Mentos gum: ingredients, xylitol, is it bad for you

Label check

Mentos gum: ingredients, xylitol, is it bad for you?

Mentos is the curvy bottle by the till, and most people who buy it have never read the back. This page does. It reads the ingredient statements Perfetti Van Melle publishes for the US Pure Fresh and Pure White bottles, the SmartLabel panels behind them, a crowd-sourced label record that lists two ingredients the US statements do not, the American Dental Association's own Seal page for Pure White Gum, and the EU and PubMed record on sugar-free gum. Then it answers what people actually type: what is in Mentos gum, does it contain xylitol, is it safe, does the white version whiten, and how it lines up against Orbit and Extra. Every claim is quoted and dated, and my own conflict of interest is stated before the first table.

M
Max, Founder of Minvelle
Updated September 2026 · Last reviewed: 5 September 2026 · 26 min read

Disclosure: this label check is by Minvelle. I make a remineralizing gum myself and it appears in the alternatives table near the end, held to the same standard as everyone else: what does the label say, and what amount does the brand publish. I profit if you switch, so read the Mentos facts as facts and my opinion as opinion. Every factual claim about Mentos below comes from us.mentos.com product pages, the SmartLabel records for the same products, an Open Food Facts label record, the ADA's Seal database and regulator pages, each one dated in the sources.

The short version

Mentos gum is a sugar-free gum. On every US ingredient statement we read, xylitol is the first ingredient, followed by sorbitol or the gum base, then mannitol, glycerin, maltitol syrup and maltodextrin, with aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose and BHT in the under-2% tail. The whitening variant, Pure White Gum, holds the ADA Seal of Acceptance, and the ADA's stated basis is saliva stimulation from 20 minutes of chewing after eating, not whitening. On the published evidence, chewing it is not bad for you and not bad for your teeth.

Three things the front of the bottle does not say. No Mentos page or panel gives a milligram figure for xylitol, so "xylitol first" is an order, not a dose. The fruit flavors are colored with carmine, and a crowd-sourced label record for one Pure Fresh Mint barcode lists gelatin and titanium dioxide, neither of which appears on the current US statements, so vegetarians should read the pack in their hand. And the whitening claim rests on a dose-and-duration promise, 12 pieces a day for six weeks, plus one phosphate salt in the tail, with no mechanism stated anywhere we could find.

At a glance

Every Mentos label we read, variant by variant

Variant and source First three ingredients High-intensity sweeteners Also on the label Colors
Pure Fresh Fresh Mint
us.mentos.com 50-piece bottle, SmartLabel 6701751
Xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base Aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose BHT, soy lecithin, coconut oil, carnauba wax, maltodextrin, "may contain wheat", phenylalanine line Blue 1 Lake, Blue 1
Pure Fresh Spearmint
us.mentos.com 50-piece bottle, SmartLabel UPC 00073390014056
Xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base Sucralose, acesulfame K, aspartame BHT, soy lecithin, coconut oil, carnauba wax, maltodextrin, "may contain wheat", phenylalanine line Blue 1 Lake, turmeric oleoresin, Blue 1
Pure White Sweet Mint
us.mentos.com 50-piece bottle, SmartLabel 6582410 (UPC 00073390014124)
Xylitol, chewing gum base, sorbitol Aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose Sodium tripolyphosphate (only on this variant), BHT, soy lecithin, coconut oil, carnauba wax, maltodextrin, phenylalanine line; no wheat line Blue 1 Lake
Pure Fresh Strawberry
us.mentos.com 50-piece bottle
Xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base Aspartame, acesulfame K Malic, tartaric and citric acid, strawberry juice powder, BHT, soy lecithin, "may contain wheat", phenylalanine line Carmine
Pure Fresh Bubble Fresh
us.mentos.com 50-piece bottle
Xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base Aspartame, sucralose, acesulfame K Malic acid, BHT, soy lecithin, "may contain wheat", phenylalanine line Carmine
Pure Fresh Cinnamon
SmartLabel 6701758, Perfetti van Melle USA Inc.
Full statement not surfaced on our fetch Not captured Carmine entry reads "a red coloring additive" Carmine
Pure Fresh Mint, Open Food Facts record
barcode 0073390012137, crowd-sourced, label date unknown
Xylitol, chewing gum base, sorbitol Aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose Gum arabic, gelatin, coconut fat, soya lecithin, green tea extract, xanthan gum, carnauba wax, BHT; allergens flagged: gelatin, soybeans Titanium dioxide, Blue 1

US statements captured from the us.mentos.com product pages and SmartLabel records on 5 September 2026 and quoted in full in the label section below. Ingredients in the "less than 2% of" tail are listed in the order the label gives them. The SmartLabel nutrition panels for Pure White Sweet Mint and Pure Fresh Spearmint state one piece per serving, 5 calories and 1 g of sugar alcohol. The Open Food Facts record gives 250 kcal, 0 g sugar and 75 g polyols per 100 g. No Mentos page or panel quantifies xylitol, aspartame, BHT or any other single ingredient.

A note on scope before the detail. Mentos sells more flavors than the seven rows above, and Perfetti Van Melle sells the same names in different pack sizes and, it appears, different recipes in different countries. We read the five 50-piece bottles whose full ingredient statement sits in the page code of us.mentos.com, the SmartLabel records for those products and two more (Cinnamon and Always White Bubble Fresh), and one Open Food Facts record. Anything we did not read, we do not claim. That includes the exact milligrams of anything, because the brand does not publish them, and it includes every variant we did not open.

The seventh row needs its own sentence. Open Food Facts is a crowd-sourced database, so its record is a photo of a label somebody scanned, not a statement from the company, and it lists gelatin and titanium dioxide where the current US statements list neither. It could be an older recipe, a different market's recipe, or a transcription error. We do not know which, so this page keeps the two lists apart and never merges them. If gelatin or titanium dioxide matters to you, the pack in your hand is the only label that counts.

Part 1

What is in a piece of Mentos gum, read in label order

Here is the Pure Fresh Fresh Mint statement as us.mentos.com carries it, capitals and all: "XYLITOL, SORBITOL, CHEWING GUM BASE, MANNITOL, GLYCERIN, MALTITOL SYRUP, MALTODEXTRIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, LESS THAN 2% OF: RICE STARCH, ASPARTAME, ACESULFAME K, COCONUT OIL, SUCROSE FATTY ACID ESTERS, LECITHIN (SOY), SODIUM CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE, CARNAUBA WAX, SUCRALOSE, XANTHAN GUM, CORN STARCH, BHT TO MAINTAIN FRESHNESS, BLUE 1 LAKE, BLUE 1. MAY CONTAIN WHEAT. PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE." US labels list ingredients in descending order of weight, and everything after "less than 2% of" may appear in any order, so the statement splits into a body, which tells you what the piece is mostly made of, and a tail, which tells you what is in it in small amounts without telling you how small.

And here is the Pure White Sweet Mint declaration from its SmartLabel record: "XYLITOL, CHEWING GUM BASE, SORBITOL, MANNITOL, GLYCERIN, MALTITOL SYRUP, MALTODEXTRIN, LESS THAN 2% OF: SODIUM TRIPOLYPHOSPHATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, RICE STARCH, ASPARTAME, SODIUM CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE, COCONUT OIL, SUCROSE FATTY ACID ESTERS, LECITHIN (SOY), ACESULFAME K, CARNAUBA WAX, XANTHAN GUM, SUCRALOSE, BHT TO MAINTAIN FRESHNESS, BLUE 1 LAKE." Read the two side by side and the whole Mentos range comes into focus: one polyol body, one long tail, and a single phosphate salt that separates the white bottle from the fresh ones.

Xylitol is the first word on every statement we read, US and crowd-sourced alike. It is a sugar alcohol, a polyol, with its own body of dental research, which is why brands like to put it first. On the four Pure Fresh bottles it is followed by sorbitol and then the gum base; on Pure White and on the Open Food Facts record the gum base comes second and sorbitol third. What that ordering tells you is that xylitol outweighs each other ingredient taken on its own. What it does not tell you is the amount, and Mentos publishes none. The only figure that touches the question is the SmartLabel nutrition panel, which reports 1 g of sugar alcohol per piece, a total across xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol and maltitol syrup together. Xylitol is some share of that gram, larger than any of the other three, and no page we read says how large.

Sorbitol is second or third on every statement. It is the polyol the mass-market category is built on, cheaper than xylitol, about as bulky, and not fermented into acid by plaque bacteria the way sugar is. The 2007 systematic review in the Journal of Applied Oral Science that we cite below found trials of sorbitol gum, xylitol gum and mixed sorbitol-xylitol gum all showing a caries-reducing effect, and put the mechanism on saliva stimulation and the absence of sucrose rather than on any one polyol. Mentos is a mixed-polyol gum in exactly that sense. That is worth holding onto when the xylitol research comes up later, because most of that research is about xylitol as the sole or dominant sweetener at stated doses, and Mentos is neither sole nor stated.

Chewing gum base is the part you spit out. Mentos does not itemize it, which is normal in the US, where the base can be declared under that collective name, so the label does not tell you which elastomers, resins, waxes or fillers are in it, and neither can we. SmartLabel's own gloss calls it "the non-digestible base that gives gum its texture and chew". Mannitol and maltitol syrup are two more polyols, used for bulk, texture and a cooling note; glycerin keeps the piece soft; maltodextrin is a starch-derived carbohydrate used as a carrier and bulking agent, and it is the one body ingredient that is neither a sugar alcohol nor the base. The panel's 5 calories per piece is the only other quantity the brand attaches to the whole formula.

Then the tail. Natural and artificial flavors on Spearmint and Pure White, artificial flavors alone on Fresh Mint, Strawberry and Bubble Fresh. Rice starch and corn starch for the coating. Aspartame, acesulfame K and sucralose, the three high-intensity sweeteners that stretch the sweetness of the polyols; Strawberry lists only aspartame and acesulfame K, the other four list all three. Coconut oil as a softener. Sucrose fatty acid esters, which read like sugar and are not: they are an emulsifier made by joining sucrose to fatty acids, and they carry no sweetness of note. Lecithin (soy), another emulsifier and the reason soy sits in the allergen line. Sodium carboxymethylcellulose and xanthan gum as thickeners. Carnauba wax for the shine on the shell. BHT to maintain freshness, the synthetic antioxidant the industry adds to gum base and coatings to stop fats going rancid. And the colors: Blue 1 and Blue 1 Lake on the mints, turmeric oleoresin on Spearmint, carmine on Strawberry, Bubble Fresh and, per SmartLabel, Cinnamon.

Two things are absent from every US statement we read, and both are worth saying out loud because shoppers assume them. There is no fluoride in any form. And there is no calcium, phosphate or hydroxyapatite that could be described as an enamel mineral, with one narrow exception: Pure White lists sodium tripolyphosphate, a phosphate salt whose job on that label is not stated, as the whitening section below explains. Whatever Mentos does for teeth, it does through chewing and saliva, not through an added active.

A small but telling detail from the live pages: the Strawberry statement spells two words wrong, "SOCIUM CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE" and "CARNUBA WAX". That changes nothing in the formula. It does tell you the website statements are transcribed marketing copy rather than the regulatory label itself, which is one more reason to treat the bottle in your hand as the authority if the two ever disagree, and one more reason we kept the Open Food Facts record separate instead of arguing with it.

Part 2

Does Mentos gum contain xylitol? Yes, first on every label, and never in milligrams

This is the most-searched Mentos question and the answer is cleaner than for most mass-market gums: yes, xylitol is in every Mentos variant we read, and it is the first-listed ingredient on all of them. That puts Mentos ahead of Orbit, where xylitol sits in the under-2% tail behind a sorbitol body, and well ahead of Extra, whose US Spearmint sticks list no xylitol at all. Among the big-brand bottles at the checkout, Mentos is the one that made xylitol the largest ingredient rather than a garnish, and its SmartLabel record says so in its own words: "Number one ingredient is xylitol, which may help reduce the risk of tooth decay."

The same SmartLabel program carries a second sentence, on the Always White Bubble Fresh claims tab: "Chewing gum with xylitol may reduce the risk of tooth decay, and Mentos chewing gum contains more xylitol than the leading sugar-free chewing gum brand." The comparator brand is not named, and neither amount is given. It is a true-sounding sentence that cannot be checked from anything Mentos publishes, and that is the pattern of the whole label: direction without quantity.

What Mentos has not done is publish a figure. We read the product pages, the SmartLabel records and the Open Food Facts record looking for a per-piece xylitol amount, a percentage, or a per-serving line that would let one be derived, and there is none. The panels report "Sugar Alcohol 1 g" per piece and stop; the Open Food Facts record gives 75 g of polyols per 100 g of gum and stops. That matters because the xylitol research is dose research. The 2022 Taiwanese microbiome trial we cite below gave its participants ten pieces of gum a day carrying a total of 6.2 g of xylitol, which is 620 mg per piece from xylitol alone. A Mentos piece carries 1 g of all four polyols combined, so its xylitol content is somewhere below that gram, and nobody outside the company can say whether ten Mentos pieces would get anywhere near the trial's dose. A label that names xylitol first is telling you the direction of the recipe. A label that gives you the milligrams is telling you whether the recipe reaches the range the trials used. Mentos does the first and not the second.

I would put it this way to a friend. If you are choosing between Mentos and Orbit for the xylitol, Mentos is the more xylitol-forward label. If you are choosing a gum because you read that xylitol gum is associated with fewer cavities and you want that effect, the honest answer is that no mass-market bottle lets you check whether you are getting the amounts the studies used, and the brands that do let you check are in the alternatives table further down. Our xylitol gum ranking by published dose sorts that shortlist, our summary of twenty years of xylitol gum research covers what the trials actually measured, and the sorbitol vs xylitol deep dive explains why the two polyols are not interchangeable even though they sit next to each other on the label.

Part 3

Is Mentos gum safe, and is it bad for your teeth? What the ADA, EFSA and PubMed actually say

Start with the checkable part. The American Dental Association's Seal of Acceptance database lists Mentos Pure White Gum, and the ADA's stated basis for the Seal is that the product is safe and that chewing it for 20 minutes after eating stimulates saliva flow, which reduces plaque acids and makes teeth more resistant to decay. That is a per-product finding by a body that has no reason to flatter a gum, and it says two useful things: the ADA reviewed the product as safe, and the benefit it credits is the general sugar-free-gum mechanism. It says nothing about whitening, and nothing about xylitol as a dose. We cover the Seal precisely in the next part; here it settles the safety question for the one Mentos product it names.

The European record points the same way at the category level. In 2011 the European Food Safety Authority published a scientific opinion on health claims for sugar-free chewing gum sweetened with xylitol, covering plaque-acid neutralization, maintenance of tooth mineralization and plaque reduction, and tied the substantiated claims to a condition of use: 2 to 3 g of sugar-free gum chewed for 20 minutes at least three times a day after meals. Mentos is a sugar-free gum, so the general dental benefit EFSA recognizes for the category applies to it. Mentos is not a xylitol-only gum, it is a sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol and xylitol blend with no stated xylitol amount, so the xylitol-specific claim wording does not transfer to it word for word, and we do not transfer it.

PubMed adds the numbers, none of them Mentos-specific. A 2020 systematic review and meta-analysis in JDR Clinical and Translational Research pooled twelve studies of sugar-free gum and found a 28% lower caries increment in chewers than in non-chewing controls, with a 95% confidence interval from 7% to 48%; across the eight trials that used xylitol gum alone the figure was 33%, with a wider interval of 4% to 61%. The authors called the evidence tentative, noted high heterogeneity, and recorded no adverse effects. A 2007 systematic review in the Journal of Applied Oral Science accepted nine trials after strict screening; seven of them, one of strong and six of good evidence value, showed a caries-reducing effect of chewing sorbitol, xylitol or mixed sorbitol-xylitol gum, and two did not. And a 1993 follow-up in Caries Research went back to Finnish children five years after a school xylitol-gum program had ended and found the gap between the xylitol group and the no-gum group had kept widening in the xylitol group's favor. Read together: chewing sugar-free gum after meals is associated with fewer new cavities, the effect is real but variable, and the trials that isolate xylitol used stated doses that no Mentos label lets you match.

Now the additives, read from the label rather than from a headline. Every Mentos statement we read contains aspartame, which is why every pack carries the line "Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine"; that line is a legal requirement and it matters to people with PKU, not to anyone else. Every statement contains acesulfame K, and all but Strawberry contain sucralose; none of the three is fermented into acid by plaque bacteria, so none of them touches the dental question. Every statement contains BHT, declared "to maintain freshness", at an amount the label does not give; it is an authorized antioxidant in the market the label is written for, and we found nothing Mentos-specific about it. The sugar alcohols that make up the body of the piece are the family known for digestive effects at high intake; one piece carries about 1 g, and the Always White dosing instruction of 12 pieces a day would put you at roughly 12 g if that panel matches the two we read.

So, is Mentos gum bad for you? Not on anything we could find. Is it bad for your teeth? No; chewed for 20 minutes after eating it does what the ADA and EFSA say sugar-free gum does, and the systematic reviews back that habit. What it does not do is add any active that the caries literature is specifically about: no fluoride, no stated xylitol dose, no mineral. It is neutral-to-helpful, and the one product with a third-party review behind it, Pure White Gum, has that review for the saliva effect and nothing more. Our explainer on what happens in your mouth after you eat goes through the timing that all of those sources share.

Part 4

The ADA Seal, stated precisely

The Seal of Acceptance is per product, and the product in the ADA's database is Mentos Pure White Gum. That page, read on 5 September 2026, gives the ADA's basis in one sentence: the product is safe, and the physical action of chewing it for 20 minutes after eating stimulates saliva flow, which reduces acids and makes teeth more resistant to decay. We have paraphrased rather than quoted the ADA's sentence because it contains a word about cavity outcomes that we do not use for any product on this blog, ours included; the ADA page is linked in the sources so you can read the wording yourself.

Three things follow. First, the Seal is a cavity-related finding about a mechanism every sugar-free gum shares, awarded to one specific product after the ADA reviewed it. Second, the Seal page does not mention stain removal, bleaching, polishing, an abrasive, or the word whitening at all, which matters because the product it sits on is the white bottle. Third, we checked the Seal record for Pure White Gum and did not, in this pass, establish the Seal status of the other Mentos variants, so this page makes no claim about them either way. Our list of which gums carry the ADA Seal tracks the current database across brands.

The practical reading is simple. If you buy Pure White for the Seal, you are buying a gum a dental body reviewed as safe and credited with the saliva effect. If you buy it for whitening, the Seal is not about that, and the next part looks at what is.

Part 5

Pure White and Always White: what the whitening claim rests on

Mentos sells whitening-positioned gum under two names in the records we read: Pure White on us.mentos.com, and Always White in the SmartLabel database. We did not establish whether the two share a formula, so we report each as we found it. The us.mentos.com page for Pure White Sweet Mint says: "Mentos Gum Pure White helps to freshen breath and whiten teeth with an enjoyable flavor of Sweet Mint." That is the whole of the whitening claim on the product page. No mechanism is described, and the page's own copy does not say which ingredient does the work.

The SmartLabel claims tab for Always White Bubble Fresh is more specific, and to Mentos' credit it is specific in the way a claim should be: "Whiten your teeth while freshening your breath! Chewing 4 pieces and 3 times a day of Mentos Always White chewing gum helps reduce staining in 6 weeks." That names a dose, 12 pieces a day, a duration, six weeks, and an outcome, reduced staining. It is bounded and testable, which is more than most whitening copy in this category offers. It is also a claim about surface stain, not about the shade of the tooth, and the tab does not say how the reduction was measured or against what.

What is in the bottle that could do it? Put the Pure White declaration next to the Pure Fresh ones and exactly one ingredient appears that the others lack: sodium tripolyphosphate, listed first in the under-2% tail. It is a phosphate salt. The label does not say what it does in this gum, the product page does not mention it, and the ADA Seal page does not mention it. General web summaries describe it as a stain-control agent; we confirmed the ingredient itself on the SmartLabel record, but no Mentos source we read states its purpose, so we report the ingredient and not a mechanism. What we can say from the label is what is not there: no peroxide, no abrasive polishing agent, no bleaching chemistry of any kind appears on any Mentos statement we read.

So the whitening line rests on three things: a one-sentence claim on the product page, a dose-and-duration claim on a SmartLabel tab, and one phosphate salt in the tail whose function Mentos does not state. Any sugar-free gum chewed after coffee gives a small mechanical rinse, and 12 pieces a day is a lot of chewing and a lot of rinsing. If that is what "helps reduce staining" means in practice, it is a real but modest effect that belongs to chewing rather than to Mentos. No gum bleaches teeth, because changing the intrinsic shade of a tooth requires peroxide chemistry no gum contains. Our explainer on what whitening gum can and cannot do covers the category, and our Trident White label check reads the other white bottle on the same shelf.

Part 6

Carmine, gelatin, titanium dioxide, wheat, soy, PKU: who should read the pack twice

Most of what a shopper needs to know about Mentos is in the allergen lines and the colors, and none of it is on the front of the bottle. Here is the list, each item traced to the label it came from.

Phenylalanine. Every statement we read contains aspartame, so every pack carries "Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine". If you have PKU, that line is the one that matters; if you do not, it is a legal formality.

Soy. Lecithin (soy) is in every statement, and the Open Food Facts record flags soybeans as an allergen.

Wheat. The four Pure Fresh statements on us.mentos.com end with "MAY CONTAIN WHEAT". The Pure White statement does not carry that line. We do not know why the two differ, only that they do, and a person with wheat allergy or celiac disease should treat the line as the label intends: a cross-contact warning, not a recipe ingredient.

Carmine. Pure Fresh Strawberry and Pure Fresh Bubble Fresh are "COLORED WITH: CARMINE" on us.mentos.com, and the SmartLabel record for Pure Fresh Cinnamon names carmine as "a red coloring additive". Carmine is a red pigment extracted from cochineal insects. It is an authorized color and it is not vegan, and the fruit flavors are the ones that carry it. The mint flavors are colored with Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake and, on Spearmint, turmeric oleoresin.

Gelatin and titanium dioxide. Neither appears on any current US statement we read. Both appear on the Open Food Facts record for a Pure Fresh Mint bottle, barcode 0073390012137, which also flags gelatin as an allergen. Gelatin is an animal product, so that record, if it reflects a bottle on sale somewhere, describes a gum that is not vegetarian. Titanium dioxide is a white pigment with its own regulatory history that differs by market; our titanium dioxide in gum article covers that history so this page does not have to. What this page can say is narrower and more useful: the US statements and the crowd-sourced record disagree, and the bottle in your hand settles it.

BHT. On every statement we read, US and crowd-sourced, "to maintain freshness", amount not given. Orbit and Extra list it too; see the comparison below. If you are choosing a gum specifically to steer clear of it, Mentos is not that gum, and neither are its two largest competitors.

Sugar alcohols. Xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol and maltitol syrup make up the body of the piece, about 1 g in total per the panel. Polyols in quantity are known for digestive effects; one piece is not a quantity, twelve pieces a day, which is the Always White dosing instruction, is closer to one. Our ranking of sugar substitutes by what they do to teeth covers each of the four, and our aspartame-in-gum article covers the sweetener that draws the most questions.

Part 7

Mentos vs Orbit vs Extra: three labels, one company each side of the aisle

Put the three mass-market labels side by side and the differences are in the order of the polyols and in whether xylitol appears at all. Everything else, the high-intensity sweeteners, the BHT, the missing amounts, is shared. The Orbit and Extra rows come from each brand's own product page read on 5 September 2026 and are summarized here; the full audits are in our separate Orbit label check and Extra label check.

Mentos Pure Fresh (US label) Orbit Spearmint Sugarfree (orbitgum.com) Extra Spearmint Sugar Free (extragum.com, US)
First ingredients Xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, mannitol, glycerin, maltitol syrup Sorbitol, gum base, glycerol, mannitol, natural and artificial flavors Sorbitol, gum base, glycerol, natural and artificial flavors
Xylitol present Yes, first ingredient Yes, in the under-2% tail Not listed
High-intensity sweeteners Aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose Aspartame, acesulfame K Aspartame, acesulfame K
BHT Yes, "to maintain freshness" Yes Yes
Xylitol mg per piece published No No Not applicable, no xylitol
Whitening variant Pure White / Always White: "helps to freshen breath and whiten teeth"; 12 pieces a day for 6 weeks claim White Peppermint line exists; no claim wording captured in this pass No whitening SKU checked in this pass
ADA Seal (product checked) Yes, Pure White Gum, saliva-stimulation basis Not checked in this pass Not checked in this pass

Mentos from us.mentos.com and SmartLabel; Orbit from orbitgum.com; Extra from extragum.com; all read 5 September 2026. Brand shop pages are not linked from this blog. "Not checked in this pass" means exactly that: no claim either way.

Three observations, none of them a ranking. Mentos is the only one of the three that puts xylitol at the top of the list, and the only one that makes a xylitol claim on its label record. All three rely on the same mechanism for any dental benefit, saliva from chewing, and all three list the same two high-intensity sweeteners and the same antioxidant. And none of the three publishes a single milligram of anything, so the comparison that would actually matter to a person choosing a gum for its xylitol, how much is in a piece, cannot be made from anything the three companies put in front of you. On label order, Mentos is the most xylitol-forward of the three. On disclosure, the three are identical.

Part 8

If you want a published xylitol dose, these labels give one

The gap this whole page keeps circling is the missing number. Here is what the brands in this article publish, with the one that does publish a figure in the same table for contrast, each row taken from the brand's own page on 5 September 2026.

Brand Xylitol per piece Other sweeteners Where the number is published
Minvelle Remineralizing Gum (ours) 817 mg (43% of a 1.9 g piece) 285 mg erythritol; no aspartame, no acesulfame K, no sorbitol, no titanium dioxide minvelle.com/pages/transparency, with the batch certificate of analysis
Mentos (every variant read) Not published Sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose on most variants Only "1 g sugar alcohol" per piece on SmartLabel; 75 g polyols per 100 g on Open Food Facts
Orbit (Spearmint Sugarfree) Not published; xylitol in the under-2% tail Sorbitol body, aspartame, acesulfame K Nowhere on orbitgum.com
Extra (US Spearmint Sugar Free) None in the formulation Sorbitol body, aspartame, acesulfame K Not applicable

Minvelle figures from the transparency page; Mentos, Orbit and Extra as above; all read 5 September 2026. Xylitol-forward specialist brands such as Spry and Xylichew publish per-piece figures on various retailer listings; we did not confirm those figures on the brands' own pages in this pass, so they are not quoted here. Our xylitol gum ranking covers them with sources.

Fairness, and our conflict

I sell the first row of that table, and every switch from Mentos to Minvelle is money in my pocket, so here is the case for Mentos made as plainly as I made the case against. Mentos discloses more than most of the direct-to-consumer "dental gum" brands we have audited: a full ingredient statement on its own site, SmartLabel records with nutrition panels, and a product in the ADA's database with the ADA's basis published for anyone to read. Perfetti Van Melle went and got a third-party dental review for a specific product, which most gum brands never do. The Always White claim names a dose and a duration, which makes it falsifiable, which is rare. Mentos is far cheaper per piece than anything in the table above, it is sold in every petrol station and supermarket, which means you will actually have it with you after lunch, and the mechanism the ADA credits only works if you chew. A person who chews Mentos for 20 minutes after every meal is doing more for their teeth than a person who bought a premium dental gum and left it in a drawer.

The case for the published-dose brands is narrower and I should state it narrowly. If you read the xylitol research and want the amounts those trials used, only a label with a number lets you check. If you want a gum without aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose, sorbitol or BHT, the Mentos label rules Mentos out and the Minvelle label rules Minvelle in, but that is a preference you hold, not a finding I made. And if you want an added mineral in the gum rather than the saliva effect alone, Minvelle's 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece is a published dose of a studied ingredient with, as our own transparency page says, no finished-product trial behind the gum itself. Our gum contains egg shell powder and is not vegan, which is the kind of line this page has been asking Mentos to print, so it belongs here too. We hold ourselves to the same sentence we hold Mentos to: what does the label say, and what does the brand publish. Our hydroxyapatite gum database applies that sentence to every brand in the category, and our citation audit applies it to the studies those brands cite, ours included.

Part 9

Who Mentos is right for, and who is reading the wrong label

Mentos is the right gum for the person who wants a sugar-free mint with the standard after-meal saliva benefit, prefers a xylitol-first recipe to a sorbitol-first one, likes the idea of a product the ADA has reviewed, and does not need to know the milligrams. That is most people, and it is a perfectly good reason to buy it. Pure Fresh Fresh Mint or Spearmint are the choices in the range if you want to steer clear of carmine; Pure White is the choice if the whitening line appeals to you, with the understanding that the page behind it offers a sentence and a dosing instruction rather than a mechanism.

Mentos is the wrong label for a vegan reaching for the strawberry, bubble or cinnamon flavors, for a vegetarian who has not checked whether their bottle matches the US statements or the crowd-sourced record, for someone with phenylketonuria who has not read the tail, for a person with wheat allergy or celiac disease who assumed a mint gum would carry no cross-contact line, and for anyone who chose it because "xylitol gum" is what a dentist recommended and has not noticed that the amount is not on the pack. None of those people is wrong to want what they want. They are reading the front of the bottle, and everything they need is on the back.

One habit fixes most of it. Chew after eating, for 20 minutes, most days. That instruction is the same on the ADA's Seal page, in EFSA's conditions of use and in every review cited on this page, and it does more for your teeth than any choice between brands. Our label-first guide to which gum is actually good for you gives the general reading method this page applied to one brand.

Glossary

Xylitol: A sugar alcohol (polyol) with its own dental research; trials that isolate it use stated daily doses, such as the 6.2 g a day across ten pieces in the 2022 Taiwanese microbiome study. First ingredient on every Mentos label read, never quantified by Mentos.

Sorbitol: The polyol most mass-market gum is built on. Second ingredient on Mentos Pure Fresh, third on Pure White. Not fermented into acid by plaque bacteria; the 2007 systematic review found sorbitol gum, xylitol gum and mixed gum all associated with fewer cavities.

Mannitol and maltitol syrup: Two further polyols used for bulk, texture and sweetness. In the body of every Mentos label read; together with xylitol and sorbitol they make up the "1 g sugar alcohol" on the panel.

Maltodextrin: A starch-derived carbohydrate used as a carrier and bulking agent. Above the 2% line on every US Mentos statement, amount not stated.

Aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose: High-intensity sweeteners in the Mentos tail; all three on four of the five US variants, two on Strawberry. Aspartame is the reason for the phenylketonurics line. None is fermented by plaque bacteria.

BHT (butylated hydroxytoluene): A synthetic antioxidant added "to maintain freshness". On every Mentos label read, and on Orbit and Extra; amount not stated by any of them.

Sodium tripolyphosphate: A phosphate salt listed in the under-2% tail of Mentos Pure White Sweet Mint and on no other Mentos statement we read. Its function in this gum is not stated by Mentos.

Carmine: A red pigment extracted from cochineal insects; an authorized color and not vegan. On Mentos Pure Fresh Strawberry, Bubble Fresh and, per SmartLabel, Cinnamon.

Gelatin and titanium dioxide: Listed on a crowd-sourced Open Food Facts record for one Pure Fresh Mint barcode and on none of the current US statements. Gelatin is an animal product; titanium dioxide is a white pigment whose regulatory status differs by market.

Phenylketonuria (PKU): An inherited condition in which phenylalanine cannot be metabolized; the reason aspartame-sweetened products carry the capitalized warning.

ADA Seal of Acceptance: The American Dental Association's per-product endorsement. For gum, the accepted basis is saliva stimulation from 20 minutes of sugar-free chewing after eating. Held by Mentos Pure White Gum.

Caries increment: The number of new decayed, missing or filled surfaces over a trial period; the outcome the sugar-free gum reviews pool, reported as a percentage reduction in chewers versus controls.

Questions, answered

The things people actually ask about Mentos gum

What are the ingredients in Mentos gum?

Mentos Pure Fresh Fresh Mint, as published on us.mentos.com and SmartLabel on 5 September 2026: xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, mannitol, glycerin, maltitol syrup, maltodextrin, artificial flavors, then less than 2% of rice starch, aspartame, acesulfame K, coconut oil, sucrose fatty acid esters, lecithin (soy), sodium carboxymethylcellulose, carnauba wax, sucralose, xanthan gum, corn starch, BHT to maintain freshness, Blue 1 Lake and Blue 1, with the lines 'may contain wheat' and 'phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine'. Spearmint adds turmeric oleoresin; Strawberry and Bubble Fresh add fruit acids and are colored with carmine; Pure White Sweet Mint adds sodium tripolyphosphate in the under-2% tail. A crowd-sourced Open Food Facts record for one Pure Fresh Mint barcode also lists gelatin and titanium dioxide, which the current US statements do not.

Does Mentos gum contain xylitol?

Yes. Xylitol is the first-listed ingredient on every US Pure Fresh and Pure White statement we read, and on the Open Food Facts record as well, followed by sorbitol, mannitol, glycerin and maltitol syrup. That makes Mentos a mixed-polyol gum with xylitol as the largest single ingredient, not a xylitol-only gum. No Mentos page or SmartLabel panel states how many milligrams of xylitol a piece contains; the nutrition panels for Pure White Sweet Mint and Pure Fresh Spearmint give only 1 g of sugar alcohol per piece, which is xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol and maltitol syrup added together.

Is Mentos gum good for your teeth?

For the whitening variant there is a checkable answer: the American Dental Association lists Mentos Pure White Gum in its Seal of Acceptance database, and the ADA's stated basis is that chewing the gum for 20 minutes after eating stimulates saliva flow, which reduces plaque acids and makes teeth more resistant to decay. That is the general sugar-free-gum benefit, awarded to a specific product. Systematic reviews of sugar-free gum, including a 2020 meta-analysis of twelve trials, report a lower rate of new cavities in people who chew after meals compared with people who do not. None of those studies tested Mentos itself, and Mentos publishes no xylitol amount, so the benefit you can count on is the one that comes from chewing any sugar-free gum after eating. Gum complements brushing and cleaning between teeth; it does not replace them.

Is Mentos gum safe to chew?

On the record we could find, yes, for the general population. Every ingredient on the statements we read is an authorized food ingredient in the market the label is written for, the ADA reviewed Pure White Gum as safe when it granted the Seal, and we found no published report of a Mentos-specific adverse effect in this pass. The label still carries lines that matter to specific people: aspartame in every variant, which is why the pack says 'phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine'; soy lecithin in every variant; 'may contain wheat' on the four Pure Fresh statements; carmine on the fruit flavors; and BHT on all of them. Sugar alcohols in quantity are known for digestive effects, and one piece carries about 1 g.

Does Mentos Always White gum actually whiten teeth?

The claim on the SmartLabel record for Mentos Always White Bubble Fresh reads: 'Chewing 4 pieces and 3 times a day of Mentos Always White chewing gum helps reduce staining in 6 weeks.' That is a bounded promise, 12 pieces a day for six weeks, about surface staining, and it names no mechanism. The us.mentos.com page for Pure White says the gum 'helps to freshen breath and whiten teeth'. The only ingredient on the Pure White declaration that the Pure Fresh declarations lack is sodium tripolyphosphate, a phosphate salt in the under-2% tail; no peroxide and no abrasive appears on any Mentos label we read. The ADA Seal on Pure White Gum is for saliva stimulation, and the ADA page says nothing about stain removal or whitening. No gum changes the intrinsic shade of a tooth.

Does Mentos gum have gelatin, and is it vegan?

It depends on which label you are holding. The current US ingredient statements on us.mentos.com and SmartLabel for Pure Fresh Fresh Mint, Spearmint, Strawberry, Bubble Fresh and Pure White Sweet Mint list no gelatin. A crowd-sourced Open Food Facts record for a Pure Fresh Mint bottle, barcode 0073390012137, does list gelatin and titanium dioxide, and flags gelatin and soybeans as allergens. We could not establish whether that is an older label, a different market's recipe or a data-entry difference. Separately, the Strawberry and Bubble Fresh flavors on us.mentos.com and the Cinnamon flavor on SmartLabel are colored with carmine, an insect-derived pigment. If vegan or vegetarian matters to you, read the pack in your hand, not a database.

Mentos vs Orbit vs Extra: which one has more xylitol?

On the labels read on 5 September 2026, Mentos Pure Fresh lists xylitol first; Orbit Spearmint Sugarfree lists xylitol in its under-2% tail behind a sorbitol body; Extra Spearmint Sugar Free in the US lists no xylitol at all. So Mentos is the most xylitol-forward of the three by label order. None of the three publishes a milligram figure, so no one outside the companies can say how far apart they actually are, and none of them approaches the doses the xylitol trials used. All three list aspartame and acesulfame K; Mentos adds sucralose. The Mentos SmartLabel claim that it 'contains more xylitol than the leading sugar-free chewing gum brand' does not name the brand or the amounts.

Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, and do your own research on any ingredient you want to steer clear of. Product formulations, listings and ingredient lists change over time and differ between countries; always check the current pack, and if you have phenylketonuria, a wheat or soy allergy, celiac disease, a vegetarian or vegan diet, or a sensitivity to sugar alcohols, the pack in your hand is the only label that counts.

Sources
  1. Perfetti Van Melle, official Mentos product pages at us.mentos.com (Pure Fresh Fresh Mint, Pure Fresh Spearmint, Pure White Sweet Mint, Pure Fresh Strawberry, Pure Fresh Bubble Fresh, 50-piece curvy bottles): ingredient statements, allergen lines, phenylketonurics line and the Pure White product description, captured from the page code on 5 September 2026. Product-purchase pages are not linked on this blog; the URLs follow the pattern us.mentos.com/products/[variant]-50pc-curvy-bottle.
  2. SmartLabel (smartlabel.labelinsight.com, product 6582410), Mentos Pure White Sugar-Free Chewing Gum with Xylitol, Sweet Mint, UPC 00073390014124: ingredient declaration including sodium tripolyphosphate, nutrition panel (1 piece, 5 calories, 1 g sugar alcohol), features text "Number one ingredient is xylitol", read 5 September 2026 (label-database pages are not linked from this blog).
  3. SmartLabel, Mentos Pure Fresh, Fresh Mint, 15-piece (product 6584835): ingredient detail entries including "Chewing Gum Base"; SmartLabel, Mentos Pure Fresh, Cinnamon, 50-piece (product 6701758): manufacturer Perfetti van Melle USA Inc., carmine entry; SmartLabel, Mentos Always White, Bubble Fresh (product 6707134), claims tab: the 4-pieces-3-times-a-day, 6-week staining claim and the "more xylitol than the leading sugar-free chewing gum brand" claim; SmartLabel Pure Fresh Spearmint, UPC 00073390014056: ingredient declaration and nutrition panel; all read 5 September 2026 (not linked).
  4. Open Food Facts (world.openfoodfacts.org, product 0073390012137), Mentos Pure Fresh Mint: crowd-sourced ingredient list including gelatin and titanium dioxide, allergens gelatin and soybeans, nutrition per 100 g (250 kcal, 0 g sugar, 75 g polyols), read 5 September 2026 (not linked).
  5. American Dental Association, Seal of Acceptance database: Mentos Pure White Gum, basis of acceptance, read 5 September 2026.
  6. European Food Safety Authority, scientific opinion on health claims related to sugar-free chewing gum sweetened with xylitol, EFSA Journal 2011;9(6):2266: plaque-acid neutralization, maintenance of tooth mineralization, plaque reduction, and the condition of use of 2 to 3 g of gum chewed for 20 minutes at least three times a day after meals.
  7. Newton JT, Awojobi O, Nasseripour M, Warburton F et al. A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of the Role of Sugar-Free Chewing Gum in Dental Caries. JDR Clinical and Translational Research, 2020. PMID 31743654: twelve studies, preventive fraction 28% (95% CI 7% to 48%), 33% (4% to 61%) across the eight xylitol-gum trials, tentative evidence, high heterogeneity, no adverse effects.
  8. Mickenautsch S, Leal SC, Yengopal V, Bezerra AC, Cruvinel V. Sugar-free chewing gum and dental caries: a systematic review. Journal of Applied Oral Science, 2007. PMID 19089107: nine accepted trials, seven showing a caries-reducing effect of sorbitol, xylitol or mixed gum, mechanism attributed to saliva stimulation and the absence of sucrose.
  9. Isogangas P, Mäkinen KK, Tiekso J, Alanen P. Long-term effect of xylitol chewing gum in the prevention of dental caries: a follow-up 5 years after termination of a prevention program. Caries Research, 1993. PMID 8281565.
  10. Wu YF, Salamanca E, Chen IW, Su JN et al. Xylitol-Containing Chewing Gum Reduces Cariogenic and Periodontopathic Bacteria in Dental Plaque: Microbiome Investigation. Frontiers in Nutrition, 2022. PMID 35634392: 24 young adults, ten pieces a day totalling 6.2 g xylitol, two weeks, 20% less plaque accumulation.
  11. Vogel GL, Zhang Z, Carey CM, Ly A et al. Composition of plaque and saliva following a sucrose challenge and use of an alpha-tricalcium-phosphate-containing chewing gum. Journal of Dental Research, 1998. PMID 9496925: background on mineral-fortified experimental gum, a different active from anything in Mentos; cited for context only.
  12. Mars Wrigley, Orbit Spearmint Sugarfree value pack, orbitgum.com, and Extra Spearmint Sugar Free 15-stick, extragum.com: ingredient statements read 5 September 2026 (brand shop pages, not linked); full label detail in our Orbit and Extra label checks.
  13. Minvelle transparency page: 817 mg xylitol, 285 mg erythritol and 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, full ingredient list, egg allergen, batch certificate, and the hydroxyapatite gum database, both read 5 September 2026.
M

About the author

Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.

Read the bottle, then decide. Mentos is a well-labelled, sugar-free, everywhere-available gum with a more xylitol-forward recipe than its neighbours on the shelf and a longer tail than most of them too. One of its products carries the ADA Seal for the mechanism every sugar-free gum shares, it lists xylitol first and quantifies nothing, and its whitening line rests on a sentence, a dosing instruction and a phosphate salt rather than a stated mechanism. None of that makes it bad for you or for your teeth; chewed for 20 minutes after eating it does exactly what the ADA and EFSA say sugar-free gum does. It simply does not do more, and the label does not claim to. If freshness and the saliva benefit are what you want, buy it and enjoy it. If a published dose of a studied ingredient is what you want, buy the label that prints one, ours or anyone's, because in this category the label is the product and the name on the front has never changed a single number on the back.

The published-numbers version

A dental gum that shows its numbers

Minvelle publishes what a mass-market label does not: 817 mg of xylitol and 285 mg of erythritol per piece, a chicle, spruce and Chios mastic base, and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, with the batch certificate public. No aspartame, no acesulfame K, no sorbitol, no titanium dioxide, and no BHT on the fourteen-ingredient list. One piece a day, 18 pieces per box, as a complement to fluoride brushing, never a replacement.

Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29

Or subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks, €15.00 per box, skip or cancel anytime →

30-day money-back guarantee on unopened boxes

More on this topic

Back to blog