Supersmile whitening gum review 2026: label checked
Supersmile sells a 12-piece whitening gum for $3.50 built around Calprox, an encapsulated calcium peroxide the brand keeps proprietary. This review reads the label as printed on the live page, quotes the mechanism the brand claims in its own words, searches PubMed for the ingredient, works out the price per piece, and sets the gum next to Trident White and next to our own hydroxyapatite gum. I make that last one, so the conflict is named up front and the standard is the same for all three.
Published September 2026 · Last reviewed: 5 September 2026 · 24 min read
One piece, once a day, with the dose on the page
Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, made to be chewed one piece a day after meals or when brushing is not an option. A box holds 18 pieces, which is 18 days, and it sits alongside your fluoride routine rather than replacing it. The full formula and the batch certificate are published. It makes no whitening claim.
Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29Is Supersmile whitening gum worth buying?
As a xylitol-first sugar-free gum at 29 cents a piece, it is a reasonable buy. As a whitening product, the only evidence on the table is the brand's own description. The label on supersmile.com on 5 September 2026 runs eight ingredients: "Xylitol, Gum Base, Natural Favors, Glycerin, Gum Arabic, Soy Lecithin, Beeswax, Calprox®." The brand says Calprox is "encapsulated calcium peroxide and minerals" and that it "dissolves the sticky bio-film from teeth". It does not publish how much Calprox a piece contains, and a PubMed search for the word Calprox returned zero results the same day. The brand's claim stops at surface stain. It does not say the gum changes the colour of the tooth itself, and nothing we found suggests it could.
What does the science say about whitening gum in general?
Chewing sugar-free gum after coffee, tea or a cigarette reduces the amount of new surface stain, and that benefit belongs to every sugar-free gum, not to any special ingredient. The clearest trial is a 12-week crossover of Orbit White (PMID 26054175) with 25 to 36 percent less new stain versus brushing alone. A 2017 model study (PMID 29251453) found the same for three different sugar-free gums, and changing the gum base or flavour made no difference. Neither trial used Supersmile, and no published trial isolates Calprox. Read the word whitening on this pack as stain control, and you will not be disappointed.
The short version, before the detail
Here is what this review found, with the single source each line rests on. Everything about Supersmile comes from pages on supersmile.com fetched on 5 September 2026, and everything about the science comes from PubMed records checked the same day. Where a fact could not be verified, the line says so instead of guessing.
- Still sold, direct. The gum's product page on supersmile.com was live and returned a normal response on 5 September 2026. The brand sells it itself. The 12-pack did not appear as its own listing in an Amazon or Walmart search that day; only bundled kits containing floss or lip balm did.
- A real 1987 brand whose founder has died. The company page names Dr. Irwin Smigel and his wife Lucia Smigel as founders in 1987. The history page says he has since passed and the brand carries on. The legal entity behind the site is not stated anywhere we looked; the Terms of Service footer still reads "© Copyright 2010 Supersmile".
- Eight ingredients, xylitol first. The list is published in full on the product page. The brand states "Sweetened with 65% Xylitol, and no other added sugars". No piece weight is given, so that percentage cannot be turned into milligrams.
- Calprox is described, not quantified. Three separate pages describe it consistently as encapsulated calcium peroxide with minerals. No page states the amount per piece.
- Zero PubMed records for Calprox. A term search on 5 September 2026 returned nothing. No indexed trial names Supersmile or this gum. There is no study claim to make about this product, so this review makes none.
- 29 cents a piece. $3.50 for 12 pieces, with a $5.00 compare-at price shown on the page. About five times the per-piece price of Trident White in our review, and about a fifth of the price of our own gum.
- Two different star ratings on one page. The page's structured data states 4.9 out of 5 from 43 reviews; a review widget on the same page shows 4.6 out of 5 from 997 ratings. Both are the brand's own display. The individual review text loads through a script, so we could not read the reviews themselves and quote none.
If you only wanted a one-word verdict: there is none, because this page does not hand out verdicts about brands. It is a small, cheap, published-label sugar-free gum with one proprietary ingredient whose effect nobody outside the company has measured in public. That is a common state of affairs in whitening gum, and Trident White, the biggest name in the category, sits in a similar one.
Supersmile, Trident White and Minvelle, side by side
Three gums, three different purposes. Supersmile is sold as a whitening gum. Trident White is the mainstream whitening gum most people have heard of. Minvelle is our own remineralizing gum and makes no whitening claim at all; it sits in the table so you can see what a published dose and a published certificate look like next to a proprietary blend. Every cell names its source, and "not published" means the brand's own pages do not state it, never that we assume it is absent.
| Fact | Supersmile teeth whitening gum | Trident White | Minvelle (ours) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claim on the pack | Whitening; "dissolves surface stains" (product page, 5 Sep 2026) | Whitening (per our review, 22 Aug 2026) | Remineralizing; no whitening claim |
| Named active | Calprox, "encapsulated calcium peroxide and minerals" | None named on current US lists we found | Nano-hydroxyapatite |
| Amount of active per piece | Not published | Not applicable, no active named | 5.7 mg, published with batch certificate |
| Sweetener | Xylitol only, listed first; "65% Xylitol" per brand | Sorbitol first, then maltitol and mannitol; aspartame or sucralose plus acesulfame potassium; no xylitol | Xylitol 817 mg and erythritol 285 mg per piece |
| Full ingredient list public | Yes, 8 ingredients | Yes, via retail listings | Yes, 14 ingredients by weight |
| Piece weight published | No | Not in our review | 1.9 g |
| Pack size and price | 12 pieces, $3.50 (compare-at $5.00) | 144 pieces, around $9 at time of our review | 18 pieces per box; subscription 2 boxes every 4 weeks €29.99 |
| Price per piece | About $0.29 | About $0.06 | About €1.39 single box, about €0.83 on subscription |
| PubMed trial on the finished product | None found (Calprox search: 0 results, 5 Sep 2026) | None found (per our review) | None; two small studies on hydroxyapatite gum in general, neither on whitening |
| Brand's own rating display | 4.9 of 5 from 43 reviews (structured data) and 4.6 of 5 from 997 ratings (widget), same page | Not assessed in our review | Reviews on our product page; not scored here |
| Lab document public | None found | None found | Batch certificate and safety assessment as PDFs |
Swipe sideways on mobile. Trident White figures come from our own review dated 22 August 2026; Minvelle figures from our transparency page. Prices move; the "Last reviewed" date is the date these were true.
Who Supersmile is, and whether the gum is still sold
Supersmile is older than most of the brands this blog reviews. Its company page states that it was "Founded in 1987 by Dr. Irwin Smigel, World Renowned Father of Aesthetic Dentistry and his wife Lucia Smigel". The capitalised title is the brand's, not mine. The same page describes the range as "a clinically proven collection" of whitening and breath-freshening formulas. I quote that because it matters for the evidence section below: a brand that says clinically proven on its company page has set the bar it should be measured against, and the measuring tool is a search of the medical literature.
The founder is no longer alive. The brand's history page puts it this way: "While Dr. Smigel has since passed, his legacy is far from fading out." The page goes on to describe his founding of the American Society for Dental Aesthetics and a prize named after him. Nothing on the site names a current owner, a parent company or a legal entity. The Terms of Service page carries a footer reading "© Copyright 2010 Supersmile. All rights reserved." That is a stale year on a page that was live in September 2026, and it tells you the legal boilerplate has not been maintained. It does not tell you who owns the brand today, so this review does not claim to know.
Is the gum still sold? Yes. On 5 September 2026 the product page at supersmile.com, titled simply "teeth whitening gum" with the handle freshen-breath-teeth-whitening-gum-stain-removal-on-the-go, returned a normal response and listed the product with a price. The vendor field in the store's own product data reads Supersmile and the product type reads "On-The-Go". So the brand sells it direct, on its own store. A search-results pull the same day also surfaced other Supersmile items listed on QVC and on Amazon's live-shopping pages, so the brand has third-party distribution for parts of its range. The gum itself did not appear as a standalone 12-pack listing in an Amazon or Walmart search that day; only bundle kits containing floss or lip balm did. If you want the gum on its own, the brand's site was the one place we could confirm it.
One more absence worth stating. We could not confirm whether this gum carries the American Dental Association's Seal of Acceptance. The ADA's product search loads through a script that a plain page fetch cannot read, and a web search for the brand together with the ADA site returned nothing on 5 September 2026. The product page itself makes no Seal claim for the gum. So the honest entry is "not confirmed", not "no", and if the brand or the ADA publishes a listing we will update the line.
Eight ingredients, read in order
The product page publishes the full list, which is more than several whitening gums manage. Here it is exactly as it appears on supersmile.com on 5 September 2026, including the brand's own spelling of the third item: "Xylitol, Gum Base, Natural Favors, Glycerin, Gum Arabic, Soy Lecithin, Beeswax, Calprox®." "Favors" is presumably a typo for flavors; I reproduce it because a verbatim list is the point of a label check, and because it tells you the page has not been proofread recently, which fits the 2010 copyright line.
Ingredient lists run by weight, heaviest first, so the order carries information. Xylitol sits at the top, which means it is the largest single component. The brand backs that with a number: "Sweetened with 65% Xylitol, and no other added sugars". Sixty-five percent is a high xylitol fraction for a gum; for reference, xylitol makes up 43 percent of a piece of our own gum, and the brands in our xylitol gum ranking span a wide range. What the Supersmile page does not give is a piece weight. Without it, 65 percent cannot be converted into milligrams per piece, and milligrams per piece is the number that lets you compare one gum with another or with the doses used in xylitol research. So the sweetener line reads: xylitol only, a high stated percentage, an unknown absolute amount.
| # | Ingredient as printed | Usual role in a gum | Amount stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Xylitol | Sugar-alcohol sweetener, the one with the oral-health research behind it | 65% by brand statement; no mg |
| 2 | Gum Base | The chewable part; composition not itemised | Not stated |
| 3 | Natural Favors [sic] | Flavouring; the page says mint | Not stated |
| 4 | Glycerin | Softener and moisture keeper | Not stated |
| 5 | Gum Arabic | Plant gum, binder and coating agent | Not stated |
| 6 | Soy Lecithin | Emulsifier; soy allergen note for those who need it | Not stated |
| 7 | Beeswax | Coating or texture agent; animal-derived, so not vegan | Not stated |
| 8 | Calprox® | The proprietary "active"; last on the list, so the smallest component by weight | Not stated |
Two things stand out once the list is laid out. First, the base is not itemised. "Gum Base" is a legal catch-all in most markets and tells you nothing about whether the chewable part is a synthetic polymer, a natural resin like chicle or mastic, or a blend. Most mainstream gums list it the same way, so this is normal rather than evasive, but it is a gap. Second, Calprox is the last ingredient. On a list ordered by weight, the last entry is the smallest, and the brand does not say how small. A proprietary blend at the bottom of a label is exactly the kind of line a reader cannot check, which is why the next section quotes the brand's description of it at length rather than paraphrasing.
For the allergy-minded: soy lecithin and beeswax are both on the list. Beeswax makes the gum not vegan by the usual definition. The page does not carry an allergen statement beyond the list itself, so I am reading these off the ingredients, not off a warning.
Calprox, in the brand's own words
Supersmile describes Calprox on at least three pages, and the descriptions agree with each other, which is worth noting because it is not always the case with proprietary blends. The gum's product page, fetched 5 September 2026, says: "This Xylitol-sweetened gum contains Calprox®, our proprietary formula of encapsulated calcium peroxide and minerals. This ingredient gently and effectively dissolves the sticky bio-film from teeth, helping to eliminate plaque, bacteria and stains without the risk of sensitivity." The same page adds, in its bullet list, "Dissolves surface stains from teeth without sensitivity" and "Makes smiles look shiny + new (even dentures, veneers, or bonded teeth!)".
The brand's dedicated Calprox page, fetched the same day, gives the composition a little differently: "Calprox® is a gentle blend of encapsulated calcium, phosphates, magnesium, and minerals that replicates the tooth enamel." It labels the ingredient "Proprietary to supersmile®." The company page repeats the "encapsulated calcium peroxide and minerals" wording and says the ingredient "dissolves the sticky film (protein pellicle) from teeth without the risk of sensitivity".
Put those together and the claim has a clear shape. Calprox is a calcium peroxide compound, encapsulated, carried with calcium, phosphate and magnesium minerals. The brand says it works by loosening the pellicle, the protein film that forms on teeth within minutes of cleaning and that surface stains bind to. Remove or loosen the film and the stain attached to it comes away. That is a surface-stain mechanism, and the brand is careful, on the pages we read, to say "surface stains". Nowhere does it say the gum changes the colour of the tooth underneath, and I found no statement that Calprox bleaches enamel or dentin. That restraint deserves credit. Plenty of whitening products blur the line between stain removal and bleaching; this page does not.
The chemistry is worth one paragraph because it separates Supersmile from the rest of the whitening-gum shelf. Calcium peroxide is a peroxide, which places Calprox in the oxidising family rather than the polishing family. Most gums that say whitening on the front have no oxidising ingredient at all; their effect, where it has been measured, comes from chewing and saliva, sometimes helped by a mild phosphate that competes with stain for the tooth surface. Supersmile's ingredient is, on paper, a different kind of thing. Whether the amount in one piece of gum does anything measurable is a separate question, and it is the question no published study answers.
What is missing is the number. No Supersmile page states how much Calprox a piece contains, how much calcium peroxide is inside the Calprox, or what the encapsulation is made of. The word "encapsulated" implies the peroxide is released on chewing, but the release profile is not described. A reader who wants to compare this gum with a peroxide strip, or with a phosphate gum in a trial, has nothing to compare. That is not unusual for a proprietary blend. It is still the gap that keeps this review from saying more than "the brand says".
What PubMed holds on whitening gum, and what it holds on Calprox
Start with the direct question. On 5 September 2026 I searched PubMed for the term Calprox across all fields. It returned zero results. I also found no indexed clinical trial naming Supersmile or this gum. That means there is no third-party efficacy number for this product, in either direction. It does not mean the ingredient does nothing; absence of a trial is not a negative result. It does mean that every statement about what Calprox does comes from the company that sells it, and that a company page describing its range as "clinically proven" has not, as far as the public record shows, put this gum through a trial that anyone can read. So this review makes no study claim about Supersmile at all. The three studies below are about other gums, and they are here to show what the category can and cannot do.
Orbit White over 12 weeks: less new stain, not less old stain
The most useful whitening-gum trial in the literature is by Milleman and colleagues, published in the Journal of Clinical Dentistry in 2014 (PMID 26054175). It was a single-centre, examiner-blind, randomised crossover of 12 weeks in adults who form stain readily, meaning smokers and heavy coffee or tea drinkers. Starting from a stain-free baseline, they either chewed Orbit White four times a day for 15 minutes each alongside normal brushing, or brushed without gum, then swapped. After 12 weeks, the Lobene Stain Index showed 25 percent less new stain formation with the gum, and the Modified Lobene Stain Index showed 36 percent less. The authors' conclusion was that regular use of the gum soon after smoking or drinking coffee or tea supplements brushing in preventing new stain on the front teeth.
Read what that measures. The subjects started stain-free and the trial counted how much new stain built up. It is a prevention result, not a removal result, and it is a whitening gum from a different maker with a different formula. It does say something about the category: chewed after the staining drink, gum reduces the stain that would otherwise settle. It says nothing about Supersmile, and nothing about calcium peroxide.
Three sugar-free gums in two weeks: the base and the flavour did not matter
The second study, by Dodds and colleagues in the American Journal of Dentistry in December 2017 (PMID 29251453), set out to build a faster test for stain prevention. Twenty-five adults rinsed five times a day with freshly brewed black tea to force stain, then either chewed one of three sugar-free gums for 12 minutes or chewed nothing. It was a four-way crossover over two weeks each. All three gums cut new stain by 43 percent or more on the Modified Lobene Stain Index versus no gum, and two instrument methods agreed. The authors, who list Wrigley as their affiliation, add a line that matters for this review: a minor change to the gum base polymer, or a change of flavour, did not significantly change the stain-prevention result.
That last sentence is the honest ceiling for the word whitening on most gum packs. The stain-prevention effect belonged to the act of chewing a sugar-free gum after the tea, not to what the gum was made of. If you chew Supersmile after coffee you will very likely get the same benefit, because you will be chewing a sugar-free gum after coffee. What you cannot get from this study is any sign that a peroxide ingredient adds to it, because none of the three gums carried one.
A phosphate gum on stained pellets: an active can add something, in a lab set-up
The third study is the closest the literature comes to testing whether an added ingredient removes existing stain. Makino and colleagues, in Operative Dentistry in 2019 (PMID 31172873), ran a double-blind, placebo-controlled in situ study in 30 adults. Each person wore an appliance holding a hydroxyapatite pellet for two hours to let a pellicle form; the pellets were then soaked in coffee for 48 hours and their colour measured. The subjects then chewed two pieces of a gum containing 7.5 mg of sodium metaphosphate per piece, or the same gum without it, in five cycles of five minutes each. The phosphate gum removed measurably more coffee stain from the pellets than the control gum in every cycle after the first. The authors call sodium metaphosphate "a promising agent to be further explored".
Note the set-up. A pellet on an appliance is not a tooth, 48 hours of coffee soaking is not a year of mornings, and sodium metaphosphate is not calcium peroxide. What the study shows is that a named ingredient at a stated dose can do more than the plain gum in a controlled test. That is exactly the kind of evidence Supersmile could produce for Calprox, and exactly the kind that does not exist in the public record as of the search date.
So where does that leave the Supersmile claim?
In a reasonable place, if you read it at its own size. The brand claims surface-stain removal and a shinier look. The category evidence says sugar-free gum after coffee reduces new stain, and that an active at a known dose can lift some existing stain from a pellet. Supersmile's active has no dose and no trial. So the safest statement is: this gum will do what any sugar-free gum does after a staining drink, and it may do more, but nobody has measured the "more". If a reader needs their teeth to change shade, the honest answer for every gum on the market, ours included, is that a gum is the wrong tool, and a dentist is the right conversation.
Twenty-nine cents a piece, and what that buys
The product page on 5 September 2026 listed one variant at $3.50 with a compare-at price of $5.00 struck through, and stated "1 Pack = 12 Pieces". That is $0.29 a piece at the selling price and $0.42 a piece at the compare-at price. Compare-at prices are set by the store and may or may not reflect a price the product has ever sold at, so I treat $3.50 as the price and $5.00 as decoration. Shipping is not included in either number, and on a $3.50 item the shipping charge can exceed the product; the page did not state a shipping cost on the fetch date, so I cannot compute a delivered price.
Against the rest of the shelf, 29 cents a piece is mid-priced for a specialist gum and expensive for a plain sugar-free gum. Trident White, in our review from 22 August 2026, was around nine dollars for a 144-piece multipack, which is about six cents a piece, the cheapest product in our review series. Supersmile costs roughly five times that per piece. Whether the difference is worth paying depends on whether you value the xylitol-only sweetener list and the named peroxide ingredient, because those are the two things the label offers that the Trident White label does not. Nothing in the published evidence tells you that either one produces a whiter result.
Against our own gum the comparison runs the other way, and I want to be plain that it is not a like-for-like. Minvelle is about €1.39 a piece at the single-box price and about €0.83 a piece on the two-box subscription at €29.99. That is far more than Supersmile, and the reason is a different product: a published 5.7 mg dose of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece with a batch certificate you can download, sold as a remineralizing gum with no whitening claim. If your goal is a cheap sugar-free gum to chew after coffee, Supersmile is the better buy of the two by a wide margin and I will say so without hedging. If your goal is a mineral dose you can check, Supersmile does not publish one and was never sold as that.
Two star ratings on one page, and no readable reviews
Most brand reviews on this blog carry a section on what buyers say, with the themes attributed and dated. This one is shorter than usual, because the primary source did not give us the text. Here is what the page did give.
The product page's structured data, the machine-readable block that search engines read, states an aggregate rating of 4.9 out of 5 from 43 reviews. A review widget elsewhere on the same page, loaded through a metafield, shows 4.6 out of 5 from 997 ratings. Those two figures cannot both describe the same set of reviews of the same product. The likeliest explanation is a different counting basis, for example a store-wide total or a bundle listing feeding the widget, but the page does not say, and I will not pick one for the brand. Both numbers are the brand's own display, unaudited, reported here as displayed on 5 September 2026 and not endorsed.
The individual reviews themselves load through a client-side script. A plain fetch of the page returns the rating summary but not a single review body, so there was no text to read and no themes to summarise. I could have gone to a marketplace for review text, but the standalone 12-pack did not appear as its own listing in an Amazon or Walmart search on the fetch date; only bundle kits did, and bundle reviews describe the bundle. Rather than borrow reviews of a floss-and-lip-balm kit and present them as reviews of the gum, this section states that no review themes could be verified and leaves it there.
What a reader can do: open the product page in a normal browser, where the widget renders, and read the reviews directly. Sort by lowest rating first, which is where the useful information about any product lives, and look for repeated complaints rather than one-off ones. If you do that and find a consistent theme, tell me and I will add it here with the date.
Supersmile vs Trident White: the label fight
Trident White is the whitening gum most people can name, so it is the natural benchmark. Our Trident White review, last reviewed 22 August 2026, did the same label reading this page does, and the two labels turn out to be very different products wearing the same word on the front.
Sweeteners. The current US Trident White ingredient lists we found run sorbitol first, then maltitol and mannitol, with aspartame or sucralose depending on the flavour, plus acesulfame potassium, and no xylitol anywhere. Supersmile lists xylitol first and nothing else as a sweetener. If you buy gum for the xylitol, that is the whole decision, and Supersmile wins it outright. If you are indifferent to sweetener type, it is a wash.
The named active. Our review of Trident White found no distinct whitening ingredient on the current US lists; the sodium hexametaphosphate that older Trident White formulations were known for did not appear on the lists we found, and the product's whitening effect, where it exists, is the ordinary sugar-free-gum effect the two Wrigley-affiliated studies above describe. Supersmile names an active, Calprox, and describes its chemistry. That is more disclosure than Trident White offers. It is also, without a dose or a trial, a description rather than a proof.
The ADA Seal. Our Trident White review found that the ADA Seal people associate with Trident belongs to a different Trident line, not to White, and that no Seal covers any whitening claim. For Supersmile's gum, the Seal status is not confirmed either way. Neither product, then, can lean on the Seal for its whitening claim.
Price. About six cents a piece against about 29 cents. Trident White is roughly a fifth of the price. For a gum you chew several times a day, that gap adds up quickly.
The evidence. Neither product has a published trial on the finished gum that we could find. Trident White can point to the general sugar-free-gum stain-prevention literature, and so can Supersmile, because the effect belongs to the category. On what is written down and checkable, Supersmile publishes a cleaner sweetener list and a named ingredient, and charges five times as much for it. Trident White publishes a mainstream list and charges supermarket money. Which is better depends on whether the xylitol and the peroxide are worth 23 cents a piece to you, and the science cannot settle that, so your priorities have to.
Supersmile vs Minvelle, with the conflict named
Disclosure first: Minvelle is my company, and this section compares a competitor's product with mine. Every fact about Supersmile above comes from Supersmile's own pages, quoted and dated, and every fact about Minvelle below comes from our transparency page, where you can check it. If the comparison reads as favourable to us, test it against the sources rather than taking my word.
These are different products with different jobs, and the honest version of this section starts there. Supersmile is a whitening gum whose mechanism is a peroxide compound working on surface stain. Minvelle is a remineralizing gum whose active is nano-hydroxyapatite, the calcium phosphate mineral enamel is made of, and it makes no whitening claim. Our transparency page says in as many words that we do not claim the gum whitens teeth. So there is no whitening contest here, and I am not going to invent one to win it.
Where the two can be compared is disclosure, because that is the standard this whole page runs on. Supersmile publishes a full eight-item ingredient list and a xylitol percentage, but no piece weight, no amount of its active, and no lab document. Minvelle publishes a 14-ingredient list by weight, a 1.9 g piece weight, 817 mg of xylitol and 285 mg of erythritol per piece, 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, a stated particle size, and a batch certificate of analysis and safety assessment as downloadable PDFs with one disclosed redaction, the manufacturer's name. On that axis, ours shows more. It also costs about five times as much per piece, and the price is on the same page as the dose.
On evidence, both products stand on category studies rather than on trials of the finished gum, and I hold ours to the same sentence I used for Supersmile. There is no published trial of Minvelle. The hydroxyapatite gum literature is two small studies. Porciani and colleagues, Journal of Clinical Dentistry 2014 (PMID 25122980), ran a clinical study of a chewing gum containing calcium hydroxyapatite with dentin hypersensitivity as the outcome. Hassani and colleagues, Journal of the Mechanical Behavior of Biomedical Materials, December 2023 (PMID 37852085), ran a single-blind in situ study of hydroxyapatite nanoparticle gums with enamel mineral content as the outcome. Neither measured whitening, neither measured cavities, and neither used our product. Our ranking of 14 remineralizing gums walks through both in detail and says the same thing there.
So the fair summary: if you want a cheap xylitol gum with a named stain-control ingredient, buy Supersmile and do not think about ours. If you want a gum with a published mineral dose and a certificate behind it, and you accept that the evidence for the category is early and that it is a complement to fluoride brushing rather than a replacement, that is what we sell. Both brands should be held to the same question, which is "show me the number", and on the fetch date only one of the two answered it.
Who should buy Supersmile gum, and who should skip it
Buy it if you want a xylitol-only gum from a long-standing brand, you chew after coffee or tea and want the stain-prevention effect the category evidence supports, and 29 cents a piece is fine with you. The short ingredient list is a genuine plus, and the brand's restraint in claiming only surface-stain removal is another.
Skip it if you are buying for a whiter shade rather than for stain control, because no gum does that and this one does not claim to. Skip it if you need a per-piece xylitol dose for a specific reason, because the page does not publish a piece weight and so cannot give you one; the brands in our Epic Dental review and our Spry review are the ones to read if the milligram matters. Skip it if you avoid soy or beeswax, both of which are on the list. And skip it if you were hoping for a published trial, because there is none, for this gum or for its competitors.
Whatever you buy, chew after the staining drink rather than before, because both stain trials above timed the gum after the coffee or tea, and keep brushing with fluoride, because no gum in this category replaces it.
What is fair to Supersmile, and how to check me
Supersmile is a real brand, nearly forty years old, still trading direct to consumers on 5 September 2026, founded by a dentist whose name carries weight in cosmetic dentistry and who has since died. The brand publishes a full ingredient list for this gum, which several competitors do not. It describes its proprietary ingredient consistently across three pages, which is better than the shifting descriptions I have found elsewhere. And its whitening claim on the pages we read stops at surface stain, which is the accurate place to stop.
The gaps this review names are gaps in publication, not findings against the product. No PubMed record for Calprox means no peer-reviewed trial of the ingredient or the gum was found indexed on the search date. It does not show the ingredient is ineffective, and it does not show the opposite either; it shows that no third-party number exists to cite. The two star ratings on the page are the brand's own and unaudited, reported as displayed and not endorsed in either direction. The 2010 copyright line and the "Favors" spelling are signs of an unmaintained page, not of anything more. If Supersmile publishes a dose, a trial, or a reconciliation of its ratings, this page will carry it with the date.
Now the other side. I sell a competing gum. Every negative fact on this page is attributed to a Supersmile page and dated, and I have used no verdict word about the company, and if you find one, tell me and it comes out. Hold us to the same standard: the dose, the piece weight, the certificate and the ingredient list are on our transparency page, and the studies we cite carry PubMed numbers in the sources block below that you can open. If our pages fail the test this review applies to Supersmile, I want to hear it at max@minvelle.com.
All facts on this page are current as of the fetch dates cited, which is 5 September 2026 unless stated otherwise. Brands change formulas, prices and pages without notice. Re-check any figure against Supersmile's live pages before relying on it after that date. The "Last reviewed" line at the top of this page is the date it was last true to my knowledge.
If the published dose is what you were looking for: Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, 18 pieces per box, one piece a day, with the full ingredient list and batch certificate published. It makes no whitening claim. Try it with 10% off orders from €29, or read the full formula first. Unopened boxes carry a 30-day refund.
Questions people ask about Supersmile gum
Does Supersmile whitening gum really whiten teeth?
Supersmile's own product page claims the gum dissolves surface stains and makes smiles look shiny and new. It does not claim to change the underlying colour of the tooth. We found no peer-reviewed trial of this gum or of Calprox in PubMed on 5 September 2026, so the only evidence is the brand's own description. The published whitening-gum literature shows that sugar-free gum chewed after coffee or tea reduces new surface stain, and that effect belongs to any sugar-free gum. Whether Calprox adds anything to it has not been measured in a study we could find.
What is Calprox?
Calprox is Supersmile's proprietary ingredient. The gum's product page describes it as encapsulated calcium peroxide and minerals. The brand's Calprox page describes it as a gentle blend of encapsulated calcium, phosphates, magnesium, and minerals that replicates the tooth enamel. The amount per piece of gum is not published. A PubMed search for the term returned zero results on 5 September 2026.
Does whitening gum really work?
For surface stain, partly, and mostly through chewing. A 12-week crossover trial of Orbit White (PMID 26054175) found 25 to 36 percent less new stain formation with gum plus brushing than with brushing alone. A 2017 two-week model study (PMID 29251453) found that all three sugar-free gums tested cut new tea stain by 43 percent or more, and that changing the gum base or the flavour made no difference. No gum bleaches teeth. A change in intrinsic colour needs a peroxide treatment at a concentration a gum cannot carry.
Is there any gum that actually whitens teeth?
Not in the bleaching sense. Gum can reduce new extrinsic stain, and with certain actives it can lift some existing coffee stain in a lab set-up: a 2019 in situ study (PMID 31172873) found a gum carrying 7.5 mg of sodium metaphosphate per piece removed more coffee stain from hydroxyapatite pellets than a control gum. That is a pellet on an appliance, not a tooth in a mouth over months. Read whitening on a gum pack as stain control.
Does Supersmile really work?
Nobody outside the company can answer that from published evidence, because there is none in PubMed for this gum. What can be said from the label: the ingredient list is short and published, xylitol is the first ingredient, the brand states 65 percent xylitol, and the price is about 29 cents a piece. If you want a gum with a trial on the finished product, no whitening gum we have reviewed has one either, and neither does ours.
Which is better, SmileActives or Supersmile?
We have not reviewed SmileActives and hold no verified facts about its products, so we will not compare the two here. The check we would run is the one on this page: the full ingredient list, a per-piece amount for the named active, a price per piece, and a PubMed search for the ingredient name. Whichever brand shows more of that is the one you can judge.
How much does Supersmile gum cost per piece?
On supersmile.com on 5 September 2026 the gum was $3.50 for a 12-piece pack, about 29 cents a piece, with a compare-at price of $5.00 shown, which would be about 42 cents. Trident White in our review works out to about 6 cents a piece. Minvelle, our own gum, is about 1.39 euros a piece at the single-box price and is a different kind of product with a different purpose.
Is Supersmile gum sugar-free?
The brand's page says it is sweetened with 65 percent xylitol and no other added sugars. Xylitol is the first ingredient on the label, and no other sweetener appears in the list. The page does not state a piece weight, so the 65 percent cannot be turned into milligrams of xylitol per piece.
Is Supersmile still in business, and who sells the gum?
Yes, as of 5 September 2026. The gum's product page on supersmile.com was live that day and the brand sells it direct. Founder Dr. Irwin Smigel has died; the brand's history page says so and says the brand carries on. We could not confirm the current legal entity behind the site: the Terms of Service footer still reads Copyright 2010 Supersmile and names no company.
Calprox: Supersmile's proprietary ingredient, described by the brand as encapsulated calcium peroxide with calcium, phosphate and magnesium minerals. Amount per piece not published; no PubMed record under the name as of 5 September 2026.
Calcium peroxide: A solid peroxide compound of calcium. Peroxides release oxygen and act as oxidising agents, which is the chemical family that tooth bleaching gels also belong to, at far higher concentrations than a gum could carry.
Pellicle: The thin protein film from saliva that coats teeth within minutes of cleaning. Surface stains from coffee, tea and smoke bind to it. Supersmile's claim is that Calprox loosens this film.
Extrinsic stain: Discolouration sitting on the tooth surface or in the pellicle, from food, drink or tobacco. This is what whitening gums and the stain trials on this page address.
Intrinsic colour: The colour of the tooth structure itself, set by dentin and enamel. Changing it needs a bleaching treatment; no chewing gum, including any on this page, claims or achieves that.
Lobene Stain Index: A clinical scoring system for extrinsic stain, grading its intensity and the area covered on the front teeth. The Modified Lobene Stain Index refines it. Both stain trials above used it.
Xylitol: A sugar alcohol sweetener with a long oral-health research record. Listed first on the Supersmile label; the brand states 65 percent.
Compare-at price: The struck-through higher price a store shows next to the selling price. Set by the store; it may or may not reflect a price the item has actually sold at.
In situ study: A study in which treated samples, here hydroxyapatite pellets, are worn in the mouth on an appliance and then measured in a lab. Closer to real life than a test tube, further from it than a trial on people's own teeth.
Hydroxyapatite: The calcium phosphate mineral that makes up most of tooth enamel. The active in remineralizing gums such as ours, and the material of the pellets in the 2019 stain study. Not an ingredient in Supersmile's gum.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine. If you want a change in tooth shade, have active tooth decay, a cracked tooth, or persistent sensitivity, see a dentist, because no gum can treat those.
- Supersmile, "teeth whitening gum" product page, supersmile.com/products/freshen-breath-teeth-whitening-gum-stain-removal-on-the-go (product listing, not linked): ingredient list, Calprox description, "65% Xylitol" statement, 12 pieces per pack, $3.50 price with $5.00 compare-at, structured-data rating 4.9 of 5 from 43 reviews and widget rating 4.6 of 5 from 997 ratings. Fetched 5 September 2026.
- Supersmile, About Calprox page: "Proprietary to supersmile®. Calprox® is a gentle blend of encapsulated calcium, phosphates, magnesium, and minerals that replicates the tooth enamel." Fetched 5 September 2026.
- Supersmile, About Our Company page: founded 1987 by Dr. Irwin Smigel and Lucia Smigel; "a clinically proven collection"; Calprox as "encapsulated calcium peroxide and minerals". Fetched 5 September 2026.
- Supersmile, History page: "While Dr. Smigel has since passed, his legacy is far from fading out." Fetched 5 September 2026.
- Supersmile, Terms of Service: footer "© Copyright 2010 Supersmile. All rights reserved."; no legal entity named. Fetched 5 September 2026.
- PubMed search for the term Calprox, all fields: 0 results on 5 September 2026.
- Milleman JL, Milleman KR, Kleber CJ, et al. J Clin Dent 2014 (PMID 26054175): single-centre, examiner-blind, randomised 12-week crossover of Orbit White gum four times a day versus no gum, both with brushing, in stain-forming adults; 25% less new stain on the Lobene Stain Index and 36% less on the Modified Lobene Stain Index with gum. Not a Supersmile study.
- Dodds MW, Tian M, Ramirez L, et al. Am J Dent, Dec 2017 (PMID 29251453): 25 adults, examiner-blind four-way crossover, tea rinses five times daily, three sugar-free gums versus no gum over two weeks; all three gums reduced new stain by 43% or more on the Modified Lobene Stain Index; gum base or flavour change made no significant difference. Authors affiliated with Wrigley. Not a Supersmile study.
- Makino S, Kawamoto C, Ikeda T, et al. Oper Dent, Sep/Oct 2019 (PMID 31172873): double-blind, placebo-controlled in situ study in 30 adults; coffee-stained hydroxyapatite pellets on an appliance; gum with 7.5 mg sodium metaphosphate per piece removed more stain than control gum in every chewing cycle after the first. Not a Supersmile study.
- Porciani PF, Chazine M, Grandini S. J Clin Dent 2014 (PMID 25122980): clinical study of a chewing gum containing calcium hydroxyapatite with dentin hypersensitivity as the outcome; no whitening or caries endpoint; not a study of Minvelle or Supersmile.
- Hassani AR, Baladi M, Amiri M, et al. J Mech Behav Biomed Mater, Dec 2023 (PMID 37852085): single-blind in situ controlled study of hydroxyapatite nanoparticle gums with mineral content of human teeth as the outcome; no whitening or caries endpoint; not a study of Minvelle or Supersmile.
- Minvelle, Trident White review 2026 (last reviewed 22 August 2026): current US ingredient lists, about $9 for 144 pieces, ADA Seal belonging to a different Trident line, no distinct whitening active found.
- Minvelle transparency page: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, 817 mg xylitol and 285 mg erythritol per piece, 14 ingredients by weight, 18 pieces per box, particle size, batch certificate and safety assessment as PDFs, and the statement that we do not claim the gum whitens teeth.
- Minvelle, The Hydroxyapatite Gum Database: 15 brands compared on published dose, updated August 2026.
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Read the label, not the front. Supersmile's gum is a xylitol-first sugar-free gum with a named peroxide ingredient, a published ingredient list, a price of 29 cents a piece, and no public number for the one ingredient that makes it different. The whitening the category can deliver is stain control after coffee and tea, and that belongs to every sugar-free gum. Everything else about this product is the brand's word, given consistently and with restraint, and unmeasured in public. Buy it for what the label shows, hold it and every other brand, ours first, to the standard of showing its numbers, and keep your dentist in the loop on anything about shade. Last reviewed: 5 September 2026.
One piece, once a day, with the dose on the page
Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, made to be chewed one piece a day after meals or when brushing is not an option. A box holds 18 pieces, which is 18 days, and it sits alongside your fluoride routine rather than replacing it. The full formula and the batch certificate are published. It makes no whitening claim.
Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29Or subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks for €29.99, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes