Zellie's gum review 2026: 1 g xylitol per piece, checked
Zellie's is one of the few xylitol gums that tells you exactly how much xylitol is in each piece, which makes it unusually easy to review against the research. This review reads the label, does the dose and price arithmetic, checks the xylitol studies Zellie's leans on, and looks at one piece of chewing advice on its site that runs against the evidence. Every finding carries the date I checked it.
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 26 September 2026 · 20 min read
Disclosure: this review is by Minvelle. We make a remineralizing gum with nano-hydroxyapatite and xylitol, so Zellie's is closer to our product than most brands we review. That is why every statement about Zellie's below is Zellie's own text or a peer-reviewed paper we resolved in PubMed, and why we say plainly where Zellie's does better than we do.
Zellie's is a US xylitol gum sweetened only with xylitol: 1 gram per piece, stated on the product page, with a short ingredient list (xylitol, gum base, natural flavours and under 2% of four minor ingredients). A 100-piece jar costs $13.99, about 14 cents a piece; a 600-piece bulk bag costs $58, under 10 cents.
The dose matters because xylitol studies used several grams a day. Zellie's itself says studies show 6 to 10 g daily in small doses, which means six to ten pieces. The strongest reviews rate the evidence for xylitol gum as low quality, so treat it as a helpful habit, not a proven cavity cure.
One caution: a Zellie's reply on its product page advises chewing for only 2 to 10 minutes. The EU-authorised claim for sugar-free gum is tied to chewing for at least 20 minutes after eating, and we found no study showing that longer chewing counteracts the benefit.
Zellie's and Minvelle are both chewing gums, but they are built for different jobs. Zellie's is a high-xylitol gum meant to be chewed several times a day. Minvelle is one piece a day after a meal, chewed for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite and 817 mg of xylitol per 1.9 g piece printed on the box. If xylitol dose per piece is your only criterion, Zellie's gives you more of it.
Zellie's gum, in one table
| Question | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Xylitol per piece | 1 gram, stated: "each piece of gum contains 1 gram of xylitol" | Zellie's product page, 26 Sep 2026 |
| Other sweeteners | None; xylitol is the first and only sweetener | Ingredient list |
| Flavours | Peppermint (best seller), Spearmint, Cinnamon, Fresh Fruit, Cherry Berry | Store catalog |
| Price per piece | Jar 100 for $13.99 (14c); pouch 240 for $24.50 (10c); bulk 600 for $58 (under 10c); 15% off on subscription | Store catalog |
| Suggested use | Directly after meals, snacks and drinks; 6 to 10 g xylitol a day per Zellie's | Product page |
| Chewing time advice | "limit gum chewing to 2-10 minutes" (reply to a customer review) | Product page reviews |
| Shipping and returns | US only; no returns for food-safety reasons, support promises to "make things right" | Zellie's FAQ |
| Reviews | Spearmint gum: 94 reviews, 85% five-star, on-site | Product page |
Swipe sideways on mobile. All rows checked 26 September 2026.
Part 1What is in Zellie's gum? The label, word for word
On 26 September 2026 the Spearmint gum page read: "INGREDIENTS: Xylitol, Gum Base, Natural Flavors, Less than 2% of: Gum Arabic, Sunflower Lecithin, Carnauba Wax, Tocopherols (antioxidant)." Peppermint and Cinnamon read the same. Fresh Fruit moves natural flavours into the under-2% group, and Cherry Berry adds malic acid, a fruit acid used for tartness.
In plain English: xylitol is both the sweetener and most of the piece; gum base is the chewable part; natural flavours give the taste; gum arabic, sunflower lecithin and carnauba wax are small-quantity helpers for texture and coating; tocopherols are vitamin E, used as an antioxidant. There is no sorbitol, aspartame, sucralose, glycerin, artificial colour or BHT. Zellie's FAQ says its gum base is a "BHT-free, premium blend of natural and food-grade polymers and waxes"; like almost every modern gum, that means synthetic polymers, not chicle.
The number that makes Zellie's easy to review
Most gum brands do not print how much xylitol is in a piece. Zellie's does: "each piece of gum contains 1 gram of xylitol." That single sentence lets you do the arithmetic that most gum marketing avoids. In our ranking of xylitol gums by dose, Zellie's placed second at 1.0 g per piece, just behind a brand at 1.06 g, precisely because it publishes the figure. The Mints are similar in spirit: "Xylitol, Natural Spearmint Flavor, and less than 2% of: Magnesium Stearate, Cellulose Gum," with the pack marked "MADE IN CANADA".
Made where?
Zellie's FAQ says its mints and gum "are proudly made in North Amercia", in its spelling, and the mint listing says Canada. The gum listing does not name a country. We report both as Zellie's statements.
Two new flavours land in December
Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon. Join the first-dibs list and pick yours before anyone else.
How much xylitol do you need? The dose arithmetic
Zellie's product page says: "Studies show 6 to 10 grams of xylitol daily, in frequent small doses, helps support oral health." That range matches the research reasonably well. A 2022 meta-analysis found the most effective products delivered 5 to 10 g of xylitol a day across three to five chews (ALHumaid and Bamashmous, PMID 35462747), and the large 40-month school trial in Belize used 4.3 to 9.0 g a day (Mäkinen and colleagues 1995, PMID 8600188).
At 1 g a piece, that means six to ten pieces of Zellie's a day. That is the honest implication of the brand's own number, and it changes the cost picture:
| Pack | Price | Pieces | Per piece | Per day at 6 pieces | Per month at 6 pieces |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jar | $13.99 | 100 | about 14c | about 84c | about $25 |
| Month-supply pouch | $24.50 | 240 | about 10c | about 61c | about $18 |
| Bulk bag | $58.00 | 600 | about 9.7c | about 58c | about $17 |
| Case of jars | $73.00 | 6 x 100 | about 12c | about 73c | about $22 |
zellies.com catalog, 26 September 2026. Subscription takes 15% off. Free shipping over $75.
Two practical notes on a multi-gram habit. First, xylitol is a sugar alcohol, and large amounts can cause digestive upset in some people; building up over a week or two is the usual advice. Second, xylitol is highly toxic to dogs, which Zellie's states clearly on its product page and in its FAQ: keep jars and pouches out of pets' reach. That warning applies to every xylitol product, ours included.
1 gram per piece, stated
Zellie's prints its xylitol dose, which most gum brands do not. That puts it near the top of any ranking by disclosed dose.
Six to ten pieces a day
Zellie's own 6 to 10 g guidance means six to ten pieces, about 60 cents to $1.40 a day depending on pack.
Evidence is real but modest
Reviews rate xylitol gum evidence as low quality. Helpful habit, yes; proven cavity prevention on its own, no.
What the xylitol evidence shows, honestly
Zellie's describes xylitol as supporting oral health by helping "protect and strengthen teeth, maintaining healthy mouth pH, moistening your mouth, and freshening breath", and its product pages carry the standard notice that the statements "have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration". Here is what the research behind those ideas looks like.
The early trials
Xylitol's dental story starts with the Turku sugar studies in Finland in the 1970s (Scheinin and Mäkinen, overview PMID 1070906). The largest gum trial followed schoolchildren in Belize for 40 months and found that xylitol gum reduced caries rates, with 100% xylitol pellets performing best among the gums tested (Mäkinen and colleagues 1995, PMID 8600188). A shorter trial by Söderling and colleagues gave children about 6 g of xylitol gum a day for five weeks and found mutans streptococci counts fell significantly compared with sorbitol gum, without disrupting the rest of the oral microbiome (PMID 24663814).
The systematic reviews
The reviews are more cautious. The Cochrane review by Riley and colleagues (2015, PMID 25809586) found the strongest xylitol evidence for a fluoride toothpaste containing xylitol, and even that was rated low quality; for gums, lozenges and similar products, it found the evidence insufficient to determine a benefit. A 2024 systematic review by Ortiz-Sáez and colleagues (PMID 39544205) concluded the caries-preventive effect could not be confirmed because trials differed in dose, duration and population, and an appraisal the same year focused on gum and sweets for children reached a similarly inconclusive view (Ramasubbu and Duane, PMID 38796554). The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry keeps a formal policy on xylitol use (PMID 27931418).
The fair summary: xylitol does reduce the bacteria most linked to cavities in several studies, a gum habit increases saliva, and a large old trial found fewer cavities. The modern reviews say the overall evidence is weaker and more mixed than gum marketing suggests. Our summary of xylitol gum research goes study by study.
Chewing itself does part of the work
Some of the benefit of any sugar-free gum comes from chewing, not from the sweetener: chewing stimulates saliva, which buffers acid and carries calcium and phosphate back to the enamel surface. The EU has authorised a health claim for sugar-free gum on that basis, tied to one condition: chewing for at least 20 minutes after eating or drinking. Our guide to how long to chew gum explains where that number comes from.
Part 4The 2 to 10 minute advice, checked
On the Spearmint product page, a customer review complains the flavour lasts about five minutes. Zellie's reply, signed by a staff member, reads: "it is important to not chew it for more than 10 minutes because then your saliva stimulates digestive enzymes, which will counteract the benefits of the mineral-rich saliva. For best results, limit gum chewing to 2-10 minutes."
We looked for evidence for that mechanism and did not find it. Saliva does contain enzymes such as amylase from the start of chewing, and saliva flow stays elevated while you chew; we found no study showing that chewing beyond 10 minutes reverses the benefit of saliva for enamel. The evidence points the other way on timing: the EU-authorised claim for sugar-free gum requires chewing for at least 20 minutes, and the classic xylitol exposure in trials is a dose of xylitol several times a day, not a time limit. The advice may reflect the approach in Dr. Ellie Phillips' materials that Zellie's sells; we report it as Zellie's statement.
Practically: if you like Zellie's, the xylitol benefit comes from getting several grams in across the day, and the chewing benefit comes from chewing long enough to raise saliva after meals. Stopping at 10 minutes loses part of the second, and nothing we found says it protects you from anything.
Part 5The company, the shop and the reviews
Zellie's online store sells its gums and mints alongside the books and products of Dr. Ellie Phillips, including "Kiss Your Dentist Goodbye" (second edition, $18.95), "Mouth Care Comes Clean" and "Dr. Ellie's Complete Mouth Care System" kit ($68), which the store describes as a "specific curated collection of oral care products" used "in this specific method". Zellie's FAQ calls its gum and mints "dentist-formulated" and notes that Dr. Ellie does not offer consultations. The domain zellies.com was first registered on 13 January 2005 according to the .com registry's RDAP record, consistent with a long-running brand.
A CourtListener search on 26 September 2026 for "Zellie" and "Zellies" returned only personal bankruptcy filings of people with that first name; we found no federal case involving the company. That is a good-faith search, not a guarantee.
For buyers, the Dr. Ellie connection explains most of Zellie's positioning. Her programme combines specific rinses, a toothpaste and xylitol several times a day, and many of the reviews on the Zellie's page come from people following it. You do not need to follow the programme to use the gum, and we did not evaluate the programme itself in this review; the gum stands or falls on its xylitol dose, its ingredients and its price, which is how we have assessed it here.
Shipping, returns and subscription
Zellie's ships only to US addresses, per its FAQ; Canada is listed as a store region, but the FAQ says it "does not ship directly to Canada" and points to third-party options. Returns are not accepted "due to food-safety restrictions", and bulk bags cannot be returned once opened, but the FAQ promises that customer support will "make things right" if you are unhappy. Subscriptions take 15% off, and orders over $75 ship free.
Reviews
The Spearmint gum page showed 94 reviews on 26 September 2026, 85% of them five-star, in Zellie's own on-site widget. The positive reviews mention fresh breath, less dry mouth and people following Dr. Ellie's programme; the critical ones mention short-lasting flavour, which Zellie's attributes to using natural flavours and no additives. Several reviewers mention buying from abroad and paying high shipping.
Part 6Zellie's next to other xylitol gums, on paper
Our xylitol gum ranking (checked 5 September 2026) sorted seven gums by the number most brands do not print, milligrams of xylitol per piece. Zellie's result there, and the comparison with the brands readers most often ask about, looks like this. We only use numbers the brands published; a blank means the brand did not state it.
| Gum | Xylitol per piece | Other sweeteners | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Epic Dental | 1.06 g, stated | None | Ranked first on stated dose |
| Zellie's | 1.0 g, stated | None | About $0.14 per gram of xylitol in a jar, less in bulk |
| Minvelle | 817 mg, stated | None | Plus 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite; the most expensive per gram of xylitol, because the price is for the hydroxyapatite |
| PUR | Not stated | Xylitol only | Dose not on the product page when checked |
| Spry | Not stated | Xylitol only | Dose not on the product page when checked |
| XyliChew | Not stated | Xylitol only | Dose not on the product page when checked |
| Trident | Not stated | Sorbitol listed first, xylitol third | Not a xylitol gum by the standard of the trials |
From our xylitol gum ranking, brand pages checked 5 September 2026; Zellie's re-checked 26 September 2026.
Two things stand out. First, only three of the seven brands state a per-piece dose, and Zellie's is one of them. Second, "100% xylitol" on a pack front says what the sweetener is, not how much of it you get; a brand can be sweetened only with xylitol and still put a small amount in each piece. When a brand does not print the milligrams, you cannot check it against the 6 to 10 g a day the trials used.
Gum or mints?
Zellie's sells both. The mints list "Xylitol, Natural Spearmint Flavor, and less than 2% of: Magnesium Stearate, Cellulose Gum", so they are almost pure xylitol, and a jar holds 250 mints for $13.99. The mint pages we read did not state xylitol per mint, so we cannot do the same dose arithmetic for them. The practical difference is chewing: a mint dissolves in a few minutes, while gum keeps saliva flowing for as long as you chew. If the saliva effect after meals matters to you, gum does more of that job; if you only want the xylitol exposure through the day, mints are the more discreet option. Parents should note Zellie's own warning that mints and gum can be a choking hazard for very young children.
Who Zellie's suits
- People building a xylitol habit on purpose, who will actually chew six or more pieces a day and want the dose printed.
- Dry-mouth sufferers who want a sugar-free option to keep saliva moving through the day; several reviewers mention this, and our dry-mouth gum guide covers the alternatives.
- Followers of Dr. Ellie's programme, who will find the system kit and books in the same store.
- Not for people outside the US who do not want to pay for third-party shipping, or for anyone hoping one piece a day will do what the trials did with several grams.
How to use a xylitol gum well
- Spread it out. The trials gave xylitol several times a day. Three to five chews after meals and snacks, one or two pieces at a time, gets you to the studied range with Zellie's.
- Chew after eating, not instead of brushing. The acid dip after a meal is when saliva matters most. Keep brushing twice a day with a fluoride or hydroxyapatite toothpaste.
- Chew long enough. The EU claim for sugar-free gum is based on at least 20 minutes after eating. If the flavour fades earlier, keep chewing; the saliva effect does not depend on flavour.
- Ramp up slowly, especially if you are new to xylitol, to avoid digestive upset.
- Store it safely away from dogs and small children.
Zellie's and Minvelle, an honest comparison
This is the one review in our series where the brand is in our own category, so here is a straight comparison. Zellie's is the better choice if your goal is maximum xylitol per piece at the lowest price: 1 g per piece at under 10 cents in bulk. Minvelle has less xylitol per piece, 817 mg, costs more per piece, and is meant to be chewed once a day for at least 20 minutes, with 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece as the reason to choose it. Zellie's contains no hydroxyapatite. Minvelle ships within the EU and to many other countries; Zellie's ships to the US only.
They can also be combined: a xylitol habit through the day and one longer chew after the main meal. Neither replaces brushing with a fluoride or hydroxyapatite toothpaste, and neither has a clinical trial on its finished product.
What a gum cannot do
- It does not replace brushing. A gum does not remove plaque the way a toothbrush and paste do.
- It does not replace fluoride toothpaste. If your dentist has recommended fluoride, keep using it.
- It does not repair a cavity. No gum and no toothpaste fills a hole in a tooth. That is a job for a dentist.
- It does not bleach teeth. There is no peroxide in it; at most it helps with surface stains between brushings.
- It has not been in a clinical trial. There is no clinical trial on the finished Minvelle gum. What we publish is the dose, the full ingredient list and a batch certificate from lab testing of the finished gum.
Zellie's and Minvelle, side by side
| Fact | Zellie's xylitol gum (zellies.com, 26 Sep 2026) | Minvelle |
|---|---|---|
| Nano-HAp per tube or piece | None (active is xylitol) | 5.7 mg per 1.9 g piece, printed on the box |
| Active | Xylitol, 1 g per piece, stated; no other sweetener | Nano-hydroxyapatite plus 817 mg xylitol per piece; fluoride-free |
| What is published | Full ingredient list and xylitol per piece; FDA non-evaluation notice; no study of its own gum | Dose, full ingredient list, particle size and batch certificate; no clinical trial on the gum |
| Price and directions | From about 10 to 14 cents a piece; after meals, 6 to 10 g xylitol a day per Zellie's; its reply advises chewing 2 to 10 minutes | €24.99 for 18 pieces, 1 piece a day, at least 20 minutes |
If you want the most xylitol per piece at the lowest price and live in the US, Zellie's is one of the best-documented options; Minvelle is for people who want a written per-piece dose of nano-hydroxyapatite in a gum chewed for at least 20 minutes after a meal, on top of brushing.
Minvelle prints the dose on the box: 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per piece. See the gum.
In fairnessWhat Zellie's does well
Zellie's does the one thing we most want every gum brand to do: it prints the dose. One gram of xylitol per piece, no other sweeteners, a short ingredient list without artificial colours, sweeteners or BHT, and a bulk price that makes a real daily xylitol habit affordable. It warns clearly about dogs and about choking risk for very young children, attaches the FDA notice to its statements, and quotes a daily range, 6 to 10 g, that sits inside what the trials used. Its brand has two decades of domain history and a loyal customer base.
Our two reservations are narrow: the 2-to-10-minute chewing advice, which we found no evidence for, and the fact that, like every xylitol gum, it rests on evidence that systematic reviews rate as modest.
How we checkedMethod and conflict of interest
We read the Zellie's gum and mint product pages, the FAQ and the public store catalog on 26 September 2026; checked the domain's registry record; searched CourtListener; and resolved every xylitol PMID in PubMed on 26 September 2026. We did not buy or lab-test the gum. Minvelle sells a nano-hydroxyapatite and xylitol gum, which makes Zellie's a competitor in part; we have tried to state plainly where Zellie's is the better buy.
The verdictZellie's gum, in one paragraph
Zellie's is a transparent, simple xylitol gum: 1 g per piece, stated, with a clean label and a low bulk price. To match the doses used in research you need six to ten pieces a day, which Zellie's itself says. The evidence for xylitol gum is real but modest, so treat it as a helpful habit alongside brushing, not a cavity cure. Ignore the advice to stop at 10 minutes; chewing longer after meals is what the EU claim for sugar-free gum is built on.
Xylitol: A sugar alcohol used as a sweetener. Oral bacteria cannot ferment it into acid, and several studies found it lowers mutans streptococci.
Mutans streptococci: The group of oral bacteria most closely linked to tooth decay.
Gum base: The chewable, non-dissolving part of a gum, today usually food-grade synthetic polymers and waxes.
Low-quality evidence: A rating used in systematic reviews when trials are few, small, inconsistent or at risk of bias. It does not mean no effect, only that the size of the effect is uncertain.
Sugar-free gum claim (EU): An authorised health claim that chewing sugar-free gum helps neutralise plaque acids and maintain tooth mineralisation, tied to chewing for at least 20 minutes after eating or drinking.
The things people actually ask
How much xylitol is in Zellie's gum?
One gram per piece, as stated on Zellie's product page on 26 September 2026. Xylitol is the only sweetener.
How many pieces of Zellie's should I chew a day?
Zellie's says studies show 6 to 10 g of xylitol daily in small doses helps support oral health, which at 1 g a piece means six to ten pieces a day, spread after meals and snacks. Build up gradually, as large amounts of xylitol can upset the stomach.
Is Zellie's gum worth it?
If you want a xylitol gum with a stated dose, a clean label and a low bulk price in the US, it is one of the best-documented options. The evidence for xylitol gum is modest, so it is a helpful habit alongside brushing, not a replacement for it.
How long should you chew Zellie's gum?
A Zellie's reply on its product page advises 2 to 10 minutes. We found no evidence that longer chewing counteracts the benefit; the EU-authorised claim for sugar-free gum is tied to chewing for at least 20 minutes after eating.
Is Zellie's safe for dogs and children?
Xylitol is highly toxic to dogs, and Zellie's warns about this; keep it away from pets. Zellie's says its gum and mints suit children who can safely manage them, and notes a choking risk for very young children.
Does Zellie's ship outside the US?
No. Zellie's FAQ says it ships only to US addresses and points international customers to third-party options.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, including before switching between a fluoride and a fluoride-free product. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time; always check the current label and consult your dentist about your individual enamel and gum health.
- Mäkinen KK, Bennett CA, Hujoel PP, Isokangas PJ, et al. Xylitol chewing gums and caries rates: a 40-month cohort study. J Dent Res 1995. PMID 8600188
- Söderling E, ElSalhy M, Honkala E, Fontana M, et al. Effects of short-term xylitol gum chewing on the oral microbiome. Clin Oral Investig 2015. PMID 24663814
- Riley P, Moore D, Ahmed F, Sharif MO, et al. Xylitol-containing products for preventing dental caries in children and adults. Cochrane Database Syst Rev 2015. PMID 25809586
- ALHumaid J, Bamashmous M. Meta-analysis on the effectiveness of xylitol in caries prevention. J Int Soc Prev Community Dent 2022. PMID 35462747
- Ortiz-Sáez B, Aguilella-Traver M, Hernández-Pando C, Martínez-Salmerón EM, et al. Is xylitol effective in the prevention of dental caries? A systematic review. J Clin Exp Dent 2024. PMID 39544205
- Ramasubbu D, Duane B. Do chewing gums and sweets containing xylitol prevent caries in children? Evid Based Dent 2024. PMID 38796554
- American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. Policy on the use of xylitol. Pediatr Dent 2016. PMID 27931418
- Scheinin A, Mäkinen KK. Turku sugar studies: an overview. Acta Odontol Scand 1976. PMID 1070906
- RDAP registry record for zellies.com: first registered January 13, 2005
Also checked, without a link: Zellie's own pages, quoted above and checked 26 September 2026: the gum and mint product pages (including the customer-review replies), the FAQ and the public store catalog. CourtListener federal docket search for "Zellie" and "Zellies", 26 September 2026.
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
The answer in one line: Zellie's is a transparent xylitol gum with 1 g per piece, a clean label and a low bulk price; you need six to ten pieces a day to match the research, the evidence for xylitol gum is modest, and its advice to stop chewing at 10 minutes is not supported by anything we found. All findings reflect the pages and records listed as checked on 26 September 2026.
One piece, 20 minutes. The dose in writing.
Minvelle is one piece a day after a meal: 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite and 817 mg of xylitol per piece, printed on the box, chewed for at least 20 minutes. 18 pieces per box, batch certificate published. Two new flavours, Calm Matcha and Warm Cinnamon, arrive in December; the first-dibs list is open if you want to hear first.
Try Minvelle with 10% offOr see the subscription option →
30-day refund on unopened boxes