Orbit gum ingredients review 2026: the label, checked
Orbit is the sugar-free gum most people in the US have chewed without ever reading the back of the pack. This page reads it for you: the ingredient list of three Orbit variants quoted word for word from the manufacturer's site, what each sweetener and additive is, how the list compares with Trident and Extra, what the ADA Seal on the pack actually certifies, and what the research says about sugar-free gum and teeth. I run a company that sells a competing gum, and that is stated again below, in full, before any comparison.
Published September 2026 · Last reviewed: 5 September 2026 · 24 min read
One piece, once a day, with the xylitol on the page
Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 817 mg xylitol and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, no aspartame and no acesulfame K, made to be chewed one piece a day after meals. A box holds 18 pieces, which is 18 days, and it sits alongside your fluoride routine rather than replacing it. The full formula and the batch certificate are published.
Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29What is in Orbit gum?
Orbit Peppermint, as listed on orbitgum.com on 5 September 2026, is sorbitol, gum base, glycerol, mannitol and flavours, with hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, aspartame, acesulfame K, soy lecithin, xylitol and BHT under 2%. Bubblemint is the same list in a slightly different order. Orbit White Spearmint flips the sweetener: xylitol is first, sorbitol drops to the under-2% group, and sodium bicarbonate, carnauba wax and a blue colour are added. Every variant carries the phenylketonurics warning for aspartame. No Orbit page publishes a milligram amount of any sweetener per piece.
Is Orbit bad for your teeth?
No source we found says that, and the ADA says the opposite for the chewing itself. Orbit carries the ADA Seal of Acceptance on the finding that chewing it for 20 minutes after eating stimulates saliva flow, which reduces plaque acids. Trident carries the same Seal with the same wording. The honest caveats are about what Orbit is not: it is not a xylitol-forward gum unless you pick Orbit White, it uses aspartame and acesulfame K, and it contains BHT, which the FDA lists as generally recognized as safe and a consumer-advocacy group rates "Caution". All three are attributed and dated below.
What the label tells you, in one screen
Everything on this page comes from pages you can open yourself: orbitgum.com, tridentgum.com, extragum.com, ada.org, cspi.org, the Federal Register, PubMed, and our own transparency page. Each fact carries the date we read it. Where a company does not state a number, the page says "not disclosed" rather than guessing. Here is the short version.
- Orbit's main sweetener is sorbitol, in Peppermint and Bubblemint. Mannitol is fourth on the list. Xylitol is there, but under 2%.
- Orbit White Spearmint is the exception: xylitol leads the list and sorbitol sits in the under-2% group. It also adds sodium bicarbonate, carnauba wax and Blue 1.
- Two artificial sweeteners in every variant: aspartame and acesulfame K, both under 2%, both with the phenylketonurics line on the pack.
- BHT "to maintain freshness" appears in every Wrigley product we read, Orbit and Extra alike. Trident Original's list, as fetched, has no BHT.
- The ADA Seal is not a ranking. Orbit and Trident hold it with identical wording, tied to chewing for 20 minutes after eating. It says nothing about whitening or about any mineral.
- Nobody in the big three publishes a xylitol amount per piece. The brands that do, and there are a few, are listed in the alternatives table further down, ours among them.
If you only wanted to know whether Orbit contains xylitol, aspartame or BHT: yes, yes and yes, per the manufacturer's own pages on 5 September 2026. The rest of this page is what those words mean.
Orbit vs Trident vs Extra, label by label
One representative variant per brand: Orbit Peppermint, Trident Original and Extra Spearmint, each read from the brand's own product page on 5 September 2026. "Under 2%" means the ingredient appears after the "less than 2% of" divider on the label, which is where US labels group minor ingredients without stating their order by weight. A "not listed" cell means the ingredient does not appear on the list we fetched for that variant; it does not mean the brand has never used it in another flavour.
| Label item | Orbit Peppermint | Trident Original | Extra Spearmint |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maker | Mars Wrigley | Mondelez International | Mars Wrigley |
| First ingredient | Sorbitol | Sorbitol | Sorbitol |
| Xylitol | Yes, under 2% | Yes, third on the list, above the 2% divider | Not listed |
| Other sugar alcohols | Mannitol; hydrogenated starch hydrolysate under 2% | Mannitol under 2% | Hydrogenated starch hydrolysate and mannitol under 2% |
| Artificial sweeteners | Aspartame, acesulfame K | Aspartame, acesulfame potassium, sucralose | Aspartame, acesulfame K |
| BHT | Yes, "to maintain freshness" | Not listed | Yes, "to maintain freshness" |
| Colours | None listed | None listed | Turmeric, Blue 1 Lake |
| Soy / PKU warning | Soy lecithin; phenylketonurics line | "Contains: soy"; phenylketonurics line | Soy lecithin; phenylketonurics line |
| ADA Seal | Yes, ada.org product page | Yes, ada.org product page | Yes, per a Dimensions of Dental Hygiene report; ADA's own Extra page not captured in this pass |
| Sweetener mg per piece published | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Sources: orbitgum.com, tridentgum.com and extragum.com product pages, and ada.org Seal product-search pages, all read 5 September 2026. Trident's page was read from raw HTML because the ingredient panel is loaded from a JSON block.
Three things jump out of that table. All three gums start with sorbitol. Trident is the only one of the three with xylitol above the 2% divider, and the only one with three artificial sweeteners rather than two. And BHT splits along company lines: both Mars Wrigley products list it, the Mondelez product does not. None of that makes any of the three a bad gum. It does tell you which one to buy if you specifically want more xylitol or no BHT, and it tells you that if you want a xylitol amount in milligrams, you will have to look outside the big three. Extra has its own full label read in our Extra gum ingredients review.
How we read the labels, and what we refused to guess
This is not a lab test. We did not send Orbit to a laboratory, and I am not going to pretend that chewing a pack of each flavour tells anyone anything about enamel. What we did is slower and more useful for a shopper: we opened the manufacturer's own product pages for three Orbit variants, one Trident variant and one Extra variant, copied the ingredient statement exactly as written, and saved the URL and the date. Those verbatim statements are reproduced in the next section. If a word is on this page in quotation marks, it is on the brand's page too. Mentos gum is read the same way in our Mentos gum ingredients review.
Why the order of ingredients matters. US food labels list ingredients in descending order by weight until the "less than 2% of" divider. After that divider, the order carries no weight information at all; a company can list the under-2% items in any sequence it likes. So "sorbitol, gum base, glycerol, mannitol" tells you those four are the bulk of the piece, in that order. "Less than 2% of: aspartame, acesulfame K, xylitol, BHT" tells you each of those is under 2% and nothing more. This is the single most useful thing to know when reading a gum label, and it is the reason the table above separates "above the divider" from "under 2%".
What we did not do. We did not estimate the xylitol content of any Orbit product from its position on the list, from the calorie count, or from the sugar-alcohol gram figure on the nutrition panel. Orbit Peppermint's panel says 5 calories, 1 g total carbohydrate and 1 g sugar alcohol per piece, and that 1 g is sorbitol, mannitol, hydrogenated starch hydrolysate and xylitol combined, in an undisclosed split. Anyone who tells you how many milligrams of xylitol are in a piece of Orbit is guessing, because the company has not said. The same goes for Trident and Extra.
Studies. Every research claim on this page carries a PubMed ID in the sources block, and we checked that each ID opens to the paper we describe. There are five: two systematic reviews with meta-analysis on sugar-free gum from a King's College London group, a 2023 narrative review from Hong Kong, and two systematic reviews specific to xylitol gum, one from 2025 and one from 2021 that is considerably more sceptical. We cite the sceptical one on purpose.
Brands change their labels. If Orbit reformulates after 5 September 2026, the verbatim lists below are out of date until we re-read them, and I would like to hear about it so we can fix the page.
Three Orbit variants, quoted word for word
Orbit Peppermint Sugarfree
Source: orbitgum.com, 14-piece single pack product page, read 5 September 2026.
"Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, Mannitol, Natural And Artificial Flavors; Less Than 2% Of: Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Aspartame, Acesulfame K, Soy Lecithin, Xylitol, Bht (To Maintain Freshness)." Followed by: "PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE." Nutrition per piece: 5 calories, 1 g total carbohydrate, 1 g sugar alcohol.
Reading it: sorbitol is the bulk sweetener and the first ingredient. Gum base is second, which is normal for a stick gum. Glycerol keeps it soft, mannitol is a second sugar alcohol that also acts as a dusting agent, and the flavours are a mix of natural and artificial. Everything else is under 2%. Note where xylitol sits: fifth of six in the under-2% group. That is a presence, not a dose. Note too that this is the flavour most people mean when they say "Orbit", so the rest of this page uses it as the reference variant.
Orbit Bubblemint Sugarfree
Source: orbitgum.com, 14-piece single pack product page, read 5 September 2026.
"Sorbitol, Gum Base, Glycerol, Mannitol, Natural And Artificial Flavors; Less Than 2% Of: Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Soy Lecithin, Aspartame, Acesulfame K, Xylitol, Bht (To Maintain Freshness)."
Reading it: the same eleven items as Peppermint. The only difference is that soy lecithin has moved up two places inside the under-2% group, which, as explained above, carries no weight information. For label purposes, Bubblemint and Peppermint are the same gum with a different flavour blend. If you were choosing between them on ingredients, there is nothing to choose.
Orbit White Spearmint Sugarfree
Source: orbitgum.com, 40-piece bottle product page, read 5 September 2026.
"Xylitol, Gum Base; Less Than 2% Of: Natural And Artificial Flavors, Acacia, Aspartame, Soy Lecithin, Sorbitol, Mannitol, Acesulfame K, Sodium Bicarbonate, Carnauba Wax, Bht (To Maintain Freshness), Colors (Includes Blue 1)."
Reading it: this is a different formula, not a different flavour. Xylitol is the first ingredient and the only sweetener above the 2% divider. Sorbitol and mannitol, the bulk of regular Orbit, have dropped into the under-2% group. It is a pellet gum rather than a stick, which is why acacia and carnauba wax appear: they form the hard coating. Sodium bicarbonate is baking soda, a mild abrasive and buffer that the "White" positioning leans on. Blue 1 is a colour. Aspartame, acesulfame K and BHT are still there.
If someone asks "does Orbit have xylitol?" and means "is it a xylitol gum?", the answer depends entirely on which pack they are holding. Orbit White is xylitol-first. Orbit Peppermint and Bubblemint are sorbitol-first with a trace of xylitol. The brand name does not tell you which; the first word on the ingredient list does. Still, even for Orbit White, the amount of xylitol per piece is not published anywhere we could find on orbitgum.com.
Sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, aspartame, acesulfame K, what each one does
Orbit uses six sweetening ingredients across its variants, and they fall into two families. Sugar alcohols, also called polyols, provide bulk and a mild sweetness, and they are what makes the piece feel like a piece. Intense sweeteners provide sweetness at tiny amounts and no bulk. Orbit uses four of the first family and two of the second.
Sorbitol. The first ingredient in Orbit Peppermint, Orbit Bubblemint, Trident Original and Extra Spearmint. It is a sugar alcohol about 60% as sweet as sugar, cheap, and it holds moisture, which keeps a stick gum soft. For teeth, the key fact is that the bacteria most associated with tooth decay ferment sorbitol slowly and only a little, so it does not feed plaque acid the way sugar does. The practical downside is digestive: sorbitol has a laxative effect at high daily intakes, which is why heavy gum chewers sometimes get stomach trouble. The other question, whether sorbitol is as good for teeth as xylitol, is where the research is most interesting, and it comes next.
Mannitol. Fourth on the Orbit Peppermint list, under 2% in Orbit White, Trident and Extra. Another sugar alcohol, less sweet than sorbitol, used partly as a sweetener and partly as the powder that stops sticks of gum sticking to the wrapper and to each other. Same dental profile as sorbitol: not a food for plaque bacteria, not a treatment for anything.
Hydrogenated starch hydrolysate. Under 2% in Orbit Peppermint, Bubblemint and Extra. A syrup of mixed sugar alcohols made by breaking starch down and then hydrogenating it. It is a bulking and softening agent as much as a sweetener. Not cariogenic, no particular dental claim.
Xylitol. First in Orbit White, under 2% in regular Orbit, third in Trident Original, absent from the Extra Spearmint list we read. Xylitol is the sugar alcohol with the most dental research behind it, and the reason is a specific one: the mutans streptococci that drive decay cannot use it for energy, and there is evidence that chewing xylitol gum lowers their numbers in a way that sorbitol gum does not. A 2025 systematic review from the University of Turku (PMID 40731400) looked only at studies that compared xylitol gum against a polyol control gum, mostly sorbitol, and found xylitol gum significantly decreased mutans streptococci counts in 12 of 14 such studies, reduced plaque accumulation in 6 of 10, and reduced caries occurrence in 3 of 5 trials. The authors' conclusion is that the best evidence for xylitol being different from sorbitol sits in the bacteria and plaque studies, with the caries trials "in line with this idea". That is a real difference, and it is why "how much xylitol" is a fair question to ask of any gum, Orbit included.
A caution to set against it, because the picture is not one-sided. A 2021 systematic review from Brazil (PMID 34341229) looked at randomised trials of gum containing only xylitol for caries prevention in children, found five studies worth grading, rated the evidence very low quality with preventive fractions ranging from negative 0.31 to 0.57 depending on the comparison, and concluded there is insufficient evidence to support xylitol-only gum for preventing caries in children. Both reviews are honest about the same problem: the trials are few and uneven. The reasonable reading is that xylitol has a plausible mechanism and a supportive but thin trial record, not that it is proven. We have a longer piece on the sorbitol versus xylitol question and one on twenty years of xylitol gum research if you want the detail.
Aspartame. Under 2% in every Orbit variant, in Trident Original and in Extra Spearmint. An intense sweetener roughly 200 times as sweet as sugar, used here to lift the sweetness of a sugar-alcohol base without adding bulk or calories. It is made of two amino acids, one of which is phenylalanine, which is why every pack carries "Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine". That warning exists for people with PKU, a metabolic disorder in which phenylalanine cannot be broken down; for everyone else it is not a safety flag. Aspartame does not feed plaque bacteria and has no direct effect on enamel. If you want the wider evidence, we cover aspartame and teeth separately.
Acesulfame K. Also called acesulfame potassium, which is how Trident's label writes it. Under 2% in every product on this page. Another intense sweetener, usually paired with aspartame because the two round off each other's aftertaste. No dental effect either way.
Sucralose. Not in Orbit. It appears on Trident Original's list, which makes Trident the only gum on this page with three intense sweeteners. We mention it because "Orbit vs Trident" searches often assume the two are interchangeable, and on the sweetener side they are not quite. For a ranking of all of these by their effect on teeth, see sugar substitutes ranked for teeth.
"To maintain freshness": the additive people search for
BHT is butylated hydroxytoluene, a synthetic antioxidant that slows the oxidation of fats and oils. In gum it protects the flavour oils and the gum base from going stale. Orbit Peppermint, Orbit Bubblemint, Orbit White and Extra Spearmint all list it, under 2%, with the label phrase "to maintain freshness". Trident Original's list, as fetched on 5 September 2026, does not include it. That is a company-level difference between Mars Wrigley and Mondelez, at least on the variants we read, and it is the one ingredient on Orbit's label that draws the most searches.
There are two positions on BHT, and this page quotes both rather than picking one for you.
The regulator. The US Food and Drug Administration lists BHT as generally recognized as safe, GRAS, under 21 CFR 182.3173, with a cap of 0.02% of a food's total fat or oil content. On 13 May 2026 the FDA published a request for information on BHT in the Federal Register, notice 2026-09507, as part of a post-market reassessment of food chemicals. That is an open review in which the agency asks the public for data. It is not a finding of harm, and BHT's GRAS status was unchanged when we checked on 5 September 2026. If the FDA changes its position, the notice number above is the place to trace it from.
The consumer group. The Center for Science in the Public Interest is a US consumer-advocacy nonprofit, not a regulator. Its Chemical Cuisine database, read on 5 September 2026, rates BHT "Caution" and says: "BHT retards rancidity in oils. It either increased or decreased the risk of cancer in various animal studies. Residues of BHT occur in human fat." CSPI's recommendation is to "avoid it when possible". That is their reading of the animal data, stated in their words, and it is a stricter standard than the FDA's.
How to hold both at once: the amount of BHT in a piece of gum is tiny, it is legal and GRAS in the US, and a cautious consumer group would still rather you did not eat it. Whether that moves you is a values question, not a science question, and I am not going to tell you the answer. What this page can tell you is which labels carry it. Among the big three, on the variants we read, choosing Trident Original avoids it and choosing either Wrigley brand does not.
One thing BHT is not: a dental ingredient. It has no effect on enamel, plaque or saliva one way or the other. The "is Orbit bad for your teeth" question and the "is BHT safe" question are separate, and conflating them is how a lot of confused forum posts get written.
What "sugar-free" does for teeth, and what the Seal certifies
The ADA's oral-health topic page on chewing gum, read on 5 September 2026, defines sugar-free as "less than 0.5 g of sugars per serving", sweetened with noncariogenic sweeteners, which is the family of sugar alcohols and intense sweeteners covered above. The same page explains why chewing matters at all: "The physical act of chewing stimulates salivary flow: simply chewing unsweetened, unflavored chewing gum base stimulates the salivary flow rate by 10-12 times that of the unstimulated rate." Saliva carries buffers that neutralise plaque acid and minerals that enamel can take back up, and it clears food from the mouth. That is the mechanism, and it belongs to the chewing, not to any brand.
The ADA page also says: "Clinical trials have found decreased caries incidence in subjects who chewed sugar-free gum for 20 minutes after meals," and adds that gum "may contribute to reducing caries risk" only as an addition to brushing twice a day and cleaning between the teeth daily. That framing, gum as an adjunct and never a replacement, is the one every honest brand should use, including mine.
What the Seal is. To earn the ADA Seal of Acceptance, a company submits safety and efficacy data to the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs, and the Council must find that the gum reduces plaque acids, promotes remineralization, reduces caries or reduces gingivitis, and is safe to oral tissue. The ADA's product-search pages for Orbit Sugarfree Gum and Trident Sugarfree Gum, read on 5 September 2026, carry identical acceptance language: the Seal is based on the finding that the physical action of chewing the gum for 20 minutes after eating stimulates saliva flow, which reduces plaque acids and strengthens teeth. The approved claim text on both is tied to that same 20-minute-after-eating condition. Extra is also reported to hold the Seal, per a Dimensions of Dental Hygiene report on the original Wrigley award; we did not capture ADA's own Extra product page in this pass, and the table above says so.
What the Seal is not. It is not a comparison between brands, and it is not a statement about any specific ingredient. Orbit and Trident hold it with the same wording despite different sweetener lists, which tells you the Seal is about the saliva mechanism common to all sugar-free gum. None of the three brands has an ADA claim about whitening, about depositing any particular mineral into enamel, or about reversing existing damage. When a pack says "ADA Accepted", read it as "chewing this after meals stimulates saliva, and the ADA checked the safety data", and nothing more.
What the peer-reviewed reviews say. The largest recent synthesis is a 2020 systematic review and meta-analysis from King's College London (PMID 31743654), which pooled twelve intervention studies and found sugar-free gum significantly reduced caries increment against non-chewing controls, with a preventive fraction of 28% and a wide confidence interval of 7% to 48%. When the analysis was limited to the eight trials that used xylitol gum, the preventive fraction was 33%, with an even wider interval of 4% to 61%. The authors call this "tentative evidence", note the high heterogeneity, and grade the trials as generally of moderate quality. The same group's 2021 review on bacteria (PMID 33926448) pooled thirteen studies and found sugar-free gum reduced the load of mutans streptococci, effect size negative 0.42, while pointing out that in seven of the thirteen studies the confidence interval included zero. Twelve of those thirteen trials used xylitol gum. A 2023 review from the University of Hong Kong (PMID 37383517) summarises the mechanisms, oral clearance, acid neutralisation, inhibition of cariogenic bacteria, enamel remineralization and appetite reduction, notes that chewing gum is endorsed as a caries-preventive agent by the FDI, the ADA and EFSA, and reports that most recent clinical studies of sugar-free gum showed positive results while some reported contradictory outcomes.
Put together, the honest summary is this: sugar-free gum after meals has a real, moderate, somewhat uneven evidence base for lowering decay, most of it built on xylitol gum, and the ADA endorses the habit as an adjunct. Orbit qualifies as sugar-free and holds the Seal. Whether a sorbitol-first gum with a trace of xylitol delivers the same benefit as the xylitol-heavy gums in those trials is the open question the label cannot answer, because the label does not say how much xylitol is in it. If dry mouth rather than decay is what sends you to the gum aisle, the dry-mouth evidence is on a separate page.
Is Orbit bad for your teeth? Answered from the sources
No. I want to say that plainly, because I sell a competing product and it would be convenient for me to hedge. No source we read calls Orbit bad for teeth, and the ADA's own finding for the Seal is that chewing it for 20 minutes after eating stimulates saliva and reduces plaque acids, which is the same finding it makes for Trident. A sugar-free gum chewed after meals is, on the evidence above, a mild positive for teeth, and Orbit is a sugar-free gum.
The caveats are about what Orbit is not, and each one is attributed. First, on the sweetener side, Orbit Peppermint and Bubblemint are sorbitol-and-mannitol gums with xylitol under 2%, per orbitgum.com on 5 September 2026. The xylitol-specific evidence, the 12-of-14 bacteria result in the 2025 Turku review (PMID 40731400), came from trials of xylitol gum against sorbitol gum, so a sorbitol-first gum should not borrow it. Orbit White, being xylitol-first, has a better claim to that literature, though still with no published amount. Second, on additives, Orbit uses aspartame and acesulfame K, and if you would rather avoid intense sweeteners you will need a different brand; neither has any effect on teeth. Third, BHT, which the FDA treats as GRAS and CSPI rates "Caution", is in every Orbit variant and has nothing to do with teeth either way.
Two more practical points. The phenylketonurics warning is a real warning for the small number of people with PKU and irrelevant to everyone else. And the sorbitol laxative effect is dose-related, so a person chewing many pieces a day of a sorbitol-first gum may notice it; the fix is fewer pieces, not a different brand of sorbitol gum.
So the shopper's answer is: Orbit is fine for your teeth, chew it after meals rather than instead of brushing, and if you specifically want the xylitol benefit the research talks about, pick a gum that leads with xylitol and, better, one that tells you how much is in a piece. That last group is small, and it is the next section.
Gums that publish a xylitol amount per piece, ours included
The gap in every big-brand label on this page is the same: xylitol is named but not quantified. A handful of smaller brands do state a figure. The table lists the ones we could source to a specific page on 5 September 2026, with where the number came from. Minvelle is in the table and I make it, so read that row as a manufacturer's own statement, which is exactly what it is. PUR Gum markets itself as "100% xylitol" and aspartame-free, but no PUR page we read stated a milligram figure per piece, so PUR is not in the table rather than being estimated.
| Gum | Xylitol per piece | Intense sweeteners | Where the number is stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Epic Dental Xylitol Gum | 1.06 g | Not checked on this pass | Product title on the Amazon listing, manufacturer-supplied copy, read 5 September 2026 |
| Minvelle Remineralizing Gum (ours) | 817 mg, 43% of a 1.9 g piece; plus 285 mg erythritol | None; page states no aspartame, no acesulfame K | minvelle.com/pages/transparency, read 5 September 2026 |
| Spry Xylitol Gum (Xlear) | 0.72 g | Not checked on this pass | Supplement-facts panel reproduced on a retailer page (iprogressivemed.com), read 5 September 2026 |
| Orbit, Trident, Extra | Not disclosed | Aspartame + acesulfame K (Trident adds sucralose) | No gram figure on orbitgum.com, tridentgum.com or extragum.com, read 5 September 2026 |
Figures are as stated by each brand or its retailer listing; we did not weigh or assay any product. Epic's and Spry's intense-sweetener columns say "not checked" because we did not pull their full ingredient lists for this page; our separate reviews of Epic Dental and Spry do.
A few notes on reading that table. Epic's 1.06 g and Spry's 0.72 g both come from retail listings that reproduce manufacturer copy, not from the manufacturer's own site, so treat them as one step removed. Both are, on their stated figures, above the 817 mg in a piece of ours, and I am not going to pretend otherwise; if xylitol grams per piece is your only criterion, Epic states the highest number here. What Minvelle publishes that the others in the table do not, at least on the pages we read, is the rest of the formula at the same level of detail: a 1.9 g piece, 43% xylitol, 15% erythritol, and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, with the batch certificate downloadable from the same page. That is a different product category from Orbit, and a more expensive one, and it sits alongside brushing rather than replacing it.
If what you actually want is a plain xylitol gum, not a mineral gum, our best xylitol gum ranking compares that category on its own terms. And if the reason you reach for Orbit is breath rather than teeth, the bad-breath gum page covers that. For the whitening cousin of the brand comparison above, see the Trident White review, which reads that label the same way this page reads Orbit's.
The three differences that matter, and the ones that do not
People search "Orbit vs Trident" and "Orbit vs Extra" as if the three were rivals with different philosophies. On the label they are close cousins. All three are sorbitol-first, all three use aspartame and acesulfame K, all three carry the phenylketonurics line and a soy declaration, and all three hold or are reported to hold the ADA Seal on the same saliva basis. Here is what actually separates them, on the variants we read on 5 September 2026.
1. Xylitol position. Trident Original lists xylitol third, above the 2% divider. Orbit Peppermint lists it under 2%. Extra Spearmint does not list it at all. If xylitol is your reason for choosing a gum and you are staying inside the big three, Trident's label puts more of it in the piece than Orbit's, and Orbit's puts some where Extra's puts none. Orbit White, the pellet, is xylitol-first and beats all of them on position, though not with a published amount.
2. BHT. Both Mars Wrigley brands, Orbit and Extra, list it. The Mondelez brand, Trident, does not on the variant we read. For a shopper who has read the CSPI entry and decided to avoid BHT, that is the deciding line, and it runs between companies rather than between flavours.
3. Sweetener count. Trident Original uses three intense sweeteners, adding sucralose to the aspartame and acesulfame potassium the other two use. Extra Spearmint adds two colours, turmeric and Blue 1 Lake, that Orbit Peppermint and Trident Original do not list. None of this has a dental consequence; it is a preference about what you would rather not eat.
What does not separate them. The ADA Seal, the sugar-free status, the sorbitol base, the saliva mechanism and the absence of any published sweetener amount per piece. On every dimension that the research above actually measures, the three big brands are the same product in different wrappers. The differences are real but small, and the biggest gap on the shelf is not between Orbit and Trident, it is between all three and the few gums that tell you a number.
I sell a competing gum, so check me the same way
Minvelle is my company. It makes one product, a xylitol and nano-hydroxyapatite gum, and I profit if a reader of this page decides Orbit is not for them and buys ours instead. There is no version of this page where that is not a conflict of interest, and I would rather name it here than have you find it in the footer. Here is how to check this page and check us with the same tools.
Check the Orbit facts. Every ingredient list above is quoted verbatim with the product page it came from and the date. Open orbitgum.com and compare. If Orbit has changed a label since 5 September 2026, this page is out of date and I want to know. Check the attributions. Every negative-leaning fact about Orbit, Trident or Extra on this page, the BHT caution rating, the artificial-sweetener count, the absence of a xylitol figure, is attributed to a named source with a date, and each is set against the ADA Seal that every one of those brands holds. We used no verdict words about any company on this page, and if you find one, it comes out. Check the studies. Five PubMed IDs are in the sources block. Open them. Two of the five are less favourable to xylitol than a gum seller would like, and they are cited anyway. Check us. Our transparency page states 817 mg xylitol, 285 mg erythritol and 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, no aspartame and no acesulfame K, an egg allergen because of egg shell powder, and a downloadable batch certificate. Our hydroxyapatite gum database lists other brands in our category and what each publishes. If any number on those pages disagrees with a number on this one, one of them is wrong and I want to hear it.
And to be clear about what we are not claiming: we have no clinical trial on our finished gum, Orbit is not a bad product, and the ADA Seal that Orbit holds is one we do not. The "Last reviewed" date at the top is the date this page was last true to our knowledge.
If a published xylitol amount is what you were looking for: Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 817 mg xylitol and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, no aspartame and no acesulfame K, 18 pieces per box, one piece a day, with the full ingredient list and batch certificate published. Try it with 10% off orders from €29, or read the full formula first. Unopened boxes carry a 30-day refund.
Questions people ask about Orbit
Does Orbit gum contain xylitol?
Yes, in every Orbit variant we read on 5 September 2026, but the amount differs by product. In Orbit Peppermint and Orbit Bubblemint, xylitol sits inside the "less than 2% of" bucket at the end of the list, behind sorbitol, gum base, glycerol and mannitol. In Orbit White Spearmint, xylitol is the first ingredient and sorbitol has moved into the under-2% group. No Orbit page states a milligram amount of xylitol per piece.
Is Orbit a healthy gum?
It is a sugar-free gum that carries the ADA Seal of Acceptance, and the ADA's stated basis for that Seal is that chewing it for 20 minutes after eating stimulates saliva flow, which reduces plaque acids. That is the same basis the ADA gives for Trident. What Orbit is not is a xylitol-forward gum: Peppermint and Bubblemint are sweetened mainly by sorbitol and mannitol, with aspartame and acesulfame K under 2%. Whether the aspartame, acesulfame K and BHT bother you is a personal call; the sources on this page give you both the consumer-group caution and the FDA's current position.
Is it okay to chew Orbit gum every day?
The ADA's chewing gum page describes clinical trials in which people chewed sugar-free gum for 20 minutes after meals, and the systematic reviews we cite pooled trials of daily sugar-free gum use with no adverse effects recorded. Sorbitol is the one practical caveat: it is a sugar alcohol with a laxative effect at high intakes, so large daily amounts of a sorbitol-first gum can upset some stomachs. Every Orbit variant also carries the phenylketonurics warning for aspartame, which matters only if you have PKU.
Why was Orbit gum discontinued?
Orbit as a brand is not discontinued. On 5 September 2026 the Orbit Peppermint, Bubblemint and White Spearmint product pages were all live on orbitgum.com with full ingredient lists. The search phrase usually refers to a single flavour or pack size that was withdrawn, and we could not verify which one from the manufacturer's site, so we do not name one here.
What is the unhealthiest gum, and what is the healthiest?
Neither question has an evidence-based answer, because no study ranks gum brands against each other on health. What the evidence supports is a direction: sugar-free beats sugared, and xylitol gum beat sorbitol gum on mutans streptococci counts in 12 of 14 studies in a 2025 systematic review (PMID 40731400). So the practical sort is by label: sugared gum at the bottom, sorbitol-first sugar-free gum in the middle, xylitol-first gum with a published amount per piece at the top. Our own gum sits in that last group and we sell it, so weigh that.
Does Orbit gum have aspartame in it?
Yes. Aspartame and acesulfame K appear in the "less than 2% of" group on every Orbit variant we read on 5 September 2026: Peppermint, Bubblemint and White Spearmint. Each pack carries the line "Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine", which is the standard US label warning for aspartame.
Is BHT in Orbit gum safe?
Two positions exist and we quote both. The FDA lists BHT as generally recognized as safe under 21 CFR 182.3173, capped at 0.02% of a food's fat or oil content, and in May 2026 it opened a public request for information on BHT as part of a routine post-market reassessment, which is an open review and not a finding of harm. The Center for Science in the Public Interest, a consumer-advocacy group, rates BHT "Caution" and suggests avoiding it when possible. Orbit lists BHT "to maintain freshness" under 2%; Trident Original's list, as fetched, does not include it.
Sugar alcohol (polyol): A family of sweeteners including sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, erythritol and hydrogenated starch hydrolysate. They provide bulk and mild sweetness, and plaque bacteria ferment them slowly or not at all, which is why "sugar-free" gum can be built on them.
Intense sweetener: A sweetener used in tiny amounts because it is hundreds of times sweeter than sugar. Aspartame, acesulfame K and sucralose are the three on this page. They add sweetness, not bulk, and have no direct effect on teeth.
"Less than 2% of": The divider on a US ingredient list after which ingredients are no longer in descending order by weight. Everything after it is under 2% of the product, in any order the company chooses.
BHT (butylated hydroxytoluene): A synthetic antioxidant added to slow the oxidation of fats and flavour oils. Listed on US labels with a purpose statement such as "to maintain freshness". Not a dental ingredient.
GRAS: "Generally recognized as safe", the FDA's category for food substances whose safety is accepted by qualified experts. BHT's listing is at 21 CFR 182.3173.
ADA Seal of Acceptance: A programme in which a company submits safety and efficacy data to the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs. For sugar-free gum, acceptance rests on the saliva stimulated by chewing for 20 minutes after eating. It is not a comparison between brands.
Mutans streptococci: The group of mouth bacteria most associated with tooth decay. They make acid from sugar and cannot use xylitol, which is the basis for the xylitol-specific research.
Preventive fraction: The percentage reduction in new decay in a treated group compared with a control group. A preventive fraction of 28% with a confidence interval of 7% to 48% means the best estimate is 28% and the true value could plausibly be anywhere in that range.
Phenylketonurics warning: The label line "Phenylketonurics: contains phenylalanine" required in the US on products containing aspartame, for people with PKU, an inherited disorder in which the amino acid phenylalanine cannot be broken down.
Medical disclaimer: this article is educational and is no medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat or replace professional care. Talk to your dentist before changing your oral-care routine, and talk to your doctor if you have phenylketonuria or a digestive condition that sugar alcohols aggravate. If you have active tooth decay, a cracked tooth or persistent sensitivity, see a dentist, because no chewing gum can treat those.
- Orbit Peppermint Sugarfree, orbitgum.com product page: ingredient statement, PKU warning and per-piece nutrition, read 5 September 2026. Page: orbitgum.com/products/orbit/orbit-peppermint-sugarfree-chewing-gum-14-piece-single-pack-single-pack
- Orbit Bubblemint Sugarfree, orbitgum.com product page: ingredient statement, read 5 September 2026. Page: orbitgum.com/products/orbit/orbit-bubblemint-sugarfree-chewing-gum-14-piece-single-pack-single-pack
- Orbit White Spearmint Sugarfree, orbitgum.com product page: ingredient statement with xylitol as first ingredient, read 5 September 2026. Page: orbitgum.com/products/orbit-white/orbit-white-spearmint-sugarfree-chewing-gum-40-piece-bottle-bottles
- Trident Original, tridentgum.com product page: ingredient statement read from the page's raw HTML, read 5 September 2026. Page: tridentgum.com/products/trident-original-pocket-pack-28-pieces
- Extra Spearmint Sugar Free, extragum.com product page: ingredient statement and PKU warning, read 5 September 2026. Page: extragum.com/products/extra-spearmint-sugar-free-chewing-gum-15-stick-single-pack-single
- American Dental Association, Chewing Gum oral-health topic: sugar-free definition, salivary flow figures, 20-minutes-after-meals trial summary and Seal criteria, read 5 September 2026.
- American Dental Association, Seal of Acceptance product page for Orbit Sugarfree Gum: basis of acceptance and approved claim, read 5 September 2026.
- American Dental Association, Seal of Acceptance product page for Trident Sugarfree Gum (18 variants): identical basis of acceptance, read 5 September 2026.
- Center for Science in the Public Interest, Chemical Cuisine entry for BHT: "Caution" rating and quoted summary, read 5 September 2026.
- US Food and Drug Administration, Federal Register notice 2026-09507, 13 May 2026: request for information on butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) as part of post-market reassessment; GRAS listing at 21 CFR 182.3173.
- Newton JT, Awojobi O, Nasseripour M, et al. JDR Clin Trans Res 2020 (PMID 31743654): systematic review and meta-analysis of sugar-free gum and dental caries; 12 studies, preventive fraction 28% (95% CI 7% to 48%), 33% for the 8 xylitol-gum trials; tentative evidence, high heterogeneity.
- Nasseripour M, Newton JT, Warburton F, et al. BMC Oral Health 2021 (PMID 33926448): systematic review and meta-analysis of sugar-free gum on Streptococcus mutans; 13 studies, effect size negative 0.42, confidence interval included zero in 7 of 13; 12 trials used xylitol gum.
- Yeung CY, Chu CH, Yu OY. Front Oral Health 2023 (PMID 37383517): concise review of chewing gum as an anti-cariogenic agent; mechanisms, FDI, ADA and EFSA endorsements, mostly positive recent trials with some contradictory outcomes.
- Söderling E, Pienihäkkinen K. BMC Oral Health 2025 (PMID 40731400): systematic review of xylitol gum against polyol control gum; mutans streptococci decreased in 12 of 14 studies, plaque in 6 of 10, caries in 3 of 5 trials versus sorbitol gum.
- Mota KR, da Silva JVF, Borges CD, et al. J Indian Soc Pedod Prev Dent 2021 (PMID 34341229): systematic review of xylitol-only gum for caries prevention in children; five studies, very low evidence quality, preventive fraction from negative 0.31 to 0.57, insufficient evidence.
- Minvelle transparency page: 817 mg xylitol, 285 mg erythritol, 5.7 mg nano-hydroxyapatite per 1.9 g piece, 18 pieces per box, no aspartame, no acesulfame K, egg allergen, batch certificate of analysis, read 5 September 2026.
- Minvelle hydroxyapatite gum database: brand-by-brand record of what each hydroxyapatite gum publishes, read 5 September 2026.
- Epic Dental Xylitol Gum, 1.06 g xylitol per piece: product title on the brand's Amazon listing, manufacturer-supplied copy, read 5 September 2026. Spry Xylitol Gum (Xlear), 0.72 g xylitol per piece: supplement-facts panel reproduced on the iprogressivemed.com retailer page, read 5 September 2026. Neither retailer page is linked here.
About the author
Max, Founder of Minvelle, builds an Austrian oral-care brand around one rule: publish the numbers, cite the sources, and say plainly what a product cannot do. He is not a dentist and does not play one online, which is why every article on this blog ends by pointing you to yours. The full formula behind Minvelle, every ingredient and dose, is public on the transparency page.
Read the first word, not the front of the pack. Orbit is a sorbitol gum with a little xylitol, two intense sweeteners and BHT, and it holds an ADA Seal for the saliva that any sugar-free gum stimulates. Orbit White is a xylitol gum with the same two sweeteners and the same BHT. Trident puts xylitol higher and leaves BHT out. Extra leaves xylitol out. None of them tells you how many milligrams of anything are in a piece, and that, not any single ingredient, is the real gap between the big three and the handful of gums that publish a number. Whichever you choose, chew it after eating, keep brushing, and hold every brand, mine first, to the standard of showing its work. Last reviewed: 5 September 2026.
One piece, once a day, with the xylitol on the page
Minvelle is a sugar-free gum with 817 mg xylitol and 5.7 mg of nano-hydroxyapatite per piece, no aspartame and no acesulfame K, made to be chewed one piece a day after meals. A box holds 18 pieces, which is 18 days, and it sits alongside your fluoride routine rather than replacing it. The full formula and the batch certificate are published.
Try Minvelle with 10% off orders from €29Or subscribe: 2 boxes every 4 weeks for €29.99, skip or cancel anytime →
30-day refund on unopened boxes