of any gum. In conventional gum it is a synthetic polymer blend; in Milliways it is chicle; other natural-base gums use saps like Chios mastic. The base is what the plastic-free argument is entirely about.
Micro and nanoplastics: Plastic fragments small enough to end up in saliva, food and water. The 2025 Belfast study counted more than 250,000 such particles in saliva after an hour of chewing one piece of conventional gum; their health significance is still being worked out.
Xylitol: A sugar alcohol that cavity-linked bacteria cannot ferment into acid. The first-listed sweetener in Milliways, and the sole basis of its dental claim; the research on it is dose dependent, and Milliways publishes no per-piece dose.
Steviol glycosides: The sweet compounds extracted from the stevia plant, used alongside xylitol in Milliways. An intensity sweetener with no role in the dental story either way.
Polyols: The family of sugar alcohols, xylitol included, that sweeten sugar-free gum. Milliways' label declares 72 g per 100 g without breaking out xylitol's share, which is why the per-piece xylitol dose cannot be calculated. In quantity, polyols can unsettle digestion.
Certified plastic-free: A claim that invokes an external verifier. Meaningful exactly to the extent the certifying body is named and its standard is public; Milliways' listing uses the word without naming one.
Nano-hydroxyapatite: A mineral active used in oral-care gums and toothpastes, a synthetic form of the mineral enamel is made of. Not present in Milliways; in gums that carry it, the per-piece milligram dose is the number to ask for.
The things people actually ask
Is Milliways gum actually plastic free?
More plausibly than most gums making the claim. The base is natural chicle from sapodilla tree sap, per the brand's own FAQ, and the packaging is cardboard. Two caveats keep the answer honest. First, "certified biodegradable and plastic-free" appears on the brand's M&S listing, yet no certifying body is named anywhere; the only third-party listing we found is ethy.co.uk, a claims-verification platform whose methodology is not disclosed. Second, a 2025 UCLA pilot study, presented at an American Chemical Society meeting and not yet peer reviewed, found natural and plant-based gum bases released microplastic counts similar to synthetic ones, with the same polymer types detected. It did not test Milliways. Plausibly plastic-free, verifiably uncertified.
Is Milliways gum good for your teeth?
In the way any sugar-free gum is, yes: chewing raises saliva flow, which helps dilute and neutralise plaque acid after meals. The Milliways homepage goes further, "keeps teeth healthy, prevents tooth decay", crediting xylitol. The site cites no study for that sentence and publishes no xylitol dose per piece, and the research behind xylitol's dental reputation is dose dependent, so the claim cannot be checked against the product. There is no dental active of any kind in the formula: no hydroxyapatite, no fluoride, no mineral system. Chew it for fresh breath and for the plastic-free base, not as an oral-care product.
What is Milliways gum made of?
The Mighty Mint pack label, via Open Food Facts, reads: "sweeteners: xylitol, steviol glycosides extract from the stevia plant, natural chicle base, stabiliser: vegetable glycerol, natural flavouring, thickener: gum arabic, anticaking agent: magnesium stearate, glazing agent: carnauba wax". Polyols are 72 g per 100 g. The marketing says "just 7 plant-based ingredients" while the label names eight substances; the two sweeteners are grouped as one, which reads as a counting choice rather than a deception. The chew comes from chicle, the sap of the sapodilla tree, harvested in Mexico per the brand's FAQ.
Where can I buy Milliways gum?
In the UK: Tesco, M&S Foodhalls since October 2025, and the brand's own store at £12 for a 12-pack of 10-piece packs; it is also listed on Amazon UK. In the US it sells for $2.49 per 10-piece pack or $5.99 per 30, and the company reports shelf space in over 2,000 US retail stores including Sprouts, Meijer, Hy-Vee, Raley's and Fred Meyer. We found no subscription programme on either store.
Is Milliways gum safe?
Nothing on the label suggests otherwise. Every ingredient is a standard food-grade substance: chicle, xylitol, stevia extract, vegetable glycerol, gum arabic, magnesium stearate, carnauba wax. The practical notes are the ones that apply to any sugar-free gum: polyols in quantity can unsettle digestion, and this label shows 72 g of polyols per 100 g, typical for the category. Xylitol is dangerous to dogs even in small amounts, so keep any xylitol gum, this one and every other, well away from pets. The open questions about Milliways are disclosure questions, not safety ones.
Why is my Milliways gum soft, and why does the flavour fade so fast?
Chicle is a natural tree-sap base, and it chews softer than the synthetic polymer bases conventional gum is built on. The most consistent complaint in the brand's small Trustpilot sample, 16 reviews at the time of this article, is exactly this: one reviewer writes that the gum "keeps its consistency for about three minutes", another that the "flavour lasts 10 seconds at most". It is not a defect in your pack. It is a trait of the base material, and it is the everyday trade-off a chewer accepts for going plastic-free.
What is the difference between Milliways and regular gum?
The base. Conventional gum bases are synthetic polymers, and a 2025 Queen's University Belfast study in the Journal of Hazardous Materials found more than 250,000 micro and nanoplastic particles in saliva after one hour of chewing a single piece of conventional gum. Milliways uses chicle, a tree sap, instead. One honest complication: a UCLA pilot study from March 2025, not yet peer reviewed, found natural gums released microplastic counts similar to synthetic ones, so the clean split between plastic gum and plant gum may be blurrier than any brand's marketing suggests. It did not test Milliways specifically.
How much xylitol is in Milliways gum?
Not published. Xylitol is the first-listed sweetener, and the nutrition label shows 72 g of polyols per 100 g of gum, but neither the pack nor the site breaks out xylitol from the other polyols, so the xylitol in one piece cannot be calculated from anything the brand publishes. That gap matters because the homepage's dental claim rests entirely on xylitol, and the research behind xylitol is dose dependent: without a number, the claim and the product cannot be connected.
Milliways or a hydroxyapatite gum, which should I pick?
They are different categories. Milliways is a plastic-free fresh-breath gum: chicle base, xylitol and stevia, no dental active, bought for sustainability and taste. A hydroxyapatite gum is an oral-care product that adds a mineral active on top of the sugar-free baseline. If enamel support is what you are shopping for, hold every candidate to published numbers: Minvelle, for instance, publishes 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece at 200 nm with a lab certificate, chewed one piece a day as a complement to fluoride brushing, never a replacement. Chew Milliways for the planet. Chew a hydroxyapatite gum for the enamel. Just know which purchase you are making.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.
- Milliways official UK store: flavours, pack sizes, pricing, FAQ (chicle sourcing, biodegradability), plastic-free and dental claims, as captured August 27, 2026
- Companies House, MILLIWAYS FOOD LIMITED (company 11367977): incorporation 17 May 2018, registered office London, directors
- PR Newswire, January 29, 2026: Milliways $3M funding round announcement; investor list including Mehmet Yüksek; company-sourced growth, store-count and market-position claims
- Open Food Facts, Milliways Mighty Mint entry: full pack ingredient list verbatim and polyols 72 g per 100 g
- Trustpilot, milliwaysfood.com: 2.7 out of 5 from 16 reviews, rating distribution and quoted reviews, as captured August 27, 2026
- Queen's University Belfast, Journal of Hazardous Materials (2025), DOI 10.1016/j.jhazmat.2024.136978: micro- and nanoplastic particles in saliva after one hour of chewing conventional gum
- UCLA pilot study, presented at the American Chemical Society Spring Meeting, March 2025 (not yet peer reviewed): microplastics released per gram of gum, natural and synthetic bases compared
- ethy.co.uk: third-party listing of Milliways' sustainability claims; verification methodology not disclosed on the platform
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Buy the base, not the sentences. Milliways has built something most green brands only render in Figma: a real chicle gum with real money, real factories in its ancestry and real shelf space on two continents, sold at a price that makes the principle affordable. It has also let its claims drift ahead of its documentation: a certified label with no certifier named, a decay-prevention sentence with no dose and no study, a plastic-saved counter with no methodology, and a favourite statistic quoted with its conditions filed off, all while the one independent head-to-head measurement of natural versus synthetic bases, preliminary as it is, sits unmentioned. None of that changes what is in the pack, and what is in the pack is the most honest thing about the brand. So the advice writes itself: if plastic-free chewing is what you want, buy Milliways with open eyes and enjoy the ten seconds of watermelon. If your teeth are the reason you are shopping, buy from the category that publishes its numbers, and hold every brand there, ours first, to the question this whole series keeps asking: what exactly is in one piece, and where is that written?
A gum with a dental active and the numbers in print
Minvelle sweetens with xylitol and erythritol, chews on Chios mastic, and publishes what this shelf does not: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece at 200 nm, with the full formula and lab certificate public. One piece a day after coffee or food, 18 pieces per box, as a complement to fluoride brushing, never a replacement.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks, €15.00 per box, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes · free EU shipping over €29